HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Check out the Valentine’s Day Heart Hunt!
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Invisible Emmie by Terri Libenson
Loading...

Invisible Emmie (original 2017; edition 2017)

by Terri Libenson (Author), Terri Libenson (Illustrator)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1781297,561 (3.66)None
Member:JenMat
Title:Invisible Emmie
Authors:Terri Libenson (Author)
Other authors:Terri Libenson (Illustrator)
Info:Balzer Bray (2017), 192 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:*****
Tags:None

Work details

Invisible Emmie by Terri Libenson (2017)

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 1-5 of 12 (next | show all)
Invisible Emmie is about two girls, Emmie and Katie. Emmie is a shy artist who only has one or two friends. Meanwhile, Katie is a social butterfly with more friends than she can count. One day, Emmie wrote a poem about her crush and a boy found it. He showed it to the class, and everyone laughed at her. She runs to the bathroom, and Katie follows to comfort her. They switch places later after drama, Katie becomes reserved and Emmie, a popular girl.
I like the social commentary featured. It's interesting seeing a story from two sides. Things can seem totally different from a different view. I also like that no character is particularly "bad". Most books stress the idea of good guys versus bad guys, and in this book, no one was two-dimensional like that. It showed that people are just people, and villains aren't always so evil. Overall, I'd say that this book was pretty good. I'd rate it 7/10. ( )
  CarolinaT.G1 | Jan 16, 2019 |
Very clever middl grade novel. I read this with my 12 year old daugher and there is surprise ending that even I didn't see coming! I encourage you to try it. ( )
  JenMat | Jan 10, 2019 |
This story was told from the perspective of two girls, one popular and outgoing and the other shy. This story details the craziness of middle school and the different struggles young girls face in school. I found this book to be difficult to relate to academic content but this story could help young girls facing similar situations. ( )
  BreeRud | Dec 3, 2018 |
This story alternates between two characters' viewpoints, each in their own unique style. The title protagonist, Emmie, describes her day and shares her feelings in a paragraph style interspersed with frequent illustrations, while Katie's experiences are rendered in comic-style panels. Their experiences closely parallel each other, as their timelines are essentially progressing at the same time. You'll see Emmie rendered as a peripheral character as Katie goes through her trouble-free middle-school day surrounded by friends who adore her. I don't want to say much more than that about Katie, I'm concerned about giving too much away. Let me say instead that I was able to relate to Emmie, who feels isolated and "invisible" to her classmates. Potential readers of this book might be those students who enjoy"Wimpy Kid" by Jeff Kinney, or "Dork Diaries" by Rachel Renee Russell, as well as those who enjoy Raina Telgemeier's graphic novels. ( )
  Cynthia_Parkhill | Nov 24, 2018 |
I enjoyed this mixed media exploration of insecurities and owning oneself. Would recommend along the lines of Smile and El Deafo. ( )
  emeraldreverie | Nov 15, 2018 |
Showing 1-5 of 12 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
This is me.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0062484931, Paperback)

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm, Invisible Emmie is a humorous and surprising debut graphic novel by Terri Libenson, creator of the internationally syndicated, Reuben Award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries.

This is the story of two totally different girls—
quiet, shy, artistic Emmie
popular, outgoing, athletic Katie
—and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. . . .

All the crushes, humiliations, boredom, and drama of middle school are compressed into one surprising day in this extraordinary novel.

(retrieved from Amazon Tue, 02 May 2017 17:00:17 -0400)

This is the story of two totally different girls -- quiet, shy, artistic Emmie and popular, outgoing, athletic Katie -- and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. All the crushes, humiliation, boredom, and drama of middle school are compressed into one surprising day.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.66)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 13
3.5 3
4 9
4.5 1
5 5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 132,517,629 books! | Top bar: Always visible