HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Elevation by Stephen King
Loading...

Elevation (original 2018; edition 2018)

by Stephen King (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4833131,261 (3.74)27
Member:justmelissa
Title:Elevation
Authors:Stephen King (Author)
Info:Scribner (2018), Edition: First Edition, 160 pages
Collections:Your library, 2018
Rating:***1/2
Tags:2018/11, ebook single

Work details

Elevation by Stephen King (2018)

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 27 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 31 (next | show all)
Stephen King proves once again that he is a master storyteller with this short, bittersweet, yet heartwarming tale of self-transformation in later life that will appeal to fans of Nicholas Sparks, Phaedra Patrick, and Rachel Joyce. Scott Carey is losing weight, but it is “the thing with the clothes” that has him concerned. While the offbeat set-up is worthy of the Twilight Zone, the heart of Elevation centers on the entire community of Castle Rock, Maine. Proving himself an able narrator, King provides unique voices, using nuanced regional accents, to differentiate between small-town denizens as they deal with timely socio-political change. Although Carey’s peculiar condition immediately captures the curiosity, King’s narration intensifies the thought-provoking issues upon which Carey himself focuses. Additionally, the audio version of Elevation includes a bonus short-story, Laurie, sure to be an instant favorite with all dog lovers, as the puppy Laurie gives widower Lloyd Sunderland new prospects.

The improved review was published in Booklist January 1, 2019 issue. ( )
  ktoonen | Jan 12, 2019 |
Quick and eerie read of a man who inexplicably loses weight while appearing to be overweight. There’s so much to like about this- the power of friendship, second chances and hope. ( )
  cdyankeefan | Jan 11, 2019 |
Scott Carey is losing weight at an alarming speed. He doesn't look any different than he did at 240 pounds, there has been no loss of muscle tone or stature, but he is losing a pound a day. And wether he is wearing clothes or carrying weights, or is naked - he weighs the same. He visits his friend - Dr. Bob Eillis - to see if he has any idea what is going on. Together, the two men try to figure out why he is losing weight, yet not showing the outward signs.

Scott has two new neighbors that he is desperate to get to know, but don't seem to want to know him. The one is seemingly bitter and on the defense, and tries to avoid Scott at all cost. But the other warms to him and invites him to come to their restaurant and try their food. The restaurant is suffering because it is being run by a same sex couple and the town in not open minded. Scott is determined to get the town to accept these women and their restaurant, and puts his own failing health on the back burner.

The rate of his weight loss starts to speed up. Scott - realizing that the end is near, confides in the women, and together they help Scott - and the town - find the best in themselves.

This book was REALLY short (as you can see above). A lot of the low reviews for this book is because people didn't realize it was a novella. (although, if you take two seconds, each Amazon page tells you how much a book cost). I felt, though, that this story needed more pages. The turn around of the town, and the women, and even Scott himself happened way too quickly to be realistic. Well - as realistic as a story where a guy loses a pound a day with no known cause. It just didn't do anything for me - I didn't come to like any of the characters or get a chance to feel one way or another about them with only 160 pages.

If you can borrow this book from the library and you are a huge Stephen King fan, then check it out. But if your only choice is to buy it, I wouldn't bother. You aren't missing much. ( )
  JenMat | Jan 10, 2019 |
If someone had described the plot of this book to me and then told me I would finish it with a lump in my throat, I would have thought they were crazy, but that’s what happened. I’m not sure how Stephen King does it, but he can take the most bizarre premises and turn them into plots that not only entertain you but also make you consider life from his little world. ( )
  DanDiercks | Jan 6, 2019 |
This is more of a novella than a novel, still it was very enjoyable. ( )
  DrApple | Jan 2, 2019 |
Showing 1-5 of 31 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Information from the Russian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Epigraph
Dedication
Thinking of Richard Matheson
First words
Scott Carey knocked on the door of the Ellis condo unit, and Bob Ellis (everyone in Highland Acres still called him Doctor Bob, although he was five years retired) let him in.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.74)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 9
2.5 3
3 31
3.5 13
4 51
4.5 4
5 25

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 131,619,392 books! | Top bar: Always visible