HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Strand of a Thousand Pearls: A Novel by…
Loading...

Strand of a Thousand Pearls: A Novel

by Dorit Rabinyan

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
591210,933 (2.72)5
Recently added byprivate library, nrmay, Yrkesgymnasiet_Malmo, diana.n, AdvaKramer, borhap, mircifer, eandino2012
None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 5 mentions

עוד ספר זכרונות שחוגג על האתניות החריגה.​ ( )
  amoskovacs | Jan 3, 2012 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0375508112, Hardcover)

For fans of Isabelle Allende and Laura Esquivel, here is the sensuous, spellbinding story of the Azizyan family—a story of love, marriage, and mischief by the bestselling, award-winning Dorit Rabinyan.

In the years leading up to Iran’s marriage, her mother weaves one long strand of pearls into a wedding dress, lovingly unraveled by the husband Iran finds one night down by the sea. Solly is a fisherman, shy, clumsy, and burning with love for his young bride, and with all but a thousand of these pearls, they buy a tiny flat in a house shaded by guava trees.

First comes Maurice, with a weak heart, then Sofia, Marcelle, and Lizzie, whose body is cursed with appetites, and mischievous Matti, who mourns her missing twin. At night, Iran coaxes her daughters to sleep with stories of their wedding nights, as they take turns conjuring dreams of the love that the future holds.

Redolent with the scent of lilac, white musk, and oleander trees, and bursting with the flavors of passion fruit, quinces, and overripe plums, Strand of a Thousand Pearls is the story of the imagined and actual marriages of the Azizyan girls, their years of yearning, restless and impatient, and the truth of their engagements, miles away from the enchanted realm and imaginary heroes of their dreams.

Four years ago, Dorit Rabinyan burst onto the scene with Persian Brides, a novel that established her as a writer of incandescent spirit with a gift for spinning wry, magical tales about the vagaries of love and marriage. In Strand of a Thousand Pearls, she has given us a bittersweet fable about desires fulfilled and denied—about married love and carnal love, about a mother’s love and the kind of love that vanishes one night without warning like an evaporated dream.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:42:21 -0400)

(see all 4 descriptions)

A story of family, love, and marriage follows the lives and fortunes of the members of the Azizyan family--Solly and Iran, their four daughters, and their son, Maurice.

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
7 avail.
2 wanted
3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.72)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 4
3.5 2
4
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,295,528 books! | Top bar: Always visible