HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Positively Izzy by Terri Libenson
Loading...

Positively Izzy (edition 2018)

by Terri Libenson (Author)

Series: Emmie & Friends (2)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
2441082,800 (3.66)None
Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible Emmie Terri Libenson returns with a companion graphic novel that captures the drama, angst, and humor of middle-school life. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer Holm, and Victoria Jamieson. Middle school is all about labels. Izzy is the dreamer. There's nothing Izzy loves more than acting in skits and making up funny stories. The downside? She can never quite focus enough to get her schoolwork done. Bri is the brain. But she wants people to see there's more to her than just a report card full of As. At the same time, she wishes her mom would accept her the way she is and stop bugging her to "break out of her shell" and join drama club. The girls' lives converge in unexpected ways on the day of a school talent show, which turns out to be even more dramatic than either Bri or Izzy could have imagined.… (more)
Member:Lori.Young
Title:Positively Izzy
Authors:Terri Libenson (Author)
Info:Balzer Bray (2018), 224 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Positively Izzy by Terri Libenson

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
My review of this book can be found on my Youtube Vlog at:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-aNoviqOja4

Enjoy! ( )
  booklover3258 | Oct 17, 2020 |
A readable middle school graphic novel hybrid featuring characters first introduced in Libenson's first book Invisible Emmie. I didn't think this one was as strong as the first and the twist ending here left me a bit confused. An enjoyable read but not as successful as the first. ( )
  scout101 | Sep 15, 2020 |
Izzy can't seem to focus on school but absolutely loves things that use her creative side, so she cannot wait for the school's talent show. On the flip side, Brianna is nicknamed "the Brain" and would much rather be studying than on stage. Both girls are put to the test when their mothers interfere and push them outside their comfort zones.

This was an engrossing middle-grade read that deals with a lot of common issues tweens deal with (balancing school work, making new friends, having crushes, etc.). It does so deftly, highlighting positive responses without being overly didactic. The two stories converge in an epilogue that is rather surprising. If you really want the big spoiler, here it is: It turns out the two stories are not happening simultaneously as the reader is lead to believe, and that in actuality Izzy is Brianna's mother. However, I think working towards that conclusion is much better.

The illustrations are great. I keep seeing this book referred to as a "hybrid" between chapter book and graphic novel, and that seems fair. Brianna's story is told more in a traditional comics panel style, while Izzy's story looks like a hand-written diary accompanied by some sketches.

This book is a sort-of sequel to Invisible Emmie, although I did not feel lost without having read that book prior. (There may be some Easter eggs that readers of both books might spot.) In terms of diversity, there are definitely secondary characters of color, although the main ones appear to be Caucasian. Izzy's mother is a single parent while Brianna is being raised by divorced parents. ( )
  sweetiegherkin | Nov 13, 2019 |
This was enjoyable for 2 reasons. The first reason was because of the message of friendships and the issues surrounding it as they focus on how to better understand others. For example, there is a pivotal moment in the book where the characters are working together by comforting and motivating each other through their hardships. It really allows the message of friendship and how to better understand others shine. The second reason why this book was so enjoyable was because of the illustrations, mainly the color. Terri Libenson does a phenomenal job of incorporating color to narrate different characters. It is always very easy to see when the perspective is shifted to another character solely based on the pigment of colors and the variety of color choices. For example, Izzy’s perspective is always more minimalistic and less colorful while Brianna’s perspective is always bold and pigmented with color as she fills the whole page with her words and actions. ( )
  Mting1 | Nov 13, 2019 |
This is not a sequel to Invisible Emmie, but it is in that stories world, and Emmie shows up a few times. Izzy loves to act, sing, and be creative. That leaves very little time for standard academics, at which Izzy does not excel. She will have to buckle down and defy some laws to show that she can come out on top. Bri is a brain. She loves to study and hates the stage. That is not a good thing when your mom is the drama coach. To make mom happy she takes the stage, and learns that it may not be for her, but there are ways to be close with her mom. If you have read Invisible Emmie, you will know what to expect. There is a “surprise” ending that you will see coming. It’s expected, and maybe can be figured out. However, it is also a bit confusing because time. To understand what I mean, pick up the book and read it for yourself.
#MountTBR
#KillyourTBR #Bourghtatlocalbookstore ( )
  LibrarianRyan | May 29, 2019 |
Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
To all you readers, who should never be branded as anything except "awesome".
First words
I don't like labels
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible Emmie Terri Libenson returns with a companion graphic novel that captures the drama, angst, and humor of middle-school life. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer Holm, and Victoria Jamieson. Middle school is all about labels. Izzy is the dreamer. There's nothing Izzy loves more than acting in skits and making up funny stories. The downside? She can never quite focus enough to get her schoolwork done. Bri is the brain. But she wants people to see there's more to her than just a report card full of As. At the same time, she wishes her mom would accept her the way she is and stop bugging her to "break out of her shell" and join drama club. The girls' lives converge in unexpected ways on the day of a school talent show, which turns out to be even more dramatic than either Bri or Izzy could have imagined.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.66)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 11
3.5 6
4 9
4.5
5 6

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 157,094,530 books! | Top bar: Always visible