HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson
Loading...

And Tango Makes Three (original 2005; edition 2005)

by Justin Richardson, Peter Parnell

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,1991956,684 (4.44)31
This story is about two male penguins in a zoo who sit on a rock thinking it is an egg to hatch. The zookeeper switches out the rock for an egg and the penguins take turns sitting on the egg and it hatches. The three penguins live together as a family in the zoo. This book does present homosexuality in a soft, appropriate way, but because it is such a controversial topic, I wouldn't read it to my future class. ( )
  nnicolic | Apr 26, 2012 |
Showing 1-25 of 195 (next | show all)
This book is inspired by true events at the New York Central Park Zoo. Two male penguins do everything together. They sing together, swim together, and even bow to each other. These two penguins notice that other couple penguins are caring for their eggs. They try to find their own egg to care for. They get a rock and take turns sitting on it but nothing ever comes out of it. The zookeeper then finds an egg that needs to be cared for, names it Tango, and gives it to the two penguins. The two penguins happily care for Tango.

This is a great introduction to the idea of same sex parents, adoption, and diverse families to young children. Animals are usually used to represent human situation but this book takes on step further and addresses a very important kind of new family. With this book one could also teach a science lesson over penguins.

Modern Fantasy
Reading Level: 3.5
  rdg301library | May 24, 2015 |
This book tells the story of two penguins that fall in love. Roy and Silo lived just as any other penguin couple holding hans, swimming, and walking together, but they couldn't have a penguin baby. Although the two tried just like all the other couple it wasn't possible. That is until the zookeeper gave them their very own egg to love for and hatch. I liked this book a lot it shows just one of the many different types of families you see, and never-ending love.

Teaching Ideas: family diversity lesson
  aehunter | May 4, 2015 |
I really enjoyed this book. It is about two penguins that become a couple in the Central Park Zoo. Both of the penguins happen to be males. The zoo keeper gives them an egg to care for and they become a family. This book could be read to a wide variety of age levels because it focuses on the topic of same sex relationships, which is a subject that some people may not want their children to read about, but is very important. ( )
  Hhaddad1 | Apr 30, 2015 |
And Tango Makes Three is a story about two male penguins who fell in love. There names were Roy and Silo, and they did everything together. They walked together, swam together, sang to each other, and followed each other everywhere. They watched other penguin couples laying eggs and having babies, and they tried and tried to have their own. Since they were male penguins they could not lay eggs, and the rocks they sat on wouldn't hatch. The zookeeper found an egg that needed to be cared for and brought it to Roy and Silo's nest. Roy and Silo knew just what to do, and eventually their baby was born. They named their baby Tango, and he was the first baby penguin to have two dads. This story has been very controversial since its publishing. I believe that this story needs to be shared with all classrooms because it allows children to understand that there are different types of families. ( )
  EmilyDrennan | Apr 26, 2015 |
I absolutely loved this book so much, mainly because of the main message that it sends to readers. I also loved how they introduced the topic, and stated that it was okay to be different, and that even though some animals are different, they are still capable of love, even though they are not the typical family. I like how they use penguins to represent gay families, and homosexuality in general. Humans are so judgmental and stereotypical that it is so different than other animals who support one another, and either have no gender, or love who they love. If humans were more like this, then we wouldn't have to fight for equal rights. However, this book does a great job in introducing these topics to students. ( )
  kbarry9 | Apr 25, 2015 |
This book is about two penguins that fell in love, but these penguins were not like any other penguins. These two penguins were male penguins. Some people looked down on them because they were working so hard to have an egg, but they all knew that two male penguins could not produce an egg together. One day, the zoo keeper saw one of the male penguins sitting on a rock and waiting for it to hatch. The zookeeper could see how much these two wanted to have an egg, so he put an egg in their nest and a few weeks later, a baby penguin was born. This book teaches a lot about families because it proves that no all families are the same. Families can be mom and dad, dad and dad, mom and mom, and so on. This is a great book to read to a classroom because it does teach students that not everyone has the same family. Some people may disagree about reading this to a classroom because they feel like children are too young to understand, but there could be a student in that classroom who's parents are two people of the same sex. ( )
  krausch | Apr 23, 2015 |
This fictionalized true story of two gay penguins who get to raise their own chick had me in fits of happy tears. The art is simple but sweet and fairly colorful considering the pictures are of penguins in their barren habitat. It is a beautifully told story that keeps the anthropomorphizing to a minimum and manages to be equally heartwarming and thought-provoking. ( )
  crunchymunchkin | Apr 22, 2015 |
Awesome book about two male penguins that are in love and want an egg to tend too. When one of the zoo keepers gives them an egg, they care for it like any other couple penguins in the zoo. This shows kids that families can be different but it is okay because it is still based on the foundation of love. This was such an adorable book! ( )
  sottallah | Apr 17, 2015 |
and tango makes three embraces the idea that love is love and thats okay. Told with animals helps the reader see past identity and sex in love and makes them see love in its purest form. I think this is a good book to use in a situations when children are first introduced or come to a situation where they encounter a relationship of same-sex. I believe this book helps break down judgement and barriers that some children may have prior. I do not know if I would read this to a whole class unless a situation called for it, solely from personal beliefs. But I know I will encounter this is classrooms and have children who have same sex parents. This book would be a good tool to use to other students who don't understand or make fun of the child for her family. The book shows that the two penguins are the same as everyone and all the other penguin families. Hopefully a book like this can enlighten and enrich a student's knowledge about the world around them. ( )
  crieder95 | Apr 16, 2015 |
How can you not love this book?! It is a fabulous book about 2 boy penguins who care for an egg and raise the little girl penguin that hatches. I think this is a great book for talking about what makes a family and phooey on those who challenge the book year after year.
Reading Level: 2.6 Interest Level: K-3 ( )
  TaraKennedy | Apr 16, 2015 |
At New York City's Central Park Zoo, two male penguins fall in love and start a family by taking turns sitting on an abandoned egg until it hatches.
  kristi_test_01 | Apr 15, 2015 |
This story is about two male penguins who live in a New York zoo that have a partnership with one another. As the other penguins lay on their egg while waiting for their unborn to hatch, these two male penguins nest but don't have an egg to care for. Until an employee at the zoo gave the pair an egg to care for. These penguins took care of this egg as if it was their own and eventually Tango hatches. The family cares for one another as any other penguin would do. This book will be an excellent book to discuss in class about different families. ( )
  kdufrene | Apr 7, 2015 |
And Tango Makes Three is a book about two male penguins at the Central Park Zoo. After realizing the couple wanted to nurture and love a baby, a zookeeper gives the pair an egg. The couple nurtures the egg until finally, a baby penguin is hatched, who is named Tango. This book can be used to introduce the idea of homosexuality, as well as teach children about different types of families. ( )
  kbartholomew1 | Apr 4, 2015 |
Two male penguins make a nest together in the Central Park Zoo, a zookeeper provides
them with an egg, and the penguins raise the baby penguin as their own. A good way to show that families can look different. You could follow it up with some video clips of other real life animal families that exist.
  kamijake | Mar 11, 2015 |
It is great to have a book that makes children aware of sexual diversity at as young of an age as possible. It is good for kids to have a role model, even at a young age, so they do not feel isolated or discriminated against.

It is also very cool that this was real and that there is no agenda here. This is the way mother nature made these penguins and they got to raise their own chick. ( )
  chrisriggleman | Mar 5, 2015 |
This simple story is a cute way to teach that family is not defined by the gender of parents, but the love they have for each other and the members they choose to be with. This would be a great read aloud that allows us to teach acceptance, love, tolerance, and understanding of others.
  PolyDrive | Jan 25, 2015 |
And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell tells of two male penguins who want a baby penguin. A zookeeper gives them one and they nurture it until it is born. I would read this book to fourth and fifth graders because I feel that they would understand what is happening in the story. This book could open up a discussion about homosexuality, which is becoming very common, and understand why a person may have two mothers or fathers. ( )
  Nijania | Dec 5, 2014 |
This book is about two penguins who were male and did everything together. They even tried to hatch an egg like their friends who were couples. One day the zoo keeper put a real egg under them so it would hatch. That is when Tango was born. This book may be questioned and challenged in libraries. I would read it to my class in a heart beat. Gay couples adopt children all of the time now. This is a true story and i very informative. ( )
  marabie | Dec 3, 2014 |
This is a children's book male penguins that want to take care of a family like the penguins in the zoo. It took a serious subject and made it into something that children could understand and identify with. It might be a little controversial but it is a real subject for this day in age. I feel it is a easy way to share the subject with children. ( )
  jforrest21 | Dec 1, 2014 |
At a zoo in New York there are two male penguins, Roy and Silo, who spend time with each other rather than any female penguins. Roy and Silo notice that all the penguin couples around them build nests and have eggs which later hatch into baby penguins. Roy and SIlo try to nest with a rock, in the hopes that it will also hatch into a baby penguin. Nothing happened. but the zookeeper had the idea to give Roy and Silo the egg that was abandoned. Roy and Silo care for the egg and are delighted when it hatches into a little baby penguin.
It was great to learn that this was based on a true story, I loved the names of the penguins especially. I think this is a great book to read to children, it helps children learn to accept gay parents. ( )
  SMLawrence | Nov 30, 2014 |
I thought this book was very cute. It is about two male penguins who fall in love. The penguins were caught looking and trying to nest a baby. So, a zoo keeper placed an egg in the nest. The penguins finally had a little family! This is a great book to read to children to help them understand other children with two mommies or two daddies. ( )
  kfisher524 | Nov 29, 2014 |
I thought this book was great in how it approaches the subject of gay parents. Also, the fact that it is a true story makes it even better. It is touching and a little witty in a few places. I think it would be a good way to introduce all children to this controversial subject in a not so controversial way. The story is just so cute. ( )
  rpazmino-calligan | Nov 26, 2014 |
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is the story about two male penguins who fall in love and want to have a baby of their own. Obviously, that can't happen so a zoo keeper helps them to adopt an egg. The story goes on to describe their behavior and the birth of their baby. I think it's a great book to share with children to introduce homosexuality and unconventional families to them. This book is a banned book and I don't think it would be easy to find it in a library or a bookstore. ( )
  cvarela | Nov 26, 2014 |
This is a very cute book about two homosexual penguins who want a baby of their own. I would not personally go and read this book to my child. However, if he/she came home and was talking negative about another person being homosexual, I would not hesitate to grab this book to teach him/her that it is okay to be gay. ( )
  hschmill22 | Nov 25, 2014 |
I loved this book as well. I don't see why we shouldn't read these types of books to our kids. It can help them with an acceptance of equality and that a family can come in different forms. What I love about it, is that this story is true. Although it may cause trouble with some parents because of the concept of two males loving each other, I would still want to show children that there will be families out there that are like these three penguins and that we shouldn't look at them as if they are an odd family. I think children are more understanding than adults. ( )
  Y-NhiVu | Nov 19, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 195 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
295 wanted
3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.44)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 7
2.5
3 26
3.5 6
4 93
4.5 17
5 183

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,052,466 books! | Top bar: Always visible