HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson
Loading...

And Tango Makes Three (original 2005; edition 2005)

by Justin Richardson, Peter Parnell

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,2902166,078 (4.43)31
This story is about two male penguins in a zoo who sit on a rock thinking it is an egg to hatch. The zookeeper switches out the rock for an egg and the penguins take turns sitting on the egg and it hatches. The three penguins live together as a family in the zoo. This book does present homosexuality in a soft, appropriate way, but because it is such a controversial topic, I wouldn't read it to my future class. ( )
  nnicolic | Apr 26, 2012 |
Showing 1-25 of 215 (next | show all)
This story is that of Roy and Silo, two chinstrap Penguins in the Central Park Zoo in New York. These two penguins are both boys and are both in love with each other and want nothing more then the have a family. Finally they are given that chance and they are allowed to be happy again.

This book is on the 2009 ALA's most challenged list. I can see why this one in due to the subject matter. It was over all a good book and one that I would definitely read to my nephew and my future children to show them that no matter what, everyone should have the chance to have a family. ( )
  alwelker | Jan 25, 2016 |
This story is that of Roy and Silo, two chinstrap Penguins in the Central Park Zoo in New York. These two penguins are both boys and are both in love with each other and want nothing more then the have a family. Finally they are given that chance and they are allowed to be happy again.

This book is on the 2009 ALA's most challenged list. I can see why this one in due to the subject matter. It was over all a good book and one that I would definitely read to my nephew and my future children to show them that no matter what, everyone should have the chance to have a family. ( )
  alwelker | Jan 25, 2016 |
I think the main reason I loved "And Tango Makes Three" is that it's based on a true story. "Tango" tells of two male penguins that fall in love and desperately want to have a baby. Since they biologically can't, they become very discouraged. The zookeeper sees their struggles and decides to give them an egg that's been abandoned by its biological parents. They hatch the baby, name it Tango, and raise it like any "normal" penguin family. The message of the book is one of love and acceptance of LGBT families. The main ingredient that makes a family is love, and the two penguins love each other, and their child, very much. That's all that matters, and the author seamlessly portrays them as being just like any other family, teaching that families like theirs are more alike than different. Going back to my first point, the fact that these penguins really existed and the same exact thing happened makes the message even more endearing. It's told from third person, which I believe helps the readers see the bigger picture. The illustrations are appropriate and well done. I could see this being used as a really wholesome read aloud for young children, teaching them a big lesson - one that's relevant and necessary in today's society - in such a fun, simple way. ( )
  scorco2 | Dec 6, 2015 |
The story of a family that is different from others. I enjoyed this book although may be questionable in a classroom considering parent opinions.
  KassRuiz | Dec 3, 2015 |
This tradebook goes against the "social norm." Roy and Silo fell in love with each other. They were two boys interested in each other, instead of being interested in the other girls. They tried having a baby penguin like the others, and realized they couldn't. The zoo keeper gave them an egg to care for, and had a baby of their own. I loved this book because they were just like the other families. The illustrations looked like they were done with water color, giving the pictures a lifelike feel. I would use this book in an older classroom. I think if I used it in a younger classroom, I would get a lot of parent complaints. Unless if I talked to the principle about using this book, it would be hard for younger children to read in schools. ( )
  j.swancutt | Dec 2, 2015 |
I really liked this book. It's great that this book depicts a family with to males. I think it's important to help all children feel secure in their families. ( )
  glguerra | Nov 30, 2015 |
I'm going to be completely and brutally honest- if you believe that this book should be banned then you are homophobic, closed minded, and ignorant. This book was heart warming and endearing. If anything I think this book will help children that have two fathers or two mothers not to feel so different from those with "traditional" families. I read this to my daughter and she loved it. Yes she's only one and probably just liked the pictures of the penguins but whatever. It was beautiful. Young children barely question homosexuality and thats how it should be. Teach them to love one another, regardless of gender. ( )
  kesteves | Nov 24, 2015 |
I really didn't know how to feel about this book. It's clearly about homosexuality. I don't know if I would use this story in my classroom as a teacher, because children come from so many different homes and backgrounds. Some people still get mad with homosexuality. I don't have a problem with it. The message in the book that love comes from a family. It's a non-traditional family of three penguins. The two men couldn't have their own penguin egg, so the owner helped them form a family by giving them an egg that was hatched by another penguin who had another egg already.I liked the message about love and family. I don't know if enjoyed the story itself. I can see why this book would be challenged or banned. People are funny about homosexuality. I have guy friends who are gay. I don't see them as anything but my friends; human beings; people. They know that, but they also know that I don't fully understand it. It's not my place to judge anybody. ( )
  kcaffrey | Nov 21, 2015 |
I can't believe I had never actually read this before. It's a lovely story of a happy loving family. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
I can't believe I had never actually read this before. It's a lovely story of a happy loving family. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
I can't believe I had never actually read this before. It's a lovely story of a happy loving family. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
I can't believe I had never actually read this before. It's a lovely story of a happy loving family. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
This is a powerful children's book, which emphasizes the importance of love and family as it portrays a nontraditional family. ( )
  Afine002 | Nov 20, 2015 |
The main idea of this book is that families are all different but they are the same because they all love each other.
I enjoyed this book because of the message that it has and the illustrations. The message of this book is quite endearing because despite there being more and more acceptance of homosexual parents with children, most books are still about heterosexual parents. I enjoyed that this book didn’t have the penguins being teased or ignored because they were both males. It was a simple problem, wanting to have a family to love, which is what most people want in general. It was nice to see the book played out in this way.
I also enjoyed the illustrations. They were nicely drawn with simple lines and shapes. I liked how they were not graphic and they placed this type of book in a very positive light. I believe the illustrations helped this book to become an easy story to show to children. The illustrations also helped to explain some of the differences and the similarities that the different penguin families had, which is important when introducing this topic. ( )
  graceberry | Nov 15, 2015 |
This book is one of the most touching picture books I have read. Although I am bias about the LGBT community and the love between two male penguins, I think this book is a great way to introduce young readers to families of all different dynamics. To me it is just a lovely story that says there are all different kinds of families and as long as there is love, any family will do. That message is appropriate for every age, I think.. ( )
  Gkaufm1 | Oct 20, 2015 |
This story is well illustrated, has an interesting plot and allows you to fall in love with the characters. This story seems to be somewhat informational while also giving a bit of fiction. A story of two male penguins, who spend a lot of time together and the animal keeper who realizes the two penguins are mates who want a baby penguin of their own. The illustrations throughout the story paint a clear image of the penguin’s relationship and even their attempt to sit on a rock as if it were an egg they were hatching. I really enjoyed the story line and the big idea that can be assumed through the plot. The big idea seems to be that any family is a family no matter how it is made, two male penguins can foster a baby penguin and still be a family. As a teaching tool toward a multicultural perspective the reader can catch a glimpse of family dynamics and adoption as a family dynamic. I enjoyed the sweet nature of this book and the perseverance of these penguins. ( )
  FrancescaOliveira | Oct 14, 2015 |
Inspired by actual events in New York's Central Park Zoo. This book exams the same same-sex partnership of two male penguins’ Roy and Silo. Roy and Silo love each other. When it’s time for the couples to have eggs, Roy and Silo try to hatch a rock. Their keeper gives them an egg and that egg hatches out comes Tango. All in all it’s a cute book. ( )
  A_Ozoglu | Oct 13, 2015 |
The story of two penguins falling in love and taking care of an adopted egg, everything in the story tugs at the heart in the best ways. "Tango" is a lovingly crafted tale that shows family can be found in many places. ( )
  cabaty | Oct 13, 2015 |
And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell is a story of two male penguins who spend a lot of time together and eventually they begin to realize that all the other penguin couples have eggs, which they can't have. A zookeeper sees that the two are sad about this and he gives the two an orphan egg to take care of. The two take very good care of the egg and eventually the egg hatches and Tango is born. The two penguins then teach Tango all they know about being a penguin. This book does a wonderful job of keeping an accepting tone and making the reader feel like nothing is wrong with the situation. This would be a very good book to read to a class when learning about diversity and different types of families. It is a good topic to talk about what different type of love looks like and how it is different for everyone. This book could be potentially problematic with some parents if they don't want their child exposed to this kind of book. The illustrations seem to be done in watercolor and have a sketched look to them. ( )
  hallen11 | Sep 28, 2015 |
While I liked this book, I felt like it's been too over hyped and not as good as everyone makes it seem. The organization of the plot and the engaging writing, however, made me like this book. The organization of the plot allows for the reader get to know the main characters and get into their story without feeling overwhelmed or that the story went too fast. The best example of this is Roy and Silo, the two male penguins, first start out just making the nest, which is then progresses into them trying to hatch a rock, and then them being given an egg to hatch. The story does not try to give you all the information at once; instead, it gradually builds up to them getting a baby. The writing is engaging as it draws the reader into the story and creates a connection for the main characters and the main message of the story. An example of this is the fact the author writes around the fact that the penguins are gay. The author just states that they must be in love, and that is all there is to it. The main message of this story is that even though family styles can be different, they all love their kids; love who you love. ( )
  taylorsmith11 | Sep 16, 2015 |
This may be one of my new favorite books. I love the way the author addressed such a huge topic, that is especially relevant in today's society, and made it understandable for children. I feel as though there are not many children's books that have same-sex families, and I think this may be because there is so much controversy surrounding the topic. Instead of using humans, the author chose to use two male penguins as the main characters which I thought was a unique way to introduce the topic of same-sex marriage to young children. However, this did make the characters harder to relate to. The ultimate big picture of this book is that love is love, which is something incredibly important in today's society. ( )
  alexavecchio | Sep 15, 2015 |
I loved this book. I love the writing and plot. I thought the authors did a great job on introducing the story line and plot. They started at central park and the zoo showing human families. Then they went through all the different animal families which was a good lead in to the penguin story line. I love the language the authors used to explain penguin love and Roy and Silo love. The main message is love is love. All love is equal and all couples deserve to be happy and have a family. ( )
  Rosalindd | Sep 2, 2015 |
This book is inspired by true events at the New York Central Park Zoo. Two male penguins do everything together. They sing together, swim together, and even bow to each other. These two penguins notice that other couple penguins are caring for their eggs. They try to find their own egg to care for. They get a rock and take turns sitting on it but nothing ever comes out of it. The zookeeper then finds an egg that needs to be cared for, names it Tango, and gives it to the two penguins. The two penguins happily care for Tango.

This is a great introduction to the idea of same sex parents, adoption, and diverse families to young children. Animals are usually used to represent human situation but this book takes on step further and addresses a very important kind of new family. With this book one could also teach a science lesson over penguins.

Modern Fantasy
Reading Level: 3.5
  rdg301library | May 24, 2015 |
This book tells the story of two penguins that fall in love. Roy and Silo lived just as any other penguin couple holding hans, swimming, and walking together, but they couldn't have a penguin baby. Although the two tried just like all the other couple it wasn't possible. That is until the zookeeper gave them their very own egg to love for and hatch. I liked this book a lot it shows just one of the many different types of families you see, and never-ending love.

Teaching Ideas: family diversity lesson
  aehunter | May 4, 2015 |
I really enjoyed this book. It is about two penguins that become a couple in the Central Park Zoo. Both of the penguins happen to be males. The zoo keeper gives them an egg to care for and they become a family. This book could be read to a wide variety of age levels because it focuses on the topic of same sex relationships, which is a subject that some people may not want their children to read about, but is very important. ( )
  Hhaddad1 | Apr 30, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 215 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
302 wanted
3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.43)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 7
2.5
3 30
3.5 7
4 100
4.5 17
5 193

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,239,714 books! | Top bar: Always visible