Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson

And Tango Makes Three (original 2005; edition 2005)

by Justin Richardson, Peter Parnell

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,2532116,321 (4.43)31
This story is about two male penguins in a zoo who sit on a rock thinking it is an egg to hatch. The zookeeper switches out the rock for an egg and the penguins take turns sitting on the egg and it hatches. The three penguins live together as a family in the zoo. This book does present homosexuality in a soft, appropriate way, but because it is such a controversial topic, I wouldn't read it to my future class. ( )
  nnicolic | Apr 26, 2012 |
Showing 1-25 of 210 (next | show all)
I'm going to be completely and brutally honest- if you believe that this book should be banned then you are homophobic, closed minded, and ignorant. This book was heart warming and endearing. If anything I think this book will help children that have two fathers or two mothers not to feel so different from those with "traditional" families. I read this to my daughter and she loved it. Yes she's only one and probably just liked the pictures of the penguins but whatever. It was beautiful. Young children barely question homosexuality and thats how it should be. Teach them to love one another, regardless of gender. ( )
  kesteves | Nov 24, 2015 |
I really didn't know how to feel about this book. It's clearly about homosexuality. I don't know if I would use this story in my classroom as a teacher, because children come from so many different homes and backgrounds. Some people still get mad with homosexuality. I don't have a problem with it. The message in the book that love comes from a family. It's a non-traditional family of three penguins. The two men couldn't have their own penguin egg, so the owner helped them form a family by giving them an egg that was hatched by another penguin who had another egg already.I liked the message about love and family. I don't know if enjoyed the story itself. I can see why this book would be challenged or banned. People are funny about homosexuality. I have guy friends who are gay. I don't see them as anything but my friends; human beings; people. They know that, but they also know that I don't fully understand it. It's not my place to judge anybody. ( )
  kcaffrey | Nov 21, 2015 |
I can't believe I had never actually read this before. It's a lovely story of a happy loving family. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
I can't believe I had never actually read this before. It's a lovely story of a happy loving family. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
I can't believe I had never actually read this before. It's a lovely story of a happy loving family. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
I can't believe I had never actually read this before. It's a lovely story of a happy loving family. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
This is a powerful children's book, which emphasizes the importance of love and family as it portrays a nontraditional family. ( )
  Afine002 | Nov 20, 2015 |
The main idea of this book is that families are all different but they are the same because they all love each other.
I enjoyed this book because of the message that it has and the illustrations. The message of this book is quite endearing because despite there being more and more acceptance of homosexual parents with children, most books are still about heterosexual parents. I enjoyed that this book didn’t have the penguins being teased or ignored because they were both males. It was a simple problem, wanting to have a family to love, which is what most people want in general. It was nice to see the book played out in this way.
I also enjoyed the illustrations. They were nicely drawn with simple lines and shapes. I liked how they were not graphic and they placed this type of book in a very positive light. I believe the illustrations helped this book to become an easy story to show to children. The illustrations also helped to explain some of the differences and the similarities that the different penguin families had, which is important when introducing this topic. ( )
  graceberry | Nov 15, 2015 |
This book is one of the most touching picture books I have read. Although I am bias about the LGBT community and the love between two male penguins, I think this book is a great way to introduce young readers to families of all different dynamics. To me it is just a lovely story that says there are all different kinds of families and as long as there is love, any family will do. That message is appropriate for every age, I think.. ( )
  Gkaufm1 | Oct 20, 2015 |
This story is well illustrated, has an interesting plot and allows you to fall in love with the characters. This story seems to be somewhat informational while also giving a bit of fiction. A story of two male penguins, who spend a lot of time together and the animal keeper who realizes the two penguins are mates who want a baby penguin of their own. The illustrations throughout the story paint a clear image of the penguin’s relationship and even their attempt to sit on a rock as if it were an egg they were hatching. I really enjoyed the story line and the big idea that can be assumed through the plot. The big idea seems to be that any family is a family no matter how it is made, two male penguins can foster a baby penguin and still be a family. As a teaching tool toward a multicultural perspective the reader can catch a glimpse of family dynamics and adoption as a family dynamic. I enjoyed the sweet nature of this book and the perseverance of these penguins. ( )
  FrancescaOliveira | Oct 14, 2015 |
Inspired by actual events in New York's Central Park Zoo. This book exams the same same-sex partnership of two male penguins’ Roy and Silo. Roy and Silo love each other. When it’s time for the couples to have eggs, Roy and Silo try to hatch a rock. Their keeper gives them an egg and that egg hatches out comes Tango. All in all it’s a cute book. ( )
  A_Ozoglu | Oct 13, 2015 |
The story of two penguins falling in love and taking care of an adopted egg, everything in the story tugs at the heart in the best ways. "Tango" is a lovingly crafted tale that shows family can be found in many places. ( )
  cabaty | Oct 13, 2015 |
And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell is a story of two male penguins who spend a lot of time together and eventually they begin to realize that all the other penguin couples have eggs, which they can't have. A zookeeper sees that the two are sad about this and he gives the two an orphan egg to take care of. The two take very good care of the egg and eventually the egg hatches and Tango is born. The two penguins then teach Tango all they know about being a penguin. This book does a wonderful job of keeping an accepting tone and making the reader feel like nothing is wrong with the situation. This would be a very good book to read to a class when learning about diversity and different types of families. It is a good topic to talk about what different type of love looks like and how it is different for everyone. This book could be potentially problematic with some parents if they don't want their child exposed to this kind of book. The illustrations seem to be done in watercolor and have a sketched look to them. ( )
  hallen11 | Sep 28, 2015 |
While I liked this book, I felt like it's been too over hyped and not as good as everyone makes it seem. The organization of the plot and the engaging writing, however, made me like this book. The organization of the plot allows for the reader get to know the main characters and get into their story without feeling overwhelmed or that the story went too fast. The best example of this is Roy and Silo, the two male penguins, first start out just making the nest, which is then progresses into them trying to hatch a rock, and then them being given an egg to hatch. The story does not try to give you all the information at once; instead, it gradually builds up to them getting a baby. The writing is engaging as it draws the reader into the story and creates a connection for the main characters and the main message of the story. An example of this is the fact the author writes around the fact that the penguins are gay. The author just states that they must be in love, and that is all there is to it. The main message of this story is that even though family styles can be different, they all love their kids; love who you love. ( )
  taylorsmith11 | Sep 16, 2015 |
This may be one of my new favorite books. I love the way the author addressed such a huge topic, that is especially relevant in today's society, and made it understandable for children. I feel as though there are not many children's books that have same-sex families, and I think this may be because there is so much controversy surrounding the topic. Instead of using humans, the author chose to use two male penguins as the main characters which I thought was a unique way to introduce the topic of same-sex marriage to young children. However, this did make the characters harder to relate to. The ultimate big picture of this book is that love is love, which is something incredibly important in today's society. ( )
  alexavecchio | Sep 15, 2015 |
I loved this book. I love the writing and plot. I thought the authors did a great job on introducing the story line and plot. They started at central park and the zoo showing human families. Then they went through all the different animal families which was a good lead in to the penguin story line. I love the language the authors used to explain penguin love and Roy and Silo love. The main message is love is love. All love is equal and all couples deserve to be happy and have a family. ( )
  Rosalindd | Sep 2, 2015 |
This book is inspired by true events at the New York Central Park Zoo. Two male penguins do everything together. They sing together, swim together, and even bow to each other. These two penguins notice that other couple penguins are caring for their eggs. They try to find their own egg to care for. They get a rock and take turns sitting on it but nothing ever comes out of it. The zookeeper then finds an egg that needs to be cared for, names it Tango, and gives it to the two penguins. The two penguins happily care for Tango.

This is a great introduction to the idea of same sex parents, adoption, and diverse families to young children. Animals are usually used to represent human situation but this book takes on step further and addresses a very important kind of new family. With this book one could also teach a science lesson over penguins.

Modern Fantasy
Reading Level: 3.5
  rdg301library | May 24, 2015 |
This book tells the story of two penguins that fall in love. Roy and Silo lived just as any other penguin couple holding hans, swimming, and walking together, but they couldn't have a penguin baby. Although the two tried just like all the other couple it wasn't possible. That is until the zookeeper gave them their very own egg to love for and hatch. I liked this book a lot it shows just one of the many different types of families you see, and never-ending love.

Teaching Ideas: family diversity lesson
  aehunter | May 4, 2015 |
I really enjoyed this book. It is about two penguins that become a couple in the Central Park Zoo. Both of the penguins happen to be males. The zoo keeper gives them an egg to care for and they become a family. This book could be read to a wide variety of age levels because it focuses on the topic of same sex relationships, which is a subject that some people may not want their children to read about, but is very important. ( )
  Hhaddad1 | Apr 30, 2015 |
And Tango Makes Three is a story about two male penguins who fell in love. There names were Roy and Silo, and they did everything together. They walked together, swam together, sang to each other, and followed each other everywhere. They watched other penguin couples laying eggs and having babies, and they tried and tried to have their own. Since they were male penguins they could not lay eggs, and the rocks they sat on wouldn't hatch. The zookeeper found an egg that needed to be cared for and brought it to Roy and Silo's nest. Roy and Silo knew just what to do, and eventually their baby was born. They named their baby Tango, and he was the first baby penguin to have two dads. This story has been very controversial since its publishing. I believe that this story needs to be shared with all classrooms because it allows children to understand that there are different types of families. ( )
  EmilyDrennan | Apr 26, 2015 |
I absolutely loved this book so much, mainly because of the main message that it sends to readers. I also loved how they introduced the topic, and stated that it was okay to be different, and that even though some animals are different, they are still capable of love, even though they are not the typical family. I like how they use penguins to represent gay families, and homosexuality in general. Humans are so judgmental and stereotypical that it is so different than other animals who support one another, and either have no gender, or love who they love. If humans were more like this, then we wouldn't have to fight for equal rights. However, this book does a great job in introducing these topics to students. ( )
  kbarry9 | Apr 25, 2015 |
This book is about two penguins that fell in love, but these penguins were not like any other penguins. These two penguins were male penguins. Some people looked down on them because they were working so hard to have an egg, but they all knew that two male penguins could not produce an egg together. One day, the zoo keeper saw one of the male penguins sitting on a rock and waiting for it to hatch. The zookeeper could see how much these two wanted to have an egg, so he put an egg in their nest and a few weeks later, a baby penguin was born. This book teaches a lot about families because it proves that no all families are the same. Families can be mom and dad, dad and dad, mom and mom, and so on. This is a great book to read to a classroom because it does teach students that not everyone has the same family. Some people may disagree about reading this to a classroom because they feel like children are too young to understand, but there could be a student in that classroom who's parents are two people of the same sex. ( )
  krausch | Apr 23, 2015 |
This fictionalized true story of two gay penguins who get to raise their own chick had me in fits of happy tears. The art is simple but sweet and fairly colorful considering the pictures are of penguins in their barren habitat. It is a beautifully told story that keeps the anthropomorphizing to a minimum and manages to be equally heartwarming and thought-provoking. ( )
  crunchymunchkin | Apr 22, 2015 |
Awesome book about two male penguins that are in love and want an egg to tend too. When one of the zoo keepers gives them an egg, they care for it like any other couple penguins in the zoo. This shows kids that families can be different but it is okay because it is still based on the foundation of love. This was such an adorable book! ( )
  sottallah | Apr 17, 2015 |
and tango makes three embraces the idea that love is love and thats okay. Told with animals helps the reader see past identity and sex in love and makes them see love in its purest form. I think this is a good book to use in a situations when children are first introduced or come to a situation where they encounter a relationship of same-sex. I believe this book helps break down judgement and barriers that some children may have prior. I do not know if I would read this to a whole class unless a situation called for it, solely from personal beliefs. But I know I will encounter this is classrooms and have children who have same sex parents. This book would be a good tool to use to other students who don't understand or make fun of the child for her family. The book shows that the two penguins are the same as everyone and all the other penguin families. Hopefully a book like this can enlighten and enrich a student's knowledge about the world around them. ( )
  crieder95 | Apr 16, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 210 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
117 wanted3 pay

Popular covers


Average: (4.43)
1 1
2 7
3 28
3.5 7
4 97
4.5 18
5 189

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,913,433 books! | Top bar: Always visible