HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

American Gods: A Novel by Neil Gaiman
Loading...

American Gods: A Novel (original 2001; edition 2003)

by Neil Gaiman

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
24,35462445 (4.09)12 / 1136
I found this really dull and uninteresting--it's just reading a hundred pages of tedious dialogue and plot that is then punctuated with ten pages of odd, dreamlike imagery or strange sex (I can see why HBO wants to make it into a miniseries). It was definitely a slog. It picked up a bit near the end, but I just feel Neil could have taken--perhaps--the entire middle three fourths of the book and either condensed it into a chapter or two or maybe even excised it completely. It just dragggggggged; I think a competent editor could have pared this down to something that wasn't filled to the brim with as much rambling. I will say the ending bumped this up to a "soft" 2.5/5, but definitely still rounded down to 2. ( )
2 vote sallowswine | May 28, 2012 |
English (606)  Dutch (4)  Spanish (3)  German (2)  Italian (2)  French (2)  Finnish (2)  Portuguese (1)  Swedish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  All languages (624)
Showing 1-25 of 606 (next | show all)
A gripping mythology painted in an identifiable Midwestern palette. Breathes life into the histories and memories of small towns and amplifies these to epic proportions. House on the Rock, mentioned herein, is a must see. Plenty of room left for a sequel. ( )
  albertgoldfain | May 25, 2015 |
Very long but because I liked Shadow I kept going. It's like being in a non stop dream/nightmare. I was drained when I finished it. I think I'm done with Neil for the moment. I need to let my mind foat on some happy clouds for a while. ( )
  whybehave2002 | May 22, 2015 |
American Gods is to mythology and folklore as a Tarantino movie is to old westerns and Kung Fu films. Gaiman is clearly an expert on his topics, creating a multi-layered story in which Shadow, just released from prison as the story begins, is drawn into the employ of a man who knows more than is humanly possible and is working on a mysterious project involving all of the old gods-- kept alive, but with waning power, as long as they are remembered. As the gods of technology and business quickly rise and fall, the storm that the gods, old and new, sense continues to draw nearer. Gaiman creates a fully realized world; one in which prison inmates read Herodotus, there are plots within plots as independent immortal beings each have their own slightly different goals, and the scholarly reader can find hundreds of allusions, references, or nods to various cultures, histories, mythologies, and tales.
Chapters of the novel often open with stories of other people in other times, and Gaiman’s prowess as a writer comes through in his thought provoking tales, tangents, and anecdotes. As with a Tarantino film, for genre enthusiasts this proves to be an incredible work, a masterpiece by a creator whose love and enthusiasm for the folklore, the style (often a Kerouac reminiscent roadtrip), and the medium shine through on every page. ( )
  Ailinel | May 1, 2015 |
I can't figure out why people like this. There were so many things to not like--Shadow's wife is at the top of my list. And I normally like Neil Gaiman. It was too long and too weird and I wasn't sure what was going on and I didn't really care. ( )
  KR_Patterson | Apr 28, 2015 |
Wasn't quite what I was expecting, but I enjoyed the slow burn pace of the story. Still looking for a story that evokes Lord Byron's Darkness in atmosphere. I didn't enjoy this as much as Neverwhere.
( )
  StaticBlaq | Apr 26, 2015 |
You may expect the magic, the lyricism, and the humor, but the poignancy of American Gods is a great bonus. Undoubtedly one of the best stories I've read about grieving and about letting go in general. The characters are strong--Shadow is someone we can all learn from--and Gaiman has an unusually humane view of our foibles and yearnings.

The insights into mythology and the American spirit are also worthy. Gaiman gets us.

Though there are perhaps one or two too many nested narratives here, you'll hardly notice because several of the longer passages are outright genius and there is always an interesting idea or a joke coming soon. Overall, it adds up to one of the best reading experiences I can recall.
( )
  wreichard | Apr 24, 2015 |
For a GR group read. Oh my. Took me a long time - and at that, I'm sure I missed a lot of depth. It'd be a good book for an intellectual to carry bumming around the hostels, reading & re-reading, talking about to other travellers, learning more and more about all the different gods and philosophies offered. Sometimes it got a little wordy and could've been edited to be a bit tighter - but other times it was elliptical and confusing. Somewhat gruesome, but not too bad - though because of unwholesome sex I'd not advise it for virgins or anyone under 18. ( )
  Cheryl_in_CC_NV | Apr 14, 2015 |
There were so many references and allusions....I think I missed half of the book because I couldn't relate to all of them. I think the entire thing was a 'whoosh' moment, because I feel there's this huge deep and philosophical meaning that I totally did not get and just went right over my head....
Never felt so dumb in my life.... ( )
  LopiCake | Mar 25, 2015 |
I like Neil and I like when he says something that I never thought of but immediately identify with. His story pacing is typically excellent and his characters engaging.

That said, I liked this book the least of his that I've read. I'm fine with suspense and a little horror but I dislike being grossed out and horrified at the same time. Additionally there were a few parts that could have been omitted because they didn't appear to really move the main story onward. They were just fragments of other stories tacked on.

( )
  Chris_El | Mar 19, 2015 |
2 ½ Stars ( )
  BookaholicCat | Mar 4, 2015 |
I have to admit, the first two thirds of American Gods was interesting, but it didn't compel me to stay up until 4 a.m. to read it. The narrative meanders and the settings of the book are constantly changing, so it was difficult for me to really get a sense of where the book was going. However, the last third wound things up fantastically, and made me very glad that I didn't put down the book. I also felt that in some ways the main character, Shadow, was very flat and at times hard to really get excited about. However, he does make an interesting dichotomy between the chaos happening in the story and the relatively stable, unaffected protagonist. ( )
  CandiedMapleLeaves | Mar 2, 2015 |
Holy WOW! This book was a trippy adventure! It is a fiction fantasy that contains elements of the magical & the mundane. Neil Gaiman creates such a fantastical world of divine beings. There are the old Gods (spiritual) and the new Gods (material). The old Gods came to America when the people who believed in them came to America from the old countries. The main character is Shadow Moon, an ex-con. He meets Mr Wednesday after he is released from prison & goes to work for him. There is a war brewing between the old & the new Gods & Mr Wednesday is at the center of it. Shadow is such a freaking awesome & compelling protagonist. He is smart & compassionate & courageous. There are so many fantastic secondary characters. A good deal of the book takes place in Wisconsin! Actually some crucial scenes take place at The House on the Rock. My review is not doing this book justice. Just know that I freaking LOVED it! I look forward to reading it again someday & can't wait to devour everything that Neil Gaiman has ever written. ( )
  michele.juza | Feb 25, 2015 |
An amazing book . It was a great read ( )
  durgaprsd04 | Feb 25, 2015 |
I really enjoyed this one. An interesting take on religion and gods being brought to America. Good characters, but some of the gods are not well known, which adds to the atmosphere. ( )
  adam.d.woodard | Feb 23, 2015 |
The premise of American Gods is that when people came to this country (United States) they brought their gods with them. Their pagan gods and assimilated them into their lives here, but that over time people have forgotten the old gods and they are being replaced by new gods, gods of technology. If you pay attention while reading, and if you’re familiar with Norse, Greek and Roman mythology and some other lands folk stories, you will recognize some of the gods. The old gods don’t want to be replaced, the new gods want the old gods gone.

Shadow is in prison, he does his time, he keeps his mouth shut and looks forward to leaving prison and going back with his wife. We never learn the whole story of why Shadow is in prison, just that he loves his wife very much. A few days before his release he gets the news that she has been killed in an auto accident. As he travels to home and the funeral he meets up with Mr. Wednesday who hires him and they start driving through America, Mr. Wednesday is a god and he is meeting up with the other gods because there is a storm coming and either the old gods will survive, or the new gods will survive.

This is the main story, but there are many other stories throughout this books. Back stories and side stories, the story of why Shadow went to prison, never fully explained, the story of who Mr. Wednesday’s associates are, the story of Mr. Wednesday and Shadow, and some stories seem to just be thrown in to take up space.

While I enjoyed this book I felt it went on and on. Many of the stories added seemed to be just filler, they didn’t seem to help the story along. In short a good story very masterfully told, Mr. Gaiman takes all the threads he scattered about and brings them together in the end, I just felt the end was too long in coming and there were too many ‘side trips’. ( )
  BellaFoxx | Feb 14, 2015 |
I read this book for my Sci-Fi/Fantasy book club, and I loved it! I have always had a weakness for mythology, and I feel that Gaiman really knows his stuff! I love how he weaves all of these different stories together.

The story is about how the old gods are battling with the new gods in America because people have stopped believing in the old gods, instead turning their attention to new gods such as Media, Technology, etc. Gods derive their power from the number of people who believe in them.

This book was a lot of fun! I am looking forward to re-reading it so that I can relish the details more rather than rushing through because the plot is so enthralling. ( )
  AlbinoRhino | Jan 25, 2015 |
I like Gaiman's - storytelling, I guess. But I just don't care about anything that is happening in this book. And I don't appreciate the stock flatness of the characters. Especially the female characters, who are either crone like, or sexual (and monstrous in that sexuality).

  librarycatnip | Jan 12, 2015 |
Witty, interesting, thought-provoking--chock full o' delicious allusions that make me pat myself on the back for that ol' English major. ( )
  AlisonLea | Jan 10, 2015 |
This one's a true winner. What an epic, glorious, wonderful trip through the world of the gods, both past and new. This is the type of book that you can read over and over again, each time realizing different aspects contained within the main story. I've read other reviews saying this is a great light read. Yes, the book can be read in a light way, just for the fun story. But it's also a very deep book indeed. A book club I belong to here on Goodreads, https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/59543-21st-century-literature, will be talking about "American Gods" in February and I'm very much looking forward to discussing it there. I'm sure they will be seeing things in the book that I missed and I have a feeling I may just have to read the book all over again once our discussion is over, just to pick up on everything that our discussion reveals.

This is a quote from Neil Gaiman of what he wanted to accomplish when he started "American Gods" - and he accomplished his goals completely: "It would be a thriller, and a murder mystery, and a romance, and a road trip. It would be about the immigrant experience, about what people believed in when they came to America, and about what happened to the things that they believed." ( )
  hubblegal | Jan 8, 2015 |
This is the second time I have read this book this year and the third time overall. Each and every time I have seen something new in it or got a new insight out of it. That is the mark of a great book.

The storyline is too complex to delve into a lot of detail but the basics are this: when immigrants came to America they brought their old ways or worship and belief with them from the old countries and continents they left (and the old gods came along for the ride and stayed). The new gods - the American gods - represent ideas that are culturally and uniquely American. The digital age, television,the great roadside attractions, the car and the freeway. A war seems to be brewing in which there will be a showdown between the new gods and the old.

But like all truly great works there are subtexts galore. Ideas about light and dark, good and evil, loyalty and betrayal. Ideas about life and death and the worlds between that we cannot see but that we feel and sometimes enter that hover on the periphery of our conscious life.

Ultimately it is also about belief and faith - do we have it? Did we ever really lose it? If we did how do we get it back?

In the course of reading the novel, I found out HBO is making the book into a new series. My shock and excitement were palpable. This will either be brilliant or a complete disaster. I am hoping HBO does it the justice it has done with the George RR Martin Game of Throne series. My sense is that since Gaiman is a fan of Martin's work and saw how Thrones was handled that he was able to confidently sign off on the idea.

Loved it and will read it again and again and again. ( )
  ozzieslim | Dec 28, 2014 |
This one's a true winner. What an epic, glorious, wonderful trip through the world of the gods, both past and new. This is the type of book that you can read over and over again, each time realizing different aspects contained within the main story. I've read other reviews saying this is a great light read. Yes, the book can be read in a light way, just for the fun story. But it's also a very deep book indeed. I'm very much looking forward to discussing this in a book club I belong to. I'm sure they will be seeing things in the book that I missed and I have a feeling I may just have to read the book all over again once our discussion is over, just to pick up on everything that our discussion reveals.

This is a quote from Neil Gaiman of what he wanted to accomplish when he started "American Gods" - and he accomplished his goals completely: "It would be a thriller, and a murder mystery, and a romance, and a road trip. It would be about the immigrant experience, about what people believed in when they came to America, and about what happened to the things that they believed." ( )
  hubblegal | Dec 25, 2014 |
I don't know if Gaiman just isn't my cup of tea or if I keep finding the books of his that don't work for me. I had to struggle through this book. It was intriguing and Gaiman-weird. But I feel like it didn't go anywhere, that it ended up just being almost a life story with some mystery and I've never been a big fan of 'life stories'. Also some scenes left me wondering why they had been included. After finishing it, I'm mostly confused. There are interesting lessons or messages in the book, which I am beginning to see are part of Gaiman's books, but overall I'm mostly just glad I finished the book. Gaiman is still I reader I will pursue in the future since so many of his books are known, but I will be taking a break from this author for a while. ( )
  Kassilem | Dec 13, 2014 |
entertaining, fatty book, I usually can't make it through them, but this one was just fine!
(great review, I bet you're much smarter about this book now) ( )
  Mrdrewk | Dec 2, 2014 |
Not worthy of my time Too many other "better" works still to be read ( )
  busterrll | Oct 25, 2014 |
This one sent me on a wikipedia adventure - highlights included:

List of confidence tricks
Lion man of the Hohlenstein Stadel
Hypocorism
Durga
The Book of the City of Ladies
Yggdrasil (hey Hyperion!)
Fictional spiders

I like the mechanic that old gods (and the new suits for that matter) exist because people believe they exist, although it opens up the risk of 'anything goes' plot development, which is not my favorite. This was the first thing I read by Gaiman - I'll continue!

( )
  behemothing | Oct 25, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 606 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.09)
0.5 12
1 82
1.5 23
2 301
2.5 98
3 1134
3.5 406
4 2772
4.5 419
5 2981

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 97,302,750 books! | Top bar: Always visible