HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

George's Marvelous Medicine by Roald…
Loading...

George's Marvelous Medicine (original 1980; edition 1997)

by Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,588601,046 (3.82)66
English (60)  Catalan (1)  All languages (61)
Showing 1-25 of 60 (next | show all)
Summary: George is home with his grouch of a grandma. Her grouchiness is constantly there, and he wants to fix it. George then makes a magic medicine to cure her of her grouchy attitude. ( )
  mloya | Feb 28, 2016 |
Roald Dahl books are always interesting, humorous, and imaginative, and this one is no exception. The plot is funny and fast-paced, which keeps children's interest heightened. The silliness of the book offsets the possibly questionable actions of George (making his grandma disappear!), and keeps kids engaged until the end.

FANTASY: George creates a magical potion that causes people to turn into giants, shrink, and even disappear.
USE IN THE CLASSROOM: 1) This book could be used as part of an author study. Roald Dahl wrote many exciting and kid-friendly books, so this could be used as an introduction to some of his work. 2) This story could be used to talk about right and wrong-- was George justified in giving magic medicine to his mean grandma?
MEDIA: Ink pen
  cmcmahon14 | Feb 17, 2016 |
George’s grandmother is a really nasty piece of work. One day, George is left on his own to look after her, and after being nagged once too often, he decides to get revenge and using various items he finds lying around the house, he creates a disgusting potion to give to her in place of her usual medicine.

Here’s where the fun really begins as the medicine has all sorts of different effects on Grandma - George must try to make medicine to make her shrink again. He mixes and blends and combines the various ‘ingredients’ he used in his original blend to try to find a cure, but this might prove difficult…

In the days of ‘PC gone mad’ I’m sure there are plenty of people who frown upon this story, although the book does contain a message in the front just before the story starts warning children not to try making their own medicine at home! As an adult, I love the dark nature of Dahl’s stories. This one is one of my favourites so far! ( )
  Bagpuss | Jan 17, 2016 |
Hilarious!
(and don't tell, but me and my cousin tried to recreate the potion at our grandma's home when we were ten!) ( )
  CathCD | Jan 16, 2016 |
This book is a very comical and easy to read chapter book and is perfect for children who are being introduced to chapter books. The story overall is so captivating and entertaining that it urges them to keep reading. I think that this book is a must have in a classroom. I would love to do an author/illustrator study on Roald Dahl and have a unit where we read all of his books.
  sierragriggs | Dec 18, 2015 |
One of the best kids books of all time and what a cast of characters.

A kid like we all were, a horrible scary grandmother that's ten times worse than anyone ever had and a father who is so feel of life and joy that he get away with calling his mother in law an old cow. ( )
  areadingmachine | Jul 6, 2015 |
Tongue just barely in cheek here. Eight-year-old George's grandma is horrible to him, especially when his parents aren't around, so one day when his dad is in the fields and his mom is at the grocery store, George decides to mix up his own medicine to replace Grandma's usual brown stuff. He proceeds to empty cans, bottles, and jars of all kind of inedible and poisonous substances from every room in the house into a big soup pot, gives it a stir and some heat, then pours a spoonful for his grandma...oh boy does it ever make a difference.

Grandma grows, Alice-style, till her head pokes through the roof; when George's father arrives home, he's less worried about his mother-in-law than about the potential to make enormous chickens, cows, pigs, and sheep. But will the second batch have the same effect as the first?

A fun sort of revenge story, as long as readers "don't try this at home."

*

Steam was shooting out of Grandma's mouth and nose and ears and whistling as it came.
"She'll feel better after she's let off a bit of steam," Mr. Kranky said. ( )
  JennyArch | Mar 23, 2015 |
This is are fantasy book. It makes your imagination go wild and i love the creative texts and pictures. I recommend this book for year 3, 4,5, 6. The morel of the story is to be nice to every one you see at home or in the street. ( )
  stellagrasso | Feb 8, 2015 |
I can’t remember much about “George's Marvellous Medicine”, as I read it when at primary school, but I do recall how popular Roald Dahl was with most if not all of the class, and this book was amongst the most popular. For that reason I’m rating this four stars and hope I’m not being unjustified.

I either read this or had it read to me (the equivalent to an audio book) or both somewhere from 1983-85, thus I’ve put 1984 as reading dates as an average. I will have read/heard a few of Mr Dahl’s books during this period, of which some titles I can’t remember at all.

If I had to or wanted to re-read any children’s books for some reason or other then I’d definitely opt for works by this author. All these years on and he’s left a very faint yet happy memories in the back of my mind. ( )
  PhilSyphe | Feb 5, 2015 |
George’s Marvelous Medicine. By Roald Dahl. Illustrated by Quentin Blake. Puffin. 1980. 96 pages. 978-0142410356. Grades 2-5.

Left alone with his odious grandmother, George cooks up a magical concoction, composed of a whole host of household items (from hairspray and horseradish sauce to animal pills and antifreeze), to replace his grandmother’s medicine – not realizing the crazy consequences it will have. Dahl’s recurring theme of children’s triumph over malevolent adults is an enjoyable one for young readers. Blake’s scratchy line drawings help carry the story’s plot, even in their simplicity – his spiky-haired, claw-fingered grandmother is a perfect witch of a woman. The book’s language is expressive and fanciful, but the illustrations help make the work accessible for all readers – and the work would also make an entertaining read-aloud for a group of grade school children. The universality of Dahl’s themes and his grasp of childhood emotion have helped this work age well: its irreverent approach to adult figures makes it a timeless classic for young readers. Recommended. ( )
  tierneyc | Dec 4, 2014 |
One of the better shorter Roald Dahl chapter books, this one is about a boy who concocts a marvelous medicine that his grandmother greedily takes, ending up with some problematic consequences--that only get more problematic as his greedy father encourages him to reproduce his medicine and his grandmother ends up taking George's Marvelous Medicine Number Four with even worse consequences. ( )
  nosajeel | Jun 21, 2014 |
In George's Marvelous Medicine by Roald Dahl, George is a little boy who's grandma always tells him that he's growing too fast. He couldn't help growing too fast and that's why he really hates his grandma. George makes a medicine to try to fix his grandma but it doesn't go as planned. It's a really nice book and it's funny reading about what actually happens to his grandma after George secretly gives the medicine to his grandma. It's a very funny and unusual book and I definitely recommend reading it if you like unusual things happening in a story. I absolutely love the books by Roald Dahl! ( )
1 vote MaheenA | Mar 28, 2014 |
I was surprised because George's imagination was great. He even added things that are not real food to make his grandma's medicine! And what happened to her was awesome. I really enjoyed reading this book. ( )
1 vote AoMizuno | Mar 5, 2014 |
Classic Roald Dahl with slightly wacky characters behaving in only the unusual way Roald can portray. Good read aloud for 7-8 year olds. A bit of adult humor thrown in at the end. ( )
  magnolia2 | Feb 5, 2014 |
My review can be found at http://chapterofdreams.com/?p=4600 ( )
  mlbelize | Jan 27, 2014 |
It's ok. No no grandma. Me hate grandma. Me caveman. Ok. Bye. ( )
  krbridger | Nov 11, 2013 |
I'm getting closer to reading all of Dahl's children's books before I move onto to his other works. I had a discussion with a couple people after reading this about why this hasn't been (and probably never will be) turned into a movie. Just read it to find out. ( )
  AmberTheHuman | Aug 30, 2013 |
I adore Roald Dahl. I really do. His books are frantic and crazy and somewhat evil, but the good and bad people get what's coming to them, and there's lots of fun along the way, and he isn't afraid of language at all. He just thumps down everything that works, all the wriggliest slimiest yuckiest words he can find, if necessary, and it all works and is tremendously fun, because it's Roald Dahl.

The most sinister thing in this book to me now is not Granny -- she's creepy, yeah, but she's a creepy old lady, cantankerous and grumpy and a bit witchy, and that's nothing new -- but George's father, who is just clearly out to get rid of Granny. That, I find creepy: a responsible adult being anything but.

As a kid, I'm sure I loved it.

I especially loved making a potion, and the rhyme George sings while he makes it. It was always in my mind when I was making potions, as many kids do, but something always made me afraid to taste it, just in case it exploded me or shrank me or something equally untoward... ( )
  shanaqui | Apr 9, 2013 |
When George's parents are away for the day, George is responsible for giving his Grandma her dose of medicine. But the medicine never seems to do his horrid, grouchy grandma any good, so he decides to mix up a batch of his own that will either make her nice or disappear. Throwing in a little or a lot of most household stuff he can get his hands on makes for a marvelous medicine.

I had read George's Marvelous Medicine as a kid and I must say the rereading didn't disappoint. The writing was charming and lyrical and the artwork was fun. Several of the descriptions made me laugh out loud - like George's grandma is a grizzly, grumpy, selfish old woman with pale brown teeth and a small puckered-up mouth like a dog's bottom. I did read it a little different as an adult; I was thinking about how much the medicine was costing as George kept dumping perfumes and animal pills in the pot. And all the ideas this could give a kid! ( )
  aliciamay | Jan 22, 2013 |
Grades 2 and up (fantasy)
George is looking after his mean grandmother. He decides he wants to make her a new medicine to cure the meanness. When he gives it to her, she grows very tall. His father, a farmer, decides to use it to enlarge all of his animals. George cannot remember all of what he put into the medicine, so when they make more it doesn’t work the same. The fourth batch they make causes shrinking. Grandma drinks a whole cup and shrinks until she disappears.
Read on a BBC TV program
  HardenB | Nov 26, 2012 |
Why did i pick it up: i usualy like to rad Roald Dahl books and this one was one i hadn't read yet. I think it was wone of the first ones i read

Why did i finish it: i was interested to see what was going to happen in the end and there was no boring parts, it flowed nicely

Who would i recommend this to: ages 9+, its good for young kids but ad ( )
  Lauramatarau | Aug 12, 2012 |
George's concoction should have killed grandma, but instead it has more surprising and hilarious jokes. Dahl's tales hardly turn out how we expect and going with it is where the fun lies. ( )
  Sassy_Seshat | Apr 30, 2012 |
Genre: Fantasy

Summary: George is tired of his mean Grandma, so he mixes up a marvelous medicine that performs wonders on her.

Media: not specified
  royabdunnur | Feb 8, 2012 |
George's Marvelous Medcine is about a little boy called George Kranky and his mother and father go out, and George has to give his grandma her Medcine at 11:00.He looks at the bottle and thinks then his grandma asks for some tea so he makes her some tea but forgets the saucer and the spoon so bak he goes to the kitchen.
He has an idea to give her a diffrent medcine and it is really funny. ( )
  cars27 | Jan 7, 2012 |
This book is about George's grandmother has the nastiest eating habits in the world and she is grumpy and also George decides to make a medicine for her. By sarah ( )
  5-6S.library | Oct 18, 2011 |
Showing 1-25 of 60 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
221 avail.
42 wanted
4 pay18 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.82)
0.5
1 4
1.5 3
2 36
2.5 6
3 211
3.5 47
4 248
4.5 30
5 185

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

6 editions of this book were published by Penguin Australia.

Editions: 0141311347, 0141805951, 014132273X, 0141807792, 014133732X, 0141335580

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,354,039 books! | Top bar: Always visible