Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Thirteen Reasons Why(HARDBACK EDITION) by…

Thirteen Reasons Why(HARDBACK EDITION) (edition 2007)


MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6,193511655 (4)215
While reading "Thirteen Reasons Why" by Jay Asher, and following the story of the dead protagonist, I kept asking things like, “What is wrong with you?” Why does a girl, Hannah is her name, who is so young, pretty, and intelligent decide to take her own life? I was anxious to know, “Why?”

Growing increasingly annoyed, I kept saying, ”But, that’s normal!” as things happened to her. As I continued to grow angry with this young girl, I could not help but think, “You’d better come up with something better than this!” As irritating as her thoughts are from time to time, it’s up the the reader to understand and to grasp Hannah’s issues. Ultimately, for me, it was an internal isolation and loneliness — that feeling you get when you’re in a room full of people but you’re still lonely. It was not a case of, “Nobody will help me!” It was a case of, “Nobody wants to help me.” In her mind anyway.

This book is well written and it is one that picks up speed as it goes. You need to find out WHY? There are two “voices” moving throughout the story as you “listen” to, not only the “voice” of the dead girl telling her story, but to the thoughts of the young man, Clay, who is unwillingly graced with a set of cassette tapes where the story unfolds for him, and for us. The reader can choose to connect to either one of those voices, or both. I ended up hearing them both.

Clay had a crush on Hannah. Hannah is dead. Clay is one of the Thirteen Reasons Why. What? Why? Exactly. The plot thickens and you have to keep reading.

Cassettes? Yep. Using props to propel a story is something every writer needs. What they use, and how they use it, is part of their craft. If you think about the feather in the movie, Forest Gump, you may remember the warm feeling that washed over you at the end of the move when that feather appeared on the screen again. I know that I will never look at a cassette tape the same way again. Clever use and a perfect choice, Jay!

Jay Asher can slap me for this but I don’t care. As I was reading I felt what he wrote and I connected with his characters (even though I’m much older). Isn’t that what being a writer is all about? I give this book a grade of “A“ for pissing me off, making me laugh, and most importantly, for making me cry. I would give the book an “A+” but I still need a good reason why, Hannah!

Young adult? I would recommend this book to all parents, all teachers, all counselors, and all social workers. I don’t know that I would suggest it for students — unless it was a class project where everyone talked about it and wrote a paragraph for their teacher everyday. I would be too afraid of the hormones of my students, I think. But, that’s just me. I would love to use it as an assignment, if I were a teacher, but I would be so afraid. The author is braver than I! ( )
  HonoluluSprite | Oct 20, 2010 |
English (495)  German (4)  Italian (2)  French (2)  Dutch (1)  Hungarian (1)  Spanish (1)  Swedish (1)  All languages (507)
Showing 1-25 of 495 (next | show all)
Raccontare una storia a volte è salutare. Raccontare una storia, estranea, rende liberi. Ma se ti incatenasse maggiormente a quella che è una realtà? Se servisse solo ad esprimere e spiegare quel che è già un fatto?

Clay Jensen tornando a casa da scuola, trova un pacchetto, non più grande di ua scatola di scarpe, sulla porta di casa. Ricevere posta inaspettata può essere piacevole, rendere la giornata migliore o renderla un incubo. Clay non è stato l'unico e non sarà l'ultimo a ricevere questo pacchetto.

13. Persone. Storie. Intrecci. 13 passi verso l'abisso.

Aprendo il pacco, Clay, si trova davanti 7 cassette numerate per lato con smalto per unghie blu. Da 1 a 13. Nessun mittente, nessun indizio. Un gioco? Non proprio, o quasi. C'è chi pensa che le proprie azioni non abbiano conseguenze. E invece. Invece, eccole qui registrate, una per una. 13, appunto.

Clay, cerca incuriosito un lettore di audiocassette, ne trova uno, impolverato e comprato in un garage sale, per pochi dollari. Schiaccia play e il tempo si riavvolge. Non è musica quella che sta per ascoltare, ma potrebbe esserlo. Una poesia, crudele. Una voce, quella di Hanna Baker suicidatasi due settimane prima. Sembra di trovarsi davanti un fantasma, un cadavere, un odore nauseabondo. Ma Clay va avanti. Perchè sembra l'unica cosa possibile da farsi. Hannah spiega, come regole di un gioco, la presenza delle cassette. Ed è lì che Clay ha paura quanta mai ne ha provata in vita sua. Hannah introduce agli ascoltatori la sua vita o meglio, la fine delle sua vita. Quei 13 passi verso l'abisso. Passi in solitudine con la vergogna e la paura addosso. Tutti colpevoli. Tutti? Clay non può crederci, lui l'amava o almeno avrebbe voluto provarci.

E' così che comincia questo libro e ti incatena. Come sono incatenati i 13 protagonisti della vita di Hannah. Segui Clay, lo segui e corri e vorresti piangere e urlare e fermare il tempo e tornate indietro nel tempo. Aver scoperto prima tutto, aver sofferto con lei, non aver ignorato. Provi schifoe orroreper ciò che ti circonda ma ormai è tardi. E non sei più lo stesso.

Insomma, 13, non è quello promesso dalla trama italiana, è molto di più. Non un thriller psicologico ma un percorso, di solitudine e abbandono totali. E' spietato, ma non cattivo. Perchè tutti noi abbiamo un peso nella vita del prossimo che non possiamo ignorare. E tutti noi facciamo stronzate più o meno gravi ma, tutto.e.sempre.ha. una conseguenza.

http://houseofbooks.iobloggo.com/ ( )
  daze.nina | Nov 27, 2015 |
In moments like this I wish I was an artist, a writer who can twist words into emotions, and emotions into feelings. I wish I could accurately articulate the depth of what this book did to me after I read it, I don't know how it will come out but I will try to tell you.

I just finished the book. After I closed the cover I immediately gchatted my friend Susan who told me to read this book and we chatted for a minute. She made a point about a part in the book and I agreed and then she asked "And..." and I told her exactly "I got nothing. I am just sitting here staring slack jawed at my computer trying to decide if I should just cry and be done with it or not." and then "I probably will...I teared up at one point but I feel like I need a good cry and an ice cream sandwich."

Yes, just like that, this book reduced me to incoherence, tears, and the driving need for emotional stability that is chocolate. I also made the either very intuitive or very stupid decision to listen to a bit of the audiobook, the first tape. The audio did not have the same effect as the book, I think it may be because I am still in emotional turmoil from the actual reading.

Mr. Asher weaves a tale so compelling the emotions Clay feels as he listens gets ripped from you as you read. The tension, the love, the guilt, and the driving need to help this girl, for someone to help her, anyone. All there for Clay and each one will touch you as well. I fell in love with Clay, the exact way that Hannah did, he is the good guy, the guy that did nothing wrong yet felt like everything was his fault. I fell in love with Hannah, for the quite way she held herself together, for the little observations she made about people, for the love she held for Clay. I fell in love with them both and wished I could change the ending of their story, just so I can feel that it won't happen to someone else, to anyone else, and to possibly imagine that he helped her, that he got to her in time.

I think the most emotional point for me was when Clay listened to his part in the story. Something eased in me then, as you read you are waiting for his part, the whole time falling in love with him but hoping that he couldn't so something so horrible as contribute to a girl's suicide. It's nerve wracking and it strips you down to your soul. I think the way you feel about this book says a lot about you, what however, I don't know yet, still working that one out. I can't say I enjoyed this book, it is as enjoyable as being in a thunderstorm, you know what is coming yet you are powerless to look away from it even as it crashes around you. The beauty, the maelstrom, and the cooling rain it brings touches you but at the same time the thunder makes your nerves jump and the lightening frightens you if when it gets close.

The emotions this book evoked scared me. The subject a bit to close to home, even though I am not a teenager, nor have ever thought about suicide. I am glad I read this book and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone. It is powerful, amazing, awing, and absolutely beautiful. ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 12, 2015 |
I don't know why I put off reading this book for so long. I kept hearing about it and kept thinking, "this isn't a book for me." I was wrong. The story revolves around a set of cassette tapes Hannah, a girl who recently committed suicide, has sent to 13 people. One of those people, Clay, is our narrator, and along with Hannah's tapes the reasons behind her decision are seen. I read Thirteen Reasons Why quickly, but not because it was an easy read. It is the opposite, but it pulls you in and holds your attention. The story matter is heart wrenching and tragic and while you may wonder if the reasons she gives justifies her suicide, that is not what is important. For her, these reasons were enough and I think this book shows a side to teen suicide that many choose to ignore: it is not always some huge devastating event that causes one to lose hope and give up on life. Sometimes it is, as Clay states, the snowball effect. A bunch of little things compounding and rolling together to cause such an effect. While reading, my heart broke for Hannah and for Clay as well. This book packs an emotional punch that will have you looking at life, and the way you treat and affect others, differently. ( )
  Kristymk18 | Nov 12, 2015 |
Ok. Apparently young teen. A teenager commits suicide & leaves behind cassette tapes naming 13 reasons why she did, which was basically because she got a bad reputation in high school and nobody helped her. I thought it was shallow. ( )
  JeanetteSkwor | Nov 10, 2015 |
See full review @ The Indigo Quill

Thirteen Reasons Why, Jay Asher's first published book, should probably be read in every High School in America at least once. Is it the absolute best book out there tackling the topic of teenage suicide? No. And I'm sure there are others like it that I have yet to read, but until that happens, I think this could be a very useful tool in our High Schools. There are also Anti-Bullying tours and resources on the website, but I'll get to that later.

In the book, Hannah had committed suicide two weeks ago. Before she died, she recorded a series of tapes explaining 13 reasons why she did it. Each person the reasons are about has to send the tapes along to the next person. The reader enters into the story when the tapes arrive into the hands of another unlucky person whom Hannah blames for her choices, Clay Jensen.

When I was in High School, my school went through a year where we had about 5 suicides. This was really uncommon for us, so it was really shocking for our entire community. After I graduated, at least 3 more of my classmates had committed suicide. I wish we had a book like this as a required reading in English (of course, this wasn't published until a year after I graduated).The way the book was written makes it easily readable and relatable for teens. Although it's not the best developed plot I've read, I think it could keep the attention of High Schoolers of different reading levels if it was brought into the school system. It introduces the topic of teenage suicide for discussion and just may open some eyes to see that although their negative actions toward others may seem small to them, the person on the receiving end may be blowing it up 5 times bigger.

Did I feel like Hannah fully justified her reasons? Honestly, no. At first, I didn't really like her. She sounded self-centered and bratty, and like she had taken normal everyday things that people do to each other way too seriously. I had to stop and tell myself "this girl is obviously sick. There's a reason why all these things added up in her head to being so big that she felt she needed to kill herself." I was then reminded of a few articles I had read in 2012 about a teenage girl from Canada who committed suicide as a result of bullying. To her, the things her peers were saying about her and the way they treated her were maximized, and the good things in her life (including friends she spent time with often) were minimized. It was like there was a voice in her head that kept feeding her insecurities and weakening her will to live. But also, the rumors going around about her also made her a target for the boys just like in Thirteen Reasons Why. In the book, the character of Hannah mentions briefly that many other things were going on in her life, but they weren't important enough to put on the tapes. I think this can easily be identified as the things she minimized because that voice in her head was speaking too loudly for her to hear them.

I think some of the reasons could have been better ones. There are plenty of examples you can pull up in articles on the internet about different horrible ways that kids bully each other. Some of them are pretty terrible, but unfortunately are very common. Granted, this book is a few years old so it wasn't as common in 2007 for people to post YouTube videos and whatnot before committing suicide like they do now. However, I felt like the story was slightly underdeveloped and could've gone so much further than it did to bring the reality of this issue even more to readers.

I would recommend picking up this book and reading it at least once. It had a good anti-bullying message and could be used as a good introduction to suicide awareness. However, if you're a teen and you look deeper into the context, you can probably see that Hannah's decision was a permanent solution to a temporary problem. Sometimes, the feelings of hopelessness caused by peers traps people into thinking they're inadequate and unloved, and that their lives will never be anything more than what it is at that moment. But that isn't the case. I remember feeling like that sometimes, and I've been graduated for about 8 years now...and I'll tell you, none of the negative people or situations from High School have followed me. I don't even know who that girl is anymore, and I'm so glad I pushed through any bullying I experienced. ( )
  TheIndigoQuill | Nov 7, 2015 |
The overall concept of this shockingly beautiful story was very interesting and it had me hooked until the very end. It truly makes you analyze your own life and the way each action you make affects other people's lives as well as your own. Teenagers would best be able to relate and understand this book. ( )
  teddysiegel | Nov 5, 2015 |
The concept of this book was interesting - Hannah has committed suicide, but she recorded tapes detailing the thirteen reasons why she did it. Except… her reasons are people. She sends the tapes to the first person on the list, with instructions for them to send them on until all thirteen know why she killed herself. And if they don’t? Someone has a second set of tapes, with instructions to let them out to the public if they original set is not passed on. That aspect of the book, I liked. The rest kind of fell flat. WARNING: SPOILER-ISH. The narrator, of course, is the only good guy on the tapes. Boring, predictable, blah. Secondly, Hannah killed herself because of all these guys spreading rumors about her sex life, and all these bystanders who did nothing to help her. I’m sure this can be true to life, but… it seems like a half-ass reason to kill yourself. The bullying wasn’t as bad as other (true) stories I’ve heard. The book was a good read, and I finished it the same night I started it, but it wasn’t as satisfying as I would have liked it to be. ( )
  howifeelaboutbooks | Nov 4, 2015 |
I found it compelling enough to finish. It was an interesting story but it was so unrealistic. The girl who committed suicide did not sound like a depressed, suicidal teenager. It felt like the author wanted to make an important statement that people are responsible for each other, and yet the way it made the point I thought was completely wrong. You can't blame people for things they don't know. ( )
  KamGeb | Nov 4, 2015 |
Oh my
I don't know what to say.
It was a quick read and I couldn't put it down. I felt like I needed to know what happened next as much as Clay. Just oh my.
And it was Jay Asher's first book.
Oh my
Shockingly beautiful i think is how to put it. Shocking, confronting and almost too realistic.
I need a cookie. ( )
  ebethiepaige | Oct 20, 2015 |
Oh my
I don't know what to say.
It was a quick read and I couldn't put it down. I felt like I needed to know what happened next as much as Clay. Just oh my.
And it was Jay Asher's first book.
Oh my
Shockingly beautiful i think is how to put it. Shocking, confronting and almost too realistic.
I need a cookie. ( )
  ebethiepaige | Oct 17, 2015 |
To view an annotated bibliography of this title written for EDLI200, expand the spoiler entry below:

Young Adult
Modern Realistic Fiction
Dark Realistic Fiction

Estimated age level of interest:
Young Adult

Estimated reading level:
Grade 4

Brief description:
Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box waiting for him on the porch. Inside is a set of cassettes containing the recorded manifesto of a classmate, Hannah Baker, who recently committed suicide. The tapes explain the thirteen reasons why she chose to end her life and they lead Charlie on an all-night journey through his small town as he seeks to understand what role he played in her decision.

At least 2 characteristics of this genre and subgenre and how they appear in this book:
Mystery stories grab onto the reader early with a great “hook” and don’t let go until the very end. When Charlie opens the box he found on the porch and begins to listen to the very first cassette that Hannah Baker left behind, the reader is immediately drawn into the story, wanting to know what unfortunate series of events led to the girl’s untimely death. The author expertly reveals details from Hannah’s life (and death) little by little, dangling the carrot in front of the reader without giving them everything all at once. In this way, the story keeps the reader engaged from start to finish.

Dark realistic fiction takes taboo topics and addresses them head on. The appropriateness of books in this genre for young reader is seen as questionable by some and can often lead to them being challenged and/or banned at some schools. This novel centers around a teen suicide, making it especially controversial. As the story progresses, the plot also considers bullying, gossip, underage drinking and sexual assault, among other unsavory topics.

In what ways and how well does the book as a whole serve its intended audience?
This story highlights the universal struggles that all teens go through, such as the desire to fit in, to be accepted, and to feel comfortable in one’s own skin. It also confronts challenges faced by many teens: bullying, depression, and suicidal thoughts/behaviors. While the story does not have a happy ending for Hannah Baker, it does make clear the damage inflicted by those who would bully and mistreat others, emphasize how common depression really is among teens, illustrate the pain left in the wake of a suicide, and encourage the reader to treat each person he or she encounters with empathy and compassion.

Awards, if any:
Association of Booksellers for Children’s “Best Books”
American Library Association’s “Best Books for Young Adults” and “Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers”
Heartland Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature
Florida Teens Read Award
California Book Award
Kentucky Bluegrass Award
Book Sense Pick
International Reading Association’s “Young Adults' Choices” Finalist
Chicago Public Library’s “Best of the Best Books”
Kansas State Reading Circle’s “Recommended Reading List”
New York Public Library’s “Book for the Teen Age”
16 State Award Master Lists

Links to published, professional reviews, if any:

Editorial reviews available through…

Titlewave: http://www.titlewave.com/search?SID=850b167e010758c576cd4aaa33596706

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/159514188X?ie=UTF8&isInIframe=1&n=28315...

( )
  nphill85 | Oct 12, 2015 |
Originally seen on Emily Reads Everything

This book was a tragedy. There's no two ways about that. When the book starts, the main character is already gone. She killed herself. All that's left is the reasons behind it. The 13 Reasons Why, a baker's dozen of reasons that explain why she made this terrible final decisions, in her own words. Hannah made cassette tapes, one side for every reason, to explain herself. Every reason is also a person who had something to do with Hannah's decision. When Clay Jensen receives the tapes, he realizes that he is one of the 13 people who will get to hear Hannah's last words because, according to her, he caused them.

This book was an easy read. The flow is beautiful. The chapters are cassette sides, one for every person/reason. The narrative switches between Hannah, on the tapes, and Clay's thoughts in present time. Its easy to tell who is who because Hannah is in italics. However this book is also a terrible, difficult read due to the subject matter. Hannah is subjected to terrible bullying in the form of rumors and gossip. This book paints an ugly picture about how one rumor snowballs and can change the direction of a life.

Throughout the course of the book, from Hannah's point of view, its easy to see how everything piles up on her. From her point of view, there are no other options. Nothing is every going to get better. She's completely lost. Hearing her story and her thoughts are so sad but also eye opening. Do any of us really know what's going on inside of someone else? I don't want to post any spoilers, but the straw that breaks the camels back for Hannah was number 13. It broke my heart.

This book doesn't leave any hope for Hannah. At the very beginning she is already gone. However, her tapes and her legacy will live on. After hearing her tapes, everyone who listens is changed forever. I know I am. While Hannah might be gone, this book definitely makes me hope for the future.

Not the cheeriest of topic, but an important one. One worth reading. ( )
  emren | Sep 22, 2015 |
The tape progression and name dropping really helps to drive the story along. I read the book as quickly as possible, which doesn't happen often.

The characters were well rounded and more complex than I expected. I personally have a hard time understanding suicidal thoughts, so I am not a good judge of her character development. I was left bewildered at the lack of family involvement. She seems concerned about her parent's reaction to her death, which leads one to believe there is a good relationship, yet there is no interaction in the story. Setting aside that one drawback, I would recommend this book to any YA readers and adults working with or raising teens. ( )
  wvlibrarydude | Sep 6, 2015 |
It's about: Hannah, a teenager who decides to commit suicide. But, before she does, she makes recordings on tape cassettes explaining why and pointing to 13 very specific reasons (people). She tells her story from where she sees the beginning, and explains how each of the 13 people who get copies of the recordings either contributed to her decision or could have helped her and didn't.

The thing is, it's uncomfortable, and the main character is at times very off-putting and unrelatable - in many ways a typical selfish self-obsessed teenager... and yet, I think the book should be REQUIRED reading for all 8th graders. Maybe even younger, I'm not sure.

Asher did an amazing job of going through the actual psyche and impact that various words and actions have had on Hannah that led her to kill herself. And although these words and actions will not always have the same impact on all teenagers, it is certainly not unusual for this type of reaction -- the isolation and fear and depression that results. At the same time, Asher did an amazing job with Clay (the other narrator) and hope and awareness.

Such an impressive feat.
An easy (based on audio version, listened to at 1.5 speed) ( )
  avanders | Aug 25, 2015 |
Hannah, a teen girl, decides to commit suicide, but before she does she makes 13 recordings explaining why, and how each of the 13 people who get copies of the recordings either contributed to her decision, or could have helped her and didn't. This book is amazing in its ability to capture the desperation of depression. It does more than that though, Jay Asher weaves an amazing story that could very easily be real - and he shows how it is never one single thing that is so terrible that someone chooses suicide - it is a "snowball" of little events - rumors, lies, small moments, lonely feelings, combined with the feeling that they are trying to ask for help and no one is hearing them, or no one cares. Mr. Asher doesn't stop with Hannah's point-of-view, he includes Clay - one of her 13 reasons - so that we can see the other side of the coin. In Clay, we get to see what it is like for the people left behind - for those who knew something was wrong, but didn't know what, or how to help.

This book is well written - it's a page turner and heart breaker, and above all it teaches lessons about how we treat each other, and the importance of not giving up on people even when they are pushing you away. Seriously, Mr. Asher, well done.

I would recommend this book for all teens, adults who work with teens, parents of teens...pretty much anyone, really. Its a great story with a powerful message. (There are some topics discussed that may be too graphic for the under 13 crowd) ( )
  BeckyGraham1016 | Aug 20, 2015 |
I rarely give books 5 stars anymore because once I began critiquing books I just became...well...more critical. Thirteen Reasons Why gets close to my highest rating because it's so darn clever. A girl is dead, but she comes back to haunt the 13 people who contributed to her decision to commit suicide through a tape recording she made before she died. In the recording she recounts the circumstances that, when added together, pushed her over the edge. We hear the details of her downfall through the perspective of Clay, one of the designated 13. Asher delivers a convincing voice for Hannah and miraculously pulls all the details together while all along maintaining the suspense needed to keep the reader guessing. Reminds me of [b:The Perks of Being a Wallflower|22628|The Perks of Being a Wallflower|Stephen Chbosky|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1363910637s/22628.jpg|2236198]. ( )
  valorrmac | Aug 19, 2015 |
An excellent first novel...I expect it to take off with my more mature 8th grade girls. While dealing with the disturbing and sensitive issue of teen (or any) suicide, its message is one of hope and does not condone that choice in any way. ( )
  engpunk77 | Aug 10, 2015 |
Clay Jenkins is excited to find a package at his doorstep, but then troubled to find that it contains thirteen audio cassette tapes narrated by his most recent “crush” before she committed suicide. Clay must endure the pain of listening to the thirteen reason why Hannah took her own life before he passes the tapes on to the next person in the list of those who Hannah blames for her misery. Alternating male and female narrators explain Clay and Hannah’s perspectives of the situation. As Clay starts to understand Hannah better, the reader begins to realize how interconnected we all are, and how the things we say and do have a much broader impact than we expect. Disturbing at times, this work of realistic fiction is a window into the mind of a young girl who just can’t deal with her life as it is. And though we might not make the same choice if in her shoes, we begin understand the reasons why she made it. ( )
  MzzColby | Aug 7, 2015 |
This contemporary realistic fiction book is appropriate for grade 7 and up. This would be a good book to recommend to a reluctant reader. It is engaging and many upper middle to high school age students will be able to identify with the experiences of the two main characters, Hannah and Clay. If I were still teaching leadership, I think this would be a good book to use to demonstrate the fact that action and inaction, no matter how insignificant it may seem, can have a major impact on other people's lives. It really drives home one of the quotes I used frequently while teaching leadership, "Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle."
  bflanagan | Jul 26, 2015 |
The writing in this was amazingly juvenile. Also I didn't give a damn about Hannah.
  thebookmagpie | Jul 14, 2015 |
Another great book by Jay Asher. I wish he'd write more! I listened to the audiobook and the voices were age-appropriate and I went through it very quickly. ( )
  DonnaPaints | Jul 10, 2015 |
This is a book about a little girl named Hannah Baker, who commits suicide and is sharing with her classmates the thirteen reasons why it happened. It tells the story of one classmate in particular who receives the package of the tapes. Through cassette tapes, she leads him through the town and shows him the hard times she was going through. This book is a life changing book, it puts bullying into such a realistic perspective.

This book shows bullying to be so real, and it shows how bullying can truly have a life changing effect on someone. Through the tapes Hannah explains how each student had a part in leading her to suicide. This book will leave you breathless, and in tears. Students will see how bullying and teasing is not a little thing.

Reading Level: 3.9
Genre: Realistic Fiction
  rdg301library | May 24, 2015 |
I had the opportunity to read this book with junior high students. It was very engaging and resulted in some great conversations with them. I liked the format of the book and how a complicated story was brought to light. ( )
  EllsbethB | May 9, 2015 |
This book is mesmerizing. I found myself unable to stop turning the pages until I was completely finished. I am a certified online counselor for a suicide prevention organization and this book helped me immensely. Problems like the one in this book need to be addressed more openly. I was especially angered by how the school counselor reacted, or should I said didn't react, to the way Hannah was feeling. Someone like that should not be allowed to hold a job in the mental health profession.

With that being said, this story opened by eyes to different viewpoints of a person who is experiencing severe depression. If it were up to me, everyone would be required to go through a suicide training (one that I took myself) known as QPR Gatekeeper Training. This type of training teaches individuals how to recognize warning signs of suicidal ideation. It teaches them how to address the situation openly and honestly and to ask the question that most people are extremely hesitant about, "Are you thinking about committing suicide?" Unfortunately the training costs money that a lot of people are unable to spend.

There are other resources that are available that are completely free. There is actually a book located on the QPR website that can be downloaded for free. That book is designed for people who are thinking about suicide and people who are interested in helping someone who they believe is thinking about suicide.

I hope that everyone who reads this book comes to a better understanding of how severe this type of situation has become, especially in teenagers. And just a reminder to anyone out there that is depressed or considering suicide, please try to find someone to talk to. There is always hope and there is always someone who is willing to listen and be there for you no matter what. Never give up. ( )
  Wonderland_Books | May 2, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 495 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
3 avail.
373 wanted
5 pay8 pay

Popular covers


Average: (4)
0.5 3
1 39
1.5 3
2 101
2.5 26
3 345
3.5 100
4 652
4.5 135
5 706


2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,867,120 books! | Top bar: Always visible