HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

La ciudad sagrada by Douglas J. Preston
Loading...

La ciudad sagrada (original 1999; edition 2003)

by Douglas J. Preston, Lincoln Child, Ana Alcaina (Translator)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,646334,377 (3.77)31
Member:sora91
Title:La ciudad sagrada
Authors:Douglas J. Preston
Other authors:Lincoln Child, Ana Alcaina (Translator)
Info:Barcelona : Debolsillo, 2003
Collections:Leídos, Read but unowned
Rating:***1/2
Tags:thriller

Work details

Thunderhead by Douglas Preston (1999)

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 31 mentions

English (30)  Spanish (2)  Catalan (1)  All languages (33)
Showing 1-5 of 30 (next | show all)
3.5 stars

Nora is an archaeologist, as was her father. Her father disappeared when she was younger, on a quest to find the lost city of Quivira. When - years later - Nora receives a letter from him, outlining where the city is, Nora must find it, despite some weird things happening at home.

I liked it. I liked the archaeological stuff and the exploration, and it did get better in the second half of the book. It was a much faster pace towards the end. ( )
  LibraryCin | Mar 27, 2016 |
One of my favorite places to read about is the American southwest. Thunderhead takes place in the remote canyons there. Archaeologists are seeking the lost city of Quivera, a city sought by Coronado, and rumored to be filled with gold.

The tale is full of native lore, archaeological tidbits, and southwestern scenery. Nora Kelly's team sets out to find a mythical (although they hope it isn't) Anasazi city. Soon they are beset by troubles brought on within and without. I could wish I had more affection for Nora the leader, but she never took on the shape of a real person for me. Nor did the others. The best I can say is that they were players on a stage, and the show was fun to watch. ( )
  MrsLee | Feb 13, 2016 |
One of the few books that you both enjoy and learn something new, a trademark of Preston and Child novels. ( )
  oel_3 | Jan 17, 2016 |
Nora Kelly is a young archaeologist and an associate professor at a prestigious museum in Santa Fe. She lives a pretty boring life, split between work, checking in on her out of work brother Skip, and looking after the ranch left to her and skip after he died. At least they think he's dead; he disappeared after an expedition into the middle of Utah canyon country. Lately, however a series of events have made her question everything she thought she knew. Why was she attacked late one night while checking in on the ranch and what does the sixteen year old letter she discovered in the mailbox have to do with it? Her life is about to change drastically, sending her on an expedition to find Coronado's City of Gold and involve in her in fight for her life against forces both human and supernatural.

This was a pretty typical thriller. The story was fast-paced once you got past the character introduction and plot setting. Despite the length, over 500 pages, I completed it in a day and a half. The characters were well-defined. I think that anyone who enjoys a thrillers in the vein of Dan Brown and James Rollins will find this a good addition to their library. ( )
  Mootastic1 | Jan 15, 2016 |
This was a fantastic read, and great story by Preston & Child, who are certainly at the top of my favourite authors list.

It's a fast paced, adventure/treasure hunter that incorporates a sense of dread as well as long for past family secrets. Throw into the mix is some great Anasazi folklore that is set in the canyons and valleys and plateaus of the American southwest - pictographs, legends abound.

It's hard to classify this as a horror novel, because it also falls into the thriller and adventure genre.

If you haven't read Preston & Child - this is a good place to start as it is stand-alone novel, unlike the Pendergast series of fantastic books. ( )
  TJCams | May 5, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 30 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (24 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Douglas Prestonprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Child, Lincolnmain authorall editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
Lincoln Child dedicates this book to his daughter, Veronica, and to the Company of Nine.
Douglas Preston dedicates this book to Stuart Woods.
First words
The freshly paved road left Santa Fe and arrowed west through piñon trees.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (2)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0446608378, Mass Market Paperback)

Nora Kelly, a young archaeologist in Santa Fe, receives a letter written sixteen years ago, yet mysteriously mailed only recently. In it her father, long believed dead, hints at a fantastic discovery that will make him famous and rich---the lost city of an ancient civilization that suddenly vanished a thousand years ago. Now Nora is leading an expedition into a harsh, remote corner of Utah's canyon country. Searching for her father and his glory, Nora begins t unravel the greatest riddle of American archeology. but what she unearths will be the newest of horrors...

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:05:59 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

The bestselling authors of "The Relic" deliver a "highly readable tale of adventure and long-ago crimes" ("Dallas Morning News"). An archeologist goes in search of the fabled Lost City of Gold, an expedition her father had begun 16 years earlier before he mysteriously vanished in southeast Utah.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 4 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
67 avail.
17 wanted
5 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.77)
0.5
1 1
1.5 3
2 25
2.5 5
3 105
3.5 36
4 151
4.5 10
5 88

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 109,135,587 books! | Top bar: Always visible