HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young…
Loading...

Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life's Greatest Lesson… (original 1997; edition 2004)

by Mitch Alborn

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
13,925266150 (3.83)152
Haven't had a book move me to tears in a long time, this one did.

This small little book is a marvelous testament to the human spirit. Here was a man, a philosophy professor, who was literally dying inch by inch in his body and yet his spirit was indomitable. As his life was shrinking away from ALS, Morrie spent his time explaining to his former student what was important in life and what wasn't. His teaching was spiritual yet realistic. Love, according to Morrie, was the most significant act and forgiveness of self - well, according to him " for all the mistakes you've made, for all the things you did you shouldn't have, for all the things you should have done, don't get stuck on your regrets."

The lesson he was teaching is one that is hard to learn, but definitely worthwhile to hear.

"The last class of my old professor's life took place once a week in his home by a window in his study where he could watch a small hibiscus plant shed its pink flowers. The class met on Tuesdays, no books were required. The subject was the meaning of life. It was taught from experience. The teaching goes on."

I don't usually read books like this but I'm definitely glad I read this one. I learn a few important items. ( )
3 vote cyderry | Apr 14, 2012 |
English (252)  Spanish (7)  Swedish (2)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  French (1)  All languages (264)
Showing 1-25 of 252 (next | show all)
Not my favourite, in fact I found Mitch hard to take at times, but nevertheless a recommended read. ( )
  junepearl | Mar 4, 2016 |
One of my first reads and everytime I feel a little off, this is the book that I aways come back to. ( )
  euniceangeli | Mar 3, 2016 |
An inspirational book about Morrie Schwartz, an old professor of Mitch Albom's. He found out he is dying from ALS and Mitch goes to visit him. This leads to regular visits every Tuesday where various life lessons are discussed.

( )
  jenn88 | Feb 14, 2016 |
Conversations and observations on life ad death.
  PendleHillLibrary | Feb 10, 2016 |
I found this book to be an easy and well written read. I found the story heartwarming and inspirational. The one Tuesday I thought was missing out of this book however, was the Tuesday of Truth. Who's Truth? Morrie's Truth and no one else's. Although I agree with most of what Morrie had to say. I do not agree with all of it. After all, he had his life, I have mine.

I am happy to see that this book has inspired so many people. I think that we are all somewhat consciously coming to the same conclusion. The conclusion that we are more alike than we would like to admit.

I highly recommend this book and hope that whomever reads it is inspired by it. If it has the power to turn someone's life around even in the small way, it will have fulfilled its purpose. ( )
  DVerdecia | Jan 29, 2016 |
I loved the portrait of Morrie. I hope I can face the end with the same spirit.[br/][br/]jerry-book ( )
  jerry-book | Jan 26, 2016 |
Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom - Excellent

Usually, I know exactly what I'm going to 'read next' and move seamlessly from book to book. Other times, I'm not so sure and pick a handful off the shelf, reading the back and then the first para or or two to see which capture my interest. Tuesdays with Morrie captured me so much I sat and read the whole thing in a day!

It is a true story of the author and his old Professor. They lose touch after his graduation until a chance viewing of a tv show brings them together. Morrie has been diagnosed with ALS - MND to us (funnily enough didn't know they were the same thing until all this ice-bucket stuff!) - and his strength in the face of his inevitable demise is inspiring. I rarely cry, but this one had me desperately trying not to at the end.

Beautiful book and so moving. An inspiration!
( )
  Cassandra2020 | Jan 24, 2016 |
Wonderful, wonderful. So much to be learned and put into practice from a man who has lived a full life and embarks to make sure he dies a full death. Death really separates the wheat from the chaff of life, and Morrie had much of it down before his diagnosis. After his diagnosis, he simply honed his life more quickly. A great tale of friendship, redemption, life lessons and living with as few regrets as possible. This one will stay on my shelf, ready to be read again and again. ( )
  CarmenMilligan | Jan 18, 2016 |
This was a very meaningful book, discussing basic questions of life and death with Morrie, a charming and thoughtful man dying of ALS. Morrie had been Mitch Albom's favorite sociology professor in college, but he hadn't kept in touch until he saw Pete Koppel interviewing him on TV. Morrie is such a friendly, caring, loving man and I loved hearing his insights.

For me, it was also touching to learn more about the process of dying of ALS because my father died of it, and I wasn't nearby to experience it all with him.

I don't think I preferred the CD (narrated by Mitch Albom himself) to print, but there's a lovely surprise at the end: some of the recorded interviews with Morrie's voice. ( )
  Connie-D | Jan 17, 2016 |
It was an emotional book. A very good read. ( )
  CrystalW | Dec 15, 2015 |
It was an emotional book. A very good read. ( )
  CrystalW | Dec 15, 2015 |
Maudlin, but it works. A well told tale.
Read May 2004 ( )
  mbmackay | Nov 30, 2015 |
/klēˈSHā/ ( )
1 vote | lutfi.cello | Oct 27, 2015 |
"Death ends a life, not a relationship." ( )
  Denise.Jenne | Sep 29, 2015 |
Much more entertaining than I was expecting, this book by sports writer Albom is concise and polished. Morris Schwartz isn't a heroic subject but he is thoughtful and was an academic honors mentor to Albom. The title comes from the classes Albom took from Schwartz while he was teaching at Brandeis University, and the days Albom would meet him again as he was dying from ALS. Schwartz found meaning in his last days with Buddhism. Schwartz was the son of a Russian Jew. Albom notes that he only spoke of Deity and angels at the end but much about Buddhism early on in the book. I found his ruminations on life the least compelling (I worked as an chaplain in a public/non-religious hospital where I dealt with persons of all faiths and none). The more touching aspects were the growth in feeling and emotional connectivity between the two as death for Morrie drew nearer. Schwartz was anti-military from his days during the antiwar Vietnam protests. The book is only 192 pages and well worth reading. Albom has given talks on his books in Los Angeles at the Religious Education Congress. A hospital or hospice chaplain would not gain much from this work, but other people unaccustomed to broaching the subject of human suffering or death might learn ways to comfort people in their situation.
I liked the way the book constructed by Doubleday with an embossed title on the book cover. A small detail but not often included in publishing anymore.
  sacredheart25 | Sep 6, 2015 |
This was a powerful book, full of so much good advice. And very good quotes. It comes down to how to live a life without regrets. I’ve read other books to this effect. This one is short and sweet – very too the point. Because it was so short and because I have read other books that talk about this stuff before it wasn’t as mind blowing as some people told me it would be, which is why it’s only a four star for me and not a five. I still highly recommend the book to everyone. ( )
  Kassilem | Aug 12, 2015 |
Morrie, a retired college professor, met with Mitch, a former student, every Tuesday during Morrie's last days. What a wonderful and touching story and a recommended read to all. ( )
  lubazuck | Jul 2, 2015 |
I still don't see why everyone liked this so much. It was overly sentimentalized. Of course, I didn't "get" Jonathan Livingston Seagull either. ( )
  AntT | Jan 24, 2015 |
I still don't see why everyone liked this so much. It was overly sentimentalized. Of course, I didn't "get" Jonathan Livingston Seagull either. ( )
  AntT | Jan 24, 2015 |
This was a heartwarming story.
I found that this book was hard to put down...and that is from someone who reads horror, fantasy, sci-fi, political, and educational books...not your average touchy-feely person. The story was great and I find myself wondering why I never had a teacher that I connected with even close to this...may have something to do with not being touchy-feely. The author made it really easy to read and kept you coming back for more. Morrie had a lot to say and I'm glad that I had an opportunity to hear some of his philosophy. ( )
  gopfolk | Dec 22, 2014 |
This is a beautiful book about how to live and what to really treasure in life. I have myself of late embracing a lot of ideas that Morrie discusses and really feel that they are important for society as a whole to really embrace. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone too wrapped up in their everyday lives. It's important to stand back and take a good look at what is really important before it is too late. ( )
  plaeski | Dec 16, 2014 |
One of the best books I've read in my life! ( )
  pennylane78 | Nov 22, 2014 |
I have never read this book, it was a gift from Matthew T, but the subject was of no interest to me.
  Craigpt | Nov 16, 2014 |
I would strongly recommend anyone planning to read this book to watch all "Nightline Morrie" videos on YouTube. This will help put face and voice to person about whom this book is and make the reading little more personal experience.

I am not much fan of self-help and sermonizing books so my approach towards 'Tuesdays with Morrie' was not an optimistic one. And I am sorry to report that this book didn't help me dispel the notion. Author Mitch's attempt at finding reverence in anything mentioned by Professor Morrie without giving the thought, and comparing the supposed best state laid by Morrie with rare worst state of everyone else while pretending that rare state is common one, gives impression that banalities uttered by dying professor are newly discovered truths.

If you distil away lessons from the book, you will come with importance of love and compassion, holding on to your values, not running in rat race, and not give too much meaning to money or material possessions. Unless you had your head buried in sand for your life and not had even tiny bit of introspection, you would have known this already. Difficulty is not in knowing but in following through. Unfortunately, Morrie doesn't provide such example from his own life. All his wisdom came to him in moments before dying. As being drunk makes one philosopher, so in his case being on the verge of dying made him philosopher. And a pretentious one at that who wrote down and shared his "aphorisms" with rest of world, with tone of teaching others to live. Just like drunk, when sober, goes on to his life forgetting everything, so was Morrie living his life oblivious of his own wisdom before he came to know about his ALS.

His decisions of not being embarrassed and ashamed of his illness and disability is praiseworthy, but only if you consider alternative that everyone else with this illness is just crying all the time. Indeed doing what he was doing at this stage is most logical way, for he had no other viable option. He is provided for litany of personal care nurses and best of medicines, surely funded by money, and yet claims money means nothing. His own career isn't banner advertisement of living for others or social charity. His advice on marriage is to love, respect, and compromise. Aha, I didn't know that NOT! His advice on forgiving, if taken literally, is perfect excuse for not thinking through your life and just doing anything. I could go on, but the point is that author just didn't think through what Morrie was saying before framing everything and putting on pedestal. I did shed a tear or two in the end though, for what it is worth.

Read it if you are kind of person who needs reassertions of obvious from someone else, and who doesn't give much thought to hypocrisy of medium but rather appreciates the self evident message. It's a quick read anyway, so you have not much to lose. ( )
  ashishg | Sep 22, 2014 |
This was the only book that brought a tear to my eye every time I picked it up...even more so than "Falling Leaves." It definitely puts life into perspective. ( )
  kchung_kaching | Sep 1, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 252 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
884 avail.
81 wanted
6 pay22 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.83)
0.5 13
1 102
1.5 25
2 253
2.5 49
3 739
3.5 156
4 1098
4.5 126
5 1129

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Beyond Words Publishing

An edition of this book was published by Beyond Words Publishing.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,251,376 books! | Top bar: Always visible