HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young…
Loading...

Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life's Greatest Lesson… (original 1997; edition 2004)

by Mitch Alborn

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
13,027246175 (3.83)144
cyderry's review
Haven't had a book move me to tears in a long time, this one did.

This small little book is a marvelous testament to the human spirit. Here was a man, a philosophy professor, who was literally dying inch by inch in his body and yet his spirit was indomitable. As his life was shrinking away from ALS, Morrie spent his time explaining to his former student what was important in life and what wasn't. His teaching was spiritual yet realistic. Love, according to Morrie, was the most significant act and forgiveness of self - well, according to him " for all the mistakes you've made, for all the things you did you shouldn't have, for all the things you should have done, don't get stuck on your regrets."

The lesson he was teaching is one that is hard to learn, but definitely worthwhile to hear.

"The last class of my old professor's life took place once a week in his home by a window in his study where he could watch a small hibiscus plant shed its pink flowers. The class met on Tuesdays, no books were required. The subject was the meaning of life. It was taught from experience. The teaching goes on."

I don't usually read books like this but I'm definitely glad I read this one. I learn a few important items. ( )
3 vote cyderry | Apr 14, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (233)  Spanish (6)  Swedish (2)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  French (1)  All languages (244)
Showing 1-25 of 233 (next | show all)
I would strongly recommend anyone planning to read this book to watch all "Nightline Morrie" videos on YouTube. This will help put face and voice to person about whom this book is and make the reading little more personal experience.

I am not much fan of self-help and sermonizing books so my approach towards 'Tuesdays with Morrie' was not an optimistic one. And I am sorry to report that this book didn't help me dispel the notion. Author Mitch's attempt at finding reverence in anything mentioned by Professor Morrie without giving the thought, and comparing the supposed best state laid by Morrie with rare worst state of everyone else while pretending that rare state is common one, gives impression that banalities uttered by dying professor are newly discovered truths.

If you distil away lessons from the book, you will come with importance of love and compassion, holding on to your values, not running in rat race, and not give too much meaning to money or material possessions. Unless you had your head buried in sand for your life and not had even tiny bit of introspection, you would have known this already. Difficulty is not in knowing but in following through. Unfortunately, Morrie doesn't provide such example from his own life. All his wisdom came to him in moments before dying. As being drunk makes one philosopher, so in his case being on the verge of dying made him philosopher. And a pretentious one at that who wrote down and shared his "aphorisms" with rest of world, with tone of teaching others to live. Just like drunk, when sober, goes on to his life forgetting everything, so was Morrie living his life oblivious of his own wisdom before he came to know about his ALS.

His decisions of not being embarrassed and ashamed of his illness and disability is praiseworthy, but only if you consider alternative that everyone else with this illness is just crying all the time. Indeed doing what he was doing at this stage is most logical way, for he had no other viable option. He is provided for litany of personal care nurses and best of medicines, surely funded by money, and yet claims money means nothing. His own career isn't banner advertisement of living for others or social charity. His advice on marriage is to love, respect, and compromise. Aha, I didn't know that NOT! His advice on forgiving, if taken literally, is perfect excuse for not thinking through your life and just doing anything. I could go on, but the point is that author just didn't think through what Morrie was saying before framing everything and putting on pedestal. I did shed a tear or two in the end though, for what it is worth.

Read it if you are kind of person who needs reassertions of obvious from someone else, and who doesn't give much thought to hypocrisy of medium but rather appreciates the self evident message. It's a quick read anyway, so you have not much to lose. ( )
  ashishg | Sep 22, 2014 |
This was the only book that brought a tear to my eye every time I picked it up...even more so than "Falling Leaves." It definitely puts life into perspective. ( )
  kchung_kaching | Sep 1, 2014 |
Just finished rereading this book. The first time I read it because I felt I should. It's one of those "new classics" that you're expected to know. I got my copy and went through, but didn't connect.

However, this time it was a "right place, right time situation." So inspiring, so many great lines of wisdom, such an endearing reminder of the fragility of life in under 200 pages.

Really, really glad I came back for round 2. ( )
  Bricker | Aug 28, 2014 |
A very touching book with many different lessons and mantras for life. I read it for school, but I'd read it out if I was given the chance, too. ( )
  silkpanda123 | May 14, 2014 |
Great book. Really makes you think about life & how you approach it. I still see Morrie paralyzed & unable to move, but still happy & thinking about others. I saw the original story from Nightline. I love the part where Morrie talks about needing someone to "wipe my a**." The best part about this, they weren't trying to write a best seller. They just wanted to pay Morrie's medical expenses. Maybe that's why the book is so successful. It's real. ( )
  jmcgarry2011 | May 9, 2014 |
This is a must read book. An old man tells his life's highlights and what he learned from that journey. It isn't a cheesy book like so many books on the market today. I enjoyed it. It was an easy read. it isn't hardcore self-help, so it is for everyone, no technical endless words. It is as if talking to a friend about life's most important things, like death and love and sickness and grief... I highly recomand it :) ( )
  pathogenik | Mar 2, 2014 |
It puts everything back in perspective. I loved hearing the author read the book, and the actual interview at the end. ( )
  LaPhenix | Feb 27, 2014 |
oh, what can I say ? :'(
my tears at every end with Mitch Albom Books will tell you ..
Morrie's peacefulness and kindness and simplicity remind me of my dead grandfather , he didn't tell us about life NO, we could see it in the way he treats it and treats the people around him.
I can tell he has no opponent he died peacefully as Morrie :")
God's mercy be upon you ..
I saw/read s lot of Morrie's life's instructions were connected to the Islamic simple principles how we should leave the materialistic things and give all our attention to the spiritual ones
caring and loving.. If I want to Quote I'll Quote all the book :P even the book cover "Tuesdays With Morrie" see how simple he was ?
this is really moving I can't save my review without mentioning it:
“Don't let go too soon, but don't hold on too long.”
hahaaa and this too :
“Forget what the culture says. I have ignored the culture much of my life. I am not going to be ashamed. What’s the big deal?”

In Arabic : يا حوينتك يا "موري" ليش ما متت مسلم ؟ الله يرحم​
( )
  Soplada | Feb 27, 2014 |
So Damn Depressing! Never reading again. The only reason I read it was because it was a school assignment. ( )
  ERWolke | Feb 20, 2014 |
I read Tuesdays with Morrie my freshman year of high school, and it has stuck with me ever since. It is a wonderful story of the relationship between a student and his professor. I love it from beginning to end. I definitely have a box of tissues handy! ( )
  athomas12 | Feb 18, 2014 |
This was an assigned reading for a college course, and if it wasn't for that purpose, I probably wouldn't have picked this book up and read it. But pushing that aside, this book was inspiring, eye-opening, and bittersweet. I would recommend this book to everyone, even to those who proudly proclaim that they never read. ( )
  CinaChilders | Feb 10, 2014 |
This book is one of the rear ones that leave my house unread, so it gets not rating.
I just couldn't get through it. Partially because of it was a large print edition (and I love to have a clue where I'm at, have a proper page in front of me and not be destracted by absence of good margins, paragraphs etc.
The second part was probably that I wasn't caught by the book's content. Not in the right state of mind, too much distraction.
Maybe I'll try another edition sometime later.
  BoekenTrol71 | Dec 29, 2013 |
This book was fantastic and I'm disappointed it took me so long to read it. The book is about a man who still learns important life lessons by going back once a week and talking with his dying professor. ( )
  midkid88 | Dec 28, 2013 |
tuesdays with Morrie, an old man, a young man, and life’s greatest lesson

Let me be honest. I wouldn’t have read this book if my wife hadn’t suggested it. The cover alone was a put off, but that’s just me. It wasn’t my cup of tea, you see.

The book chronicles parts of Mitch Albom’s weekly visits with Morrie, his dying college professor who he hadn’t seen in 16 years. He shares Morrie’s insights on several subjects.

Albom’s writing style is comfortable and neighborly. With some exceptions, it flowed well, marching on to the inevitable death of Morrie.

Let me note that both Morrie and Albom are well known public figures in their own fields.

As to the value of the Morrie’s insights: While there were a couple small morsels in the first half, Albom didn’t get into anything of substance until later. I was surprised and pleased when Morrie’s comments became noteworthy. It was as if the first half was filler.

I think, for its content, many will enjoy this, but I was put off and skimmed through some of the details of Morrie’s daily procedures and the descriptions of his symptoms. While it may be intriguing for many readers, for me it detracted from what I thought Albom was trying to impart.

I think Albom could have made this a far better read. With so many hours of conversation I’d think Albom would’ve had a great deal more good and better stuff to draw from.

Overall I wasn’t impressed with any aspect of this book. I had hoped for more and was disappointed. ( )
  DavidLErickson | Dec 23, 2013 |
Mitch finds out that his former professor, Morrie Schwartz has been diagnosed with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, which is a disease with no cure. The two men become reacquainted and meet every Tuesday. Although Morrie is dying he shows no fear because he accepts his journey toward death. At times he is sad, but the spirit of love and life within him helps him and Mitch learn about the world in new ways that makes life truly meaningful. It is a story that creates a positive message about dying; and that instead of being afraid, one needs to embrace the love and friendships that are there until the time comes. ( )
  Backus2 | Oct 9, 2013 |
Obviously, I'm very late on the book train for reading this book. I finally bit the bullet and dived it, and do not regret it at all. I made the mistake of listening to the review of a friend who hated the book, which made me shy away from it for a few years. They had told me the book was about a self-obsessed professor who held a living wake so he could hear the things people thought about him and she was completely disgusted by it.

Yes, Morrie holds a living wake. Part for curiosity, part for sociology experiment. Seeing as how he was a 30 year professor of sociology, I don't see it as a far-fetched and self-obsessed event. This is a lovely story, beautifully tragic and so clear was Mitch Albom's admiration and respect for Morrie was. I think he did an exquisite job showing how smart, selfless and affectionate his professor was.

I wouldn't say that it inspired me to change the way I live or to call up my old friends and tell them how much I adore them [because I don't, or we'd still be in touch], but it did leave a mark on me. You almost start to feel your heart swell for that sweet, old man by the end of the book.

Favorite Quotes:

1) "[...] the O.J. Simpson trial was in full swing, and there were people who surrendered their entire lunch hours watching it, then taped the rest so they could watch more at night. They didn't know O.J. They didn't know involved in the case. Yet they gave up days and weeks of their lives, addicted to someone else's drama.

2) "Without love, we are birds with broken wings".

3) "The things he was saying in his final months on earth seemed to transcend all religious differences. Death has a way of doing that".

4) "Only an open heart will allow you to float equally between everyone". ( )
  tealightful | Sep 24, 2013 |
Listened to this book as a CD from the library. A young student met each Tuesday with his sociology teacher and enjoyed his fatherly father/son conversations each week. Sixteen years later after his teacher was diagnosed with a fatal Lou Gehrig's disease and was interviewed on TV by Ted Koppel, they reconnected and resumed their Tuesday conversations. The lessons from his beloved "coach" this time included topics such as death, family, love, emotions, fear of aging, values, marriage, culture, and forgiveness. Even though he was dying, Morrie refused to let his spirit live. He embraced life and everything it had to give. He concentrated on the positive and limited self-pity. "Once you learn how to die, you learn how to llive." His philosophy was that people were the only things that brought real happiness Living unhappily was worse than dying. People need to feel good about themselves and find meaning in life by devoting yourself to loving those around you and to give and have a meaning and purpose in the community. We need to not just go through the motions of our relationships but to be present and really pay attention and listen to those around us. A very thought provoking book - makes me inspired to be a better person. ( )
  berthacummins | Sep 12, 2013 |
Love this book , something about this author that is so straight talking his words almost jump out at me and I can visualise so easily the scene, as any good writer aims for his reader to do. This though goes a step further I walked every step of the way through his life visiting Morrie reminiscing, seeing things afresh .I always feel good when I finish one of Mitch Albom's books ( )
  starblue66 | Sep 8, 2013 |
Morrie Schwartz, Mitch Albom’s former professor at Brandeis University, is diagnosed with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. Sadly, this is a progressive neuromuscular disease with no cure and ultimately causes the afflicted person to die. Mitch becomes reacquainted with his former professor and shares Morrie’s days of waning health on Tuesdays, their choice day of weekly visits. Mitch is deeply affected by the grace and calm acceptance that Morrie displays in his journey toward death. Though Morrie cannot help but feel sad at times, his spirit of love and his outlook on life helps Mitch learn about things which make life truly meaningful.

The deeply personal philosophy that Morrie shares with Mitch makes a beautiful story. It accentuates the positive forces of love and life as well as reinforces the fact that dying is as natural as being born. Morrie’s message is not to fear death nor isolate the dying person but to realize that one remains alive during the dying process and that companionship and love should be shared with anyone facing impending death. Bravo to Morrie for unabashedly presenting his story to the world and to Mitch for not being embarrassed to reveal that a young man can be so profoundly moved by a mentor from his youth! ( )
  SqueakyChu | Sep 6, 2013 |
I absolutely LOVED this amazing book. It's a true story about a man, moved by his dying teacher, and wanting to spend the last days together to learn more about himself. Mitch Albom is one of my favorite authors and this is his only non-fiction work, but it is just as amazing as his other works. 10/10 ( )
  DianaLynn5287 | Jun 21, 2013 |
I was sucked into the whole magical life lessons theme and I'm not afraid to admit it. ( )
  katemo | May 16, 2013 |
Just gave this to a friend of mine going through a similar theme in her own life. It's about accepting time.
( )
  Elpaca | May 1, 2013 |
What a lovely story - wouldn't it be nice if we could all have someone in our live like Morrie? ( )
  suefitz1 | Apr 3, 2013 |
I think this is a really difficult book to describe. It's a book that everybody has to make their own, and take from it what they wish. Personally, I adored this. It's a heart-wrenching story about an old professor during his last days, and even though he's in a lot of pain, he's doing his best to stay positive and to teach the world how to live. I have a lot of favourite quotes from this one, and there are certainly a lot of words of wisdom in there. ( )
  nicola26 | Mar 30, 2013 |
My sister, an Education major, insisted that I read this.

The writing and the story wasn't spectacular, but I would have wanted to meet Morrie. ( )
  MagicCapslock | Mar 30, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 233 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.83)
0.5 13
1 92
1.5 27
2 236
2.5 49
3 679
3.5 150
4 1015
4.5 123
5 1058

Audible.com

Three editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,987,563 books! | Top bar: Always visible