Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young…

Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life's Greatest Lesson… (original 1997; edition 2004)

by Mitch Alborn

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
13,539256157 (3.83)151
Haven't had a book move me to tears in a long time, this one did.

This small little book is a marvelous testament to the human spirit. Here was a man, a philosophy professor, who was literally dying inch by inch in his body and yet his spirit was indomitable. As his life was shrinking away from ALS, Morrie spent his time explaining to his former student what was important in life and what wasn't. His teaching was spiritual yet realistic. Love, according to Morrie, was the most significant act and forgiveness of self - well, according to him " for all the mistakes you've made, for all the things you did you shouldn't have, for all the things you should have done, don't get stuck on your regrets."

The lesson he was teaching is one that is hard to learn, but definitely worthwhile to hear.

"The last class of my old professor's life took place once a week in his home by a window in his study where he could watch a small hibiscus plant shed its pink flowers. The class met on Tuesdays, no books were required. The subject was the meaning of life. It was taught from experience. The teaching goes on."

I don't usually read books like this but I'm definitely glad I read this one. I learn a few important items. ( )
3 vote cyderry | Apr 14, 2012 |
English (243)  Spanish (7)  Swedish (2)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  French (1)  All languages (255)
Showing 1-25 of 243 (next | show all)
My neighbor, who is eighty-seven years old and an avid reader, is gifted with a large box, filled-to-overflowing with books, every month or so. I've had tuesdays with Morrie on my "to-read" list for years; sadly, as my list grows longer (and longer!), the books added years ago are dropping off! When the newly-arrived box o' books was opened, perched atop the stack was tuesdays with Morrie . . t'was a message - loud and clear!

Mitch Albom (an award winning author, journalist, screenwriter, dramatist, radio and television broadcaster and musician) documents his weekly meetings with his mentor, and former professor, Morrie Schwartz. Morrie was dying of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS, more commonly known as Lou Gehrig's disease); Mitch had reconnected after seeing Morrie being interviewed on national television. Albom's book documents Morrie's final days.

I fully expected to hold the book in one hand and a box of Kleenex in the other; that simply didn't happen. Yes, Morrie cried - often! I imagine that I will cry, often, when my time comes. Did his tears, his homilies and his aphorisms (his original thoughts were, for me, memorable) render this a "sappy" book? I think not! Morrie had a HUGE zest for life . . a life he would soon leave behind . . he was entitled to his tears! As for me, those aspects of the book often left me - a woman who has lived well over half of her life span - nodding my head in agreement . . and smiling!

Ted Koppel grew close to Morrie after interviewing him, numerous times, before his death. On November 22, 2005, Koppel stepped down from Nightline after 25 years with the program and left ABC after 42 years with the network. His final Nightline broadcast did not feature clips highlighting memorable interviews and famous moments from his time as host, as is typical when an anchor retires. Instead, the show replayed the highly acclaimed episode of Nightline with Koppel's 1995 interviews with retired Brandeis University sociology professor . . Morrie Schwartz.

After I finished the book, I watched those interviews . . touched to see Ted Koppel, the ever-stoic news commentator and journalist, enter Morrie's study to conduct one of their final interviews. The first order of business was, for Mr. Koppel, giving Morrie a heartfelt hug and a kiss on the cheek . . THAT made me cry.

I highly recommend this book.

( )
  idajo2 | Nov 3, 2015 |
/klēˈSHā/ ( )
1 vote | lutfi.cello | Oct 27, 2015 |
"Death ends a life, not a relationship." ( )
  Denise.Jenne | Sep 29, 2015 |
Much more entertaining than I was expecting, this book by sports writer Albom is concise and polished. Morris Schwartz isn't a heroic subject but he is thoughtful and was an academic honors mentor to Albom. The title comes from the classes Albom took from Schwartz while he was teaching at Brandeis University, and the days Albom would meet him again as he was dying from ALS. Schwartz found meaning in his last days with Buddhism. Schwartz was the son of a Russian Jew. Albom notes that he only spoke of Deity and angels at the end but much about Buddhism early on in the book. I found his ruminations on life the least compelling (I worked as an chaplain in a public/non-religious hospital where I dealt with persons of all faiths and none). The more touching aspects were the growth in feeling and emotional connectivity between the two as death for Morrie drew nearer. Schwartz was anti-military from his days during the antiwar Vietnam protests. The book is only 192 pages and well worth reading. Albom has given talks on his books in Los Angeles at the Religious Education Congress. A hospital or hospice chaplain would not gain much from this work, but other people unaccustomed to broaching the subject of human suffering or death might learn ways to comfort people in their situation.
I liked the way the book constructed by Doubleday with an embossed title on the book cover. A small detail but not often included in publishing anymore.
  sacredheart25 | Sep 6, 2015 |
This was a powerful book, full of so much good advice. And very good quotes. It comes down to how to live a life without regrets. I’ve read other books to this effect. This one is short and sweet – very too the point. Because it was so short and because I have read other books that talk about this stuff before it wasn’t as mind blowing as some people told me it would be, which is why it’s only a four star for me and not a five. I still highly recommend the book to everyone. ( )
  Kassilem | Aug 12, 2015 |
Morrie, a retired college professor, met with Mitch, a former student, every Tuesday during Morrie's last days. What a wonderful and touching story and a recommended read to all. ( )
  lubazuck | Jul 2, 2015 |
I still don't see why everyone liked this so much. It was overly sentimentalized. Of course, I didn't "get" Jonathan Livingston Seagull either. ( )
  AntT | Jan 24, 2015 |
I still don't see why everyone liked this so much. It was overly sentimentalized. Of course, I didn't "get" Jonathan Livingston Seagull either. ( )
  AntT | Jan 24, 2015 |
This was a heartwarming story.
I found that this book was hard to put down...and that is from someone who reads horror, fantasy, sci-fi, political, and educational books...not your average touchy-feely person. The story was great and I find myself wondering why I never had a teacher that I connected with even close to this...may have something to do with not being touchy-feely. The author made it really easy to read and kept you coming back for more. Morrie had a lot to say and I'm glad that I had an opportunity to hear some of his philosophy. ( )
  gopfolk | Dec 22, 2014 |
This is a beautiful book about how to live and what to really treasure in life. I have myself of late embracing a lot of ideas that Morrie discusses and really feel that they are important for society as a whole to really embrace. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone too wrapped up in their everyday lives. It's important to stand back and take a good look at what is really important before it is too late. ( )
  plaeski | Dec 16, 2014 |
One of the best books I've read in my life! ( )
  pennylane78 | Nov 22, 2014 |
I have never read this book, it was a gift from Matthew T, but the subject was of no interest to me.
  Craigpt | Nov 16, 2014 |
I would strongly recommend anyone planning to read this book to watch all "Nightline Morrie" videos on YouTube. This will help put face and voice to person about whom this book is and make the reading little more personal experience.

I am not much fan of self-help and sermonizing books so my approach towards 'Tuesdays with Morrie' was not an optimistic one. And I am sorry to report that this book didn't help me dispel the notion. Author Mitch's attempt at finding reverence in anything mentioned by Professor Morrie without giving the thought, and comparing the supposed best state laid by Morrie with rare worst state of everyone else while pretending that rare state is common one, gives impression that banalities uttered by dying professor are newly discovered truths.

If you distil away lessons from the book, you will come with importance of love and compassion, holding on to your values, not running in rat race, and not give too much meaning to money or material possessions. Unless you had your head buried in sand for your life and not had even tiny bit of introspection, you would have known this already. Difficulty is not in knowing but in following through. Unfortunately, Morrie doesn't provide such example from his own life. All his wisdom came to him in moments before dying. As being drunk makes one philosopher, so in his case being on the verge of dying made him philosopher. And a pretentious one at that who wrote down and shared his "aphorisms" with rest of world, with tone of teaching others to live. Just like drunk, when sober, goes on to his life forgetting everything, so was Morrie living his life oblivious of his own wisdom before he came to know about his ALS.

His decisions of not being embarrassed and ashamed of his illness and disability is praiseworthy, but only if you consider alternative that everyone else with this illness is just crying all the time. Indeed doing what he was doing at this stage is most logical way, for he had no other viable option. He is provided for litany of personal care nurses and best of medicines, surely funded by money, and yet claims money means nothing. His own career isn't banner advertisement of living for others or social charity. His advice on marriage is to love, respect, and compromise. Aha, I didn't know that NOT! His advice on forgiving, if taken literally, is perfect excuse for not thinking through your life and just doing anything. I could go on, but the point is that author just didn't think through what Morrie was saying before framing everything and putting on pedestal. I did shed a tear or two in the end though, for what it is worth.

Read it if you are kind of person who needs reassertions of obvious from someone else, and who doesn't give much thought to hypocrisy of medium but rather appreciates the self evident message. It's a quick read anyway, so you have not much to lose. ( )
  ashishg | Sep 22, 2014 |
This was the only book that brought a tear to my eye every time I picked it up...even more so than "Falling Leaves." It definitely puts life into perspective. ( )
  kchung_kaching | Sep 1, 2014 |
Just finished rereading this book. The first time I read it because I felt I should. It's one of those "new classics" that you're expected to know. I got my copy and went through, but didn't connect.

However, this time it was a "right place, right time situation." So inspiring, so many great lines of wisdom, such an endearing reminder of the fragility of life in under 200 pages.

Really, really glad I came back for round 2. ( )
  Bricker | Aug 28, 2014 |
A very touching book with many different lessons and mantras for life. I read it for school, but I'd read it out if I was given the chance, too. ( )
  silkpanda123 | May 14, 2014 |
Great book. Really makes you think about life & how you approach it. I still see Morrie paralyzed & unable to move, but still happy & thinking about others. I saw the original story from Nightline. I love the part where Morrie talks about needing someone to "wipe my a**." The best part about this, they weren't trying to write a best seller. They just wanted to pay Morrie's medical expenses. Maybe that's why the book is so successful. It's real. ( )
  jmcgarry2011 | May 9, 2014 |
This is a must read book. An old man tells his life's highlights and what he learned from that journey. It isn't a cheesy book like so many books on the market today. I enjoyed it. It was an easy read. it isn't hardcore self-help, so it is for everyone, no technical endless words. It is as if talking to a friend about life's most important things, like death and love and sickness and grief... I highly recomand it :) ( )
  pathogenik | Mar 2, 2014 |
It puts everything back in perspective. I loved hearing the author read the book, and the actual interview at the end. ( )
  LaPhenix | Feb 27, 2014 |
oh, what can I say ? :'(
my tears at every end with Mitch Albom Books will tell you ..
Morrie's peacefulness and kindness and simplicity remind me of my dead grandfather , he didn't tell us about life NO, we could see it in the way he treats it and treats the people around him.
I can tell he has no opponent he died peacefully as Morrie :")
God's mercy be upon you ..
I saw/read s lot of Morrie's life's instructions were connected to the Islamic simple principles how we should leave the materialistic things and give all our attention to the spiritual ones
caring and loving.. If I want to Quote I'll Quote all the book :P even the book cover "Tuesdays With Morrie" see how simple he was ?
this is really moving I can't save my review without mentioning it:
“Don't let go too soon, but don't hold on too long.”
hahaaa and this too :
“Forget what the culture says. I have ignored the culture much of my life. I am not going to be ashamed. What’s the big deal?”

In Arabic : يا حوينتك يا "موري" ليش ما متت مسلم ؟ الله يرحم​
( )
  Soplada | Feb 27, 2014 |
So Damn Depressing! Never reading again. The only reason I read it was because it was a school assignment. ( )
  ERWolke | Feb 20, 2014 |
I read Tuesdays with Morrie my freshman year of high school, and it has stuck with me ever since. It is a wonderful story of the relationship between a student and his professor. I love it from beginning to end. I definitely have a box of tissues handy! ( )
  athomas12 | Feb 18, 2014 |
This was an assigned reading for a college course, and if it wasn't for that purpose, I probably wouldn't have picked this book up and read it. But pushing that aside, this book was inspiring, eye-opening, and bittersweet. I would recommend this book to everyone, even to those who proudly proclaim that they never read. ( )
  CinaChilders | Feb 10, 2014 |
This book is one of the rear ones that leave my house unread, so it gets not rating.
I just couldn't get through it. Partially because of it was a large print edition (and I love to have a clue where I'm at, have a proper page in front of me and not be destracted by absence of good margins, paragraphs etc.
The second part was probably that I wasn't caught by the book's content. Not in the right state of mind, too much distraction.
Maybe I'll try another edition sometime later.
  BoekenTrol71 | Dec 29, 2013 |
This book was fantastic and I'm disappointed it took me so long to read it. The book is about a man who still learns important life lessons by going back once a week and talking with his dying professor. ( )
  midkid88 | Dec 28, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 243 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
23 avail.
70 wanted
6 pay22 pay

Popular covers


Average: (3.83)
0.5 13
1 97
1.5 26
2 247
2.5 49
3 710
3.5 156
4 1058
4.5 124
5 1096


3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Beyond Words Publishing

An edition of this book was published by Beyond Words Publishing.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,912,345 books! | Top bar: Always visible