HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Tim: Defender of the Earth by Sam Enthoven
Loading...

Tim: Defender of the Earth (original 2008; edition 2009)

by Sam Enthoven

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
726166,644 (3.46)None
Member:othersam
Title:Tim: Defender of the Earth
Authors:Sam Enthoven
Info:Corgi Childrens (2009), Paperback, 304 pages
Collections:Books I wrote!
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Tim, Defender of the Earth! by Sam Enthoven (2008)

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 1-5 of 6 (next | show all)
When two gargantuan, human-made monsters clash over the future of the human race and the planet, fourteen-year-old Anna Mallahide has a hard time convincing her classmate, Chris Pitman, that he must play any role in the outcome of their epic battle.
  lkmuir | Dec 9, 2015 |
This was a very boring and long book. All the events were predictable and there was nothing new. I hated this book because it was really cheesy, and the plot was boring as you progress into the book. when I first started out reading this book, i was somewhat hooked, thats why i gave it half a star! =D ( )
  hsun18553 | Nov 4, 2010 |
Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

On a school trip to the British Museum, Chris wanders off alone and discovers a private room in the basement. A strange woman appears and shows him a special display case. The object in the case starts to cast a strange glow around the room. The lady opens the case and places the object, a bracelet, on Chris's wrist. It clamps shut and Chris is unable to remove it. With the cryptic words "You've been chosen" uttered to Chris, he is sent back upstairs to join his class and try to figure out what it means.

Seventy stories below the center of London, a strange creature has been created and slated to be destroyed. With voices inside the creature's head, it starts to fight and break its way to the surface and to freedom.

And in another secret location in the city, a brilliant scientist is given the funding from the British Government to proceed with his illegal experiments that will break the Nanotech Non-Proliferation Treaty. Little does the British Government know that the scientist has a secret agenda of his own.

The city of London is under siege by a swarm of nanobots controlled by Professor Mallahide. The hopes and future of the city, and ultimately the world, rest with a boy and a mysterious creature named TIM (Tyrannosaurs: Improved Model). With the help of Ms. Plimpton from the museum, and Anna, a schoolmate and the daughter of Professor Mallahide, Chris and TIM stand a chance of fighting the swarm and the Professor.

I have to admit that I offered to review this book because my son is a dinosaur fanatic. The concept sounded interesting enough on its own merits, so I gave it a go. Well, I was hooked from the first page! For fans of Michael Crichton, TIM, DEFENDER OF EARTH will not disappoint. The action is fast, the science fantastic, and the mounting tension almost too much to bear. I wanted to get to the end to find out if Chris and TIM can save London. Except for the technical, scientific jargon, the book is appropriate for all ages. I can easily picture this being made into a motion picture with the stunning special effects that the swarm would create, as well as the larger-than-life descriptions given to TIM.

I give this book a Gold Star as it's one that I will definitely be recommending to others. ( )
  GeniusJen | Oct 13, 2009 |
What secrets does your government keep from you? Nanotechnology? Genetic engineering? In TIM: Defender of the Earth, this and much more is going on. Anna Mallahide is the daughter of scientist that works for the government. She is used to being the new girl at school because her father’s work requires that they move quite frequently. Chris is a guy who cares more about what people think than about doing what is right. He wants to be cool, but feels like he really has to work at it. When Anna and Chris get paired up on a field trip at the Museum their lives become intwined in a ways they can’t even imagine.While wandering around the Museum, Chris runs into a woman who has been in charge of guarding a bracelet meant for a person that will be the channel for all the life force on the planet. By the way the bracelet reacts when Chris is near, Mrs. Plimpton determines that Chris is the person she has been waiting for. It will be up to Chris to funnel all of the world’s life energy to the Defender because danger is coming and the earth is in trouble. The Defender has been called into action and he can only win if Chris cooperates.TIM (Tyrannosaurus: Improved Model), is the Defender. It is up to him and Chris to save the world from Professor Mallahide, Anna’s father, who has developed nanobots that devours everything in its path in order to “improve” the way of life. While Professor Mallahide’s intentions are true in the beginning, power soon changes the outlook on his mission and he becomes the most dangerous and unstoppable emeny the world has ever known.With battle scenes like the old King Kong vs. Godzilla movies, TIM provides heartstopping action and an incredibly entertaining storyline. The lesson of selflessness and friendship run throughout the story and make it clear that sometimes you have to think of others in order to have a life worth living. ( )
  kperry | Oct 26, 2008 |
Showing 1-5 of 6 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

When two gargantuan, human-made monsters clash over the future of the human race and the planet, fourteen-year-old Anna Mallahide has a hard time convincing her classmate, Chris Pitman, that he must play any role in the outcome of their epic battle.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 3 descriptions

LibraryThing Author

Sam Enthoven is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
7 wanted
4 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.46)
0.5 1
1
1.5 1
2 1
2.5
3 3
3.5 1
4 3
4.5
5 4

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 113,894,523 books! | Top bar: Always visible