HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

No title (2007)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
3,3032571,651 (4.02)1 / 412
Member:
Title:
Authors:
Info:
Collections:
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen (2007)

  1. 152
    Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman (amberwitch)
  2. 143
    Chocolat by Joanne Harris (loriephillips)
  3. 155
    The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd (lasperschlager)
  4. 102
    The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen (brightbel)
  5. 83
    Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel (saltypepper, Becchanalia)
  6. 41
    Thornyhold by Mary Stewart (f_ing_kangaroo)
  7. 41
    The Probable Future by Alice Hoffman (Sweetttart3)
  8. 41
    Blackberry Wine by Joanne Harris (morningwalker)
    morningwalker: magical realism
  9. 30
    Blessed Are the Cheesemakers by Sarah-Kate Lynch (PaperbackPirate)
  10. 10
    The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh (CelesteBremer)
  11. 10
    The Tale of Halcyon Crane by Wendy Webb (bnbookgirl)
  12. 00
    The Good Mayor by Andrew Nicoll (saltypepper)
  13. 00
    The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards (Iudita)
  14. 00
    The Butterfly's Daughter by Mary Alice Monroe (wenbubo)
    wenbubo: There is a love of gardens and family ties are strong.
  15. 00
    The Gilly Salt Sisters by Tiffany Baker (4leschats)
    4leschats: Relationships between sisters which are strained and magic realism aspects.
  16. 00
    How to Eat a Cupcake by Meg Donohue (elbakerone)
    elbakerone: Another charming novel about friendship/family centered around a woman with unique culinary gifts.
  17. 00
    The Blue Castle by L. M. Montgomery (SunnySD)
  18. 00
    Sassafrass, Cypress and Indigo by Ntozake Shange (BeckyJP)
  19. 11
    Songs of the Humpback Whale by Jodi Picoult (VictoriaPL)
  20. 00
    The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes (RidgewayGirl)
    RidgewayGirl: A well-handled magical element ties these two enjoyable books together.

(see all 25 recommendations)

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

English (254)  German (1)  Piratical (1)  All languages (256)
Showing 1-5 of 254 (next | show all)
In the vein of Practical Magic and Like Water for Chocolate. The Waverley women tend a special garden containing an apple tree that bears prophetic fruit and edible flowers with special powers.
  Rockett | Oct 7, 2014 |
This is my favorite of Sarah addison Allen's books! I was swept in by the magic and characters and could not put it down. Quirky, fun, and romantic. ( )
  robin_thompson | Aug 21, 2014 |
Sarah Addiston Allen is the queen of magic.

So I expected alot, although what was there ended up being somewhat different.

This is only her first try; she is still becoming who she is, which is why it's rather in the rough, I think.

It's still a very good book.

(9/10) ( )
  fearless2012 | Jul 2, 2014 |
Bascom, North Carolina is one of those small Southern towns where everyone knows everyone and where your family name can dictate your fate. Everyone in Bascom knows that the Waverleys have a strange sort of magic, that the apples that grow in their backyard can show you the most important moment of your life, and that Claire Waverley makes food that will influence the mood of you and your guests. Claire has accepted her role in Bascom but when a new neighbour starts showing interest in her and her younger sister, Sydney, suddenly returns to Bascom, Claire's carefully structured life threatens to fall apart entirely.

A quiet and charming novel, I fell in love with the world this book creates from the first page. Filled with a cast of slightly eccentric but thoroughly endearing characters, Allen interweaves it with the kind of magic that leaves the novel on the edge of being a fairy tale. While neither the twists of the plot nor the motivations of the antagonists were particularly surprising, the novel is still compelling as the reader watches the Waverley sisters grow. The magic that exists in Bascom is fascinating for its oddness and its subtlety. A lovely read that I highly recommend. ( )
  MickyFine | May 27, 2014 |
Quick, easy, enjoyable read. Rather predictable though. ( )
  patsaintsfan | May 23, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 254 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (8 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Sarah Addison Allenprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Ericksen, SusanNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For my mom. I love you.
First words
Every smiley moon, without fail, Claire dreamed of her childhood.
Quotations
When you're happy for yourself, it fills you. When you're happy for someone else, it pours over.
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary
Flowers have powers,
Family magic runs deep,
This garden sparkles.
(SylviaC)

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0553590324, Mass Market Paperback)

In a garden surrounded by a tall fence, tucked away behind a small, quiet house in an even smaller town, is an apple tree that is rumored to bear a very special sort of fruit. In this luminous debut novel, Sarah Addison Allen tells the story of that enchanted tree, and the extraordinary people who tend it.…

The Waverleys have always been a curious family, endowed with peculiar gifts that make them outsiders even in their hometown of Bascom, North Carolina. Even their garden has a reputation, famous for its feisty apple tree that bears prophetic fruit, and its edible flowers, imbued with special powers. Generations of Waverleys tended this garden. Their history was in the soil. But so were their futures.

A successful caterer, Claire Waverley prepares dishes made with her mystical plants—from the nasturtiums that aid in keeping secrets and the pansies that make children thoughtful, to the snapdragons intended to discourage the attentions of her amorous neighbor. Meanwhile, her elderly cousin, Evanelle, is known for distributing unexpected gifts whose uses become uncannily clear. They are the last of the Waverleys—except for Claire’s rebellious sister, Sydney, who fled Bascom the moment she could, abandoning Claire, as their own mother had years before.

When Sydney suddenly returns home with a young daughter of her own, Claire’s quiet life is turned upside down—along with the protective boundary she has so carefully constructed around her heart. Together again in the house they grew up in, Sydney takes stock of all she left behind, as Claire struggles to heal the wounds of the past. And soon the sisters realize they must deal with their common legacy—if they are ever to feel at home in Bascom—or with each other.

Enchanting and heartfelt, this captivating novel is sure to cast a spell with a style all its own….


From the Hardcover edition.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:34:00 -0400)

(see all 5 descriptions)

The Waverleys of Bascom, North Carolina, are a curious family--even their garden has a reputation, famous for its feisty apple tree that bears prophetic fruit, and its edible flowers, imbued with special powers. When Sydney returns home with a daughter of her own, she and her sister Claire must deal with their legacy.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 9 descriptions

LibraryThing Author

Sarah Addison Allen is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
18 avail.
161 wanted
5 pay11 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.02)
0.5 2
1 14
1.5 3
2 35
2.5 16
3 213
3.5 89
4 509
4.5 64
5 406

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,412,225 books! | Top bar: Always visible