HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Souvenir by Therese Fowler
Loading...

Souvenir

by Therese Fowler

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2041657,485 (4.06)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

English (14)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  All languages (16)
Showing 1-5 of 14 (next | show all)
Whew, this book seriously pulls at the heart strings and makes you think. It's about trying to make responsible decisions and living with the choices you make, even if that means living with regret. And sometimes making amends with that regret. I couldn't put this book down, I devoured it! The ending was incredibly touching and had me in tears. ( )
  Tabatha014 | Apr 28, 2016 |
A powerful book, well-written and very thought-provoking. Took a while to get started, but by the end I couldn't put it down. Slightly explicit content in places. ( )
  SueinCyprus | Jan 26, 2016 |
THIS is a debut novel? Wow! I've read many more-experienced novelists who do not display the maturity in their writing that Fowler does in this first effort. Bravo!
  KC_in_KS | Aug 3, 2011 |
Loved this book! It is one of the best books I have read in awhile! ( )
  booksandbutter | Jan 19, 2010 |
Reviewed by Amanda Dissinger for TeensReadToo.com

SOUVENIR is a heart-wrenching novel in the vein of Nicholas Sparks' THE NOTEBOOK and A WALK TO REMEMBER.

It is a novel about lost love, the possibility of second chances, and the fate that brings us all together.

Meg is a doctor with a sixteen-year-old daughter, and a businessman husband. Things seem to be normal in her life; she's stable at home, and she loves her job. However, she's still holding on to many secrets from her past, including a mistake that haunts her every day.

After a shocking change in her life, she decides to come to terms with her regrets, and decide what she wants in the future.

SOUVENIR is a tearjerker that is very realistic in its tale of true love and heartbreak. It is very well-written, and stays with you long after the first reading. This title will no doubt become a classic in future years because of its touching story and meaningful characters. ( )
  GeniusJen | Oct 13, 2009 |
Showing 1-5 of 14 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Meg Powell and Carson McKay were raised side by side on their families’ farms, bonded by a love that only deepened as they grew. Everyone in their small rural community in northern Florida thought that Meg and Carson would always be together. But at twenty-one, Meg was presented with a marriage proposal she could not refuse, forever changing the course of her life.

Seventeen years later, Meg’s marriage has become routine, and she spends her time juggling the demands of her medical practice, the needs of her widowed father, and the whims of her rebellious teenage daughter, Savannah, who is confronting her burgeoning sexuality in a dangerous manner and pushing her mother away just when she needs her most. Then, after a long absence, Carson returns home to prepare for his wedding to a younger woman. As Carson struggles to determine where his heart and future lie, Meg makes a shocking discovery that will upset the balance of everyone around her.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0345499689, Hardcover)

Fowler's debut is the heartbreaking story of a woman who made what she thought was a responsible decision, only to have to live with the consequences. (T)this outstanding debut is recommended for all public libraries. --Library Journal (starred review)
"Compelling; the characters are likable, troubled, and human, and they're well worth following on their journey."  USA Today
"Truly impossible to put down."  Booklist
"Full of...thought-provoking scenarios. Book clubs will find plenty to discuss here, and women with teens will resonate with the mothering and marital dilemmas. No matter what you think of the ending, Fowler's story will keep you reading until the last paragraph."  Bookreporter.com
"Souvenir is tender, touching, and completely compelling. I cared so much about these characters, couldn't put the novel down, read through the night. Fowler writes with such wisdom about young love, intense and impossible choices, and the way one decision can affect an entire life."
-Luanne Rice

In this powerful fiction debut, Therese Fowler combines the emotional resonance of Nicholas Sparks with the intense, true-to-life richness of Jodi Picoult to create a stunning and dramatic novel all her own.

Meg Powell and Carson McKay grew were raised side by side on their families' farms and expected to always be together. But at twenty-one, Meg was presented with a marriage proposal she could not refuse, forever changing the course of her life.

Seventeen years later, her marriage has become routine, and she spends her time juggling the demands of her medical practice, the needs of her widowed father, and the whims of her rebellious teenage daughter, Savannah, who is pushing her mother away just when she needs her most. Then, after a long absence, Carson returns home to prepare for his wedding to a younger woman. As Carson struggles to determine where his heart and future lie, Meg makes a shocking discovery that will upset the balance of everyone around her.

Unfolding with warmth and passion, Therese Fowler's vibrant and moving debut illuminates the possibility of second chances, the naïve choices of youth, the tensions within families, and the wondrous designs of fate. A searing yet redemptive novel, Souvenir is an unforgettable tale about the transforming power of love.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:18:24 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

Seventeen years after entering into a marriage agreement on her family's behalf, Meg Powell is reunited with her first love, Carson McCay, a situation that complicates her attempts to repair her strained relationship with her daughter, Savannah.

» see all 5 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
3 avail.
19 wanted
4 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.06)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2
2.5 2
3 6
3.5 3
4 19
4.5 1
5 19

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,136,776 books! | Top bar: Always visible