HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Let's Meet on Platform 8 (1997)

by Carole Matthews

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1692118,046 (2.81)1
This modern day Brief Encounter is a wickedly funny romance sure to appeal to fans of Catherine Alliot and Jilly Cooper. Teri is searching for Mr Right. She's been through Mr Lazy, Mr Greedy, Mr Completely Selfish and Mr Downright Pervert - but, as yet, no Mr Wonderful. That is, of course, until she's knocked off her feet by Jamie Duncan, as they rush to catch the 18.07 from platform 8. Soon love blossoms and commuting takes on a whole new meaning. But one thing that can't be ignored is that, as well as being Mr Right, Jamie is also Mr Married...… (more)

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 2 of 2
I guess this finally confirms that "chick-lit" is not really my thing ..the copy I had came stuck on the front of a magazine and I thought it might be a good holiday read, but I finished it in a few hours. I left it on the train from Inverness to Edinburgh after I'd finished it, so it didn't even make it to the charity shop.. ( )
  dylkit | Feb 3, 2014 |
Deftly frothy chick lit exploring the relationships between four iself-aware protagonists in metroland commuting. The setting may recall a Brief Encounter for the 1990s but this is more about the complexities than passion. The plot is sometimes subservient to details of the rail journey but this lends a colourful sense of place, which may not be acessible to non-Londoners. The thorough exploration of the characters' emotions is leavened throughout with astute funny observations but this is more a light romance than a comic novel. ( )
  TheoClarke | Sep 20, 2009 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

This modern day Brief Encounter is a wickedly funny romance sure to appeal to fans of Catherine Alliot and Jilly Cooper. Teri is searching for Mr Right. She's been through Mr Lazy, Mr Greedy, Mr Completely Selfish and Mr Downright Pervert - but, as yet, no Mr Wonderful. That is, of course, until she's knocked off her feet by Jamie Duncan, as they rush to catch the 18.07 from platform 8. Soon love blossoms and commuting takes on a whole new meaning. But one thing that can't be ignored is that, as well as being Mr Right, Jamie is also Mr Married...

No library descriptions found.

Book description
http://www.carolematthews.com- Teri Carter thinks she's found the one, but is it possible that someone else has found him first?

After knowing her down while rushing to catch the 6.07 from London, Jamie Duncan bandages Teri Carter's knee, buys her new stockings, seats her on the train with her foot in his lap and taxis her home from the station. Who says chivalry is dead?

Not only is Jamie a romantic hero - tall, dark, with greeny-gold eyes and a Scottish burr - he's witty, charming and eager to share their daily commute. Suddenly Teri's life is Brief Encounter meets Wuthering Heights. But then she discovers Mr Right is also Mr Married. Jamie's not the type to cheat, and Teri doesn't want him to... or does she? After dating Mr Lazy, Mr Greedy, Mr Completely Selfish and Mr Downright Pervert, can she renounce Mr Perfect?
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.81)
0.5
1 4
1.5 1
2 10
2.5 1
3 12
3.5 1
4 3
4.5 1
5 4

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 150,606,101 books! | Top bar: Always visible