HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Callahan's Legacy by Spider Robinson
Loading...

Callahan's Legacy (original 1996; edition 1997)

by Spider Robinson

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
563417,691 (3.73)3
Member:marte3
Title:Callahan's Legacy
Authors:Spider Robinson
Info:Tor Science Fiction (1997), Paperback, 224 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:*****
Tags:None

Work details

Callahan's legacy by Spider Robinson (1996)

Recently added byprivate library, nysmith, wpisfs, megaelim, bientrey, JaredMcLaine, valkyrdeath, deoradh, dmaness, renbedell

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 3 mentions

Showing 4 of 4
Not the strongest of Robinson's Callahan series, but still entertaining.

Mary's Place is under the gun yet again as the crew of punning misfits rally to stand off another attack from outer space. Probably the most interesting parts of the story delve into the arrival of the oldest three bar-goers: Fast Eddie, Doc, and Long-Drink. Plenty of punning and not a little political commentary thrown in. ( )
  SunnySD | May 3, 2009 |
I read Spider Robinson’s legendary Callahan’s Cross Time Saloon so long ago, my future self needs to be reminded by my past self as to what happened. My present self just remembers being entertained cover to cover. While nothing can recreate any first time experience, I still found Callahan’s Legacy totally enjoyable.

Let’s be honest here, this is no contender for the Greatest Book of All Time. It is not even the Best Sci Fi Ever Created. It is however, immortal, much like that classic, but hokey, musical, Guy’s and Dolls. And for good reason too: just like the characters of the musical, the regulars at Callahan's are unique and memorable for their oddities. Just like the Oldest Permanent Established Floating Crap Game the cast sings about, Callahan’s is the Oldest Strangest Liquor and Coffee Establishment in Sci Fi. If you include time travel, it is certainly the Longest Running Party in the Universe.

When reading this, just go with the flow. It’s pure entertainment with no hidden messages. Well, not exactly . . . there are a lot of anagrams and puns. You will need a good grasp of esoteric music, Zen and xenobiology, as well as an open mind, to follow the action.

Good travel reading, a quick read between more serious works and for fans of Terry Pratchet, Douglas Adams or Larry Niven and good Irish Coffee. ( )
1 vote PghDragonMan | Nov 8, 2008 |
Of all the Spider Robinson I've read so far, this was the most lukewarm, though not totally disappointing. I found the last half of the book more compelling... 'Lady' and 'Crosstime' were much more compelling to me Borrowed from Bec, Jan. 2007 ( )
  syrinx_77 | Jan 21, 2007 |
The fifth installment of the Callahan's Place series actually takes place in Mary's Place, a new bar owned and operated by Callahan's regular Jake Stonebender and populated by most of the Old Gang. The plot is also slightly recycled (banding together to save the Earth from an alien menace), but the real payoff here is hearing regulars Doc Webster, Fast Eddie, and Long-Drink McGonigle recount how they first came to Callahan's. It's rare treat for fans of the series, and Robinson (who unfolded narrator Jake Stonebender's tragic backstory in earlier books) does it beautifully.

This is *not* the book to use to introduce newcomes to the series, however, and not an ideal place to dive back in if you've missed the last installment or two. The references to earlier characters, events, and plotlines are too dense and too much a part of the story for that. ( )
  ABVR | Jul 10, 2006 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Spider Robinsonprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Warhola, JamesCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Amazon.com Review (ISBN 0812550358, Mass Market Paperback)

This is the fifth book in the Callahan's Crosstime Saloon series, a short read that once again brings together the Callahan regulars in a plot that combines the usual group therapy, the best/worst puns ever to see print and epic, world-saving deeds. This time around the gang must save Earth from a decidedly nasty alien, and only group telepathy will do the trick. Spider Robinson, whose cutting wit and keen insights are in full force, takes the opportunity to dive deep into the psyche of his various mainstay characters, making for some darkly intimate reading.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:27:24 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

A novel about a bar on Long Island frequented by science fiction characters. They range from talking dogs to immortals. The novel is a collection of their bar stories, most of them in a humorous vein.

(summary from another edition)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
10 wanted1 pay4 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.73)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 5
2.5 2
3 24
3.5 7
4 34
4.5
5 19

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,396,706 books! | Top bar: Always visible