HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Sideways Stories from Wayside School by…
Loading...

Sideways Stories from Wayside School (original 1978; edition 1985)

by Louis Sachar, Adam McCauley (Illustrator), Julie Brincklo (Illustrator)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3,846641,343 (4.03)49
All member reviews
English (63)  Spanish (1)  All languages (64)
Showing 1-25 of 63 (next | show all)
Wayside school was built with each room on top of another instead of side by side and crazy things happen there every day. This book is a bunch of small poems telling funny stories about things that happen here with all the students and the teacher.
I like this book because it is an easy read, it is something the students will enjoy and there are many lessons you can pull out of it; such as word sounds and even life lessons.
This boo would be especially good to help kids read on their own. I think primary grade students would love reading this book even just for fun.
  alyssasookdeo | Oct 21, 2014 |
I loved this book as a child. It is a must read for my classroom. I think it is unlike any other book. It brings in many topics while making children laugh.
  LaurenValencour | Oct 14, 2014 |
This book is about Wayside School. The school is thirty stories tall and sideways. Each chapter is about a different student in one class. The stories are as outrageous as they are hilarious. I have loved this book since I first read in it 2nd grade. I have reread it countless times. I don't know how I would use it specifically in my teaching, but I would definitely consider it for a class read-aloud. I would also have it in our class library. I would use this book with students in 3rd grade and older. I think it could be used for a unit on creative writing or exaggerations in writing.
  JeniseRedding | Oct 10, 2014 |
Many laughs with giggling boys. Silly, but unexpected and worth it...if it is just to remember a little of our childhood. ( )
  learn2laugh | Sep 14, 2014 |
This was a very silly book. It is about a class of children and their teacher, and each chapter is a story on each individual in turn. Though it is a chapter book, this is definitely classified as children's literature, for the actions of the characters and the humor in what they say and do is aimed toward and relatable to children today.

I first heard this story from the librarian at my elementary school in third grade and then read it on my own in fourth grade and found it absolutely hilarious. Though it's not quite my style now, I still can clearly see the appeal of this book to children and why they would want to read the stories over and over again--as an eight-year-old, who WOULDN'T want to read about kids trying to sell their toes or stealing each other's lunches or getting kicked over the fence? Eight-year-old me was enthralled by those things. ( )
  parejess | May 20, 2014 |
I loved these stories when I was in grade school! They are so inventive and awesomely weird. ( )
  Sarah_Buckley | Jan 3, 2014 |
30 stories of 30 people from different backgrounds and different personalities. ( )
  elliebstevens | Sep 4, 2013 |
I love love loved this as a kid. Why? Probably because it made no sense, a concept I had been encouraged to enjoy by my parents. There is no 19th floor, there is no Mrs. Zarves, that kind of madness. Is it the most intellectually stimulating book I've ever read? No. But they can't all be. They shouldn't all be. ( )
  AmberTheHuman | Aug 30, 2013 |
Sarchar is the Newbery award winner of the book Holes.

Built incorrectly, Wayside school is thirty classrooms tall and not thirty rooms in a row. The building is crocked and missing floor #19.

The students who attend are as wacky as the school.

The fight, they create, they laugh and they are filled with funny antics.

I read this with my nine year old grand daughter. She liked it and laughed right out loud.

I think this is a book that I could have skipped, except for the fact that I now have lovely memories of a giggly, blonde, giggly young lady who holds a special place in my heart. ( )
  Whisper1 | Aug 6, 2013 |
So funny. Great. I loved the sense of humor. There were so many unexpected things. ( )
  Yona | May 2, 2013 |
Dated. Some stories came across as mean sprited and bullying to my elementary kids. Some they didn't get the jokes as the author intended. use with caution. Don't book talk. ( )
  DeweyEver | Apr 30, 2013 |
This is a really great little book about a crazy school with crazy students... :) A book every kid would enjoy and therefore should read! :) ( )
  saraferrell | Apr 3, 2013 |
Wayside School is out of the ordinary...the kids who go there aren't quite ordinary either. The school was built sideways, the teachers can turn their students into apples, teachers bring in kid flavored ice cream, and you learn your best when you are sleeping.

Young readers will enjoy how very different, but still the same, Wayside is from their school. The extreme situations kids may sometimes imagine actually happen at Wayside. Taking the idea of school so far from normalacy (but still relatable) makes this a laugh out loud riot to read. ( )
  agrudzien | Jan 25, 2013 |
This book is hilarious. I could just see kids I know going to a school thirty stories tall, with a classroom on each side, struggling through torturous mosquito bites, a teacher who thinks you're a monkey, and all sorts of kooky and downright hilarious characters. I could read this over and over. It is so realistic, yet oh so spacy. I would defiantly recomend this book to students that love to laugh. I will defiantly read this book to my students because I know that I love books that have humor and i would read more of them so hopefully this would make students want to read more. ( )
  gjchauvin504 | Nov 15, 2012 |
Antics at Wayside school are never boring.
  Bettyest | Jun 15, 2012 |
A good story to introduce at the beginning of the school year. This is about a class of silly students that live in a school that was built 30 stories up instead of 30 classrooms wide. The adventures never end between the teachers and the students. Your students are guaranteed to laugh at these funny stories. ( )
  cfalls | Apr 17, 2012 |
Genre: Fantasy

Review: This story was very comical and early elementary kids would love it. It was hard to choose a genre for this story because it was half one genre and half another almost. I made it fantasy because at the beginning of the book, the mean old teacher turns all her students into apples, which could never happen in real life. If it wasn't for this beginning to the story, I would have made it a realistic fiction because every student in a classroom is different and brings something unique to the class.

Media: pencils ( )
  Venisa | Mar 28, 2012 |
This is really a just-for-fun book and was one of my favorites as a young reader. It is a compilation of very wacky stories about a school that was built sideways and has a lot of crazy teachers and students, including one new student named Sammy who actually turns out to be a dead rat in a trench coat. I think the best quality of this book is its ability to make students laugh and inspire their creative thinking skills. ( )
  amygatt | Dec 7, 2011 |
These stories are great! Silly stories that are great for just encouraging students to read. ( )
  lekenned | Nov 29, 2011 |
Genre: Modern Fantasy

Summary: This book is a collection of short stories of unimaginable and quirky things that happen to students of Wayside School, a school like no other. ( )
  hannahmunger | Nov 20, 2011 |
This silly book is just the fun students love the read about! Everything about Wayside School is way off! Just about everything about Wayside is exceptionally strange. I like this book because it allows children to be imaginative and determine what is and is not realistic. This also helps students to determine genre and motivates them to read and think about their readings.
  mgcook1 | Nov 9, 2011 |
Grades 3 and up. If you like silly stories, you will like this book. The class on the 30th floor of Wayside has some strange, hilarious things that happen. ( )
  MrsSparks | Nov 1, 2011 |
One of my favorite childrens books. These are little stories about different kids and teachers in wayside school. I really enjoyed reading this again from when I read as a child. ( )
  sarahbatte | Sep 20, 2011 |
Charcters - Mrs. Gorj, Mrs. Jewels, Joe, Sharie, Todd, Calvin, Bebe, Myron, Maurecia, Paul, Dana, Jason, Rondi, Sammy, Deedee, D.J., John, Leslie, Miss Zarves, Kathy, Ron, Three Erics, Alison, Dameon, Jenny, Terrence, Joy, Nancy, Stephen, Louis.
location - highschool ( )
  schisari | Jul 23, 2011 |
So funny and quirky and justifyably beloved by kids. ( )
  GaylDasherSmith | Jul 12, 2011 |
Showing 1-25 of 63 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
318 avail.
53 wanted
1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.03)
0.5
1 3
1.5 1
2 22
2.5 12
3 98
3.5 37
4 191
4.5 22
5 198

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,921,454 books! | Top bar: Always visible