HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Sideways Stories from Wayside School by…
Loading...

Sideways Stories from Wayside School (original 1978; edition 1985)

by Louis Sachar, Adam McCauley (Illustrator), Julie Brincklo (Illustrator)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3,609None1,456 (4.05)46
All member reviews
English (58)  Spanish (1)  All languages (59)
Showing 1-25 of 58 (next | show all)
I loved these stories when I was in grade school! They are so inventive and awesomely weird. ( )
  Sarah_Buckley | Jan 3, 2014 |
30 stories of 30 people from different backgrounds and different personalities. ( )
  elliebstevens | Sep 4, 2013 |
I love love loved this as a kid. Why? Probably because it made no sense, a concept I had been encouraged to enjoy by my parents. There is no 19th floor, there is no Mrs. Zarves, that kind of madness. Is it the most intellectually stimulating book I've ever read? No. But they can't all be. They shouldn't all be. ( )
  AmberTheHuman | Aug 30, 2013 |
Sarchar is the Newbery award winner of the book Holes.

Built incorrectly, Wayside school is thirty classrooms tall and not thirty rooms in a row. The building is crocked and missing floor #19.

The students who attend are as wacky as the school.

The fight, they create, they laugh and they are filled with funny antics.

I read this with my nine year old grand daughter. She liked it and laughed right out loud.

I think this is a book that I could have skipped, except for the fact that I now have lovely memories of a giggly, blonde, giggly young lady who holds a special place in my heart. ( )
  Whisper1 | Aug 6, 2013 |
So funny. Great. I loved the sense of humor. There were so many unexpected things. ( )
  Yona | May 2, 2013 |
Dated. Some stories came across as mean sprited and bullying to my elementary kids. Some they didn't get the jokes as the author intended. use with caution. Don't book talk. ( )
  DeweyEver | Apr 30, 2013 |
This is a really great little book about a crazy school with crazy students... :) A book every kid would enjoy and therefore should read! :) ( )
  saraferrell | Apr 3, 2013 |
Wayside School is out of the ordinary...the kids who go there aren't quite ordinary either. The school was built sideways, the teachers can turn their students into apples, teachers bring in kid flavored ice cream, and you learn your best when you are sleeping.

Young readers will enjoy how very different, but still the same, Wayside is from their school. The extreme situations kids may sometimes imagine actually happen at Wayside. Taking the idea of school so far from normalacy (but still relatable) makes this a laugh out loud riot to read. ( )
  agrudzien | Jan 25, 2013 |
This book is hilarious. I could just see kids I know going to a school thirty stories tall, with a classroom on each side, struggling through torturous mosquito bites, a teacher who thinks you're a monkey, and all sorts of kooky and downright hilarious characters. I could read this over and over. It is so realistic, yet oh so spacy. I would defiantly recomend this book to students that love to laugh. I will defiantly read this book to my students because I know that I love books that have humor and i would read more of them so hopefully this would make students want to read more. ( )
  gjchauvin504 | Nov 15, 2012 |
Antics at Wayside school are never boring.
  Bettyest | Jun 15, 2012 |
A good story to introduce at the beginning of the school year. This is about a class of silly students that live in a school that was built 30 stories up instead of 30 classrooms wide. The adventures never end between the teachers and the students. Your students are guaranteed to laugh at these funny stories. ( )
  cfalls | Apr 17, 2012 |
Genre: Fantasy

Review: This story was very comical and early elementary kids would love it. It was hard to choose a genre for this story because it was half one genre and half another almost. I made it fantasy because at the beginning of the book, the mean old teacher turns all her students into apples, which could never happen in real life. If it wasn't for this beginning to the story, I would have made it a realistic fiction because every student in a classroom is different and brings something unique to the class.

Media: pencils ( )
  Venisa | Mar 28, 2012 |
This is really a just-for-fun book and was one of my favorites as a young reader. It is a compilation of very wacky stories about a school that was built sideways and has a lot of crazy teachers and students, including one new student named Sammy who actually turns out to be a dead rat in a trench coat. I think the best quality of this book is its ability to make students laugh and inspire their creative thinking skills. ( )
  amygatt | Dec 7, 2011 |
These stories are great! Silly stories that are great for just encouraging students to read. ( )
  lekenned | Nov 29, 2011 |
Genre: Modern Fantasy

Summary: This book is a collection of short stories of unimaginable and quirky things that happen to students of Wayside School, a school like no other. ( )
  hannahmunger | Nov 20, 2011 |
This silly book is just the fun students love the read about! Everything about Wayside School is way off! Just about everything about Wayside is exceptionally strange. I like this book because it allows children to be imaginative and determine what is and is not realistic. This also helps students to determine genre and motivates them to read and think about their readings.
  mgcook1 | Nov 9, 2011 |
Grades 3 and up. If you like silly stories, you will like this book. The class on the 30th floor of Wayside has some strange, hilarious things that happen. ( )
  MrsSparks | Nov 1, 2011 |
One of my favorite childrens books. These are little stories about different kids and teachers in wayside school. I really enjoyed reading this again from when I read as a child. ( )
  sarahbatte | Sep 20, 2011 |
Charcters - Mrs. Gorj, Mrs. Jewels, Joe, Sharie, Todd, Calvin, Bebe, Myron, Maurecia, Paul, Dana, Jason, Rondi, Sammy, Deedee, D.J., John, Leslie, Miss Zarves, Kathy, Ron, Three Erics, Alison, Dameon, Jenny, Terrence, Joy, Nancy, Stephen, Louis.
location - highschool ( )
  schisari | Jul 23, 2011 |
So funny and quirky and justifyably beloved by kids. ( )
  GaylDasherSmith | Jul 12, 2011 |
This book works well for guided reading groups or as a read aloud. It consists of many short stories about the students and other people at Wayside School. The stories are funny and quirky and appeal to most children. ( )
  mdemock | Apr 16, 2011 |
Very interesting and funny book.
  JACOB.CONKLIN | Mar 28, 2011 |
This is a great book to read with elementary students! Each chapter is a different story of what goes on in this crazy, silly school. I think the chapters are entertaining for young adults to read because it can relate to their school day. It's also fun to read aloud with a group of students because there are many characters in the book.
  Dportnoy | Mar 24, 2011 |
A silly and comical chapter book that upper elementary students will love. It tells the tales of wacky Wayside School. You'll never know what you will find with teachers who turn children into apples and with a school where the 19th floor doesn't exist. Kids will fly through this book, hungry to read each crazy tale from Wayside School.
  KatelynLum | Feb 13, 2011 |
A book about differnt students and Ms.Jewls. The first chapter was about Ms.Gorf that changed students into apples if they didnt pay attention, answer a problem, or anything a teacher wouldnt give a punishment for. ( )
  Ms.Turtle | Jan 28, 2011 |
Showing 1-25 of 58 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
318 avail.
53 wanted
1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.05)
0.5
1 3
1.5 1
2 20
2.5 12
3 84
3.5 34
4 180
4.5 21
5 186

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 89,493,470 books! | Top bar: Always visible