HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Cruel and Unusual by Patricia Cornwell
Loading...

Cruel and Unusual (1993)

by Patricia Cornwell

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: Kay Scarpetta (4)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,383451,121 (3.63)21

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 21 mentions

English (38)  Dutch (2)  Spanish (2)  Danish (1)  German (1)  French (1)  All (45)
Showing 1-5 of 38 (next | show all)
This was a well-paced and interesting mystery/thriller. It's nothing life-changing, but Cornwell knows how to tell an engaging story with enough technical details to make you feel like you're learning something without feeling like you're reading a forensics textbook. If you like "smart" crime dramas in the vein of "Bones" or "Criminal Minds," it's certainly worth your time. Fourth in a series featuring Virginia Chief Medical Examiner Kay Scarpetta. ( )
  TheBentley | Nov 9, 2017 |
The whole world continues to be against Kay Scarpeta. ( )
  brakketh | Jun 9, 2017 |
I listened to this book. Dr. Scarpetta has to autopsy an executed murder, Ronnie Joe Waddell, who killed a young celebrity 10 years ago. She is then called to an apparent suicide and finds the killer's fingerprints at the scene, impossible because he has been in prison since the original murder. A young boy is kidnapped and posed to resemble the original murder. Kay is facing odd events at work when one of her employees seems frightened and suddenly quits and is then found dead. Kay is being set up for the murder. With the help of her genius niece, Lucy, and the FBI Wesley Benton, Kay has to find the answers before she ends up convicted of murder and corruption.
  taurus27 | Oct 4, 2016 |
Nice procedural. Very cool ending. Looking forward to more Scarpetta. ( )
  bishopjoey | Feb 10, 2016 |
Again beginning solving computer-problems with Lucy, yeah!
Rest is ok, recommended, fast-page-turner, still too similar to the other books and too expensive as an ebook.
( )
  Ingo.Lembcke | Oct 27, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 38 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (20 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Patricia Cornwellprimary authorall editionscalculated
Beltran, CarlosCover designersecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
This book is for the inimitable Dr. Marcella Fierro.
(You taught Scarpetta well.)
First words
It is two weeks before Christmas.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original language
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (2)

Book description
Cornwell embroils Kay Scarpetta in a grisly case involving a recently executed murderer whose fingerprints turn up in at a new crime scene...
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0380718340, Mass Market Paperback)

Trying to solve the murder of a thirteen-year-old boy, Dr. Kay Scarpetta and police lieutenant Pete Marion race against time to find a killer after the fingerprints of a recently executed murderer turn up at a new crime scene. Reissue."

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:07:38 -0400)

(see all 4 descriptions)

Trying to solve the murder of a thirteen-year-old boy, Dr. Kay Scarpetta and police lieutenant Pete Marion race against time to find a killer after the fingerprints of a recently executed murderer turn up at a new crime scene.

» see all 12 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1159 avail.
28 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.63)
0.5
1 7
1.5 2
2 59
2.5 10
3 265
3.5 54
4 304
4.5 17
5 132

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 120,808,837 books! | Top bar: Always visible