Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Veronika decide morrer by Paulo Coelho

Veronika decide morrer (original 1998; edition 1998)

by Paulo Coelho

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5,302121831 (3.6)151
Em uma vida muito depressiva, Veronika tenta se matar e vai parar em um manicômio.
Lá encontra Edward, um rapaz esquizofrênico, ela se apaixona e aos poucos descobre o que é viver. ( )
  Mezttally | May 20, 2012 |
English (94)  Spanish (9)  French (4)  Dutch (4)  Portuguese (Portugal) (3)  Italian (2)  German (2)  Portuguese (1)  Polish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  All languages (121)
Showing 1-25 of 94 (next | show all)
It has been a few years since I read it. As I bought it late September in 2007, I might have read it in 2007 or 2008.
I just thought about it, as it also plays in a mental institution, a few days after finishing [b:The Silver Linings Playbook|13539044|The Silver Linings Playbook|Matthew Quick|http://d.gr-assets.com/books/1347909156s/13539044.jpg|2915346] .
This book is also about a way to heal and face reality.
Great ending, I did not see that coming.
( )
  Ingo.Lembcke | Oct 27, 2015 |
Over ambitious. Paulo attempts to do like with The Alchemist, creating a 'fable' and a 'story' out of modern times but doesn't quite get the same resonance, also tries to tackle things bigger than he is willing to give space to or even try to fully convey other than in his 'mystical' writing. ( )
  BenKline | Oct 1, 2015 |
It has been a few days since I finished this book, but I haven't had time yet to write a review. At first I hesitated if I should read the book, because I've had two recent deaths in my family. Decided to give it a try anyway.
So, what do I think about this book?
I liked it. Despite what the title says, for me this is a book about life, at least for the greater part.
It is sometimes painful, when the methods used in the clinic are described. Or cynical, when the 'owners' and their ways are mentioned.
And that is about all I'm hoing to write, because I don't want to tell on how the book ends.
Oh, just one more thing: this book I seriously reconmend! ( )
  BoekenTrol71 | Sep 27, 2015 |
I have become less and less enamored with Coelho's writing, since I first read The Alchemist many, many years ago. Maybe I have become a bit more cynical or maybe my relationship with spirituality has shifted and matured in a way that doesn't relate to the kinds of messages he shares anymore (it would be interesting to re-read The Alchemist and see if I still relate to it as I once did).

All of this is to say that I did not love Veronika Decides to Die, which tells the story of a young, beautiful woman who attempts suicide and is placed in the Villete mental hospital in Slovenia and how her redemption and growth inspires other patients to redeem themselves and find their own ways back into the world. My problem with the story is not so much a rejection of the idea that "normal" is a condition determined by the majoritythat condemns the unique and different as insane, but rather that none of the characters seem to behave as real people. Each character, including many of the patients turn out to be secretly wise old souls, able to spout deep and meaningful philosophy at a moment's notice. These four main patients are just "different" from what society expects them to be, which is why they have settled and become comfortable in the hospital. Although, some of the "real insane" are mentioned in passing, the complicated issues of those dealing with true mental illnesses is not treated well. The main focus of the story is on a more romantic vision of insanity and suicide as something that is just misunderstood, with the idea that if a person can just learn to take risks and live life fully everyday, then they can cure themselves of "insanity." While I agree in the concept of trying to live as fully as possible, here it is presented as such an oversimplification and repeated over and over again to the point that the story becomes dull and the message watered down.

There is also a strange meta-moment early in the book in which Coelho inserts himself into the story in order to explain that he chose to write the book due his own experiences of being put in a hospital as a young man. Although this is both true and interesting (his parents thought his entry into the arts was a mental aberration), it felt like an odd distraction from the main story and was something I would have preferred to have seen better described in an author's note.

Veronika Decides to Die — not a favorite of mine. ( )
  andreablythe | Aug 17, 2015 |
I so disliked this book!,, July 27, 2015

This review is from: Veronika Decides to Die: A Novel of Redemption (Paperback)
Veronika is a young Slovenian woman, attempting suicide. She's not ill or depressed; only, she's realised her life is unremittingly the same every day, and she's going to get old and go downhill. Also, she's powerless to do anything about the bad things going on in the world. Of course, her attempt is unsuccessful and she finds herself in a psychiatric hospital...
In the hospital we encounter various other characters, notably schizophrenic Edward, 'The Fraternity', a group who are cured but don't want to leave as they can behave how they want if they're deemed 'mad'. And Dr Igor, who is pursuing a theory on bitterness (or 'Vitriol'), which seems to infect most people...
I so disliked this book: it's probably more of a *1.5. I realise that the whole plot and characters are meant to illustrate Coelho's thoughts rather than being believable real-life persons. But the thoughts and ideas are very facile, making me think this is aimed at a teen audience. Coelho includes an implausible sex scene to spice it all up.
How the author became so famous is beyond me! ( )
  starbox | Jul 27, 2015 |
Paulo Cohello debe ser , fàcil , la mentira màs grande en la literatura .

Es como ,por decirlo de alguna manera ,el Arjona de los libros . Un chanta con metàforas inservibles , libros con mensajes que no llevan a ningùn lado , algùn que otro poema machista ,etc .

Este me lo recomendò una amiga y demàs està decir que no vuelvo a leer nada que me diga esa persona . Obviamente no tenìa pensado leer nunca nada de este autor , con las crìticas y las opiniones de escritores en serio sobre la clase de "autor" que es Cohelo (ademàs de conocer parte de su historia personal como "guìa espiritual" de Cecilia Bolocco .... siempre hay un muerto para un degollado , no?) . Nunca nunca lo hubiese empezado pero , que se yo... me lo prestaron , me insistieron tanto ... y , ademàs , usualmente no me puedo resistir a las novelas sobre hospitales psiquiàtricos asì que le di una oportunidad.

Grave error .

En desacuerdo totalmente con cada una de las premisas . Horrible la escritura . Totalmente falto de creatividad . Un libro que lleva a lugares superficiales y vacios , con personajes irreales y nada pero nada que valga la pena.

Otra cosa ...A basta de romantizar a un enfermo mental y sobre todo a uno que en la vida real no tiene cura ... Les puedo asegurar que Cohelo no sabe sobre trastornos mentales .

No me sorprende que venda tanto porque , en fin ,un bestseller es un bestseller y , si por supuesto , yo tengo mis muertos en el placard tambièn , como cualquiera ... pero -SIN OFENDER- que haya personas que se lo tomen en serio y digan que es profundo!! ¡Por favor ! Serìa como tomarse en serio a Claudio Maria Dominguez . No-señora-gracias-señora, no pienso "abrazar en amor" a este chanta .
  LaMala | Jun 7, 2015 |
An interesting, well written book, although some of the themes are a bit clichy and it's easy to see the direction of the plot early in the book. No real surprises like I'd hoped. ( )
  Mimiyoyo | Feb 23, 2015 |
Veronika Decides to Die tells a simple story: the title character, a young, beautiful woman, is dissatisfied with life and decides to kill herself. She survives her suicide attempt, but at the upscale mental hospital she is admitted to afterward, she is told her heart is damaged and she has only about a week to live. This revelation forces her, and the hospital's other patients as well, to re-evaluate what is important in life.

This novel is not a realistic depiction of life in a mental hospital; rather, it is a fable about the human condition. The hospital is a microcosm of the wider world. I enjoyed the novel's straightforward prose, but my overall impression was that the story was not very substantial, and its spiritual insights were not very deep (art, music, and sexual pleasure = good; mindless conformity = bad). The same message could have been delivered, perhaps more effectively, in a short story. ( )
1 vote akblanchard | Dec 1, 2014 |
This is a difficult book to rate. I enjoyed the philosophy and there were quite a few thought-provoking statements about conformity and insanity. One favorite: "That is why embittered people find heroes and madmen a perennial source of fascination, for they have no fear of life or death."

As a novel, the plot was minimal and the very lean prose made it difficult to feel anything for the characters. ( )
  CathrynGrant | Nov 21, 2014 |
Een pareltje! ( )
  Flavie | Aug 31, 2014 |
Told from the heart

Clearly the subject is dear to the author and he celebrates the differences in people that we both enjoy and fear. In this PC climate, the message of this book is so necessary - especially the vitriol thesis. There are so many functionally numb people today, that this book should be dedicated to them. Bravo Paulo! This is a masterpiece. ( )
  Molecular | Feb 21, 2014 |
Are the lunatics running the asylum?

This is the third Coelho novel that I've read,after The Alchemist and The Devil and Miss Prym,and for me it is the weakest.Now don't get me wrong I love the author's writing style which I find so easy going yet with a deceptive depth,rather I felt that this book lacked any real plot and was more of a parable or perhaps a part of some philosophical debate where the only true madness is to conform.

Veronika has never done anything challenging or taken a real risk preferring to live a safe unimaginative life within self-regulated boundaries in both her professional and personal existance. Despite superficially having everything to live for is basically bored with life,so decides to commit suicide. When this fails she is sent to a mental hospital where she is told that she only has days to live thus making her re-evaluate not only her life but the meaning of life.Surrounded by other 'maniacs' she finally begins to see life as a gift and wants to live her final days to the full.Which for the reader means we end up with a debate as to the meanings of life and death,love and hate, madness and sanity.

Despite really wanting to I struggled to feel any real empathy towards Veronika and her plight instead finding myself more interested in the other characters in the book lives. In particular I was intrigued by the character of Doctor Igor, the establishment's psychiatrist with his own somewhat warped outlook,who quite frankly seemed to be the only real lunatic in the place.I had pretty well guessed the ending before we got there but didn't feel that was too detrimental to it overall and as such still enjoyed the book, just not as much as the others.

Now at only about 190 pages long it is a reasonably quick read so go on judge for yourself it may give you a different outlook on life. You never know. ( )
  PilgrimJess | Feb 1, 2014 |
4 1/2 stars ( )
  bookmagic | Jan 31, 2014 |
Story set in Romania of a young girl who decides to commit suicide. She is not successful and is hospitalized for mental illness. ( )
  Kristelh | Nov 16, 2013 |
Love this book. Makes us think about life and how to live our lives. ( )
  parvita | Aug 12, 2013 |
As with all Coehlo, it's some great ideas wrapped up into a shiny little feel-good package that just makes me feel a little dirty for liking it. Does he seem awfully contrived to anyone else? ( )
  blake.rosser | Jul 28, 2013 |
The title character of this book, Veronika, tries to commit suicide through an overdose of pills. The suicide attempt fails, but the pills have caused irreparable damage to her heart and she only has 1 week to live. This knowledge of her imminent death gives Veronika new insight and a different perspective on life. My copy of the book included some interesting information on Paulo Coelho's life. As a young man, he spent several weeks in a mental hospital. He uses this information to frame many of the events of the book and provide a very different viewpoint of how we view and treat the 'insane'. Although the premise of this book was interesting, I am not a huge fan of Coelho. Rather than subtly stating a theme in his books, he tends to shout it out repeatedly. For this novel, the central theme seemed to revolve around how strict rules in our society force people to behave abnormally, but once a person is labeled 'insane', they have the freedom to behave and live as they want.
( )
  jmoncton | Jun 3, 2013 |
The whole plot to make the two people who wanted to die want to really live again was a little too over the top for me. I am quite sure other people will love it, though. Mr. Coelho's writing is always wonderful, but the story itself did not appeal to me. ( )
  Lexxie | Apr 23, 2013 |
I had no clue that one of my favorite bands, Saturnus, named one of their very best albums after this book. I thought they had come up with the title :P Very interesting! Not sure if I will read this or not...
  __Lindsey__ | Apr 17, 2013 |
I had no clue that one of my favorite bands, Saturnus, named one of their very best albums after this book. I thought they had come up with the title :P Very interesting! Not sure if I will read this or not...
  __Lindsey__ | Apr 17, 2013 |
I found it hard to get past his (terrible, incorrect, dangerous) view on mental illness, but the writing is fine.
  sarahlizfits | Apr 16, 2013 |
excellent! ( )
  julierh | Apr 7, 2013 |
For me this book was about conforming to social norms and how we act and feel in our day to day lives to fit into what society prescribes. Veronika, a librarian (an awesome job I would imagine!), decides to commit suicide but luckily fails and ends up in an institution for the mentally ill. As she is 'treated' by the hospital's head physician she encounters other patients who are all looking for, but seldom finding, their place in the world.

I loved the dialogue and the opportunity that her 'illness' allowed for her to finally find and express her true self. Viewed as an unstable person allowed for her to voice and act out in ways she (and we as 'normal' individuals) would otherwise never have done.

"If one day I could get out of here, I would allow myself to be crazy. Everyone is indeed crazy, but the craziest are the ones who don't know they're crazy; they just keep repeating what others tell them to."

With this (and an on-going experiment by said head physician) Veronika finds love, acceptance and her true voice. ( )
  MichelleCH | Apr 5, 2013 |
If you knew you were going to die tomorrow, would you live differently? Would you regret the things you did, thinking you shouldn't have done this or that?

And to this, Coelho writes, why wait until you're dying? We're born to die , isn't that the saying? Certainly we'll die, and we don't know when. It could be tomorrow, it could be 50 years later. So why waste our lives? For a book titled as such, it talks a lot about the value of living.

I guess I really like this book because it's full of crazy people, people who don't conform, and I'm a little crazy myself. It's taught me to embrace my madness, to look at every day as if it's different from the day before it, to live like who I am, and how I want it.

When faced by your own mortality, I don't think you have a choice but to live your life to the fullest. ( )
  qquiet | Apr 2, 2013 |
Who the heck decided that this book - out of the hundreds of millions of books out there - belonged on the 1001 books to read before you die list? Seriously, I don't understand. I do not like Coelho's style at all. The upside: it was a quick read.

Two back to back 2 star books do not make me a happy camper. Jane Austen, I'm counting on you to get me out of this reading slump.

ETA: I have decided that this book must have been commissioned by Hallmark. Are all of Coelho's books like this? ( )
  cait815 | Apr 1, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 94 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
46 avail.
198 wanted
8 pay4 pay

Popular covers


Average: (3.6)
0.5 14
1 59
1.5 12
2 145
2.5 39
3 351
3.5 88
4 466
4.5 39
5 358


An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,961,214 books! | Top bar: Always visible