HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Veronika decide morrer by Paulo Coelho
Loading...

Veronika decide morrer (original 1998; edition 1998)

by Paulo Coelho

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5,093109880 (3.61)143
Mezttally's review
Em uma vida muito depressiva, Veronika tenta se matar e vai parar em um manicômio.
Lá encontra Edward, um rapaz esquizofrênico, ela se apaixona e aos poucos descobre o que é viver. ( )
  Mezttally | May 20, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (85)  Spanish (6)  Dutch (4)  French (4)  Portuguese (Portugal) (3)  Italian (2)  German (2)  Portuguese (1)  Polish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  All languages (109)
Showing 1-25 of 85 (next | show all)
Een pareltje! ( )
  Flavie | Aug 31, 2014 |
Told from the heart

Clearly the subject is dear to the author and he celebrates the differences in people that we both enjoy and fear. In this PC climate, the message of this book is so necessary - especially the vitriol thesis. There are so many functionally numb people today, that this book should be dedicated to them. Bravo Paulo! This is a masterpiece. ( )
  Molecular | Feb 21, 2014 |
Are the lunatics running the asylum?

This is the third Coelho novel that I've read,after The Alchemist and The Devil and Miss Prym,and for me it is the weakest.Now don't get me wrong I love the author's writing style which I find so easy going yet with a deceptive depth,rather I felt that this book lacked any real plot and was more of a parable or perhaps a part of some philosophical debate where the only true madness is to conform.

Veronika has never done anything challenging or taken a real risk preferring to live a safe unimaginative life within self-regulated boundaries in both her professional and personal existance. Despite superficially having everything to live for is basically bored with life,so decides to commit suicide. When this fails she is sent to a mental hospital where she is told that she only has days to live thus making her re-evaluate not only her life but the meaning of life.Surrounded by other 'maniacs' she finally begins to see life as a gift and wants to live her final days to the full.Which for the reader means we end up with a debate as to the meanings of life and death,love and hate, madness and sanity.

Despite really wanting to I struggled to feel any real empathy towards Veronika and her plight instead finding myself more interested in the other characters in the book lives. In particular I was intrigued by the character of Doctor Igor, the establishment's psychiatrist with his own somewhat warped outlook,who quite frankly seemed to be the only real lunatic in the place.I had pretty well guessed the ending before we got there but didn't feel that was too detrimental to it overall and as such still enjoyed the book, just not as much as the others.

Now at only about 190 pages long it is a reasonably quick read so go on judge for yourself it may give you a different outlook on life. You never know. ( )
  PilgrimJess | Feb 1, 2014 |
4 1/2 stars ( )
  bookmagic | Jan 31, 2014 |
Story set in Romania of a young girl who decides to commit suicide. She is not successful and is hospitalized for mental illness. ( )
  Kristelh | Nov 16, 2013 |
Love this book. Makes us think about life and how to live our lives. ( )
  parvita | Aug 12, 2013 |
As with all Coehlo, it's some great ideas wrapped up into a shiny little feel-good package that just makes me feel a little dirty for liking it. Does he seem awfully contrived to anyone else? ( )
  blake.rosser | Jul 28, 2013 |
The title character of this book, Veronika, tries to commit suicide through an overdose of pills. The suicide attempt fails, but the pills have caused irreparable damage to her heart and she only has 1 week to live. This knowledge of her imminent death gives Veronika new insight and a different perspective on life. My copy of the book included some interesting information on Paulo Coelho's life. As a young man, he spent several weeks in a mental hospital. He uses this information to frame many of the events of the book and provide a very different viewpoint of how we view and treat the 'insane'. Although the premise of this book was interesting, I am not a huge fan of Coelho. Rather than subtly stating a theme in his books, he tends to shout it out repeatedly. For this novel, the central theme seemed to revolve around how strict rules in our society force people to behave abnormally, but once a person is labeled 'insane', they have the freedom to behave and live as they want.
( )
  jmoncton | Jun 3, 2013 |
The whole plot to make the two people who wanted to die want to really live again was a little too over the top for me. I am quite sure other people will love it, though. Mr. Coelho's writing is always wonderful, but the story itself did not appeal to me. ( )
  Lexxie | Apr 23, 2013 |
I had no clue that one of my favorite bands, Saturnus, named one of their very best albums after this book. I thought they had come up with the title :P Very interesting! Not sure if I will read this or not...
  __Lindsey__ | Apr 17, 2013 |
I had no clue that one of my favorite bands, Saturnus, named one of their very best albums after this book. I thought they had come up with the title :P Very interesting! Not sure if I will read this or not...
  __Lindsey__ | Apr 17, 2013 |
I found it hard to get past his (terrible, incorrect, dangerous) view on mental illness, but the writing is fine.
  sarahlizfits | Apr 16, 2013 |
excellent! ( )
  julierh | Apr 7, 2013 |
For me this book was about conforming to social norms and how we act and feel in our day to day lives to fit into what society prescribes. Veronika, a librarian (an awesome job I would imagine!), decides to commit suicide but luckily fails and ends up in an institution for the mentally ill. As she is 'treated' by the hospital's head physician she encounters other patients who are all looking for, but seldom finding, their place in the world.

I loved the dialogue and the opportunity that her 'illness' allowed for her to finally find and express her true self. Viewed as an unstable person allowed for her to voice and act out in ways she (and we as 'normal' individuals) would otherwise never have done.

"If one day I could get out of here, I would allow myself to be crazy. Everyone is indeed crazy, but the craziest are the ones who don't know they're crazy; they just keep repeating what others tell them to."

With this (and an on-going experiment by said head physician) Veronika finds love, acceptance and her true voice. ( )
  MichelleCH | Apr 5, 2013 |
If you knew you were going to die tomorrow, would you live differently? Would you regret the things you did, thinking you shouldn't have done this or that?

And to this, Coelho writes, why wait until you're dying? We're born to die , isn't that the saying? Certainly we'll die, and we don't know when. It could be tomorrow, it could be 50 years later. So why waste our lives? For a book titled as such, it talks a lot about the value of living.

I guess I really like this book because it's full of crazy people, people who don't conform, and I'm a little crazy myself. It's taught me to embrace my madness, to look at every day as if it's different from the day before it, to live like who I am, and how I want it.

When faced by your own mortality, I don't think you have a choice but to live your life to the fullest. ( )
  qquiet | Apr 2, 2013 |
Who the heck decided that this book - out of the hundreds of millions of books out there - belonged on the 1001 books to read before you die list? Seriously, I don't understand. I do not like Coelho's style at all. The upside: it was a quick read.

Two back to back 2 star books do not make me a happy camper. Jane Austen, I'm counting on you to get me out of this reading slump.

ETA: I have decided that this book must have been commissioned by Hallmark. Are all of Coelho's books like this? ( )
  cait815 | Apr 1, 2013 |
This is one of the most WTF books I have read in a while.

I had read some of "The Alchemist" also by Paulo Coelho and gave up on it after I couldn't stand his preachy attempts at philosophizing, but this was recommended to me by a friend. Because I know so few people who read, I latch on to any book they mention in the hopes that I can actually talk about books with someone in real life. I need to learn my lesson already.

The plot and characters could've been anything, and were probably underdeveloped as a result, because they were really just a vehicle for his message that madness is all relative. Perhaps there are some kernels of truth there, but I think it's much a more nuanced idea than how he writes it, and it certainly doesn't have to be so obvious and heavy-handed. I can only be told what to think for so long without resenting you and your unlikeable, illogical characters. And, by the way, that argument is not exactly supported by having a character fall instantly in love with a man who just sits there as she plays piano for hours and then silently watches while she furiously masturbates. That makes sense. But who am I to judge? Maybe I'm the mad one! ( )
  anawkwardreader | Mar 30, 2013 |
Veronika decide morir del autor Paulo Coelho es un libro que me gusta mucho ya que habla de una mujer de 24 años que ha tenido todo en la vida y un día decide suicidarse porque su vida se vuelve monótona, pero este intento de suicidio falla y es llevada a un centro psiquiátrico. ( )
  camiperez.pe | Feb 7, 2013 |
Mr Cohelo's books are extremely popular and having read "The Alchemist" I gave ths one a chance. It was better but still patronizing. All his books seem to say much about nothing. They assume the reader will be taken in by trying to sound mystical and that there is something behind it but you are left thinking "What was all that about" ( )
  lisathomson | Jan 11, 2013 |
So so ( )
  ibkennedy | Jan 6, 2013 |
The lesser known of Paulo Coelho's books and I had to be really pushed to read it, yet even more so than The Alchemist, the message is so very simple. Be EXACTLY who you seek to be ... and that certainly rang home with me. A 'must read' in my mind but only after you have read the Alchemist :) ( )
  stuartechambers | Aug 12, 2012 |
Also on my blogAlthough previously infuriated by Paulo Coelho's The Alchemist, I decided to give Coelho another chance. While it's right to say that I didn't hate this book as much, it didn't impress me either. It was just plain okay. And it bored me. Veronika is a 24-year-old pretty girl. She decides to die because 1) she feels like life has nothing more to offer her. She's tired of the same things happening daily, doing the same things daily, with nothing new in her life, and 2) she realizes that one day she will be old and she doesn't want to be old. That day she overdoses on sleeping pills, expecting to die. Unfortunately, she is sent to Villete, an asylum, in time to be saved. Temporarily. The doctor, Dr Igor, tells her that she only has days to live because the pills somehow managed to damage her heart. During her stay at Villete, she gets to know some people in there. She makes some friends and plays the piano and falls in love. Then the thought creeps in, from time to time, despite her trying to push it far away, whether she still wants to live, now that there are new things in her life and life doesn't seem so empty anymore. In the first few chapters, Paulo Coelho wrote about himself as Dr Igor's daughter's friend. I'm not sure whether he implies or says it outright that he was also sent to a mental hospital because he wanted to be an artist (or writer I'm not sure) and therefore his parents thought he was mad. That's what I understood. So while this book is about the value of life in the face of imminent death, it also questions the way people judge 'madness'. I really did want to like this but sadly Coelho failed me again. The translated text flows well enough, the story sounds promising. The main problem with this book for me is the way Coelho wrote it. I didn't like that he put himself in the story, because it didn't relate to anything in it. It just looks out of place and comes out of nowhere. I also didn't like it because the story was just so boring. I mean, it's nothingness. I didn't care about any of the characters. Veronika decides to die, well, that was interesting. But all that follows is all her interactions with people in Villete and stories of some patients' lives. It bored the hell out of me. And it didn't make me feel like life is so great, either. And don't even get me started on THE ENDING. Oh dear Lord. It was terrible. In the end, it's revealed that Dr Igor lied to Veronika when he said she had only days to live. In fact, there was nothing wrong with her heart at all. She was perfectly fine and healthy. He only wanted to know whether life becomes more valuable knowing that death is imminent. It's like the author wanted to force a happy ending (she didn't have to die in 7 days) into a story that's built to end with what it promised: death. The idea that a doctor uses an innocent patient as a guinea pig for his personal experiment in hope to be famous for it one day is SICKENING. He didn't even tell her. She lived her life expecting death. It's just so wrong on so many levels. This is one of the reasons why I didn't like this book. All in all, disappointment. Nothingness in the form of 208 pages. Also on my blog ( )
  scarletsparks | Mar 26, 2012 |
i loved this book, message given was nice, which also included that too make some one happy even if its necessary to lie then its not a big sin ( )
  Allzz | Dec 23, 2011 |
Is it only what we cannot have that we want? I liked the concept, but did not enjoy the writing much, or was that the translation? ( )
1 vote flydodofly | Sep 28, 2011 |
Loved this one. My only gripe about it is when the story sidetracks to give some background for the other patients. I thought that didn't really make much difference to me regarding the story, at times I felt they were just fillers. Four and a half out of five. ( )
  veranaz22 | Aug 3, 2011 |
Showing 1-25 of 85 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
64 avail.
241 wanted
8 pay4 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.61)
0.5 14
1 57
1.5 10
2 134
2.5 38
3 332
3.5 83
4 451
4.5 36
5 346

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,736,211 books! | Top bar: Always visible