HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Love Among the Walnuts: or, How I Saved My…
Loading...

Love Among the Walnuts: or, How I Saved My Family from Being Poisoned (1998)

by Jean Ferris

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2221252,362 (3.88)7
Recently added byBrianaMc., private library, mtunquist, Rosa.Mill, ssomme

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 7 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 12 (next | show all)
Horatio is a wealthy man who meets and falls in love with Mousey. They get married and move to the country to live in isolation. Eventually they have a baby they name Sandy. Sandy grows up isolated from the world, learning from his parents. (he is very book smart) The only downside in their lives are monthly visits from Sandy's uncles (Horatio's brothers)Bentley and Bernie. Bentley and Bernie are trying to poison the family so that they can get all of the family's money. Eventually the brothers succeed in poisoning some, but not all of the family. Sandy's parents,Flossie (one of the two servants who are like family) and Sandy's pet chicken Atila. Sandy hires a nurse to care for them but the uncles go to court and insist they go to a hospital for proper care. Sandy takes them to the Walnut House next door, a hospital for distressed people. There are several people in Walnut House although there are things wrong with them, it is nothing that a little bit of time and Sunnie's common sense can't cure. Eventually the inmates band together with Sunnie and Sandy and not only do they beat out the uncles, but they discover that the relatives that put them there are stealing money from the institute. They get their money back from their relatives and turn the institute into a nonprofit place for people who need to recharge from life. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
Horatio is a wealthy man who meets and falls in love with Mousey. They get married and move to the country to live in isolation. Eventually they have a baby they name Sandy. Sandy grows up isolated from the world, learning from his parents. (he is very book smart) The only downside in their lives are monthly visits from Sandy's uncles (Horatio's brothers)Bentley and Bernie. Bentley and Bernie are trying to poison the family so that they can get all of the family's money. Eventually the brothers succeed in poisoning some, but not all of the family. Sandy's parents,Flossie (one of the two servants who are like family) and Sandy's pet chicken Atila. Sandy hires a nurse to care for them but the uncles go to court and insist they go to a hospital for proper care. Sandy takes them to the Walnut House next door, a hospital for distressed people. There are several people in Walnut House although there are things wrong with them, it is nothing that a little bit of time and Sunnie's common sense can't cure. Eventually the inmates band together with Sunnie and Sandy and not only do they beat out the uncles, but they discover that the relatives that put them there are stealing money from the institute. They get their money back from their relatives and turn the institute into a nonprofit place for people who need to recharge from life. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
Horatio is a wealthy man who meets and falls in love with Mousey. They get married and move to the country to live in isolation. Eventually they have a baby they name Sandy. Sandy grows up isolated from the world, learning from his parents. (he is very book smart) The only downside in their lives are monthly visits from Sandy's uncles (Horatio's brothers)Bentley and Bernie. Bentley and Bernie are trying to poison the family so that they can get all of the family's money. Eventually the brothers succeed in poisoning some, but not all of the family. Sandy's parents,Flossie (one of the two servants who are like family) and Sandy's pet chicken Atila. Sandy hires a nurse to care for them but the uncles go to court and insist they go to a hospital for proper care. Sandy takes them to the Walnut House next door, a hospital for distressed people. There are several people in Walnut House although there are things wrong with them, it is nothing that a little bit of time and Sunnie's common sense can't cure. Eventually the inmates band together with Sunnie and Sandy and not only do they beat out the uncles, but they discover that the relatives that put them there are stealing money from the institute. They get their money back from their relatives and turn the institute into a nonprofit place for people who need to recharge from life. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
Horatio is a wealthy man who meets and falls in love with Mousey. They get married and move to the country to live in isolation. Eventually they have a baby they name Sandy. Sandy grows up isolated from the world, learning from his parents. (he is very book smart) The only downside in their lives are monthly visits from Sandy's uncles (Horatio's brothers)Bentley and Bernie. Bentley and Bernie are trying to poison the family so that they can get all of the family's money. Eventually the brothers succeed in poisoning some, but not all of the family. Sandy's parents,Flossie (one of the two servants who are like family) and Sandy's pet chicken Atila. Sandy hires a nurse to care for them but the uncles go to court and insist they go to a hospital for proper care. Sandy takes them to the Walnut House next door, a hospital for distressed people. There are several people in Walnut House although there are things wrong with them, it is nothing that a little bit of time and Sunnie's common sense can't cure. Eventually the inmates band together with Sunnie and Sandy and not only do they beat out the uncles, but they discover that the relatives that put them there are stealing money from the institute. They get their money back from their relatives and turn the institute into a nonprofit place for people who need to recharge from life. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
I see this adorable modern fairy tale is thought of as a YA book. I personallly think teens & 20s are too cynical for it, or at least would want to think themselves too cynical. There are def. no vampires and it's pretty much Utopian, not Dystopian or post-ap. But 'tweens can read it for sure. And adults can read it in one sleepless night.

Btw, the mystery is the big hook on which the story is hung, but really what it's about is the power of love & friendship and the questions of sanity vs insanity & of engaging the world or indulging waldenlust*


*Waldenlust is a term one of [a:Gretchen Rubin|21246|Gretchen Rubin|http://photo.goodreads.com/authors/1252934548p2/21246.jpg]'s fans coined, as mentioned in [b:Happier at Home: Kiss More, Jump More, Abandon a Project, Read Samuel Johnson, and My Other Experiments in the Practice of Everyday Life|13414599|Happier at Home Kiss More, Jump More, Abandon a Project, Read Samuel Johnson, and My Other Experiments in the Practice of Everyday Life|Gretchen Rubin|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1344014249s/13414599.jpg|18713712]. ( )
  Cheryl_in_CC_NV | Apr 14, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 12 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
To the memory of Jackie Dewey Everingham who named this book and who knew plenty about love.
First words
Once upon a time there was a very wealthy young man named Horatio Alger Huntington-Ackerman.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0141310995, Paperback)

Sandy Huntington-Ackerman didn't expect life to be a free ride (even though his parents are multimillionaires). He certainly didn't expect his two money-grubbing uncles to try to kill his family with a drugged birthday cake. Luckily for Sandy, the cake only sends his parents (and their pet chicken, Attila) into a coma. Along with a loyal butler and a wacky nurse from the asylum next door, Sandy is determined to bring the scoundrels to justice-if he's not the next to go! This "rollicking screwball-comedy of a story" (The Horn Book) is just right for fans of Holes and The Westing Game.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:14:56 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

Born and raised in isolation in a wealthy, eccentric family, Sandy is shocked when he, his parents, and their servants become victims of a vicious plot by his greedy uncles to incapacitate them and take their money.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
6 avail.
7 wanted
2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.88)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 10
3.5 7
4 24
4.5 2
5 13

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,017,204 books! | Top bar: Always visible