HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Borkmann's Point: An Inspector Van…
Loading...

Borkmann's Point: An Inspector Van Veeteren Mystery (original 1994; edition 2007)

by Hakan Nesser, Laurie Thompson (Translator)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
886429,990 (3.51)32
Member:tamarajp
Title:Borkmann's Point: An Inspector Van Veeteren Mystery
Authors:Hakan Nesser
Other authors:Laurie Thompson (Translator)
Info:Vintage (2007), Paperback, 321 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:***1/2
Tags:None

Work details

Borkmann's Point by Håkan Nesser (1994)

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 32 mentions

English (39)  German (2)  Dutch (1)  All languages (42)
Showing 1-5 of 39 (next | show all)
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I received this audio book from the LibraryThing Early Reviewers program in exchange for an impartial review.

I have enjoyed many audiobooks, but for some reason, I just could not get into this one and did not finish it. I have heard such great things about this book and the series, and plan to read it someday. As for this audiobook, as I did not finish it, I do not feel that I can give it a fair ranking, as I believe that I would like the book itself.
  rretzler | Jan 25, 2016 |
The first in the Van Veeteren series but my third and hugely enjoyable it was too. ( )
  Superenigmatix | Jan 16, 2016 |
Rather like the last book I read, this book's overall Good Reads rating fits exactly to my view of its merits. It is a bit unclear as to whether this is the first or second book in the series (it seems more like the second, because there is little in the way of "set-up", but no matter. I was surprised to find out he is a Swedish writer, writing about a Swedish policeman in that there is a lot less introspection than is normal in Nordic noir. But I have already purchased five more books in the series; so you can tell I enjoyed it and look forward to the next one! ( )
  johnwbeha | Nov 18, 2015 |
Mostly dull and tedious, with an implausible plot. In place of the usual red herrings and white elephants, the narrative here is sustained (and stretched beyond believability) by police failure. These cops seem lazy and stupid, though when you reach the end you do have to realise that the culture which impedes the investigation (indulgent long lunches, booze, sloppy interviewing, inadequate record-keeping and analysis of information, etc) may be a deliberate construction. It might repay a rereading after the final twist in the tale, but it's not well-written enough to warrant that. For someone who simply relishes the whodunnit element, this would probably be good enough, but the cliched characters and scenarios provide nothing more than that. It kept me reading until the end, but the repetitive, simplistic prose seemed a chore I had to plough through, and the increasing dramatic tension toward the end correlated directly with growing implausibility. ( )
  Mijk | Jul 23, 2015 |
3.5 stars

This is another Scandinavian author whose catalogue is gradually being translated for the North American audience. It features CI Van Veeteren, a Swedish cop with more than 30 years on the job.
Van Veeteren is currently enjoying the last days of his summer vacation when his chief calls. Seems they're having a little problem with an axe murderer in nearby Kaalbringen. Would he mind popping over & having a look around?
There he meets Bausen, the soon-to-retire chief & his crew, one of whom is a young, ambitious detective named Beate Moerk. Unfortunately they're spinning their wheels. After exhaustive investigation, there seems to be no rhyme or reason behind the murders. And while they shift through endless reports & interviews, another victim falls to the axe.
If you're into fast paced thrillers with lots of car chases & things that go boom, this is not for you. Yes, it's a police procedural but it's also a character study of its' star, Van Veeteren. He's a man of a certain age who has closed every case in his career, save one. His personal life has not been as successful. He's divorced & alone with a son currently out on parole.
He's not a flashy or aggressive character. Instead, he's the soft spoken guy on the periphery who sees & hears everything. Long walks & playing chess allow him to let all the information percolate in his head until the connections start to appear. It can be frustrating for those around him as he doesn't appear to be doing anything. Beate reacts by striking out on her own, desperate for action & to make a name for herself. It could cost her life.
This is a slow, introspective read that is more about the characters than the case. Even the killer gets a chance to tell his gut wrenching story about his quest for revenge. The pace pick up in the final few pages as his identity is revealed but the resolution brings the team more sadness than satisfaction.
As for the eponymous Borkmann, well...he shows up more in spirit than in person. For fans of Barbara Fradkin, David Whellams or Quentin Bate's "Gunnhildur" series. ( )
  RowingRabbit | Sep 14, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 39 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (9 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Håkan Nesserprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Luijten, ClementineTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Thompson, LaurieTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
But of course, necessity can never be a reason nor an excuse. Only a cause.

--C.W. Wundermaas,
Former detective chief inspector
Dedication
Till Sanna och Johannes
First words
Had Ernst Simmel known he was going to be the Axman's second victim, he would no doubt have downed a few more drinks at The Blue Ship.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0375421963, Hardcover)

An ex–con is brutally murdered with an ax in Kaalbringen. Then the body of a wealthy real estate mogul is found, also the victim of a violent attack. There appears to be a serial killer on the loose, and Chief Inspector Van Veeteren is called in to help the local police. In his storied career he has only left one case unsolved, but he’s never before faced an ax murderer. As details surrounding the grisly murders are collected, Van Veeteren finds that there is almost nothing to go on; nothing links the two victims. But then there’s another murder, and shortly thereafter one of Van Veeteren’s colleagues, a promising female detective, goes missing—perhaps because the criminal knows she has come too close to the truth. . . .

In this riveting novel, full of fascinating, quirky characters and deep motives, Håkan Nesser introduces American readers to a detective who is already beloved by his European readership, as he spins a story that leaves even the most veteran crime–novel readers chilled.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:01:08 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

"An ex-con is brutally murdered with an ax in Kaalbringen. Then the body of a wealthy real estate mogul is found, also the victim of a violent attack. There appears to be a serial killer on the loose, and Chief Inspector Van Veeteren is called in to help the local police. In his storied career he has only left one case unsolved, but he's never before faced an ax murderer. As details surrounding the grisly murders are collected, Van Veeteren finds that there is almost nothing to go on; nothing links the two victims. But then there's another murder, and shortly thereafter one of Van Veeteren's colleagues, a promising female detective, goes missing - perhaps because the criminal knows she has come too close to the truth."--BOOK JACKET.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 6 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
4 avail.
10 wanted
5 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.51)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 18
2.5 5
3 66
3.5 45
4 82
4.5 10
5 16

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

Borkmann's Point - AUDIO EDITION by Håkan Nesser was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,038,099 books! | Top bar: Always visible