HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman
Loading...

Coraline (edition 2004)

by Neil Gaiman

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
13,224507166 (3.99)671
Quanti di voi da bambini hanno avuto paura del buio? Il buio rappresenta l'ignoto: "La più antica e potente emozione umana è la paura e la paura più antica e potente è la paura dell'ignoto" diceva Lovecraft.
Ricordate la sensazione di smarrimento e terrore provata di fronte ad una porta aperta, magari su un corridoio, che dava su una stanza buia?
Non è difficile provare la stessa sensazione leggendo le dense pagine di Coraline.
Viene etichettato come libro per bambini e non difficilmente lo troverete nello scaffale dedicato alla letteratura per l'infanzia, ma a mio modesto parere questo racconto è pienamente fruibile da un adulto che viene prepotentemente trasportato nuovamente nell'infanzia dalla penna di Gaiman.
Avendolo letto di notte non provo vergogna nel riconoscere di aver fatto i salti nel letto all'accenno del più piccolo rumore. Questa è la magia di Coraline: una prosa asciutta ma evocatrice.
La protagonista del racconto attraversa il corridoio buio e si trova catapultata in una grottesca imitazione del mondo reale, dove tutti hanno dei bottoni al posto degli occhi. Non impiega molto a scoprire l'orrenda verità, eppure come altri protagonisti di Gaiman che si trovano intrappolati in altri mondi (mi vengono in mente Helena del sottovalutato film MirrorMask o il sempre valido Richard Mayhew di Nessun Dove) non si lascia sopraffare dalle circostanze, ma anzi vivendo l'impossibile riesce a sopravvivere e a crescere.
Il tutto è accompagnato dalle grottesche e terrificanti illustrazioni di Dave McKean, spesso socio di Gaiman e insostituibile complemento delle sue narrazioni.
Forse la magia di questo scrittore, più di ogni altra cosa è la capacità di evocare e trasportarci nei mondi da lui creati. ( )
  Zeruhur | May 26, 2012 |
English (488)  German (5)  French (3)  Spanish (2)  Portuguese (Portugal) (2)  Italian (1)  Portuguese (1)  Catalan (1)  Dutch (1)  Polish (1)  All languages (505)
Showing 1-25 of 488 (next | show all)
Considered children's lit, but too creepy and dark for them, i think. I was expecting to love this, but I didn't like it nearly as much as The Graveyard Book. ( )
  fromthecomfychair | Feb 11, 2016 |
Neil Gaiman narrates......excellent Gaiman tale!
4* ( )
  pennsylady | Feb 10, 2016 |
A children's book, but it's also beautifully written and quite disturbing and spooky -
the little girl Coraline, feeling a bit lonely and neglected by her busy parents, goes exploring and finds an alternate version of her home on the other side of a door - peopled by alternate versions of her parents, who offer her everything she has ever dreamed of - but can't quite hide the malevolence lurking beneath these offers... Coraline must fight to escape the traps of the "other mother" - luckily, she's a pretty smart kid, and recognizes pretty quickly that 'you don't really want everything you always wanted'....

(However, I think she shoulda gotten the neon-green gloves at the end!) ( )
  AltheaAnn | Feb 9, 2016 |
I loved this book. I have often heard it mentioned, but had never read it. I have always been drawn to the dark and twisted and this book would have been a favorite had it been around when I was a kid. Coraline is a great role model for young girls, especially, perhaps young girls who face difficult life experiences.

This, of course, would make an excellent lit circle boo, but it would also be a great addition to a 4th through 6th grade curriculum. It is an exceptionally well written novel that could be used to teach literary devices, literary structure, and/or creative writing.
  mtknick | Feb 5, 2016 |
The book is the creepiest children's stories I have ever read.

I watched the film adaptation before I read the book so I kind of knew what to expect. The film was a lot more kid friendly compared to the book! I feel the book is a lot more darker and it reads as a horror. I'm not sure I would read this to a child, especially not to a sensitive child.

I think it speaks more to the adult reader than the child reader, maybe I found it so creepy because as an adult you understand things differently. Maybe for a child, this would be the ultimate story of adventure and survival.

It is a truly good book, and I am vowing to read a lot more of Neil Gaiman's books in future.

( )
  4everfanatical | Feb 5, 2016 |
3.5

Minha relação com o Neil Gaiman melhorou muito depois de Coraline. trama super criativa, como tudo o que ele escreve. ( )
  karineamaral | Jan 31, 2016 |
great story and great movie ( )
  Erika.D | Jan 28, 2016 |
Definitely 8 yrs and up. If your child is a regular reader of spooky reads then this is a good choice but if they are not I would advise to be cautious. Some scenes are quite scary although much tamer than the film version. 3.5 stars ( )
  LiteraryChanteuse | Jan 27, 2016 |
Very cute! ( )
  TerriS | Jan 17, 2016 |
Coraline is about a girl who is a little too dissatisfied with her life and ultimately discovers that getting everything you want isn't as much fun as wishing for it is.

I enjoyed this book a lot. The world Gaiman creates is fascinating. The story really pulled me in, although there were a couple things about the ending that I was able to guess much earlier in the book. I'm not trying to say anything negative about the book here, just that I probably would have enjoyed it more if I had read it as a kid. The book is so short, though, that it's well worth the time it takes to read it. ( )
  AmandaL. | Jan 16, 2016 |
I had been wanting to read this book since I first saw the movie version, and while, as expected, there are some differences, I'd say I enjoyed it, but did not love it. The movie is deliciously dark and horrific, while the book is far more tame. However, I think my age may be coming into play here, as I am not the targeted audience by a long shot.

Coraline is a curious and adventurous young girl who lives in the second floor of a large old home that has been converted to flats. Her parents are often too preoccupied with their work to pay her any attention, so she is typically left to her own devices. One rainy day, trapped indoors with not much to do, she goes exploring and finds a door that at first seems to lead to a brick wall. Yet, when she tries again she finds a long black corridor that opens up to another world, a nearly exact replica of her own.

The movie got the main gist of the story almost exactly right, with a few additions here and there to flesh the story out more to sustain a full length film, including the addition of her friend Wyborn, who was nowhere to be found in the novel. Yet it expressed the darkness of the story so much more fully than Gaiman's book. There were no little shivers of fear of anticipation in his story, but I am not the target audience. I feel sure that were my son reading it, he would not have finished it. He doesn't like horror and this would have been too much for him. Given that, I think that Gaiman achieved exactly what he set out to do. The writing itself was very simplistic, without the usual depth and nuances I've come to expect from this author. I actually think he sold the kids short in this case. The Graveyard Book, written for a similar age range, was not at all lacking in this department, so I'd have to say I'm a bit disappointed in the story from that aspect. In all, it was enjoyable, and though I read it in one afternoon, that was due to the ease of the read, and not because I couldn't put it down. If you have a younger child, say eight or nine, who likes horror, I would recommend this book whole-heartedly, but an adult would probably want something with a bit more complexity, which can definitely be found in almost all of his other novels. ( )
  Mootastic1 | Jan 15, 2016 |
When Coraline moves into a new home with her parents she wants to explore. When she steps through the strange door, she ends in a house that mirrors her own with another mother and another father that want her to be their girl. Yet beneath the promises are glimpses of a more sinister nature and finding her way back into her own world will prove a real challenge.

Another great read from Neil Gaiman. My only complaint: it's rather short. But that is not to say that anything was missing to make this a great story.
( )
  sushicat | Jan 14, 2016 |
Coraline is a wonderfully creepy story written for juvenile readers. Coraline finds an entrance to a world where everything is similar to her own, but something is not right. Can Coraline save her family and escape? I really liked the atmosphere the book creates. Gaiman does an excellent job with providing very creepy images for the reader. Coraline is a great character, she is brave but not fearless. It has a great message for kids when Coraline says that getting everything you ever wanted is not necessarily a good thing. ( )
  Cora-R | Jan 13, 2016 |
Entertaining. I saw the movie first so nothing was new to me. There's also the fact that I read this as an adult. ( )
  savagereads | Jan 9, 2016 |
Coraline

Entertaining

4 stars

A fun and creepy quick read (161 pages). In short, Coraline discovers a sinister world behind a door in her new house. Her bravery helps save her and her parents. The book reminded me of The Ocean At The End Of The Lane, another of Gaiman's great books. If you're not a fan of fantasy, this book will change your mind. I'd recommend it to people of all ages. ( )
  Feleciak | Dec 2, 2015 |
I read Coraline when I was about ten years old, and I re-read this as an adult. I have also seen the animated film, which I thought was wonderful. Now, I remember why I was so fond of this book as a young individual. The amount of detail and vivid language in this book is truly wonderful. It sucks the reader in and makes them feel as if they were actually right next to Coraline on her spooky adventure. It is definitely a fantasy novel, being that Coraline is going back and forth between the "real world" and "the other world". Now, I know this particular book has been banned and challenged and I can understand why. The protagonist, Coraline, is about 10-13 years old and I think that it maybe on the scarier side with its dark themes for the targeted audience. ( )
  Sleco | Nov 24, 2015 |
I loved this; but I am a great fan of Neil Gaiman so my critical faculties are somewhat weakened as far as this book is concerned. This is a proper fairy tale right on the tradition of the Brothers Grimm with a resourceful heroine and some nasty bits. As I expected the language flows beautifully; I even caught myself reading parts of it aloud to myself with nobody else around. I have set it aside to read to my seven year old granddaughter who I am sure will enjoy my rendition. ( )
  johnwbeha | Nov 18, 2015 |
I absolutely love this book. The details help you picture the story and the characters easily in your mind. Especially when it describes the world she discovers. Everything is the same just better. For example, her real parents never pay her much attention whereas her alternate parents soil her and give her so much attention it's sickening. And it has an interesting story plot to where you just want to keep reading to find out what happens next. It is a very suspenseful and creative story. ( )
  kstano1 | Oct 1, 2015 |
I really loved this book. I enjoyed reading each page because reading this book literally took me to that alternate world. The details that were in the book were really good and helped me image everything that happened. In beginning the author has a good way of sparking your interest by simply stating how Coraline finds a door with a brick wall behind it, now thats very strange, and it makes you as the read try to image stumbling into a door like that. Whats behind it? The message of this book is that you should always cherish what you have and the grass isn't always greener on the other side. Family can never be replaced and in the story Coraline really learns this throughout the story as she is faced with the horrible reality that although her alternate family seems perfect on the outside they are really rotten to the core people on the inside. ( )
  dvazqu2 | Oct 1, 2015 |
My blog post about this book is at this link. ( )
  SuziQoregon | Sep 2, 2015 |
A dark mystical tale with an original set of characters. Beautifully written and witty. I saw the animated film first, and I enjoyed the book, as well. I would say it might be a bit too scary for kids. ( )
  valdanylchuk | Aug 26, 2015 |
This was a quick and scary read, like hearing a ghost story by a campfire. I also noticed all of the allusions to Alice in Wonderland and would agree with the reviews on the back of the book that this is a modern-day "Through the Looking Glass" story. I'm still pondering the significance of "names" and the recurring green imagery, so there's enough to challenge me to make this better than "Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark". I'd recommend it to any of my students, not just the low-level readers or the proficient ones. ( )
  engpunk77 | Aug 10, 2015 |
This was the perfect book to listen to on a car trip from Connecticut to Cape Cod, with a 10 year old and 14 year old grandchild.

The story is creepy enough to keep everyone, including me, happy for the entire journey. Coraline Jones and her family have moved to a new flat in a big old house. The neighbors insist upon calling her Caroline, her parents tend to ignore her, and she is left on her own to wander about. Her father tells her to explore, and she asks her mother what is on the other side of the door that they never open. Her mother opens the door to a brick wall. Left on her own, she opens the door and finds the brick wall is gone. She goes through the door, and what she finds there....well, enough said. Creepy and dark, this tale is quite a lot of fun. (Although, I can understand why my 12 year old granddaughter won't watch the movie version.)

The book has won:
Book Sense Book of the Year Award Finalist, Children's Literature, 2003
Hugo Award Winner, Best Novella, 2003
Nebula Award Winner, Best Novella, 2003

Neil Gaiman's narration is wonderful.

From June 2013 ( )
  NanaCC | Jul 26, 2015 |
I loved this book as a kid and I always will. I love how Coraline feels like an introduction into the horror genre for children. The book lis so tasteful about introducing gory themes such as the other mother attempting to sew button eyes onto Coraline. Also, it goes through many scary tropes in a kid friendly way. However, bits of it get a bit dry and hard to follow. ( )
  alaina.loescher | Jun 25, 2015 |
Coraline is a piece of youth urban fantasy in many respects reminiscent of Roald Dahl’s The Witches. The tale follows Coraline, a girl who loves to explore, with parents who work at home and care for her but tend to ignore her. Coraline finds a passage into a mirror world with a woman who claims to be her ‘other mother’ and wants nothing more than for her to stay. As Coraline spends time in this world, created entirely by the creature masquerading as her mother, she begins to realize how dangerous and horrific a trap she is caught in. With sound advice from a cat, and the unknowing help of her elderly neighbors, Coraline must beat the creature at its own games to save herself, her parents, and the souls of children caught long ago. ( )
  Ailinel | May 1, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 488 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
14 avail.
644 wanted
7 pay9 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.99)
0.5
1 28
1.5 7
2 134
2.5 46
3 775
3.5 260
4 1766
4.5 221
5 1171

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,171,530 books! | Top bar: Always visible