HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein
Loading...

The Art of Racing in the Rain (original 2008; edition 2008)

by Garth Stein

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5,820425727 (4.08)312
Member:shigaki
Title:The Art of Racing in the Rain
Authors:Garth Stein
Info:Harper (2008), Hardcover, 321 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:****1/2
Tags:Man and dog--fiction, Death-fiction, Families-fiction

Work details

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein (Author) (2008)

  1. 60
    Marley & Me by John Grogan (Trevorlanticism)
  2. 60
    A Dog's Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron (kaledrina)
    kaledrina: narrated by dog!
  3. 30
    Dog on It by Spencer Quinn (rxtheresa)
    rxtheresa: Written from dog's point of view
  4. 10
    The Dogs of Babel by Carolyn Parkhurst (jbarry)
  5. 21
    Merle's Door: Lessons from a Freethinking Dog by Ted Kerasote (kalpitad)
    kalpitad: Although The Art of Racing in the Rain is fiction and Merle's Door is non-fiction, both provide a narrative about the mind and heart of a dog.
  6. 00
    Belka, Why Don't You Bark? by Hideo Furukawa (nsblumenfeld)
  7. 00
    A Dog's Life by Peter Mayle (Cecilturtle)
  8. 44
    Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach (Graphirus)
    Graphirus: Life-philosophy explained through action, an activity (flight/car racing)
  9. 00
    One Good Dog by Susan Wilson (hokansonh)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 312 mentions

English (419)  German (2)  Spanish (1)  Dutch (1)  All languages (423)
Showing 1-5 of 419 (next | show all)
An interesting canine narrator for a sentimental story. Very quirky, but in the end I'm not too sure I'd recommend this. ( )
  joeydag | Jul 23, 2015 |
What can I say? I LOVED this book. The story of a man whose wife is terminally ill, his little girl and some trying situations all told by the family dog. I had this book sitting on my shelf for a while and always put off reading it because I was not in the mood for a "tear jerker". Someone reviewed it and that encouraged me to pick it up. I am so glad I did! Enzo (the dog) is such a brilliant story teller and, he sounds exactly as I know intelligent dogs would sound if they had the capacity to speak. Anyone who has ever looked into the eyes of a dog knows there are stories there that we would all love to hear. The tears at the end were happy ones and so worth it!
( )
  ChristineEllei | Jul 14, 2015 |
I'm such a wuss, I cried and cried! Good book! ( )
  jenngv | Jun 25, 2015 |
The Art of Racing in the Rain Book Review

3 Stars

Nice and simple story

I laughed and I cried. A good read but not great. The book moved along well in the beginning but became a bit tiring. I enjoyed the dogs (Enzo) perspective but not the overkill of racing, racing techniques and racing statistics. I'm not a fan. I don't regret reading the book and would recommend it if you're a racing fan. ( )
  Feleciak | Jun 3, 2015 |
Very easy read, and interesting perspective. Being an animal lover I enjoyed the narrative. ( )
  C.Rose.Mcwn | May 31, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 419 (next | show all)
Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice.
added by cmwilson101 | editEntertainment Weekly
 
If you've ever wondered what your dog is thinking, Stein's third novel offers an answer. Enzo is a lab terrier mix plucked from a farm outside Seattle to ride shotgun with race car driver Denny Swift as he pursues success on the track and off. Denny meets and marries Eve, has a daughter, Zoë, and risks his savings and his life to make it on the professional racing circuit. Enzo, frustrated by his inability to speak and his lack of opposable thumbs, watches Denny's old racing videos, coins koanlike aphorisms that apply to both driving and life, and hopes for the day when his life as a dog will be over and he can be reborn a man. When Denny hits an extended rough patch, Enzo remains his most steadfast if silent supporter. Enzo is a reliable companion and a likable enough narrator, though the string of Denny's bad luck stories strains believability. Much like Denny, however, Stein is able to salvage some dignity from the over-the-top drama.
added by cmwilson101 | editPublisher's Weekly
 
“I savored Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and--best of all--the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair.”
added by cmwilson101 | editAmazon.com, Wally Lamb
 

» Add other authors (12 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Stein, GarthAuthorprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Welch, Christopher EvanNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
"With your mind power, your determination, your instinct and the experience as well, you can fly very high." - Ayrton Senna
Dedication
For Muggs
First words
Gestures are all that I have; sometimes they must be grand in nature.
Quotations
To live every day as if it had been stolen from death, that is how I would like to live. (pg 160; first harper paperback published 2009) ~ Enzo~

She died that night. Her last breath took her soul, I saw it in my dream. I saw her soul leave her body as she exhaled, and then she had no more needs, no more reason; she was released from her body, and, being released, she continued her journey elsewhere, high in the firmament where soul material gathers and plays out all the dreams and joys of which we temporal beings can barely conceive, all the things that are beyond our comprehension, but even so, are not beyond our attainment if we choose to attain them, and believe that we truly can.

In Monglolia, when a dog dies, he is buried high in the hills so people cannot walk on his grave. The dog's master whispers into the dog's ear his wishes that the dog will return as a man in his next life. Then his tail is cut off and put beneath his head, and a piece of meat or fat is placed in his mouth to sustain his soul on its journey; before he is reincarnated, the dog's soul is freed to travel the land, to run across the high desert plains for as long as it would like.
Last words
Disambiguation notice
"The Art of Racing in the Rain" and "Racing in the Rain: My Life as a Dog" are two different books. Please do not combine them. One is a young adult book  ("Racing in the Rain: My life as a Dog"), the other is an adult book of the same story "The Art of Racing in the Rain".  As the "Racing in the Book" puts it: "This is a special adaptation for young people of the acclaimed New York Times bestselling adult novel The Art of Racing in the Rain."
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0061537969, Paperback)

A heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope--a captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life . . . as only a dog could tell it.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:10:49 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

Nearing the end of his life, Enzo, a dog with a philosopher's soul, tries to bring together the family, pulled apart by a three year custody battle between daughter Zoe's maternal grandparents and her father Denny, a race car driver.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 7 descriptions

LibraryThing Author

Garth Stein is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Author Chat

Garth Stein chatted with LibraryThing members from May 17, 2010 to May 28, 2010. Read the chat.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
44 avail.
424 wanted
9 pay18 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.08)
0.5 4
1 29
1.5 3
2 80
2.5 23
3 309
3.5 123
4 748
4.5 130
5 789

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 98,423,475 books! | Top bar: Always visible