HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Fast Greens by Turk Pipkin
Loading...

Fast Greens

by Turk Pipkin

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
18None556,671 (2.25)None
None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

No reviews
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 038531647X, Hardcover)

In the tradition of Golf in the Kingdom and The  Legend of Bagger Vance, a young Texas caddie  searches for the meaning of golf and life, and for the  father he's never had.

Originally  self-published to critical acclaim, here is a  timeless coming-of-age story about a young caddie  caught in a deadly grudge match in a world of liars,  cheats, and hustlers:It is midnight in Texas. The  year is 1938. Two very drunk, very enterprising  young men are playing a game of golf at the Dry  Devil's Golf Course in Sonora. But what starts out  as a "private challenge" becomes a game  of destiny. Roscoe Fowler bets his partner William  March that he can hit a hole-in-one. Blindfolded.  If he achieves this, then Fowler will become CEO  of their fledgling oil company. By some miracle  (cheating), Fowler drops the ball into the hole, and  March must forfeit their partnership, becoming the  number two man at Fowler  Oil.

Twenty-seven years pass and, for reasons that will  become clear in this charming, wise, and magical  tale, March calls a grudge match. A remarkable,  boisterous, and eccentric cast of characters walk the  course with March and Fowler and learn some  lasting lessons about what really matters. But it is  the voice of 13-year-old caddie Billy Hempel that  shapes this story, and with the wisdom of hindsight  helps all readers understand the intersection  between golf and life.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:47:48 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
9 avail.1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.25)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3
3.5
4
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 89,455,293 books! | Top bar: Always visible