HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Happy Holidays! The 12 Days of LT scavenger hunt is going on. Can you solve the clues?
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Doll People by Ann M. Martin
Loading...

The Doll People (original 2000; edition 2000)

by Ann M. Martin, Laura Godwin, Brian Selznick

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,409507,995 (3.92)48
Member:Cyradis42
Title:The Doll People
Authors:Ann M. Martin
Other authors:Laura Godwin, Brian Selznick
Info:Hyperion Book CH (2000), Edition: First Edition, Hardcover, 272 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

The Doll People by Ann M. Martin (2000)

  1. 10
    The Mennyms by Sylvia Waugh (jrbeach)
    jrbeach: Life size rag dolls, who are alive.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 48 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 50 (next | show all)
A chapter book about a family of dolls living in a doll house that can walk, talk, and function. It can show students about story line, relatable content, and easy reading. ( )
  Danielle_Rojas | Nov 26, 2018 |
Book that shows us what happens when we go to sleep?. Our dolls come to life. The story is about the Doll family a group of Victorian era doll house dolls. They are really living dolls who move around while we sleep or are away. In this book the Dolls meet a new family, the little sister has gotten a doll house of her own. The house as well as the dolls are all plastic, very different from what the china Victorian dolls are accustomed to. The little girl dolls from both families become best friends and share a few adventures together in this book. They have to rescue Father Doll who got kidnapped by the cat. Also they search for Auntie Doll who has been missing for almost 45 years. Got this as I had seen the sequel first and it looked interesting and my mother is a doll collector. ( )
  ChrisWeir | Apr 28, 2018 |
Families--Fiction. Porcelain dolls--Fiction. Houses--Fiction. Hundred years--Fiction. Plastic dolls--Fiction. Doll Code of Honor--Fiction.
  brudder | Feb 2, 2018 |
The Doll People is one of my favorite books because it is interesting, creative and has a mysterious aspect of it. This story is about a family of dolls living in a dollhouse except they are living, talking and can move around. The main character is an 8 year old doll, who is constantly looking for adventures and ends up trying to solve the mystery of her missing aunt Sara. Using her aunts old diary, she winds up getting herself in a sticky situation. This book is great for children in grades 3rd through 6th because of its storyline, relatable content, and easy reading. I would highly recommend this book for any teacher library or for any child to read. ( )
  Kailynevans | Nov 14, 2017 |
I loved this book so much when I was little!! The first time I read it I was in fourth grade. The main character in this book is Annabelle, she has been a doll for one hundred years and is still eight years old. Her aunt has been missing for a long time and Annabelle finds her journal. Annabelle wants to find her aunt and makes new friends to help her. It's an amazing chapter book that will keep you hooked until the end! You won't know if she finds her aunt or not unless you read this book! ( )
  Sthefania | Jan 27, 2017 |
Showing 1-5 of 50 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Ann M. Martinprimary authorall editionscalculated
Godwin, LauraAuthormain authorall editionsconfirmed
Selznick, BrianIllustratorsecondary authorall editionsconfirmed
Redgrave, LynnNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Kate and James
and for all our nieces and nephews:
Brett
Nora
Katelyn
Jenna
Rachel
Ben
Henry
Jonah
---A.M.M. and L.G.

For my nephews:
Brennan
Dillan
---B.S.
First words
It had bee forty-five years since Annabelle Doll had last seen Auntie Sarah.
Quotations
Annabelle felt a tremendous sense of relief, as if something very heavy had been lifted from her heart. "So if I did (italics) disappear, you would (italics) come looking for me? Even if you were a little afraid? I mean, if you thought something awful had happened and I wouldn't be returned by Kate or someone in a few days?"
"Oh, yes. Yes, of course, Annabelle."
Annabelle leaned forward and hugged her mother.
(pp. 229-230)
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Amazon.com Review (ISBN 0786812400, Paperback)

Annabelle Doll is 8 years old--and has been for over 100 years. Nothing much has changed in the dollhouse during that time, except for the fact that 45 years ago, Annabelle's Auntie Sarah disappeared from the dollhouse without a trace. After all this time, restless Annabelle is becoming more and more curious about her aunt's fate. And when she discovers Auntie Sarah's old diary, she becomes positively driven. Her cautious family tries to discourage her, but Annabelle won't be stopped, even though she risks Permanent Doll State, in which she could turn into a regular, nonliving doll. And when the "Real Pink Plastic" Funcraft family moves in next door, the Doll family's world is turned upside down--in more ways than one!

Fans of The Borrowers and Stuart Little will love this exciting story of adventure and mystery. The relationship between the two doll families, one antique, one modern, is hilariously, wonderfully drawn. The Funcrafts are reckless and raucous, with fearlessness born of their unbreakable plastic parts. The Doll family is reserved and somewhat prim, even though they occasionally break into '60s tunes like "Respect" in their sing-alongs. Annabelle is a heroine with integrity and gumption. Ann Martin (The Babysitters Club series) and Laura Godwin create a witty, intriguing tale, illustrated with humor and a clever eye for detail by Brian Selznick. (Ages 7 to 11) --Emilie Coulter

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:14:30 -0400)

(see all 4 descriptions)

A family of porcelain dolls that has lived in the same house for one hundred years is taken aback when a new family of plastic dolls arrives and doesn't follow The Doll Code of Honor.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.92)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 13
2.5 1
3 51
3.5 19
4 71
4.5 8
5 73

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 130,824,402 books! | Top bar: Always visible