HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Loading...

The Graveyard Book (original 2008; edition 2010)

by Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean (Illustrator)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
13,883971150 (4.19)1 / 1091
Review by: Courtney P

THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ IT'S SOOOO GOOD!!!!!!! ( )
  bplteen | Apr 27, 2012 |
English (953)  German (3)  Portuguese (Brazil) (2)  Spanish (2)  Finnish (2)  French (2)  Dutch (2)  Hungarian (1)  Romanian (1)  Catalan (1)  Danish (1)  All languages (970)
Showing 1-25 of 953 (next | show all)
I read this as part of a challenge through the school I work at. At first when I saw it I thought it looked nothing like anything I would ever choose to read, but once I started reading I couldn't put down. ( )
  Kimwallace | Apr 27, 2016 |
I really suspended judgment about this book for a long time because I had heard mixed things before I read it, but this was great. Bod is a cool kid. He's a little idealistic but sweet and fights for the people he loves. Gaiman's writing is superb. "I want to see life. I want to hold it in my hands. I want to leave a footprint on the sand of a desert island. I want to play football with people. I want,' he said, and then he paused and he thought. ' I want everything." Silas is also a highly complex character and really enjoyable to follow. Lots of great themes of good v evil, life and death, and everything in its time. ( )
  CALammert | Apr 23, 2016 |
Another gem from Gaiman. He is one of my favorite authors for a reason. I love the way he combines ideas of very ancient mythos interacting with a more modern world. ( )
  thomnottom | Apr 21, 2016 |
Summary: After the lose of his parents a toddler goes into a graveyard full of ghosts and other creatures, the creatures decide to raise the young boy.

Personal Reaction: I love reading paranormal books. they fill me with excitement thinking that there may be something else out there among us. this is a great book for younger kids that want to read something paranormal

Extension Ideas:
1. all the kids could make ghosts and other creatures to decorate the classroom at Halloween time.
2. we could explore the history of these creatures
  nataliegent | Apr 20, 2016 |
Neil Gaiman can write no wrongs. Accessible for tweens, enjoyable for kids. Nuanced with both depth and effervescence, it combines elements of suspense, longing and bittersweetness. Chewy, loads of characters and a satisfying ending.
  angiestahl | Apr 11, 2016 |
Gaiman is a genius. The book was not that scary, but it was full of kindness, and love, and sadness aswell. I wish the book had a part 2, but I'm also glad it didn't. It's best to leave some things be.
  bartt95 | Apr 10, 2016 |
On the day that 'The man Jack' came to murder Bod and his family he escaped and landed up in a graveyard. The ghosts of that graveyard gave Bod the freedom of the graveyard which is a spell that enabled Bod to do ghostly things. He meets a girl named Scarlett and they go on adventures into a cave, where they find the Sleer, a snakelike monster. After Scarlett moves away, Bod goes to school for a while but then Silas,his guardian thinks that school is not safe for Bod because some bullies find out about him having special powers. When Scarlett moves back, she comes to the graveyard where she finds that she is not alone and that 'The man Jack' and his friends had followed her to Bod. Bod traps one of 'The man Jack's' friends in a hole, two others fall into a ghoul gate, and 'The man Jack' gets squished by the Sleer.

I like this book because the author made it scary and intense. I think that one of the main morals of the story is to stand up for yourself and others. Bod stood up for himself when he fought the bullies, and he stood up for Scarlett and many others that could have been murdered, by trapping Jack and his friends.
  Rhea2007 | Apr 3, 2016 |
Quite a brilliant bit of writing really. You could see the end coming from a ways off. ( )
  ndpmcIntosh | Mar 21, 2016 |
"There was a hand in the darkness, and it held a knife."

So begins Gaiman's latest, the thrilling tale of a young boy raised in a graveyard by its denizens. This is a great piece of writing. Gaiman has a true talent for creating communities and individuals as idiosyncratic as they are believable. The adventure is great--easily the most exciting story Gaiman has written. The characters are absolutely fantastic, and never devolve into stereotypes (a hard thing to do, when your characters are ghosts, vampires, witches and Mowgli). My one and only caveat is that I was frustrated to read the ol' "she couldn't possibly handle the supernatural, so let's wipe her memory" trope. haaaate. That aside, this is a fantastic story.
( )
  wealhtheowwylfing | Feb 29, 2016 |
Enjoyable, and well read (audio book) ( )
  KylaS | Feb 18, 2016 |
My first Neil Gaiman book and it was an interesting read. He writes very well and tells a good story. Some similarities to Harry Potter, but better written. Well worth a read. ( )
  Neale | Feb 11, 2016 |
3.5 stars. I liked his writing style. However the books felt more like a collection of Bod's life stories more than his journey until you got to the last few chapters. Great ideas and can be read to any age. ( )
  ElizabethJoseph | Feb 10, 2016 |
This was my first Neil Gaiman book and I was not disappointed. I had initially expected a scary book but that was certainly not the case. I really enjoyed the illustrations that separated the chapters. I'll admit that it took me about 50% of the way through the book to realize that the story took place over Bod's childhood and teenage years. I was a bit confused when it seemed that he was aging quickly until I realized that time had passed between the chapters and it was more of a unique aging story. I loved that though it was written in third person, I felt that I had about as much information about Bod as Bod did. Overall, it was a truly enjoyable read and I would recommend t to anyone whether they've read Neil Gaiman before or not. ( )
  TrekkieChickReads | Feb 9, 2016 |
This was a charming tale. Neil Gaiman just has an amazing way of story telling! I am recommending this book to all of my nieces!

This book could be used as a lit circle book in any grade from fourth up. It is a wonderful example of creative writing with themes that are universal.
  mtknick | Feb 8, 2016 |
The 2009 Newbery winner and an engaging story about a living boy raised by ghosts and other spirits in a graveyard. It took me a while to get into it, but I ended up really liking it.

I also liked that the edition I had contained a transcript of Gaiman's Newbery acceptance speech, in which he talked a lot about the role stories play in shaping our minds, helping us process real life, and also helping us escape from real life.

I liked the line, "Sometimes fiction is a way of coping with the poison of the world in a way that lets us survive it." ( )
  klburnside | Feb 8, 2016 |
macabre & yet delightful. Puts life &death in perspective ( )
  _amritasharma_ | Feb 5, 2016 |
Narrated by the author. An entertaining depiction of a different kind of family, the ghosts who care for young Bod at the graveyard after his family is brutally murdered. Part fantasy, part ghost story, part vengeful tale and wholly a story about an orphaned boy you come to care for. Nicely done! ( )
  Salsabrarian | Feb 2, 2016 |
like the story but slow at times and took awhile to get going ( )
  jimifenway | Feb 2, 2016 |
Very original! Overall, I liked the book a lot but did feel that some important things were unresolved- that maybe because I am an adult reader and not the target audience. ( )
  Cricket856 | Jan 25, 2016 |
It's a wonderful story, but if you have the opportunity to listen to the CD version narrated by the author, I highly recommend it. He does a fabulous job with the characters' voices. ( )
  Gingermama | Jan 24, 2016 |
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman - very good

Ok, hands up, I'm usually quite scathing about adults reading children's books. I should now admit to two exceptions: Jasper Fforde and Neil Gaiman, two of my favourite authors and therefore two authors whose children's books I have occasionally read.

This is a lovely book. Obviously written for children, each chapter stands on its own, could be a short story, and documents an adventure or occurrance in the life of Bod. (I guess this stops the 'just one more chapter, I can't sleep until I know what happens next' aspect of reading to a child at bedtime). Bod's family are all murdered in the first chapter. Somehow, the baby escapes & crawls to the nearby graveyard where the 'residents' adopt him and vow to raise him and keep him safe.

All sorts of adventures ensue. Each little story deals with a different age of Bod's life and each has its own little moral or 'point of learning' for a child, but well hidden in Gaiman's whimsical and inventive story telling.

He won both The Newberry Medal and The Carnegie Medal for this book - well deserved.
( )
  Cassandra2020 | Jan 24, 2016 |
Gaimen's writing has never been better. His word choices are great and perform both the perfunctory job of telling his tale and the more challenging job of making the tale live. One of the best compliments anyone, I think, can give to a book is that they wished it wouldn't end. I felt that way about this book. I'm betting a sequel will come in time. Coraline received a great deal of praise, and I did appreciate, but I didn't love it. This one is far ahead of Coraline. Clever, creepy, well-aced, and witty.

If there is a weakness to this story it's that it misses one group of readers most likely -those in their late teens to late twenties. I could be wrong but this is a great read aloud for kids 10 and up and much fun for adults sharing with children. ( )
  RalphLagana | Jan 23, 2016 |
I have been a comic book geek for as long as I can remember and one of the names constantly batted around in that genre is Neil Gaiman because of his successful "Sandman" series for DC Comics. I finally felt that it was time to read a book that he has written, so I picked up "The Graveyard Book" from Bracken Library on Ball State University campus. The book is truly a gem in their collection.

The book centers on a boy that lives in a graveyard. The story progresses in a fantastical manner that keeps the reader engaged. Never have I felt so invested in a story as this one. Almost every single moment that you are reading you wonder what will happen next in the story. For a book to keep you so well gripped throughout shows how well the book is plotted out. The written word is simplistic in nature, but each one seems like it was plucked out of a hat with care. You want to keep reading this book and that is when you know a book is truly genious! ( )
  SoulFlower1981 | Jan 20, 2016 |
An enjoyable read; a book to relax with. Nobody "Bod" Owens is a young boy who grew up in a graveyard, watched over by the ghosts and a single guardian, Silas, who took him in after his family was killed by a mysterious assassin known only as "Jack". He has a series of adventures that seem disconnected at first, but revolve around the development of Bod and the strange people he meets as he learns magic and explores the graveyard and (eventually) the outside world. Jack is still out there, however, and still determined to find him...

Plot 3/5 Mostly because I like more connected, plot-driven stories, and because I had a lot of questions that weren't answered at the end of the story. (It doesn't feel incomplete, I just want to know lots of details.)

Characters: 4/5 It takes Gaiman almost no time to introduce his characters. Within a paragraph of their first appearance we know who they are and what kind of a person they're likely to be. However, they often come off as somewhat simplistic, which may be a side-effect of the cast being made primarily of ghosts, who don't really have much room for character development, being dead.

Setting: 5/5 Gaiman beautifully weaves magic into the real world, cresting an easily-believable graveyard populated with ancient history and occasional forays into the modern world come off as strangely alienating, despite the familiarity of the setting. As with his characters, he describes the world almost without you noticing.

Text: 5/5 Gaiman's language is simply beautiful, as always

Parental Guidance? Nope. The graveyard thing isn't even morbid. ( )
  jerenda | Jan 20, 2016 |
This was great fun. The graveyard is peopled with interesting characters and the author's introduction of the ghosts with the use of their epitaphs is clever. Other fascinating details used throughout the story lent it a warm, whimsical feel. Truly a delightful read. ( )
  penelopemarzec | Jan 19, 2016 |
Showing 1-25 of 953 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.19)
0.5 2
1 25
1.5 8
2 102
2.5 41
3 557
3.5 256
4 1861
4.5 359
5 1803

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

HarperCollins Childrens Books

An edition of this book was published by HarperCollins Childrens Books.

» Publisher information page

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,353,485 books! | Top bar: Always visible