HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Loading...

The Graveyard Book (original 2008; edition 2010)

by Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean (Illustrator)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
12,547890192 (4.19)1 / 1019
bplteen's review
Review by: Courtney P

THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ IT'S SOOOO GOOD!!!!!!! ( )
  bplteen | Apr 27, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (876)  Finnish (2)  German (2)  Spanish (2)  Portuguese (Brazil) (2)  Dutch (2)  French (2)  Hungarian (1)  Romanian (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (891)
Showing 1-25 of 876 (next | show all)
This book didn't really grab me. I found the same thing when I read Gaiman's other children's book Coraline as well. I'm not sure why they don't as both are raved about. This book won the Newbery Medal, the Carnegie Medal and is a Hugo Award Winner for Best Novel. That's suppose to say something. But I guess it's just not my cup of tea. Certainly not a bas book. It's good writing and an interesting story... Oh well. We are have some of those books that just don't do it for us. I'm not giving up on Gaiman yet since he has many adult books that I have yet to pick up. But I'm not sure I'll return to his children books. ( )
  Kassilem | Oct 27, 2014 |
I guess I got too attached to this book... It is just so great, the intense emotions that the story provokes in each chapter are actually hard to describe. Although the writing might look a bit too simply for some people's taste, I think it was beautiful, the reader is given descriptions enough to depict the settings and the characters and the relationships between them without interfering with the events' progress. It's funny, dark, charming and it's brilliant. ( )
  Araceli.Arias | Oct 24, 2014 |
The Graveyard book- In the beginning, there was a man named Jack Frost. Jack was like a serial killer,and one who scared the town. Jack had just killed the mom, the dad and the sister, all he had left to do was to kill the toddler. Once Jack had gone into the toddlers room,Jack discovered that the child wasn't in it's crib nor ibn it's room. This toddler could get out of anything. SERIOUSLY he could. The toddler had climed over his crib and scouted down the staires and lost his diper. Then, the todler wondered down to the graveyard.There was a couple named the Owen's, and they found the baby and hid it from Jack.
Then everyone wanted to give the toddler a name, and then everyone said he looks like this person and that should be his name. Then isles said we should give this child a different name, so he can say protected. Isles is like Nobody's guardian, his protector.They came up with the name Nobody. Nobody is short for bud. Nobody has the freedom of the graveyard. Bud one day,learned the alphabet, and other school thing.That same day Bud met a girl named, Scarlett. Scarlett and Bud played in the graveyard. Bud always wondered why he couldn't go outside of the graveyard. Bud and Scarlett went into the catacombs on the top of the hill, their Bud saw a tattooed man, then it vanished. In the end Bud started loosing his privileges and went into the world by himself, without any ghost people
  Emmac.B1 | Oct 24, 2014 |
The Graveyard Book. By Neil Gaiman. With illustrations by David McKean. HarperCollins. 2008. 309 pages. $18.89 hbk. 9780-060530938. Grades 4-8.

In his infancy, Nobody Owens’s family is murdered – and he is subsequently taken in by ghosts who raise him in their graveyard abode. Nobody – affectionately known as “Bod” – learns to navigate his place in the world, with help from a whole host of ghosts (and a few other creatures of the night) who love him like family. As such a beginning might suggest, The Graveyard Book is interwoven with a dark undercurrent of mystery and intrigue: ultimately Bod must face his past in order to live in the present. Though The Graveyard Book is quite long, Gaiman’s clear prose and controlled vocabulary make it a good chapter book for older elementary and middle-school students in search of a novel read: a clear “good vs. evil” dynamic allows the work to reach the young elementary audience looking for a linguistically-advanced read. Occasional monochromatic illustrations, whose high contrast are in keeping with the graveyard theme, help heighten the sensory experience. The Graveyard Book offers a frank and appealing portrayal of a young boy caught between two worlds –metaphorical implications that will be understood by the book’s young target audience as they begin to navigate an ever widening world. ( )
  tierneyc | Oct 23, 2014 |
(5.4)
  mshampson | Oct 15, 2014 |
I feel like a Gaiman Gush fountain but it was beautiful and awesome. I'll admit I was hesitant to read it at first because I thought it was more of a kids book but it was very matter the fact. While not adult it definitely didn't talk down to the potential child reader. I highly recommend this book. ( )
  lushrain | Sep 29, 2014 |
This is a lovely quick read.

As usual Gaiman tells a wonderful fairy tale like story that makes you hate it when the story ends the world closes. ( )
  blatherlikeme | Sep 28, 2014 |
This was great fun. The graveyard is peopled with interesting characters and the author's introduction of the ghosts with the use of their epitaphs is clever. Other fascinating details used throughout the story lent it a warm, whimsical feel. Truly a delightful read. ( )
  penelopemarzec | Sep 26, 2014 |
Lots of people were thrilled about this book saying it was spectacular and whatnot.
I was a bit disappointed after reading this book, it didn't really fulfil my expectations.
But it was a good coming of age story and it had the unique twist that made it fun and quirky.
I liked this book a lot and I read it in about 2 sitting but for me it wasn't all that spectacular. ( )
  lisa.isselee | Sep 26, 2014 |
This is the first Neil Gaiman book I have read and I’m sad to say I’m disappointed. Though it’s highly regarded I found it to be rather boring. I was tempted to abandon it after 50 pages but I persevered. The only reason why I’m giving this two stars instead of one is that the original idea was good and there were parts that drew me in but then it always lost me again.

The story was disjointed and episodic in nature. It went off in different directions that were either not resolved or unsatisfactorily explained. The lack of realism in the fact that I doubt a baby could crawl out of its cot, out of the house and down the road into a graveyard at what must have been lightening speed not to be caught by the man Jack, was ill conceived. Also the reason for Bod’s family’s death didn’t seem feasible or at least wasn’t revealed in enough detail, especially the workings of the Jack-of-all-trades.

It's almost as if Gaiman's popularity (and therefore money-making ability) meant that the publishers rushed to publish this book without so much as glancing at it first, when really they should've hired a team of editors to help whip it into shape fit enough for public consumption.

I feel this will serve better as a movie rather than a book. I hear it has been recently picked up by writer/director Neil Jordan (Interview with the Vampire, The Company of Wolves) and is due out in 2011. I look forward to seeing how he transfers The Graveyard Book to the silver screen hopefully updating and expanding on this poor book.
( )
  Cynical_Ames | Sep 23, 2014 |
The Graveyard book...sounds pretty boring/scary, right? Well, your wrong because this story is about venturing out of your human cocoon and seeing what the outside world is like. Even if that means you have to keep running away from some scary dude who keeps trying to kill you(keep in mind that he already killed your parents). Oh yeah, even if all you knew came from a couple of ghosts. what would you do if you had no idea who you were? Read...if you dare. ( )
  JaFi14 | Sep 22, 2014 |
I am pretty much in love with Neil Gaiman now. If the lovely book hadn't done so, his Newbery acceptance speech pretty much clinched it.

"We who make stories know that we tell lies for a living. But they are good lies that say true things, and we owe it to our readers to build them as best as we can. Because somewhere out there is someone who needs that story. Someone who will grow up with a different landscape, who without that story will be a different person. And who with that story may have hope, or wisdom, or kindness, or comfort. And that is why we write."

That just warms my hard little heart. ( )
  amy_marie26 | Sep 8, 2014 |
Probably my favorite Gaiman book. The Graveyard book takes place in a graveyard. It is about a little boy who is taken in by the characters of the graveyard and his journey from infancy to adulthood. It is well written, intriguing, and entertaining - even if it is rather dark at times. I think that it is obvious to say that it is paranormal fiction, but there are ghosts and hounds of god and the like. ( )
  alb2219 | Sep 5, 2014 |
I had to struggle through the first 30 pages, and I almost put the book down. Something about the Disney-like beginning made me feel as though this book wasn't for me. I sat there and thought about all the unanswered questions I had: What was the shadowy organization that wanted the child and his family killed? What was the man Jack's motivations? Who was the spooky protector Silas? How does the boy(Nobody Owens) grow up?
I said to myself that I would read on until page 50, maybe something would pick up. And almost immediately it did, and I was quite happy. There is a rather wonderful Lovecraftian excursion into an underworld realm of ghouls and flying gaunts with a blood red dead sun and an abandoned city with impossible geometry that the ghouls have made their home. Like Lovecraft, it isn't exactly scary as it is deeply weird.
The rest of the questions were answered slowly, and mostly near the end, but in ways that didn't really satisfy me - they were rather expected, in fact had a really strong Tim Hunter/Books of Magic feel to them: the mysterious guide that is initiating our young hero into a magickal world is at deadly odds with a sinister faction that wants our hero killed because he is special/chosen. His maturation was interesting, but I wanted to see Nobody mature into someone capable of walking the line between the living and the dead, and the book completely drops the ball on this. The clean slate that he ends the book on is entirely unsatisfying.
So, it's well written, and the mix of characters and setting is compelling, but the story leaves me rather cold.
3 stars oc is the best I can give it.

Well, the more I think about the way that various conflicts are "resolved", I realize I can't actually go above a 2.5 ( )
1 vote starcat | Aug 11, 2014 |
The Graveyard Book is about an infant boy that luckily wanders into the safety of a graveyard while a murderer is hunting him after killing the rest of his family. The ghosts of the graveyard adopt him, and raise him within the walls and gates of the graveyard. As suspected, he does not live the normal life of a regular boy with living parents. His adopted parents, being dead, cannot provide for him the needs that he requires as a living person, so Silas, a mysterious man that seems to be in limbo of the living and the dead, accepts to be his guardian and tend to the boy's needs. The boy is nicknamed Bod, short for Nobody, and his life in the graveyard is filled with monstrous adventures, ghostly lessons, and lots of heart break.

This is my first time reading anything written by Neil Gaiman, and I have to say, I am not disappointed. It's not the fastest read I've had, considering how short it actually is. I kept finding myself putting the book down and forgetting about it every now and then, but the moment I'd pick it up again, I'd be hook once more. As for the writing style, amazing. It was so fairy tale-like and whimsical, though dark and sinister and the same time. There were occasions where I was reminded a bit of Lemony Snicket's style of writing. The way the boy was sometimes described and the adventures he'd get into, along with the random definitions of simple words I'd come across throughout the book is what really reminded me of Snicket. Other than that though, the entire style was unique and intriguing.

My favorite characters were Bod, and Liza Hempstock. I loved bod because of the way he handled his emotions, and basically the brave little person he became. He had great character development. Liza was simply awesome because of her witchy-sassiness. I think they made a great pair of friends.

I don't think I disliked anything about this book. It was just all around really great. I fell in love with every single character, I hated the villain, there was a twist towards the end, there's action, there's horror, there's magic, and there's sadness.
I will admit, my heart broke at the end, and I cried. It's not exactly a spoiler, but you have been warned!

I definitely recommend this book, and I hope that everyone who reads it enjoys it as much as I did. I've jumped onto the Gaiman Train and I will absolutely be reading more of his books in the future. ( )
1 vote nikkiplusbooks | Aug 1, 2014 |
It's an okay book and very weird.After finishing the book I am feeling unsatisfied.

None of the mysteries of the story was answered properly.What were the "Jack" men really?It was not answered properly.The prophecy about the boy was neither very impressive.And what kind of guarding Silas really do,it was not answered either.A boy lived in a graveyard for 15 years of his life and then he suddenly took off on his own to the outside world without the adequate knowledge about it.How is he going to survive, I have no idea.
Well over all a mysterious book which remains mysterious even after finishing it. ( )
  sreeparna | Jul 27, 2014 |
If Kipling's 'Jungle Book' had a contemporary counterpart, this would be it: an orphaned infant boy raised in a cemetery by the spirits of the deceased. This (comparative) vein alone makes this a good read, and the judges thought so too, as it won the Newbery Medal in 2009. ( )
1 vote MomsterBookworm | Jul 14, 2014 |
I really wanted to like this book. I've heard so much about Neil Gaiman, but it was too far out of my comfort zone. It is a YA book about a boy who lives in a Graveyard, raised by ghosts who protect him from the man who killed his parents. I just didn't like it, but I thought it was well-written. I will read more by Gaiman. ( )
1 vote Bridget770 | Jul 8, 2014 |
Bod's family was murdered by the man Jack when he was a baby. He escaped to a local graveyard where the ghosts take Bod in until he is 15. The man Jack is still trying to find Bod during the whole time he is living at the graveyard. During his stay at the graveyard, Bod learns a lot;his letters, numbers and how to stand up for himself which prepares him for his meeting with the man Jack when he is 15.
  ashleyann65 | Jun 30, 2014 |
I read this with my book club, so for my review, I’ll share some of our observations. Many of us, myself included, enjoyed the references to popular mythology, although some people didn’t notice all of them. I think we all generally felt that the book read like a bunch of short stories which had been pasted together but were a bit disjointed and the ending was quite abrupt. On the other hand, we all loved the writing and drawings, both of which I thought worked well together to capture the emotion of different scenes. Like in Gaiman’s talk, I felt as though every word was carefully chosen. I was struck by the creepiness of these scenes he described, but even that was overshadowed by the beauty of the writing. This was a very cool, unique middle grade book.

This review first published on Doing Dewey. ( )
  DoingDewey | Jun 29, 2014 |
A retelling of The Jungle Book set in an English graveyard. In the opening scene a toddlers entire family is murdered but he escapes into a graveyard where is adopted by the ghosts, ghouls and other inhabitants therein. He grows up learning their ways, befriending them, but always torn between them and an interest in the outside world -- and the company of living people. But among those living people are the person who murdered his family and is still trying to track him down.

At its best the book is excellent. But it can be a bit uneven, meandering, and more obvious in places. Overall, however, falling short of perfection is not an argument against reading this very imaginative book. ( )
  nosajeel | Jun 21, 2014 |
Originally posted at Read. Run. Study.

I liked the movie-adaptations of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and Coraline, but I had never read one of his novels. I have been trying to fix that for a while, and finally did when I picked up The Graveyard Book.

The first thing that struck me when I opened the book were the illustrations by Dave McKean. I loved the illustrations! They were lovely and dark, but not exactly scary – they just worked beautifully.

As for the story, The Graveyard Book is nothing if not unique. We are, after all, talking about a book that follows the development of a child as he is raised by the inhabitants of a graveyard. I didn’t know what to expect going into the book, and I’m glad for that so I’m not going to tell you much. Let’s just say I developed a little crush on Silas (Please someone tell me I’m not alone on that.) Gaiman’s writing is beautiful, even in a book targeted towards children. His command of language is simply impressive. Somehow, he leaves you with a book that is easy enough for a child to read and enjoy, yet speaks to an adult as well.

My first instinct upon finishing it was to give it 4 stars – I really enjoyed the story, but I felt as though it lacked something. As I’ve considered the story further, it has grown on me and now I’m torn. Do I leave it at 4 stars, or bump it to 5? I think the answer is to split the difference, and assure you that this will not be my last foray into Gaiman’s novels.

Rating: 4.5/5

As I was writing this review, I found video clips from The Graveyard Book Tour in which Neil Gaiman narrates each chapter of the book. The book, as narrated by Neil Gaiman, gets 5 stars. His narration finds what I couldn’t in the book which may simply be his accent and inflection. ( )
  readrunstudy | Jun 21, 2014 |
I really enjoyed this book. Filled with fun, quirky, interesting characters, it tells the story of Bod Owens and his life in the graveyard. I'd definitely recommend it for an enjoyable, light read. Perfect for a summer on the patio to counteract the cold, foggy gloom of the graveyard. ( )
  mitchma | Jun 2, 2014 |
When a toddler wanders into the graveyard, the ghosts that reside there are thrown into an uproar. How can they possibly care for a living child? But Mr. and Mrs. Owens are adamant that they will take in the baby, whom they name Nobody (Bod for short). And so Bod grows up in the graveyard learning the basics of Fading and Dreamwalking while also remaining curious about the world outside the graveyard gates and the murders of his family that led him to the graveyard to begin with.

Gaiman's ability to write charming but spooky novels always delights me and The Graveyard Book was not a disappointment. The tales of Bod's life in the graveyard are by turns sweet and scary but always entertaining and I appreciated the episodic nature of the novel as it allowed Bod to grow up quickly over the course of the novel. I was thoroughly delighted by the slow reveal of the villain and found the overall concept very clever. Additionally, the illustrations by Dave McKean add an extra element of creepiness that enhances the atmosphere of the novel. And of course, being Neil Gaiman, there are also some truly beautiful sentences woven into the narrative that I found particularly moving. ( )
4 vote MickyFine | May 25, 2014 |
This one makes me really wish there were half stars!! 4.5 stars! ( )
  patsaintsfan | May 23, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 876 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.19)
0.5 2
1 18
1.5 8
2 89
2.5 41
3 497
3.5 246
4 1661
4.5 344
5 1640

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

HarperCollins Childrens Books

An edition of this book was published by HarperCollins Childrens Books.

» Publisher information page

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,468,346 books! | Top bar: Always visible