HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Musical Illusionist: and Other Tales…
Loading...

The Musical Illusionist: and Other Tales (Hotel St. George) (edition 2007)

by Alex Rose

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
441262,368 (4.5)4
Member:Rafa21k
Title:The Musical Illusionist: and Other Tales (Hotel St. George)
Authors:Alex Rose
Info:Akashic Books (2007), Paperback, 160 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

The Musical Illusionist: and Other Tales (Hotel St. George) by Alex Rose

None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 4 mentions

A fabulous literary wunderkammer, it’s my favourite book of the year so far. I love the internet, following a recommendation for a different book I saw this and was instantly intrigued.

Described as a library of tangents, you are guided (in arresting 2nd person) through a variety of themes such as perception, language and music. Fact increasingly blends with fiction until it’s hard to know where the truth lies. I loved the description of extinct microbes such as the virus attracted by fear or the land where numbers have no meaning. The best thing is it made me wish things were true (I will never check if can write secret messages in an egg). I could expand more on the ideas but think it is best left for discovery! The book is illustrated throughout with beautiful pictures of old books and manuscripts, from the Lindisfarne gospels to ancient cryptographic wheels. This is its downside as to me it should be much larger than its small paperback size, but then I have a weakness for these things. ( )
2 vote clfisha | Aug 23, 2010 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
You have heard much about the library of tangents.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

In the tradition of Borges and Calvino, The Musical illusionist is an interwoven collection of postmodern folk tales - disappearing manuscripts, neurological anomalies, teleporting bacteria, and an unforgettable composer who manipulates sound to bend perception that masterfully blends scientific curiousity with magical-realist caprice… (more)

(summary from another edition)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
9 wanted1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 2
4.5 2
5 2

Akashic Books

An edition of this book was published by Akashic Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,487,749 books! | Top bar: Always visible