HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Voice Of The Fire by Alan Moore
Loading...

Voice Of The Fire (original 1996; edition 2003)

by Alan Moore

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6441123,720 (3.91)14
Master storyteller Alan Moore (Watchmen) delivers twelve interconnected stories of lust, madness, and ectasy, all set in central England and spanning over six thousand years, the narratives woven together in patterns of recurring events, strange traditions, and uncanny visions. First, a cave-boy loses his mother, falls in love, and learns a deadly lesson. He is followed by an extraordinary cast of characters: a murderess who impersonates her victim; a fisherman who believes he has become a different species; a Roman emissary who realizes the bitter truth about the Empire; a crippled nun who is healed miraculously by a disturbing apparition; an old crusader whose faith is destroyed by witnessing the ultimate relic; two witches, lovers, who burn at the stake. Each related tale traces a path in a journey of discovery of the secrets of the land. In the tradition of Kipling's Puck of Pook's Hill, Schwob's Imaginary Lives, and Borges' A Universal History of Infamy, Moore travels through history, blending truth and conjecture, in a novel that is dazzling, moving, sometimes tragic, but always mesmerizing. With an introduction by Neil Gaiman, a suite of full-color plates by Jos Villarrubia, and a cover design by Chip Kidd.… (more)
Member:grunin
Title:Voice Of The Fire
Authors:Alan Moore
Info:Top Shelf Productions (2003), Hardcover
Collections:Your library
Rating:*****
Tags:Fiction, fantasy, read

Work details

Voice of the Fire by Alan Moore (1996)

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 14 mentions

English (8)  Portuguese (2)  French (1)  All languages (11)
Showing 1-5 of 8 (next | show all)
Toda una sorpresa. Al ser historias distintas algunas me han gustado más que otras, pero en base puedo decir que es una pasada. Tengo ganas de comentarlo en el club de lectura!
Reseña completa: https://cafedetinta.com/2018/09/05/la-voz-del-fuego-de-alan-moore/ ( )
  Carla_Plumed | Dec 3, 2018 |
An overwhelmingly rich book, constantly harrowing and occasionally heartbreaking. It tells a dozen tales in radically different voices, putting you in some heads you'd never want to visit otherwise.

Moore's poetry is as purple and as earnestly effective as ever. If there's a flaw to the book, it's that the strained connections between the stories often distract from the present plot. They're necessary to the concept, but also repetitive. This doesn't harm the book much; you'll need that respite from some of Moore's visions. ( )
  mrgan | Oct 30, 2017 |
One of my all time favorite books. Hauntingly beautiful - recurrent themes occurring in one place, Moore's own hometown of Northampton, from prehistoric times to the present. ( )
  dmkc | Jun 16, 2017 |
Alan Moore è un grande stregone. Probabilmente ha appreso l'arte dei druidi e dei sacerdoti in un tempo nel quale i nostri nonni erano solo un pensiero di un alito di vento, e ora finge di essere nato poco piu' di 50 anni fa nel nord della Gran Bretagna. E' un falso. In realtà conosce questo mondo da alcuni secoli, e conosce il vecchio mondo molto meglio di quanto possano fare coloro i quali hanno visto vivi Anassimandro prima e Platone poi - pare che vi siano su questa Terra almeno 35 o 36 persone che possono dire questo. Poi ogni tanto, perche' l'immortalità è lunga da far passare, scrive. ( )
  bobparr | Dec 14, 2014 |
Vivid. Fun. Heartbreaking. Dark.

Beautiful historical fiction spanning centuries. Prehistorical medicine men practice occult magic amid twisted social dramas. Through his characters, the landscape, and his vision of an elusive demon-world, the author paints a gorgeous nightmare.

I love Alan Moore, and this is the best thing I've read from him. I wish he would do more novels. ( )
  fractal_oblidisk | Nov 21, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 8 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
A-hind of hill, ways off to sun-set-down, is sky come like as fire, and walk I up in way of this, all hard of breath, where is grass colding on l's feet and wetting they.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.91)
0.5
1 2
1.5 1
2 6
2.5 1
3 14
3.5 5
4 33
4.5 3
5 29

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 141,624,011 books! | Top bar: Always visible