HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Mercy Street by Mariah Stewart
Loading...
MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
194860,720 (4.11)6
None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 6 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 8 (next | show all)
,Amazon received
  romsfuulynn | Apr 28, 2013 |
On a balmy spring evening, four high school seniors - three boys and one girl - enter a park in the small city of Conroy, Pennsylvania. The next morning, two of the boys are found shot to death, and the girl and the third boy are gone. After three weeks with no leads and no sign of either of the missing teenagers, the chief of police begins to wonder if they too were victims. But with no other suspects, the authorities conclude that one of these kids was the shooter.

The missing boy's grandmother, a secretary at the local parish, maintains her grandson's innocence. On her behalf, the parish priest, Father Kevin Burch, hires former detective Mallory Russo as a private investigator to find out what happened in the park that night. Mallory had ended her nine-year stint with the Conroy police force some time ago after becoming the target of a smear campaign. Now a true-crime author, Mallory is surprised to receive the priest's offer - and highly intrigued by the case. She can't help but accept Father Kevin's request - especially when she learns that her investigation will be financed by Father Burch's cousin the reclusive billionaire Robert Magellan, a man whose own wife and infant son disappeared without a trace a year ago, a man who clearly understands the heartache of not knowing what happened to a loved one.

Detective Charlie Wanamaker is facing another sort of tragedy. He fled Conroy years ago with no intention of returning to what he considered a dying factory town - until a family emergency brought him back. Finding the situation much worse than he'd originally thought, Charlie trades his job as a big-city detective for one with the Conroy police department. Assigned to the park shooting case, Charlie quickly realizes that the initial investigation left many questions unanswered. Unofficially, he teams up with Mallory to uncover the truth and find the two teenagers, dead or alive. What Charlie and Mallory discover will take them down a twisted path that leads to an unsolved murder - and justice for a killer with a heart of stone.

I definitely enjoyed reading this book. I could follow the twists and turns of this mystery much better than the previous mystery that I had read. This book did have some romantic elements woven into the story, but they were very tastefully handled and not overdone in any way. I give Mercy Street by Mariah Stewart an A! and will certainly be on the lookout for more books by this author to read. ( )
  moonshineandrosefire | Apr 25, 2013 |
I loved this book! Mallory and Charlie made a great team, I liked how he listened to her opinion and how he respected her as a person. Robert was a pretty dark person, he made me want to cry for his loss. The Assistant Suse was great until the last couple of chapters, I think that if Mallory ever gets hired to find Robert's family Mallory will be in danger form Suse. She seem a bit obsessed with finding Beth and Ian dead...maybe so she can be the one there to pick up the pieces of Robert and put him back together and then have a "happily ever after" with him. I picked up the next one in the series...can't wait to read that one! ( )
  kcoleman428 | Apr 3, 2013 |
This was an enjoyable listen.This was a character centered book. I was very interested as I learned more about Mallory and Charlie. I also was drawn in by the conflict within the police department, and fascinated by Magellen's story. The mystery itself wasn't bad, but wasn't compelling.I'm looking forward to future books in this series-- this book set them up nicely, if in a slightly unbelievable way. ( )
  ImBookingIt | Mar 26, 2010 |
First in Mariah Stewart's Mercy Street series. The story revolves around ex detective turned reluctant PI Mallory Russo and the man who replaced her in the police department, Charlie Wanamaker. The two team up to solve the disappearance of a pair of local teens who are suspected of murdering their two friends. Mallory's efforts are financed by billionaire Robert Magellan, whose own wife and son are missing. The Magellan story seems like it will provide the constant thread for upcoming books. Mercy Street was a good, easy read with a pretty low gore level. ( )
  boleyn | Jun 9, 2009 |
Showing 1-5 of 8 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Katie and Mike--
may you live happily ever after.
First words
From the top of the jetty to the rocks below was roughly twelve feet, give or take.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0345492277, Mass Market Paperback)

From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a novel of sexy romantic suspense for fans of Nora Roberts, Catherine Coulter, and Karen Robards.

Mariah Stewart crafts compelling stories of romantic suspense, full of richly imagined characters, dazzling plot twists, and breathless action that keeps the pages turning. Now Stewart begins a thrilling new series–with a novel that proves to be her biggest and boldest yet.

On a balmy spring evening, four high school seniors–three boys and a girl–enter a park in the small Pennsylvania city of Conroy. The next morning, two of the boys are found shot to death, and the girl and the third boy are gone. After three weeks with no leads and no sign of either of the two missing teenagers, the chief of police begins to wonder if they too were victims. But with no other suspects, the authorities conclude that one of these kids was the shooter.

The missing boy’s grandmother, a secretary at the local parish church, maintains his innocence. On her behalf, the parish priest, Father Kevin Burch, hires former detective Mallory Russo as a private investigator to figure out what happened in the park that night. Mallory had ended her nine-year stint with the Conroy police force some time ago after becoming a target of a smear campaign. Now a true-crime author, Mallory is surprised to receive the priest’s offer–and highly intrigued by the case. She can’t help but accept the challenge–especially when she learns that her investigation will be financed by Father Burch’s cousin the reclusive billionaire Robert Magellan, a man whose own wife and infant son disappeared without a trace a year ago, a man who understands the heartache of not knowing what happened to a loved one.

Detective Charlie Wanamaker is facing another sort of tragedy. He fled Conroy years ago with no plans to return to what he considered a dying factory town–until a family emergency brought him back. Finding the situation much worse than he’d thought, he trades his job as a big-city detective for one with the Conroy police department. Assigned to the park shooting case, Charlie quickly realizes that the initial investigation left a lot of questions unanswered. Unofficially, he teams up with Mallory to uncover the truth and find the two kids, dead or alive. What Charlie and Mallory discover will take them down a twisted path that leads to an old unsolved murder–and justice for a killer with a heart of stone.

Mercy Street is tautly paced, resonant with emotion, and relentlessly gripping. It showcases Mariah Stewart at her most brilliant, as she ratchets up the suspense to new levels of excitement.

Praise for Mariah Stewart

“Mariah Stewart is one to watch and savor for a long time.”–The Philadelphia Inquirer

“Stewart can always be counted on to write an exciting romantic suspense thriller.”–TheBestReviews.com


From the Hardcover edition.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:42:56 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

A private investigator and a Pennsylvania police detective team up to solve the shooting deaths of two teenage boys and the two missing teenagers linked to the shooting.

» see all 6 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
140 avail.
9 wanted
3 pay7 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.11)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 5
3.5 7
4 19
4.5 6
5 11

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,605,875 books! | Top bar: Always visible