HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

fudge-a-mania by judy blume
Loading...

fudge-a-mania (original 1990; edition 1990)

by judy blume

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2,661172,240 (3.86)8
bplteen's review
Review by: Raymond

The main character is Peter and his little brother Fudge. The setting is in the city and at the house they are staying at. One of the conflicts is when Peter wants Jimmy to stay at his house, but Sheila is there. He does not tell Jimmy because he thinks that Jimmy will not come because of her. Then when he comes she is there and he still stays there. Another conflict is when they are on the boat then a storm comes and Peter’s dad does not know how to drive a boat good so his grandma drives it and his dad gets mad, but he gets over it.
The most exciting part is when they are playing baseball. The less exciting part is when they are riding biking.
I think this book is for littler kids like ten or eleven year olds because Fudge his little brother is always doing something funny. I think it would make them laugh. This book is for boys and girls because it is about boys and girls.
On a scale of one to five I would give this a two because I don’t think it’s that interesting. It is for littler Kids and it only has a few funny parts in it. The only real surprise is at the end his grandma and Sheila’s grandpa get married
Review by: Reviewer Unknown

This book is very good!! It should be rated either a high four or a low five. I highly suggest this book to children from ages 8-12. But even children under this age or adults will love this book.
Review by: lolo

This book is about Fudge, who is terrible. Everyone would love this book.
Peter Hatcher hates Sheila. They are going for vacations and Sheila is also coming there. WOW!!!!!!!!!!!! If you want to know more, read the book, and find out more.
Review by: carlos

I love this book! My class is reading the whole series. I mean who doesn't like a book about an anoying brother and a curious brother with a bad person (and that is Sheila Tubman). For you people who are thinking about buying this specific book you should buy this book. Wow I can tell so much! This book is very good. I suggest this book should be a perfect all the way to children 8 to 12. Little kids don't know how to read, adults aren't interested in the book because of how it is. You want 2 know more read the book. I'm serious read it if you have your eyes on it.
P.S. READ THE WHOLE SERIES.
Review by: MistressCiel99

Um, its a bit young.... Other than that, I thought it was a little weird, maybe. Some parts were kind of funny and actually made me laugh, but otherwise, I was just bored.
Review by: love it

hiiii i love the book soooo much byeeeeeeeeeeeeee yayayayaya i love it!!!!!!....... ( )
  bplteen | Apr 27, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 17 of 17
I registered a book at BookCrossing.com!
http://www.BookCrossing.com/journal/12397810 ( )
  amandafite | Mar 6, 2014 |
These books made so much sense to me as a child. ( )
  katemo | May 16, 2013 |
Judy Blume has really done it this time AGAIN!!
  sarahmontgomery19 | Nov 2, 2012 |
Peter Hatcher's summer is not looking good. First of all, Peter's brother Fudge — the five-year-old human hurricane — has a plan: to marry Peter's sworn enemy, Sheila Tubman. Disgusting! Could anything be worse? Yes. Peter's parents have decided to rent a summer house next, door to the Tubman's. Which means Peter will be stuck with Fudge and Sheila the Cootie Queen for three whole weeks!

Will Peter be able to survive the summer? It may not be the vacation of Peter's dreams, but, as millions of Judy Blume fans know, it won't be dull. When Fudge is around, anything can happen... and does!
  clwalker | Jun 21, 2012 |
Review by: Raymond

The main character is Peter and his little brother Fudge. The setting is in the city and at the house they are staying at. One of the conflicts is when Peter wants Jimmy to stay at his house, but Sheila is there. He does not tell Jimmy because he thinks that Jimmy will not come because of her. Then when he comes she is there and he still stays there. Another conflict is when they are on the boat then a storm comes and Peter’s dad does not know how to drive a boat good so his grandma drives it and his dad gets mad, but he gets over it.
The most exciting part is when they are playing baseball. The less exciting part is when they are riding biking.
I think this book is for littler kids like ten or eleven year olds because Fudge his little brother is always doing something funny. I think it would make them laugh. This book is for boys and girls because it is about boys and girls.
On a scale of one to five I would give this a two because I don’t think it’s that interesting. It is for littler Kids and it only has a few funny parts in it. The only real surprise is at the end his grandma and Sheila’s grandpa get married
Review by: Reviewer Unknown

This book is very good!! It should be rated either a high four or a low five. I highly suggest this book to children from ages 8-12. But even children under this age or adults will love this book.
Review by: lolo

This book is about Fudge, who is terrible. Everyone would love this book.
Peter Hatcher hates Sheila. They are going for vacations and Sheila is also coming there. WOW!!!!!!!!!!!! If you want to know more, read the book, and find out more.
Review by: carlos

I love this book! My class is reading the whole series. I mean who doesn't like a book about an anoying brother and a curious brother with a bad person (and that is Sheila Tubman). For you people who are thinking about buying this specific book you should buy this book. Wow I can tell so much! This book is very good. I suggest this book should be a perfect all the way to children 8 to 12. Little kids don't know how to read, adults aren't interested in the book because of how it is. You want 2 know more read the book. I'm serious read it if you have your eyes on it.
P.S. READ THE WHOLE SERIES.
Review by: MistressCiel99

Um, its a bit young.... Other than that, I thought it was a little weird, maybe. Some parts were kind of funny and actually made me laugh, but otherwise, I was just bored.
Review by: love it

hiiii i love the book soooo much byeeeeeeeeeeeeee yayayayaya i love it!!!!!!....... ( )
  bplteen | Apr 27, 2012 |
(FYI, this review was dictated by a 7-year-old girl - some major spoilers follow hereafter!)

This is a story about a boy called Peter Hatcher visiting Maine on holiday. He is relieved to get away from his rival, Sheila Tubman, and he invites his friend to spend the holidays with him. His friend doesn't like Sheila either. Peter tells him Sheila will be very far away from him, probably about 90 million blocks away or something. But when his friend comes, Peter has made a very bad discovery. He and Sheila are sharing a house. Argggggghhhhh!!!! This leads to a lot of problems between the two of them.

I liked when Uncle Feather escaped out of the cage and Fudge went to Mitzy's house. Since Fudge had lost Uncle Feather, Mitzy's mum said "Oh dear, what is his name? Maybe I could track him down" and Fudge said "Uncle Feather" and she said "Oh, so you're missing your Uncle then, not a bird?" This was very funny. ( )
  verdelambton | Apr 25, 2012 |
Summary: This is a story about a young boy named Peter and his younger brother Fudge. Fudge is always getting into trouble. In this story the family takes a vacation to the cabins in Maine in a cabin right next to Sheila Tubman, who Peter doesn't like. Kids will love the hilarious antics of Fudge as he gets into one predicament after the other.

Personal reaction: I loved this story. I have a Fudge in my family (my younger sister). She was always getting into everything so I could relate to Peter in the story.

Classroom Extension: Can be used to show children how to adapt to younger siblings. Can be used to show children how to overcome your dislike for someone and become friends.
  AprilSDavis | Mar 12, 2012 |
Teaching Ideas: Part of a series. Good for partnership or small group discussion about the character across several books. Discussion might focus on how Peter has changed sine his introduction in Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing. Topics might include the memoragle messes Fudge created for Peter, and discuss what is happening to the boys' personalities as they mature. Ask students who is telling the story. Peter's thinking and point-of-view color everything we learn as a reader. In what ways does Peter feel both protective of and frustrated by Fudge, and do readers feel this way about their siblings, too? How can this personal connection with the character inform their reading and inform their lives?
Time passes in this story and readers can note how the author makes that happen. The book contains much dialogue, and can be read in a book club with readers assuming the role of particular characters. Chapter 5 is particularly good for readers theater." (Field Guide to the Classroom Library - TCWP).
  GHREAD | Jun 27, 2011 |
My favorite part is when Fudge went to the library with Peter and Peter fell in love with the librarian. I also liked when they were at the library and Fudge couldn't find a book called "Find Me a Fudge". He thought there should be a book named that because his friend named Mitzy had a book called "Find Me a Mitzy". Also I liked when Sheila's grandpa got married to Peter's grandma. Sheila and Peter have always been enemies but now they are relatives! ( )
  catnor | Dec 16, 2010 |
peter goes to maine for holiday but it gets ruined when his worst enemy named sheila tubman has the same holiday in the same house. ( )
  ebenova | Nov 5, 2010 |
This book will good for people who have a younger brother because the main character is the younger brother, Fudge.
Fudge always causes trouble for his brother, Peter! So I think people (who have brother) knew Peter's feelings of annoying easily. ( )
  jychoi | Oct 8, 2010 |
Fudge is going to Maine, and says he is going to marry Sheila who is three times older than him. His brother Peter won't let him. The story would be perfect for people who likes realistic and humerous books because fudge acts like a real boy and causing trouble and always silly. ( )
  sykim | Oct 1, 2010 |
I loved the book & the ending was so good! ( )
  emma4321 | Mar 23, 2010 |
I really like this book because Peter has to go stay in Maine for a couple weeks in a house right beside Sheila Tubman. The amount of hate Peter has for Sheila is ridiculous and he is devastated when he found out that he had to live next to her! The worst part of the story is that he still has to put up with his annoying brother Farley. He has called his little brother Fudge since "Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing" and he is still just as annoying as he was in the last book. ( )
  mlsweatman | Feb 9, 2010 |
Read, and enjoyed, when I was a child. ( )
  herebedragons | Jan 28, 2007 |
Showing 17 of 17

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
431 avail.
61 wanted
1 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.86)
0.5
1 4
1.5 2
2 9
2.5 4
3 49
3.5 12
4 89
4.5 8
5 58

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,274,850 books! | Top bar: Always visible