HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Roscoe Riley Rules #1: Never Glue Your…
Loading...

Roscoe Riley Rules #1: Never Glue Your Friends to Chairs

by Katherine Applegate

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
204457,485 (3.98)2

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 2 mentions

Showing 4 of 4
Roscoe Riley is your average first grader: he has trouble remembering all the rules and is always getting in trouble but he loves to help out his parents and teacher. That’s why he thought it would be okay to take the Super-Mega-Gonzo Glue (that his mom calls the don’t-you-dare glue!) to school and use it to save his teacher from losing her job. The plot is wonderfully silly, and even adult readers will find themselves chuckling at Roscoe’s musings. However, in an effort to make the story sound like Roscoe is speaking to the reader, the text is fraught with sentence fragments. If you can handle that, this is a great transitional chapter book that will make kids excited to read. The main character is fun loving and good-natured and the chapters are short enough to keep young readers’ momentum going. Every few pages there is a black and white cartoon illustration that aids in comprehension because the pictures depict complicated parts in the text (like when Roscoe is explaining antennae headbands he and his classmates wear). After reading this book readers will be eager to read more of the series and see what other ridiculous adventures Roscoe gets himself into! ( )
  alyssjo | Nov 4, 2012 |
Roscoe Riley doesn't mean to get into trouble, but somehow it just happens. Told from his position in the time-out corner, this first installment explains why Roscoe glued his friends to chairs (it was for the good of the whole class!). Funny and lighthearted, this would be a great choice for new chapter book readers who enjoy Junie B. Jones, Clementine, and others like that. ( )
  abbylibrarian | May 16, 2009 |
hillarious first chapter book series. ( )
  GeorgeAtDublinCML | Dec 5, 2008 |
Series of stories which should interest any young reader, especially boys. Roscoe and trouble are twins. He is a likable character and means well even though he oftens finds himself in troublesome situations. Roscoe's tales are amusing and true to life. I think that boys who may not be that interested in reading might find these books amusing and want to try some other books (hopefully). ( )
  hewayzha | Sep 11, 2008 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0061148814, Paperback)

If the kids can't sit still for the class performance, Roscoe's teacher could be in big trouble. Fortunately Roscoe has a plan to save her—a super, mega, gonzo plan! What could go wrong?

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 14:01:26 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

When the first-graders' bee antennae would not stay on their heads and the drummers would not stay in their seats for the open house play, Roscoe decides to help by using the "don't-you-dare" glue.

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
6 wanted
2 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.98)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 7
3.5
4 6
4.5 3
5 7

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,736,315 books! | Top bar: Always visible