HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Erbarmen: Thriller by Jussi Adler-Olsen
Loading...

Erbarmen: Thriller (original 2007; edition 2009)

by Jussi Adler-Olsen, Hannes Thiess (Übersetzer)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,8031293,884 (4.05)224
Carl Mørk’s letzter Einsatz endete tragisch, ein Kollege ist tot, der Andere sitzt im Rollstuhl. Seitdem ist er traumatisiert und hat schwere Schuldgefühle, die auch seine Arbeitshaltung verschlechtern. Seine Kollegen und Vorgesetzen meiden ihn schon länger, als eine neue Sondereinheit gebildet wird, ist ihre Chance gekommen, ihn ohne großes Aufsehe abzuschieben. Mørk wird Leiter des neuen Dezernats Q, das sich mit ungeklärten Verbrechen beschäftigt.

Anfangs ist er gelangweilt und alles andere als erpicht darauf, sich den Fällen zu widmen, doch sein neuer Assistent Assad bringt Schwung in die Sache. Sie stoßen auf die Akte der Abgeordneten Merete: Sie verschwand vor etlichen Jahren vom Deck eines Schiffes und ward nie mehr gesehen. Der Fall Merete wird zum ersten Fall für das Dezerenats Q.

Das Buch lebt vor allem durch seine fein gezeichneten Charaktere. Carl, ein ehrlich gesagt eher unsympathischer Kerl, bekommt durch den fröhlichen, herzlichen Assad einen perfekten Gegenpol.

Olsen schreibt durchgängig flüssig und fesselnd, durch häufiges Wechseln der Perspektive bleibt die Geschichte in Schwung. Stets glaubwürdig führt der Autor die Handlungsstränge zusammen und präsentiert eine gelungene, in sich schlüssige Auflösung. Diese war zwar bereits zu erahnen, das mindert das Lesevergnügen aber in keinster Weise.

Olsens Debütroman ist für Krimifans uneingeschränkt empfehlenswert und macht große Hoffnungen auf den Folgeband, der für September 2010 angekündigt ist. ( )
  TheAlice | Feb 19, 2010 |
English (102)  Dutch (15)  German (5)  Danish (2)  Spanish (2)  French (2)  Catalan (1)  All languages (129)
Showing 1-25 of 102 (next | show all)
I really want to give this book five stars. It is one of those books that pulls the reader in and and makes him reluctant to close the cover when the last page has been read. The characters are delightful. Carl Mørck is a deputy detective superintendent who has just returned to duty after recovering from a shooting which cost one partner his life and left the other paralyzed. The n antisocial Mørck is promoted to a dingy office in the basement, where his only assignment is to read and work unsolved cases. His only staff is Hafez el-Assad, a janitor who has recently immigrated from Syria and clearly aspires to do more for Carl than mop up. The relationship between Carl and Assad is one of the most entertaining that I have read in fifty years of reading crime fiction.

The crime itself is a brutal one involving kidnapping and torture that is truly painful to imagine. The problem with the book is a minor one but it still prevents me giving it the five stars I'd like to give it is that the mystery isn't all that mysterious. Even so, I still enjoyed the book a lot and will be quick to read more books in the Department Q series. I'm also looking forward to being able to watch the movie version. ( )
  Unkletom | Mar 25, 2015 |
Hooray for a new Scandinavian detective series! This one is set in Denmark, allegedly the happiest country in the world after Bhutan, but it's still pretty dark. The book cover is a blatant ripoff of Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, but the main character here is a sexist and difficult detective who is in recovery from a shooting where one of his partners was killed and one paralyzed. Carl Morck holds himself responsible for the killer's escape. Because he's impossible to work with but effective, he gets banished to the basement and to a new Department Q for cold cases that remain politically hot. His admin Assad is a man of mystery who proves to have skills beyond cooking spicy MidEastern food and cleaning. Their first case is that of a politician, Merete Lynggaard, who has been missing for almost five years and who also has a dreadful life altering event in her background. The suspense level starts low and ratchets up steadily, building to a most satisfying outcome and to the next in the Department Q series. I can't wait! ( )
1 vote froxgirl | Mar 9, 2015 |
This is the first in a series of "Department Q" Danish police procedurals. Carl Mørck, is a deputy detective superintendent who been is relegated to the basement in an office where it is deemed he'll be no trouble. And at first he wants nothing more than to put his feet up and do nothing. When he learns the department was getting a windfall by creating this department of "lost causes" he uses that knowledge to his advantage to get an assistant and nice digs. Carl has a history of his own. He was involved in a shootout that killed one of his partners and paralyzed the other.

Assad, his assistant, a Muslim and another cast-off, seems to be always one step ahead. He’s a delightful character. They are tasked with investigating the disappearance, ostensibly a drowning, of a prominent political leader. This was the part I found totally implausible: a woman kept in a chamber for five years in which the atmospheric pressure is being gradually increased. She is fed through an airlock and tries to retain her sanity. The story that gradually unfolds concerns an intricate plot to get revenge for something that had happened years before..

It took me a while to get into this book, and I must say it was only the quirkiness of the main characters that kept me going. Perhaps it was the structure I found annoying, but the book became more intriguing as it progressed. I’ll try another in the series, but we’ll just have to see.

Note: AKA The Keeper of Lost Causes. ( )
  ecw0647 | Feb 14, 2015 |
In 2002, Merete Lynggaard, a prominent Danish politician, went missing on a car ferry from Denmark to Germany. She left behind her younger brother, Uffie, who had not spoken for 15 years, since an automobile accident they were involved in took their parents’ lives. Merete hasn’t been heard from since and it is presumed she went overboard and drowned.

In 2007, unpopular Police Detective Carl Morck was involved in a shooting in which one of his partners died and the other is in critical condition, probably paralyzed for life. Upon his return from medical leave, his boss Marcus Jacobsen couldn’t figure out what to do with him. Luckily, Parliament granted the police department an appropriation to create a department to re-examine cold cases, Department Q. Locate it in the basement which would minimize the risk of Morck interacting with other policemen and it would be a perfect place for Morck who can be abrasive at times.

Forced to chose a case to work on, Morck and his Syrian assistant Hafez al-Assad, unintentionally pick the Lynggaard disappearance–high profile and never solved. Morck initially shows no interest in the case but as Assad uncovers interesting information, Morck begins a real investigation.

Of course the officer who handled the initial call was the bumbling Bak. And, of course, Morck and Assad find many avenues of inquiry never pursued during the initial investigation.

Adler-Olsen has created a good detective in Morck and his comical sidekick Assad. Morck is the Danish version of the chain smoking brooding cop we’ve all come to know and love in American crime fiction. He’s estranged from his wife who lives in a cottage next door. His stepson lives upstairs and sponges off Morck and he’s got a finicky tenant who lives in the basement.

The Keeper of Lost Causes has an interesting premise which I won’t tell you about since it will spoil the fun. Adler-Olsen does go back and forth between 2002 and 2007 but that merely enhances the plot. Readers will be guessing until almost the end about ‘who done it’.

Although I enjoyed The Keeper of Lost Causes and would read the next book in this 5 book series, I did find it a slower read than most mysteries, even the other Nordic translations I’ve read. Possibly a little tighter editing might have helped, but all in all, it’s a good series. ( )
1 vote EdGoldberg | Jan 19, 2015 |
I read this book as a way of dipping my toes into Nordic Noir. I enjoyed the main character, and especially his sidekick, Assam. But the description of what was happening to the kidnapped victim were really dark for me. It will be interesting to follow what happens with Dept Q in the future. ( )
  Pmaurer | Jan 8, 2015 |
READ IN DUTCH

This is the first book in Jussi Alder-Olsen's Q-series concerning Danish police detective Carl Morck. I have to admit, I always liked reading Scandinavian detectives a lot. But after years of reading them, I grew a bit tired. Had they first been very new and not as cliché as most US/UK detectives, I got very used to the Scandinavian theme as well.

But this book was different, I really enjoyed it. It was an easy read, but very nice and with a lot of suspense in it.

That cage really was terrifying!


I've ever since reading this book planned to read the rest of this series, but so far, I've only read the second book. ( )
  Floratina | Jan 4, 2015 |
After reading the second book out of order, I was disgusted by its extreme violence and vowed not to read other books in the series. But the siren song of my apartment building's donation library called to me, and I picked up this first book with the hope of learning more about the interesting police detectives who solve these cold cases.

On the plus side, the violence was slightly more bearable, and the back stories of the police staff were great. Unfortunately, however, the mystery itself was predictable. The "shocking twistl" was obvious early on, and it made me cynical about the investigative capabilities of both the initial police team and the second, Department Q staff. If I picked up on it that early, they should have, too.

I have changed my tune and will likely keep reading books in this series, which are bound to appear because as the writer states, "Since time immemorial, human beings had always transformed the suffering of fellow humans into entertainment. Each stratum of human history had revealed an infinitely thick layer of callousness. And the sediment forming new layers was constantly piling up..." ( )
  librarianarpita | Dec 21, 2014 |
I've read MERCY (aka THE KEEPER OF LOST CAUSES) by Jussi Adler-Olsen twice now and finally I think I've got it the review straight in my head.

Why twice? The first time I read this book was right in the middle of a series of releases based around the woman locked in the basement scenario, and frankly, I was pissed off. Even though I really felt that this gross generalisation wasn't fair in the case of MERCY, this scenario had annoyed me so badly, objectiveness had become a real problem. So why reread and why now? Well a movie came out, and there were a lot more books in the Department Q series that I've been keen to try so a little reconsideration was required.

Based around the concept of cold cases, Carl Mørck is back with the Copenhagen Police Department, after six months sick leave recovering from being shot on duty. His colleague wasn't so lucky, still in hospital, paralysed and suffering.

Mørck has always been a difficult person to get on with and because of that the opportunity is taken to sideline him into “Department Q” the cold case unit. In the basement, where hopefully the lack of resources, and one suspects a general lack of oxygen / visibility get through to Mørck that he's not the most popular person. Which seems to be working on one level as he grudgingly shows up and spends most of his time solving Sudoko puzzles and playing games with the powers that be. Unfortunately one game – his demand for an assistant means he's lumbered with Hafez el-Assad, man who very much wants to be an investigator and doesn't agree that Department Q is the pits. When he finds something in the file on the disappearance of politician Merete Lynggaard, Mørck finds himself actually investigating something.

Alternating the viewpoints between the investigation and Lynnggaard in captivity brings an immediacy to the search. Whilst investigators have no idea if she is alive or dead, the reader knows she is, knows her state of mind, and knows her abductors are nearby.

With a clearer viewpoint of this concept there are obvious differences here – Lynggaard isn't being held as a sex slave or as a plaything of a nutter, but the reason she is being held isn't clear. And the cruelty and dispassionate behaviour of her abductors is staggering, uncomfortably so. As is the distress and the worry that everyone has for the brother she's left out in the real world. Badly equipped to handle it, he has an acquired brain injury as a result of the car accident that killed their parents when they were children. His suffering is as palpable as hers.

Aside from the difference that's now obvious – that this isn't an opportunistic tale of a woman in a basement after all, and add in the great characters of the investigators and this is really a strong opening book. The grumpiness of Mørck and the intelligence and compassion of Assad make them a great team. Having said that, grumpiness isn't the defining quality of Mørck when you're paying attention – there's a lot more to this story than greets the initial eye.

I have no explanation at all as to why I didn't see that the first time around, but I'm profoundly relieved that I had the sense to leave MERCY in the pile – knowing there was something wrong with my initial reaction but not able to articulate it.

http://www.austcrimefiction.org/review/review-mercy-jussi-adler-olsen ( )
  austcrimefiction | Oct 30, 2014 |
excellent, even though there's a big element of psychological thriller/torture that I usually can't tolerate. Karl Moll (? sp) and his new assistant, Hafaz el Assad (?sp) are so compleling.. ( )
  DavidO1103 | Oct 21, 2014 |
Very enjoyable, but unfortunately, the ending was easy to predict. ( )
  ScribbleKey | Jul 1, 2014 |
I don't as a general rule read police procedural or gritty crime novels. I watch them on TV but usually I don't read them. My attention is prone to wander when a crime novel gets bogged down in details that don't interest me. Having finally gotten around to reading the Stieg Larsson Millennium Trilogy last year, I can see where some novels of this type has a certain appeal. While Larsson and Adler-Olsen each place their own stamp on the crime novels they have written, they do have similarities that made it easy for me to make a side-by-side comparison of their first books. One characteristic both books share is the focus on the person and not the process. My preference is to read about complex characters and not the actual nitty-gritty of police work. Adler-Olsen provides my psychologically-driven mind with enough information to keep my mind in analysis mode regarding Carl's very dark and moody persona and his damaged past while at the same time providing a rather entertaining assistant in Assad, a political-refugee immigrant with a mysterious past of his own.

Adler-Olsen takes his time in framing his characters and the crime for the reader. The reveals are gradual, one piece of information at a time, and the story progresses at a more moderate, dare I say, sedate pace. Now, I like a story that has a slow build and takes it time with me. It makes it a lot easier for me to read the book in intervals spread out over time and not feel as thought I have to backtrack and refresh my memory when I do come back to it. I also like stories that are a bit of a mental puzzle to figure out. If I were to compare book one of the Larsson trilogy with this first book in a series I would have to say that while I prefer Larsson's characters, in particular the enigmatic Lisbeth Salander, Adler-Olsen has provided a better crime puzzle, IMO, to mentally analyze and figure out. For me, reading [The Keeper of Lost Causes] fit into my comfort zone as a read because I found it to be an interesting blending of the Larsson books with one of my favorite British TV series New Tricks, a cop show that follows the work of the fictional Unsolved Crime and Open Case Squad for the London Metropolitan Police as they investigate old unsolved crimes.

For those of you who haven't already read this one, the ending makes the rather slow pace of the story worth while. Adler-Olsen has also left a lot of unfinished business as it relates to Carl Mørck, a character I admit to having difficulties to warm up to. While I wasn't riveted to the story, I found it to be a very satisfying read and I will continue with the series as I want to see how things progress in Department Q with Carl and Assad.

Best of all, this one contains the following fantastic book quote:

"She'd been lying on the floor thinking about books. That was something she often did in order not to think about the life she might have had, if only she'd made different choices. When she thought about books, she could move into a whole different world. Just remembering the feeling of the dry surface and inexplicable roughness of the paper could ignite a blaze of yearning inside of her. The scent of evaporated cellulose and printer's ink. Thousands of times now she'd sent her thoughts into her imaginary library and selected the only book in the world that she knew she could recall without embellishing it. It was not the one she wanted to remember, not even the one that had made the greatest impression on her. But it was the only book that had remained completely intact in her tortured memory because of the liberating bursts of laughter she associated with it.

A great big smile came to my face when the I discovered what book was being referred to by this quote. ( )
1 vote lkernagh | May 10, 2014 |
I liked this book. The writing was descriptive and fast paced. As far as thrillers go, this was a good one. ( )
  janismack | Apr 8, 2014 |
Entertaining. If you like police procedurals and mysteries, I recommend it. ( )
  pmackey | Mar 19, 2014 |
I picked this book based on the rave reviews it had received - "The new 'it' boy of Nordic Noir" from The Times of London, among many others.
I have to say that the writing did not disappoint. It was well written and the characters were well drawn. The story was a compelling, a real page turner. The reason for the four star review as opposed to five stars is due to the fact that I found the premise behind the story to be too far fetched. It's hard to go into more detail without giving away the ending, but I felt that it was unbelievable that some of the characters would go to such great lengths. ( )
  Bookishhorseygal | Mar 18, 2014 |
I couldn't put this book down it is such a good read. Detective Carl Morck has returned to work after surviving an attack which killed one colleague and left the other as a quadraplegic . In a depressive state, he is picked to head Dept. Q, the new division to investigate cold cases. His new assistant is a fascinating character called Assad, who has a shady but tragic past. Their first case involves the disappearance, suspected suicide of a former politician Merete Lymgaard five years ago. This is a such a great story, as Carl and Assad unravel the clues to discover the real story.. I'm going to find more of these to read. ( )
  MaggieFlo | Mar 17, 2014 |
This is a terrific mystery. Read it under the title Keeper of Lost '
Causes but it is the first in the Q1 series with Carl Morck, who is much like Harry Hole in the Jo Nesbo books. Gripping from start to finish. ( )
  annbury | Feb 28, 2014 |
Solid detective story, some interesting twists, moved a bit slowly — could be a cultural thing though. ( )
  dreamingbear | Feb 6, 2014 |
I loved this book. I simply couldn't put it down once I picked it up. "The Keeper of Lost Causes" is the first in a series featuring Copenhagen homicide detective Carl Morck. He reminds me of another detective - John Corey, who is featured in several books by Nelson DeMille. Both detectives are darkly humorous, deeply flawed, completely irreverent, and bitingly ironic. Moreover, they have a deep understanding of and appreciation for the bittersweet hilarity of the absurd.

There have been hundreds of reviews of this book, illuminating many aspects of it. I decided to focus my review on one of the two main characters in the story - Merete Lynggaard (Carl Morck being the other). Merete is a young liberal politician whose career is on the rise. While she's not necessarily liked by everyone, she is admired and respected for her savvy, intelligence, beauty, and no-nonsense demeanor. Very early in the book she is kidnapped and held captive by unknown individuals. Because her kidnappers never demand a ransom, Merete is believed to be dead by the outside world. Years later, when Carl Morck is given her case to review, he discovers that many valuable leads were never explored. Carl re-opens the case and the majority of the book is split between his attempts to unravel what really happened to Merete and Merete's experience at the hands of her captors.

Note: while my the rest of my review does not reveal Merete's kidnappers or ultimate fate, I do focus on her confinement and experiences as a victim. Some aspects of this discussion may be considered "spoilers" by some readers. Please consider this before reading the rest of this review.

After I finished The Keeper of Lost Causes'" I went on Amazon to read others readers' reviews. I was particularly struck by two negative reviews by readers who were basically put off the book by what one of the readers described as "torture porn." The other reviewer commented: "I just got angry with the author's insistence on drowning the reader in his never ending pathological preoccupation with relentlessly putting into multiple pages of print the increasingly sadistic and horrifying reality based years of torture of the victim by the criminals."

I can relate to these reviewers' disgust. I am frequently confused and discomforted by the graphic depictions of violence and torture, often unimaginably sadistic, in the novels I read. I often skip over those passages and in those instances when I do read them, I distance myself psychologically in order to take it all in.

However, I didn't experience Adler-Olson's depiction of the violence Merete experiences at the hands of her captors as gratuitous violence. What I later learned about the author's childhood helped me make sense of this.

According to Wikipedia, Jussi Adler-Olson was the youngest of four kids and the only boy. He was also "the son of the successful sexologist and psychiatrist Henry Olsen (and) he spent his childhood with his family in several mental hospitals across Denmark."

A later Department Q novel - "The Purity of Vengeance," deals with Scandinavians' shameful history of eugenics, focusing on the story of a young woman who seeks revenge against those who subjected her to forced sterilization. The publishing notes for “The Purity of Vengeance’’ state that "Adler-Olsen’s father, a psychiatrist, briefly worked at Sprogo, and his stories of the harsh hand dealt the women there seem to have profoundly impressed the son."

While I haven't yet read "The Purity of Vengeance," knowing this about Adler-Olson's childhood helped me understand my reaction to Merete's captivity and suffering in "The Keeper of Lost Causes." As the story unfolded, I was repeatedly struck by how much her experiences mirrored those of countless women during the 1800s and much of the 1900s, when women could be confined (and basically imprisoned) in psychiatric asylums by their fathers, husbands, and brothers for nothing more than their refusal to conform to the accepted norms of "womanly behavior."

Merete's story is horrific and the description of her suffering at the hands of her psychotic captors seems unimaginable, and yet, as her story unfolds, I increasingly became aware that what at first seemed incomprehensible, was not just Merete's story, but the story of countless women who have been falsely committed to psychiatric hospitals and subjected to mental and physical abuse couched as "treatment" at the hands of sadistic doctors, nurses, and orderlies. Often, these women served as nothing more than human lab rats - completely dehumanized by their captors, they were subjected to invasive experiments and observation for no reason other than to satisfy the curiosity of the ruling "medical establishment."

The summer I was ten years old, I remember my grandmother, a nurse, telling me about her experience as a young woman working in a psychiatric hospital. She described to me how out-of-control patients were placed in a warm pools of water, with a covering that only allowed their heads to be above the surface. This was alternated with wrapping their naked bodies mummy-like in cold wet towels. This treatment supposedly calmed the patients, making them more pliable and cooperative. My grandmother's horror when describing this and other "treatments" she observed was apparent.

Some years later I found out that my grandmother had suffered a "nervous breakdown" when my mother, her daughter, was twelve years old. My grandmother spent the summer in a psychiatric hospital and I've always wondered how much of what she'd told me earlier was drawn from her experience as a patient, rather than her experience as a young nurse.

What I know of my grandmother's experience pales, of course, in comparison to the absolute degradation and agony Merete's captors subject her to. However, reading about it brought to mind what my grandmother shared with me so long ago and I can't help but think that Adler-Olson's experience as child growing up in the shadow of various mental health hospitals has infused his work and his description of the plights and suffering of his victims at the hands of their oppressors.

And so, in this light, I think to describe Adler-Olson's work as "torture porn," is misinformed and misguided. It is true that gratuitous violence permeates almost every part of our culture, especially our entertainment. Every time I fast forward through a TV show, close my eyes in a movie, or skip through a particularly graphic description of violence in a book, I think to myself - "Why in the hell am I watching/reading this?" I tell myself that it's because the rest of the story is so interesting, but I'm aware of, confused, and disturbed by my ability to tolerate greater degrees and amounts of violence. The idea that I could actually find that violence entertaining is perverse.

However, I don't think Adler-Olson's work falls into the category of gratuitous violence that serves no purpose other than to entertain. There is nothing sensationalized about his descriptions of Merete's experiences. Her captivity reminded me of a psychiatric patient in solitary confinement; a lab rat subjected to sadistic experiments that serve no purpose other than to fulfill the capricious whims of its captors. I have no doubt that Adler-Olson's own experiences have infused his work and I feel certain that I am not alone in my reaction to it. In this light, while his depiction of Merete's degradation is brutal in its honesty - the courage, determination and strength she demonstrates is all the more remarkable. He illuminates her spirit. In doing so, Adler-Olson shines a light on all that is good in humanity, even when it is faced with unimaginable evil.

And at the end of the day, it is the brightness of Merete's soul that I will remember best from "The Keeper of Lost Causes." ( )
2 vote Yogamom67 | Feb 3, 2014 |
Listened to this book and after this introduction to Adler-Olselen's style I am going to read more of the Q series in print as well. The writing made me want to follow the lives and feelings of the main characters. who had many trials and tribulations in their private lives and in their detective work. Twists and turns and nail biting drama abound.
  33racoonie | Jan 31, 2014 |
This is a Scandinavian crime fiction. This is a police procedural. Carl Morck was a detective with the Copenhagen police squad. In a shooting incidence Carl had lost a partner and his other partner was paralyzed. Carl after returning to his regular duties was being difficult and hence what made the chief of a new department called department Q which dealt with high-profile cold cases. The first case which he investigates is of Merete Lynggaard an upcoming young politician who suddenly disappeared while on a ferry. On deeper investigation Carl and his assistant Assad discover various discrepancies in the previous investigations and discover certain new things. The story ends with a thrilling climax.

A good crime thriller. And moreover it's the first installment of a series. ( )
1 vote mausergem | Jan 30, 2014 |
Love this series

The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Carl Mørck used to be one of Copenhagen’s best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl—who didn’t draw his weapon—blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl’s got only a stack of Copenhagen’s coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn’t dead … yet.

Darkly humorous, propulsive, and atmospheric, The Keeper of Lost Causes introduces American readers to the mega-bestselling series fast becoming an international sensation. ( )
1 vote | Suzanne_Mitchell | Dec 28, 2013 |
I just loved this book. It has just about everything I want from a mystery. The story is tense and taut with little superfluous writing. The character development is phenomenal. Carl is one of the best characters I have read about in quite a while. He is tormented like many other Scandinavian detectives recently. But something about him makes him more enjoyable to read. Assad is an excellent addition and their relationship is quite fun.

While the crime and Carl's back story are both quite dark, the book is very enjoyable. I can't say much more than that I enjoyed it greatly and I think any other mystery fan will too. The only downside is having to wait for new installments in the series to come out now that I am hooked.
1 vote bas615 | Dec 15, 2013 |
Really liked this book. A nice change from the the usual crime novel. Set in Denmark with a rogue cop who is "promoted" to running his own department. His only help is a Syrian exile who is drafted into work as his driver. Wonderful twists - even though I know "who dunnit" very much earlier than normal - this didn't lessen my enjoyment of the novel at all. ( )
  stuart10er | Nov 5, 2013 |
3/29 ( )
  liz.mabry | Sep 11, 2013 |
The Keeper of Lost Causes by Jussi Adler-Olsen interested me right from the start, the author allows the story to build slowly but as the tension mounts I found the pages turning faster and faster. This is an excellent thriller with dark undertones, a combination of painstaking detective work alongside a ticking clock as the readers become aware that there is a definite timeline at work here.

Merete Lynngaard is a well known political figure in Denmark and her disappearance in 2002 was a huge story. But by 2007 when this case becomes the first cold case to be investigated by the newly formed Q Department,, it had quietly faded. Detective Carl Morck was positive she was long dead, probably a suicide. As the pieces are slowly put together, a truly horrifying picture emerges and soon Morck and his assistant, Assad, are in a race against time.

The author has delivered a top-notch, original story and peopled it with vivid characters. Both the damaged Carl Morck and his mysterious assistant Assad have a lot more to reveal and, with the quality of this story to go by, I can see that this is a series I will enjoy following. ( )
1 vote DeltaQueen50 | Aug 19, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 102 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
13 avail.
302 wanted
7 pay7 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.05)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 16
2.5 5
3 81
3.5 69
4 306
4.5 63
5 163

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

2 editions of this book were published by Penguin Australia.

Editions: 0141399961, 0718156889

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 96,163,580 books! | Top bar: Always visible