HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

My Misspent Youth: Essays by Meghan Daum
Loading...

My Misspent Youth: Essays (edition 2001)

by Meghan Daum

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
255364,430 (3.45)2
Member:kelsia3
Title:My Misspent Youth: Essays
Authors:Meghan Daum
Info:Grove Press, Open City Books (2001), Edition: First Edition, Paperback, 180 pages
Collections:Read but unowned
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

My Misspent Youth: Essays by Meghan Daum

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 2 mentions

Showing 3 of 3
There are moments of great insight and attentiveness throughout, and some wonderful turns of phrase, but the voice is young and a bit angry and a bit muddled. I can't decide whether "American Shiksa" is brilliant or a bit offensive. But her later collection of essays, the Unthinkable, is sublime, which actually makes this kind of heartening to read -- see the difference that thirteen years makes. ( )
  benjaminsiegel | Jul 30, 2016 |
I listened this book of essays on recommendation of Slate magazine's best audiobooks of 2015 article (although the essays were largely published more than 15 years ago leading to a time warp sensation hearing them). The first few essays are largely autobiographical and detail Daum's personal experiences with online romance, working in the publishing industry, running up debt to follow her dreams of living New York City, and her hatred of carpets and love of wood floors. In these essays she comes across as a rather shallow and negative person. Later essays have more of a literary journalism feel including a documentation of the everyday lives of flight attendants and interviews with the polyamorous Ravenheart family. While I like these essays better, Daum remains overly sarcastic and dismissive of her subjects in a manner I suppose is intended to be "edgy." So I didn't like this book much, but it was a quick read and Xe Sands' narration skills are excellent. ( )
  Othemts | Jan 14, 2016 |
When I finished the first essay in this book I thought I'd never make it through the rest. I felt it lacked emotion, but then I remembered that these were essays, not memoirs, and I enjoyed the rest of the book. The essay that really turned my opinion was on flight attendants. I don't the book was as edgy or biting as some reviewers have, but that may be because I'm fairly cynical myself. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read good magazine articles and doesn't mind reading someone else's opinion on life instead of clinging to their own like a life preserver on a sinking ship. ( )
  tuff517 | Aug 10, 2007 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

An essayist in the tradition of Joan Didion, Meghan Daum is one of the most celebrated nonfiction writers of her generation, widely recognized for her fresh, provocative approach with which she unearths the hidden fault lines in the American landscape. From her well remembered New Yorker essays about the financial demands of big-city ambition and the ethereal, strangely old-fashioned allure of cyber-relationships to her dazzlingly hilarious riff in Harper's about musical passions that give way to middle-brow paraphernalia, Daum delves into the center of things while closely examining the detritus that spills out along the way. With precision and well-balanced irony, Daum implicates herself as readily as she does the targets that fascinate and horrify her.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.45)
0.5
1
1.5
2 7
2.5 1
3 12
3.5 1
4 16
4.5
5 5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 129,616,115 books! | Top bar: Always visible