HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Drop Edge of Yonder by Rudolph Wurlitzer
Loading...

The Drop Edge of Yonder

by Rudolph Wurlitzer

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
782154,388 (3.67)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 2 of 2
"Quien es?" The same scene is reenacted over and over again in this hallucinatory Western. Or is it?
Wurlitzer examines the nature of consciousness, and human identity in this saga of Zebulon Shook and his quest to find the woman who (through no fault of her own) is destined to betray him. If this sounds like a bloodless storytelling exercise, it isn't. Bags of rattlesnakes, out of tune barroom pianos, saloon gunfights, exotic locales, ghosts, potlaches, supremely bad parenting and rivers of whiskey make The Drop Edge of Yonder an entertaining book. It's one I'll probably reread. ( )
2 vote HenryKrinkle | Jul 23, 2014 |
Part violent jaunt up and down California and Mexico during the gold-rush, part vision quest, Zebulon is a man between life and death. Along with his half-brother, a reformed gunslinger turned medicine man, and the mysterious Delilah, caught between the worlds and the brothers, the three avoid hangings, jail time, and a bounty on his head while trying to find themselves. Moderate sex scenes, explicit language, graphic violence, drug use.
1 vote chosler | Jan 14, 2009 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Important places
Important events
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 097638955X, Paperback)

Time Out New York's #1 Best Book of 2008.

"[A] funny, inquisitive novel [that] asks readers to re-examine their ideas of the Western frontier and personal freedom." —Jeffrey Trachtenberg, Wall Street Journal

"May be the most hallucinogenic western you'll ever catch in the movie house of your mind's eye." —Erik Davis, Bookforum

"A picaresque American Book of the Dead... in the tradition of Thomas Pynchon, Joseph Heller, Kurt Vonnegut and Terry Southern." —David Ulin, Los Angeles Times Book Review

"Should be as well known as anything by Cormac McCarthy, Steve Erickson, or Jim Harrison." —Paul DiFilippo, Barnes & Noble Review

“Rudolph Wurlitzer takes no prisoners. An uncompromising, wild, and woolly tale.”—Sam Shepard

“Sam Beckett with a six-gun and a sack of rattlesnakes.”—Gary Indiana

"Where has Rudy Wurlitzer been for the last fifteen years? The mental traveler who gave us Nog and the Two-Lane Blacktop screenplay takes another vision quest, this time into the Old American West. His mapping of mythic and sacred landscapes and his ability to distinguish between different tribal world-views makes this a truly revealing conversation."—KCRW's Bookworm

In his fifth novel, Rudolph Wurlitzer has written a classic tale of the Western frontier and created one of his most memorable characters in Zebulon, a mountain man whose view of life has been challenged by a curse from a mysterious Native American woman whose lover he inadvertently murdered.

The Drop Edge of Yonder begins in the mountains of Colorado and ends in the far reaches of the Northwest, a journey that includes the beginnings of a Mexican revolution, a voyage across the Gulf of Mexico to Panama, and up the coast of California to San Francisco and the gold fields. Along the trail, Zebulon becomes involved in a series of tragic love triangles, witnesses the death of his mother and father, and confronts the age-old questions of life, love, and death.

Rudolph Wurlitzer is the author of the novels Nog, Flats, Quake, and Slow Fade, and the nonfiction book, Hard Travel to Sacred Places. Among his twelve produced screenplays are Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid, Two Lane Blacktop, Voyager, Walker, and Little Buddha.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:08:16 -0400)

The Drop Edge of Yonder begins in the mountains of Colorado and ends in the far reaches of the Northwest, a journey that includes the beginnings of a Mexican revolution, a voyage across the Gulf of Mexico to Panama, and up the coast of California to San Francisco and the gold fields. Along the trail, Zebulon becomes involved in a series of tragic love triangles, witnesses the death of his mother and father, and confronts the age-old questions of life, love, and death.… (more)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
28 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.67)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 1
3.5 4
4 5
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 117,016,089 books! | Top bar: Always visible