HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Rapunzel's Revenge by Dean Hale
Loading...

Rapunzel's Revenge (original 2008; edition 2008)

by Dean Hale, Shannon Hale, Nathan Hale (Illustrator)

Series: Rapunzel (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
83610510,778 (3.93)72
leithe's review
4P
4Q
The Hales bring new life and a fun story to well known folk and fairy tale characters Rapunzel and Jack from Jack and the Beanstalk.
  leithe | Apr 28, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 1-25 of 105 (next | show all)
Entertaining Western-theme of cracked fairy tales, primarily focusing on Rapunzel. I liked it! Although I think it dragged on a little bit too long. But there was plenty of entertainment to be had in the references to various other fairy tales, and the ways they were mashed together and overturned. ( )
  lquilter | Oct 13, 2014 |
Graphic novel-interesting twist on the tradtional tale. The setting, action, and humor really surprised me. ( )
  rachelmuegge | Jul 23, 2014 |
A story quite unlike you've ever heard before, pits long-tressed Rapunzel against all sorts of evils...boars, serpents, outlaws, but since she has her trusty friend Jack by her side, no one can defeat them. A fresh and imaginative take on a few fairy-tales that are all combined in this expertly illustrated graphic version, Rapunzel's Revenge will have you rooting for this strong, fearless girl and her wily companion. ( )
  jackiewark | Jul 17, 2014 |
Equal opportunity heroism--love the way this retelling uses humor and turns the princess in need of rescue on its head. Important social justice elements, too.
  Ms.Kunz | Jul 14, 2014 |
This is a retelling of a familiar tale. Rapunzel is put in a tower, this time a tree, by her evil “mother.” This time around Rapunzel saves herself. She’s smart, adventurous and caring. She teems up with Jack, who is well meaning but a little bumbling at times, to find her real mother. This is a great book, I personally really enjoyed the fast pace and beautiful drawings. I appreciated that the relationships between the characters felt genuine. I would recommend this to kids who are looking for action adventure books, re-told fairy tales, and readers looking for strong female characters. ( )
  Anna.Nash | Mar 17, 2014 |
A surprising retelling of the fairy tale of Rapunzel, with the title heroine as a feisty wrangler who uses her long hair as a lasso in a magical version of the Old West. The students at my school libraries can't get enough of this book, so much so that it's rarely available. I started looking through it while I was shelving one day to see what all the fuss was about, and was immediately hooked. The graphic novel makes a story that might not otherwise be approachable for younger readers (my schools are K-4) easy enough to follow that I'd argue to lower Amazon's recommended age range. I can see why the story appeals to 4th grade girls especially. It would definitely resonate with Disney princess fans, featuring a strong, capable heroine, humor, and hints of romance. ( )
  Octokitten | Feb 17, 2014 |
This wonderful retelling of the Rapunzel story goes beyond the traditional princess-locked-in-a-tower trope and writes Rapunzel (or "Punzie" as her new friend and partner Jack affectionately calls her) as a spunky, headstrong, and intelligent young woman. She uses her braids as lassos to save new friends and beat bad guys as she tries to restore her country to the green and verdant place it once was before the witch Mother Gothel used her growth magic to suck the place dry. I really loved this book because Rapunzel was such a strong and wonderful young woman, not just a sad girl locked in a tower. ( )
  Lara.Lofdahl | Feb 10, 2014 |
I think this is the first time I've come across a Wild West-style fairy tale retelling. ( )
  MelissaZD | Jan 1, 2014 |
In a world something like the Wild West there lives a girl called Rapunzel, her mother is Gothel, the ruler of the area and she rules with a rod of iron that Rapunzel doesn't often see. This world is over the wall and Rapunzel eventually manages to see it, finding her mother on the other side of the wall working as a slave in a work camp.

Mother Gothel decides to punish her for not obeying her and puts her in a tall tower for several years where she has food and water and her hair grows at an astrominical rate. Enough that eventually it helps her escape, then she joins up with Jack and finds a way of defeating Mother Gothel and freeing her real mother.

I liked it, the slant on the original story was unique and interesting and fun. ( )
  wyvernfriend | Oct 10, 2013 |
I love me some fairytale retellings, and Rapunzel's story - as told in comic book form by Shannon & Dean Hale (with art by Nathan Hale) is awesome.

In this version Rapunzel doesn't know that there's anything beyond the gated, guarded semi-Utopian community her 'Mother' has created for her. She just knows she's not allowed over the walls. And - as anyone who has ever dealt with children in any capacity can tell you - that means that going over the walls is exactly what she yearns to do. But once she makes it over, she finds a startling new reality: here there are mines and slaves, and magic-less barren wastelands. And here is her true mother, the one she was stolen from long, long ago. Now that she knows all of this, can she once again hide behind the walls, live as if nothing has changed?

Hell no: and so she is locked away in the tallest tree, as punishment for disobeying, for rebelling. And in that tree, as her hair grows longer and longer, and time passes, Rapunzel plots her revenge.

Which is all super entertaining and amusing and kick-ass: any girl who manages to use her hair as a weapon, a harness, a rope and a disguise, is one I want on my team. And she's fighting for the people who need it, against the Big Bad: comic book 101! I really enjoyed this, and will definitely be passing it on to some littles in my life, and finding the sequel as well. ( )
1 vote NTE | Sep 20, 2013 |
This graphic novel retells the famous fairy tale in a Wild West setting. Rapunzel escapes the home her mother has turned into a prison and vows to destroy the evil empire with the help of her hair!
  KilmerMSLibrary | Apr 30, 2013 |
A great twist on the age-old story of Rapunzel, in which Rapunzel is her own hero. It's a fairy tale, adventure, western, and graphic novel all rolled into one, with a good dose of comedy. ( )
  AuntLibrarian | Apr 5, 2013 |
Laurie said those four magic words,"reminds me of Firefly" and I'm certainly powerless in the face of that.
  satyridae | Apr 5, 2013 |
For a Shannon Hale joint it was pretty good. The Rapunzel variation was fun and the artwork was solid. ( )
  akmargie | Apr 4, 2013 |
Take Rapunzel and plunk her down smack-dab in the middle of a Louis L'Amour book and you have the gist of this fun graphic novel.

The framework of Rapunzel is here. Hungry mom, eager-to-please dad, evil witch, girl with crazy-long hair in a tower. But that's about where the similarities end. See, Rapunzel doesn't want a prince to come along and rescue her. Oh, no. She wants revenge. And she's perfectly capable of serving it up all by herself, thankyouverymuch.

This was a lot of fun, and I can't give a real reason for knocking it back to three stars. Maybe it just veered a little too far away from the original? Or maybe Rapunzel was unrealistically self-sufficient? The girl was locked away in a tower for years, but she can kick some ass without even thinking about it. Now that I'm thinking about it more, it jumped around a little too much. Of course Rapunzel has lots of adventures, but there was nothing in between. It just jumped from castle to tower to town to ranch with very little transition. I think that's what bothered me the most. And Rapunzel's hayseed way of talking got a little old.

There was a lot that I did like though. I liked that Rapunzel was a strong young woman. Her partner-in-revenge, Jack, was a charming rake. He doesn't think too much about stealing to get by, but Rapunzel knocks some morals into his head. I mostly loved the illustrations, although I never looked at them quite the same way after my husband asked me, in all seriousness, "Why is there a string of sausages on the cover of your book?" I liked that we got an explanation for the extraordinary length of Rapunzel's hair. I liked that Rapunzel's revenge wasn't just about her personally, it was about her family and returning balance to the place where she lives.

It's a quick, fun read and I'll get around to the sequel some day.

( )
  JG_IntrovertedReader | Apr 3, 2013 |
Darling and innovative twist on a classic fairy tale. The writing is full of humor and the artwork is incredible. There is a lot to be discovered in this little book. It's written for younger people, but I'd reccomend it to just about anyone ( )
  CassieLM | Apr 2, 2013 |
A graphic novel with a girl who kicks ass! *glee* ( )
  GinnyTea | Mar 31, 2013 |
You may think you know the story of Rapunzel, but you've never heard or seen it this way before. Rapunzel spends her early childhood as a pampered, but lonely princess with her only friends being the guards of Mother Gothel's luxurious, high-walled compound. It's Rapunzel's curiosity about the world outside that lands her in a tree in a swamp with abundant growth magic that transfers itself to her hair as well. As the years pass, Rapunzel grows evermore frustrated and bored - you would be too if hair-inspired activities like jumping rope and lasso practice were your only entertainment possibilities. When Rapunzel finally escapes (forget the prince - she gets herself out), she's determined to wrest control of the land from Mother Gothel and to rescue her true mother from back-breaking work in the mines. As Rapunzel explores the outside world she gains an ally in Jack (yes, that Jack) and discovers that all her hair works mighty fine as both lasso and whip! It's a long, obstacle-filled road back to Mother Gothel's compound and Rapunzel's going to need all her courage and wits just to make it there. The Old West twist to the cartoon-like illustrations and story adds to the fun, and don't forget to keep an eye out for the many other fairy tale characters Rapunzel encounters on her journey of justice! Fantasy, adventure, humor, even a hint of romance - Rapunzel's Revenge has something for everyone and since it's a graphic novel, it's a quick read too!

I love Shannon Hale's work and this is great too. A butt-kicking female heroine mixed with fantasy and adventure into a fairy-tale retelling is just my cup of tea. This will be perfect for those who love Buffy the Vampire Slayer for its undermining of the female victim trope. Marvel's short-lived Arana series would also be a great read-alike. ( )
  JenJ. | Mar 31, 2013 |
Rapunzel may have gotten locked in the tower, but she's hardly the helpless maiden she's made out to be. With braids long enough to escape on (and some handy training in how to use a lasso), Rapunzel is set to exact revenge on the woman who locked her away. Gothel has been using (and misusing) growth magic to control townspeople all over the land, demanding they pay her high taxes and obey her rules, lest she dry up their land and let them starve. Along the way, Rapunzel meets up with a sticky-fingered companion who agrees to help her get back to her home--to take down the evil witch and free her real mother from the dungeons.

A fun, if breezy, take on the original tale. Several fairy tale elements combine here (her companion, Jack, carries a golden-egg-laying goose and a lucky bean); most are used well. The art and color in this graphic novel are both well-suited to the environments, and the writing is sharp with some truly funny moments to it. This was (frankly) better than I'd expected it to be, and a good choice for upper-elementary and middle-school readers. ( )
  librarybrandy | Mar 31, 2013 |
MSBA nominee 2009-2010

I really liked this. Rapunzel thinks she has the best life ever but has a recurring dream about a family different than the one she knows. Is Mother Gothel really her mother? Is Mother Gothel even good? A delightful Wild West/fairy-tale mashup. ( )
  scote23 | Mar 30, 2013 |
Summary: Rapunzel's mother, the feared Mother Gothel, controls powerful growth magic, but has turned the countryside surrounding their fortress into a barren waste of mines and ramshackle towns. When Rapunzel angers Mother Gothel, she's imprisoned in a giant tree, and left there to grow up. When she finally escapes the tree (with no help from any handsome princes, but with some fine lassoing skills and a magical braid of hair), she falls in with a young troublemaker named Jack and his pet goose. They plan to travel back to Mother Gothel's land, and save Rapunzel's real mother from the mine camps, but there are plenty of adventures waiting along the way.

Review: We all know I love fairy tales of all flavors, and while I wouldn't classify myself as a fan of Westerns per se, I definitely do enjoy the occasional story with a Western-like feeling to it. I'm also partial to stories where the princess rescues herself, and books with a good sense of humor. On all of those counts, Rapunzel's Revenge was a lot of fun to read. It's not a fairy tale that I've seen retold all that often, and it fits into a Old West setting surprisingly well. It's fast paced, with plenty of action (despite a somewhat slow beginning), and a strong female lead. It had some sweet moments and some funny ones, and although I usually like my humor a little snarkier, I can see how the milder, sillier laughs were aiming at the younger set. The artwork matched the tone of the book well, colorful and active. Ultimately, while I don't think this book is going to leave a lasting impression on me, it was definitely a fun and lighthearted way to spend an hour or so. 4 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: Fairy-tale fans of all ages should find something to enjoy here. ( )
  fyrefly98 | Dec 24, 2012 |
Mildly fun. I'd read the first bit - until she's in the tree-tower - several times, and was never interested enough to go on. This time I had some time to kill and was willing to continue. It's odd, really, that Rapunzel is such an idealist - who taught her that? Mason? It's important _that_ she is, but it's never covered _how_ she is. Though everyone - almost everyone - was kind to her as a child - that is mentioned. Jack's interesting too, and I'm glad to hear there's a sequel that apparently gives more info about him. A lot of the scenes between them are slapstick funny - unfortunately I dislike slapstick, so find those scenes mostly annoying. They do luck on exactly what they need, but that's normal for a fairy tale (which this is, though the oddest one I've read - and that's saying a lot). Nice ending, though perhaps just a trifle inconclusive (it is a magic tree, after all. She could still be alive). And the romance _finally_ gets some expression - I love Jack's line there. Fun, and I'll keep an eye out for the sequel. Not wonderful, but enjoyable. ( )
  jjmcgaffey | Dec 12, 2012 |
Rapunzel’s Revenge by Dean and Shannon Hale won the 2011 Reader’s Choice Award, and was an ALA Notable Children’s Book in 2009 and a nominee for the Eisner Award.

After years of living unaware in Mother Gothel’s garden, Rapunzel is horrified to learn her mother is responsible for enslaving the land and its people with her magic. Gothel punishes Rapunzel by imprisoning her inside a magical tree at the very edge of the country. But Rapunzel swears to rescue the innocent folk, and so she spends years training to use her long hair as a lasso. With nothing her quick wits and quicker whips, the girl escapes the witch’s prison and bravely sets off on a dangerous journey. Along the way she befriends some colorful characters, including a boy named Jack and his troublesome Goose. The two learn to get along and rely on each other, and together outsmart their pursuers, defeat ridiculous foes, and learn that doing the right thing is never easy, but in the end it’s more than worth it.

Packed with humorous hijinks, suspenseful action, and unique characters, all portrayed in colorful, realistic art, this story will have readers cheering for the unlikely heroine the whole way. This Old Western take on a classic story is sure to entertain and inspire kids of all ages to take responsibility when it really counts. ( )
  galc2 | Dec 5, 2012 |
Rapunzel gets a Wild West twist in Rapunzel’s Revenge. Punished for insubordination in the quest to rescue her true parents, Mother Gothel confines Rapunzel to a magical tree for her to live out her days. Rather than wait for a handsome prince to climb up her hair, this spunky heroine uses her braids to rescue herself. After encountering Jack and his golden goose, the pair set off to get the resources to fend off Mother Gothel who has control over everyone.
The Hales not only created an interesting twist on a fairytale, but the images are very good! The cowboy essence was captured and the classic tropes are there. This was a delight! A good read for those getting in to graphic novels or grades 7 and up. ( )
  BrittanyGean | Dec 4, 2012 |
Summary: This is about a girl that is kidnapped and then stored away in a castle for a long time, she thin finally escapes to save her mother, but faces many difficult challenges on the way.
Personal Reaction- I have always loved the cartoon of Rapunzel and have actually watched the movie a lot of times, so I found this interesting and it did keep my attention…
Reactions- The class could into groups and describe adventures and then have stuff come in the way and describe and act out how they would get out of the challenged that they faced. They could also re act the scenes from the story in different groups also.
  Erinhardy3 | Nov 14, 2012 |
Showing 1-25 of 105 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
233 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.93)
0.5
1 5
1.5 1
2 10
2.5 4
3 59
3.5 20
4 118
4.5 23
5 78

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,389,451 books! | Top bar: Always visible