HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Rapunzel's Revenge by Dean Hale
Loading...

Rapunzel's Revenge (original 2008; edition 2008)

by Dean Hale, Shannon Hale, Nathan Hale (Illustrator)

Series: Rapunzel (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9451149,201 (3.9)76
4P
4Q
The Hales bring new life and a fun story to well known folk and fairy tale characters Rapunzel and Jack from Jack and the Beanstalk.
  leithe | Apr 28, 2012 |
Showing 1-25 of 114 (next | show all)
A rip-roarin' yarn with plenty of hair-raising (literally) action to take readers away. ( )
  Salsabrarian | Feb 2, 2016 |
This book has a western take on the classic fairy tale, Rapunzel. I would use it with upper elementary and middle school students. I would use it to compare and contrast characters, settings and problem/solution with other versions of Rapunzel.
  JenniferNapoleon | Jan 23, 2016 |
In this graphic novel treatment of the fairy tale the heroine is not the sweet little princess pining away in her ivory tower waiting for a prince to set her free. This Rapunzel is a feisty, kick-butt gal who has been imprisoned by the evil Gothel who kidnapped Rapunzel when she was a small child. During an afternoon's adventure Rapunzel scales the castle walls to see what lies on the other side. What she finds is a dreary dusty landscape and a population of slaves that work Gothel's mines. Miraculously one of the slaves is Rapunzel's real mother and the two have a touching but short-lived reunion. When Gothel finds out that Rapunzel knows the truth she locks the girl in a magic tree house. After four years Rapunzel's hair has grown to amazing lengths and using it as a lasso to snag a nearby tree she escapes her tower. She soon joins forces with the disreputable Jack (the beanstalk guy) and the two travel what seems to be the Wild West hiring themselves out as 'heroes'.

The book is beautifully drawn and very witty at times. Graphic novels are a new genre to me and I haven't quite yet become enamored of them but I'm willing to try some more.
( )
  Ellen_R | Jan 15, 2016 |
Once upon a time, in a land far far away, and even further away from the fairy tale we all thought we knew, the young Rapunzel grew up, raised by Mother Gothel in a huge villa surrouned by massive walls. Every year she would ask Mother Gothel what lay beyond the wall and every year she was told to stay away from the wall. Finally, the year she turned 12, Rapunzel's curiosity could no longer stand to be left unsatiated. She climbed the walls and what she saw and learned there changed everything she thought she knew about herself and Mother Gothel. Locked in a massive tree tower for her disobedience, her hair growing longer with each passing day, she spent four long years. Upon her sixteenth birthday she finally makes a daring escape and plans for vengence. Along the way she encounters many people of the same cruel and selfish nature as Mother Gothel, but she also makes one very true friend, Jack, and together they set off for Gothel's Villa to set things right.

A very cute little twist on Rapunzel, it was a very quick read. I picked it up off the library shelf while my boys were playing, and finished it in under an hour. Shannon Hale did a great job at creating the character of Rapunzel considering how little text she had to write. Most of the story was told through the illustrations, and they were expertly completed. Anyone who is a fan of fairy tales reimagined, graphic novels, or just wants a fun read to pass the time would certainly enjoy Rapunzel's Revenge. ( )
  Mootastic1 | Jan 15, 2016 |
WHOA, Punzie!!! Oft described as a "feminist fairy tale", I didn't read Rapunzel's Revenge for that reason. What caught my eye was the book cover .. INCREDIBLE illustrations (throughout) by Nathan Hale (no relation to the authors, Shannon and Dean Hale). I *LOVED* this graphic novel . . I'm a newbie insofar as the genre is concerned and, to this point, Rapunzel's Revenge is a graphic novel that totally engaged my imagination, the visual aspect of my brain and held my interest from page one until the very end!! It's a book I'll not soon forget!! Highly, HIGHLY recommended! Wheeeee!! What a fun adventure!

[Note: My start dates are skewed . . dunno why. I started reading this graphic novel on December 14, 2014 . . perhaps my insomnia-riddled brain isn't tracking start-dates correctly due to lack of sleep!!] ( )
  idajo2 | Nov 3, 2015 |
Rapunzel’s Revenge is a fun riff on the Rapunzel fairytale with a few other fairytale references thrown in. The setting however is more typical of an American western than a fairytale. From Deserts to Badlands, with coyotes and jack-a-lopes, this is a western like I’ve never read about before, and Rapunzel with her twenty foot long braids that she is able to whip around like a lasso is a very different heroine for a fairytale.

This Rapunzel does things for herself in this swashbuckling and humorous story that is presented with clear and brightly colored artwork by Nathan Hale (no relation to the author) . She saves herself, along with her fellow countrymen and, most importantly, her mother, from years of enslavement to the evil Mother Gothel.
A fun story and a great female empowerment tale that is geared toward a younger audience. ( )
  DeltaQueen50 | Aug 4, 2015 |
For me, graphic novels are usually hit or miss. Rapunzel's Revenge landed somewhere in the middle. I loved the premise and the Western setting. It was also fun to see how the Hales incorporated other fairy tales into this story. Overall, it was just an "okay" reading experience for me; I'm not likely to re-read it.

3 stars ( )
  flying_monkeys | Apr 20, 2015 |
several in system - check graphic novels on separate shelves
  Cheryl_in_CC_NV | Apr 14, 2015 |
I'm doing a book challenge and had to read a Graphic Novel, which is a first for me. My daughter loves them and this is her favorite.
  she_climber | Mar 17, 2015 |
A clever adaptation, and funny. ( )
  TrgLlyLibrarian | Feb 1, 2015 |
Entertaining Western-theme of cracked fairy tales, primarily focusing on Rapunzel. I liked it! Although I think it dragged on a little bit too long. But there was plenty of entertainment to be had in the references to various other fairy tales, and the ways they were mashed together and overturned. ( )
  lquilter | Oct 13, 2014 |
Graphic novel-interesting twist on the tradtional tale. The setting, action, and humor really surprised me. ( )
  rachelmuegge | Jul 23, 2014 |
A story quite unlike you've ever heard before, pits long-tressed Rapunzel against all sorts of evils...boars, serpents, outlaws, but since she has her trusty friend Jack by her side, no one can defeat them. A fresh and imaginative take on a few fairy-tales that are all combined in this expertly illustrated graphic version, Rapunzel's Revenge will have you rooting for this strong, fearless girl and her wily companion. ( )
  jackiewark | Jul 17, 2014 |
Equal opportunity heroism--love the way this retelling uses humor and turns the princess in need of rescue on its head. Important social justice elements, too.
  Ms.Kunz | Jul 14, 2014 |
This is a retelling of a familiar tale. Rapunzel is put in a tower, this time a tree, by her evil “mother.” This time around Rapunzel saves herself. She’s smart, adventurous and caring. She teems up with Jack, who is well meaning but a little bumbling at times, to find her real mother. This is a great book, I personally really enjoyed the fast pace and beautiful drawings. I appreciated that the relationships between the characters felt genuine. I would recommend this to kids who are looking for action adventure books, re-told fairy tales, and readers looking for strong female characters. ( )
  Anna.Nash | Mar 17, 2014 |
A surprising retelling of the fairy tale of Rapunzel, with the title heroine as a feisty wrangler who uses her long hair as a lasso in a magical version of the Old West. The students at my school libraries can't get enough of this book, so much so that it's rarely available. I started looking through it while I was shelving one day to see what all the fuss was about, and was immediately hooked. The graphic novel makes a story that might not otherwise be approachable for younger readers (my schools are K-4) easy enough to follow that I'd argue to lower Amazon's recommended age range. I can see why the story appeals to 4th grade girls especially. It would definitely resonate with Disney princess fans, featuring a strong, capable heroine, humor, and hints of romance. ( )
  Octokitten | Feb 17, 2014 |
This wonderful retelling of the Rapunzel story goes beyond the traditional princess-locked-in-a-tower trope and writes Rapunzel (or "Punzie" as her new friend and partner Jack affectionately calls her) as a spunky, headstrong, and intelligent young woman. She uses her braids as lassos to save new friends and beat bad guys as she tries to restore her country to the green and verdant place it once was before the witch Mother Gothel used her growth magic to suck the place dry. I really loved this book because Rapunzel was such a strong and wonderful young woman, not just a sad girl locked in a tower. ( )
  Lara.Lofdahl | Feb 10, 2014 |
I think this is the first time I've come across a Wild West-style fairy tale retelling. ( )
  MelissaZD | Jan 1, 2014 |
In a world something like the Wild West there lives a girl called Rapunzel, her mother is Gothel, the ruler of the area and she rules with a rod of iron that Rapunzel doesn't often see. This world is over the wall and Rapunzel eventually manages to see it, finding her mother on the other side of the wall working as a slave in a work camp.

Mother Gothel decides to punish her for not obeying her and puts her in a tall tower for several years where she has food and water and her hair grows at an astrominical rate. Enough that eventually it helps her escape, then she joins up with Jack and finds a way of defeating Mother Gothel and freeing her real mother.

I liked it, the slant on the original story was unique and interesting and fun. ( )
  wyvernfriend | Oct 10, 2013 |
I love me some fairytale retellings, and Rapunzel's story - as told in comic book form by Shannon & Dean Hale (with art by Nathan Hale) is awesome.

In this version Rapunzel doesn't know that there's anything beyond the gated, guarded semi-Utopian community her 'Mother' has created for her. She just knows she's not allowed over the walls. And - as anyone who has ever dealt with children in any capacity can tell you - that means that going over the walls is exactly what she yearns to do. But once she makes it over, she finds a startling new reality: here there are mines and slaves, and magic-less barren wastelands. And here is her true mother, the one she was stolen from long, long ago. Now that she knows all of this, can she once again hide behind the walls, live as if nothing has changed?

Hell no: and so she is locked away in the tallest tree, as punishment for disobeying, for rebelling. And in that tree, as her hair grows longer and longer, and time passes, Rapunzel plots her revenge.

Which is all super entertaining and amusing and kick-ass: any girl who manages to use her hair as a weapon, a harness, a rope and a disguise, is one I want on my team. And she's fighting for the people who need it, against the Big Bad: comic book 101! I really enjoyed this, and will definitely be passing it on to some littles in my life, and finding the sequel as well. ( )
1 vote NTE | Sep 20, 2013 |
This graphic novel retells the famous fairy tale in a Wild West setting. Rapunzel escapes the home her mother has turned into a prison and vows to destroy the evil empire with the help of her hair!
  KilmerMSLibrary | Apr 30, 2013 |
A great twist on the age-old story of Rapunzel, in which Rapunzel is her own hero. It's a fairy tale, adventure, western, and graphic novel all rolled into one, with a good dose of comedy. ( )
  AuntLibrarian | Apr 5, 2013 |
Laurie said those four magic words,"reminds me of Firefly" and I'm certainly powerless in the face of that.
  satyridae | Apr 5, 2013 |
For a Shannon Hale joint it was pretty good. The Rapunzel variation was fun and the artwork was solid. ( )
  akmargie | Apr 4, 2013 |
Take Rapunzel and plunk her down smack-dab in the middle of a Louis L'Amour book and you have the gist of this fun graphic novel.

The framework of Rapunzel is here. Hungry mom, eager-to-please dad, evil witch, girl with crazy-long hair in a tower. But that's about where the similarities end. See, Rapunzel doesn't want a prince to come along and rescue her. Oh, no. She wants revenge. And she's perfectly capable of serving it up all by herself, thankyouverymuch.

This was a lot of fun, and I can't give a real reason for knocking it back to three stars. Maybe it just veered a little too far away from the original? Or maybe Rapunzel was unrealistically self-sufficient? The girl was locked away in a tower for years, but she can kick some ass without even thinking about it. Now that I'm thinking about it more, it jumped around a little too much. Of course Rapunzel has lots of adventures, but there was nothing in between. It just jumped from castle to tower to town to ranch with very little transition. I think that's what bothered me the most. And Rapunzel's hayseed way of talking got a little old.

There was a lot that I did like though. I liked that Rapunzel was a strong young woman. Her partner-in-revenge, Jack, was a charming rake. He doesn't think too much about stealing to get by, but Rapunzel knocks some morals into his head. I mostly loved the illustrations, although I never looked at them quite the same way after my husband asked me, in all seriousness, "Why is there a string of sausages on the cover of your book?" I liked that we got an explanation for the extraordinary length of Rapunzel's hair. I liked that Rapunzel's revenge wasn't just about her personally, it was about her family and returning balance to the place where she lives.

It's a quick, fun read and I'll get around to the sequel some day.

( )
  JG_IntrovertedReader | Apr 3, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 114 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
246 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.9)
0.5
1 5
1.5 1
2 13
2.5 4
3 70
3.5 22
4 122
4.5 23
5 85

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,200,404 books! | Top bar: Always visible