HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Shadow Of The Wind by Carlos Zafon
Loading...

Shadow Of The Wind (original 2001; edition 2005)

by Carlos Zafon

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
18,28869994 (4.13)968
Member:writestuff
Title:Shadow Of The Wind
Authors:Carlos Zafon
Info:Penguin Press (TRD) (2005), Paperback, 512 pages
Collections:Your library, Favorites
Rating:*****
Tags:2007 Read, MUST READ, Gothic Literature, BEST of 2007

Work details

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (2001)

Recently added bykairih, arena90, private library, stiber, Book-Lish, Baby82, lukaskawerau, rainbowalphabet, mancmilhist
  1. 247
    The Angel's Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (phoenix7g, orange_epsilon)
    orange_epsilon: Prequel to The Shadow of the Wind set in Barcelona in the 1920s and 1930s. If you enjoyed the first one, you should give this one a try.
  2. 185
    The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova (robynlinden, GodOfTheAnthill)
    GodOfTheAnthill: Both mystery novels with a similar tone and atmosphere
  3. 163
    The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield (rmjp518, starfishian, elizabeth.a.coates)
    elizabeth.a.coates: Both centre around books/literature, both are eloquently written, both have an element of mystery
  4. 70
    One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (derelicious)
  5. 71
    People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks (susiesharp, BookshelfMonstrosity)
  6. 60
    The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (guurtjesboekenkast)
  7. 50
    The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers (bookmomo)
    bookmomo: If you want to read more (and better!) about the love of books and reading
  8. 50
    The Dumas Club by Arturo Pérez-Reverte (jhedlund, phoenix7g, Cecilturtle)
    phoenix7g: Mystery and books.
  9. 40
    The Little Book by Selden Edwards (Othemts)
  10. 20
    A Small Death in Lisbon by Robert Wilson (ehines)
  11. 31
    The Book on Fire by Keith Miller (infiniteletters)
  12. 10
    Stoner by John Williams (vivas)
    vivas: Libro excepcional,escrito de forma sencilla,culta y facil de entender
  13. 32
    The Rule of Four by Ian Caldwell (sweetiegherkin)
    sweetiegherkin: The mystery contained in a book is at the heart of both these thrillers.
  14. 43
    Inkheart by Cornelia Funke (missmaddie)
  15. 10
    City of Marvels by Eduardo Mendoza (caflores)
  16. 10
    Soldiers of Salamis by Javier Cercas (caflores)
  17. 10
    The Calligrapher's Secret by Rafik Schami (spiphany)
  18. 00
    Ghostwritten by David Mitchell (derelicious)
  19. 99
    Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (roby72)
  20. 22
    The Book of Flying by Keith Miller (MyriadBooks)

(see all 26 recommendations)

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 968 mentions

English (583)  Dutch (26)  Spanish (23)  French (17)  Italian (14)  German (10)  Catalan (7)  Portuguese (Portugal) (4)  Swedish (4)  Finnish (4)  Portuguese (2)  Danish (2)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Hungarian (1)  All languages (698)
Showing 1-5 of 583 (next | show all)
an absolutely enchanting and haunting book. This one will stay with me for some time. ( )
  mancmilhist | Aug 28, 2014 |
It began promising enough: nice turns of phrase, though also some clunky language (always a question of translation); a premise steeped in book culture; mystery set in historic & atmospheric Barcelona, all quite enticing. Reminiscent of Winter's Tale in evocative language and quasi-magical realism. The intertwined plots of two different time periods is a tried-and-true device, but not yet tiresome for me, and it was done well. Loads of amusing and also interesting characters, especially the supporting cast.

It was easy to keep reading, but at no point was I enrapt. In the end: not enough about the Cemetery of Forgotten Books, and those bits about Franco Spain weren't specific enough to provide a clear personality for me, unfamiliar as I am with Barcelona today or historically. (To be fair to Ruiz Zafon, perhaps life under military oppression is, in fact, similar enough everywhere that it's naive to want something more.) I'm persuaded other efforts may be more to my taste: Club Dumas, or even The Metaphysical Club. ( )
1 vote elenchus | Aug 13, 2014 |
I’m a sucker for a good translation of literature by writers in Spanish. There’s a flavour to the metaphor and turn of phrase that provides a novel with a certain ambience. In the case of a novel which relies on an often dreamlike atmosphere and a sense of time and places it’s an essential component.

This feels like an authentic recreation of Barcelona under Franco. There’s an oppressive atmosphere maintained throughout, evoked overtly through a near police state and metaphorically through the weather. Love is thwarted at every turn and shadowy figures lurk in every doorway, with fair maidens, charismatic uber-competent sidekicks and a mystery from the past threatening to overwhelm the present – it almost veers into fairy tale territory at times despite the distinct absence of overt supernatural elements. It’s also very cleverly structured with the background Carax storyline paralleling the main plot. Perhaps characters display overly superhuman endurance at times and the plot adds one too many melodramatic elements but overall it’s a sumptuous package. ( )
1 vote JonArnold | Aug 12, 2014 |
This is one of my favorite books of all time... marvelous writing, marvelous story... ardent follower of Carlos now... next "The Angel's Game"... can't wait :-) ( )
  SpiritedTruthSeeker | Aug 5, 2014 |
Wow! I devoured this book so need some time to digest it but my immediate reaction is that it is wonderful! I especially liked the way that Daniel's life paralleled Julian's in so many little things (such as their desire for Victor Hugo's pen) as well as the big ones. My biggest complaint is how the fathers & doctors of Penelope and Bea both could diagnose pregnancy within 24 hours of their having sex!. ( )
  leslie.98 | Jul 31, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 583 (next | show all)
It's lowdown and lazy, but here goes: ''Gabriel García Márquez meets Umberto Eco meets Jorge Luis Borges'' for a sprawling magic show, exasperatingly tricky and mostly wonderful, by the Spanish novelist Carlos Ruiz Zafón. The three illustrious meeters must surely have been drinking and they weave about a little, but steady remarkably as the pages go by.
 
The Shadow of the Wind is a dream date for those who love books.... For fans of Jorge Luis Borges, Umberto Eco and other writers who craft twisting and turning plots with complex characterization, The Shadow of the Wind is not to be missed.
 

» Add other authors (42 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Ruiz Zafón, Carlosprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Geel, NellekeTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Geel, NellekeTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Graves, LuciaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Härkönen, TarjaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Sezzi, LiaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed

Has the (non-series) sequel

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Joan Ramón Planas,
who deserves better
First words
I still remember the day my father took me to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books for the first time.
Quotations
Sometimes what matters isn't what one gives but what one gives up.

Paris requires more than two days. It won't listen to reason.

Age -- the price we all must pay.

Army, Marriage, the Church, and Banking: the Four Horsemen of the Apocolypse.
"Every book, every volume you see here has a soul. The soul of the person who wrote it and of those who read it and lived and dreamed with it."
His mouth was glued to a half-smoked cigar that seemed to grow out of his mustache. It was hard to tell whether he was asleep or awake, because he breathed like most people snore.
When a library disappears, or a book shop closes down, when a book is cosigned to oblivion, those of us who know this place, its guardians, make sure that it gets here. In this place, books no longer remembered by anyone, books that are lost in time, live forever, waiting for the day when they will reach a new reader's hands. In the shop we buy and sell them, but in truth books have no owner. Every book you see here has been someone's best friend. Now they have only us, Daniel.
"[W]e exist as long as somebody remembers us."
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0143034901, Paperback)

"Gabriel García Márquez meets Umberto Eco meets Jorge Luis Borges for a sprawling magic show." --The New York Times Book Review

A New York Times Bestseller

Barcelona, 1945: A city slowly heals in the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War, and Daniel, an antiquarian book dealer’s son who mourns the loss of his mother, finds solace in a mysterious book entitled The Shadow of the Wind, by one Julián Carax. But when he sets out to find the author’s other works, he makes a shocking discovery: someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book Carax has written. In fact, Daniel may have the last of Carax’s books in existence. Soon Daniel’s seemingly innocent quest opens a door into one of Barcelona’s darkest secrets--an epic story of murder, madness, and doomed love.

“ Anyone who enjoys novels that are scary, erotic, touching, tragic and thrilling should rush right out to the nearest bookstore and pick up The Shadow of the Wind. Really, you should.” --Michael Dirda, The Washington Post

"Wonderous... masterful... The Shadow of the Wind is ultimately a love letter to literature, intended for readers as passionate about storytelling as its young hero." --Entertainment Weekly (Editor's Choice)

"One gorgeous read." --Stephen King


(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:31:39 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

A boy named Daniel selects a novel from a library of rare books, enjoying it so much that he searches for the rest of the author's works, only to discover that someone is destroying every book the author has ever written.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 19 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.13)
0.5 15
1 82
1.5 25
2 198
2.5 84
3 754
3.5 350
4 1939
4.5 424
5 2398

Audible.com

Five editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,297,256 books! | Top bar: Always visible