HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
Loading...

The Kite Runner (original 2003; edition 2004)

by Khaled Hosseini

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
36,817None16 (4.22)1 / 653
GaleGirl's review
Truly loved this book because of the loving relationship between the boy and his father and because it showed the overwhelming costs and ruination caused by the Taliban in Afghanistan. ( )
  GaleGirl | Apr 25, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (880)  Dutch (38)  Spanish (17)  Danish (12)  German (7)  Italian (6)  French (6)  Swedish (6)  Norwegian (4)  Portuguese (Brazil) (3)  Finnish (2)  Lithuanian (2)  Catalan (1)  Croatian (1)  Portuguese (1)  Hebrew (1)  All languages (987)
Showing 1-25 of 880 (next | show all)
Incredibly brilliant and emotional depiction of life in Afghanistan. ( )
  FAR2MANYBOOKS | Apr 5, 2014 |
Incredibly brilliant and emotional depiction of life in Afghanistan. ( )
  FAR2MANYBOOKS | Apr 5, 2014 |
After reading first 7 chapters I would have given this book 6 stars :) However, the remaining chapters did not engage me as much. Overall a good book, maybe just a little bit too long. I am sure of one thing though: every bit of the news about Afghanistan will be much more touching from now on as this book made me feel a strange connection to the country and its people... ( )
  AgneJakubauskaite | Apr 4, 2014 |
Beautifully written. ( )
  cbinstead | Mar 24, 2014 |
I have mixed feelings about this one. In some respects it was a fascinating look into life in Afghanistan during the Soviet-Afghan war and also under the rule of the Taliban. Parts of it are hard to read, the cruelty that some people inflict upon one another, parts are heart-warming in the lengths some people will go to for others. Having said that I found it difficult to really warm to the main character, Amir, and also some of the turns of events seemed to be too 'convenient'. It did at times generate enough feeling within me to bring me to tears and at times the writing was beautifully descriptive bringing the world he was describing to life, unfortunately at other times it felt cliched. Overall, I'm glad I read it. ( )
  Peace2 | Mar 23, 2014 |
This, as the entire world before me had discovered, is a beautiful book. It took me a little while to get into it -- waiting for some flaw somewhere, however little, that justified why it took me so long to read this book.
And I found the odd word choice here, there. But then even those disappeared and I got sucked into the story.
I think there is some portion of my brain that connected the (horrible) experience of reading _The House of Sand and Fog_ with this book, and so I stayed away. I'm not saying that's a rational connection, it was just there.
Hosseini does such a great job of narrating this story and stepping out of the way, not beating you over the head with the emotions you're meant to be feeling, and he builds suspense especially well towards the end of the book (the scene in which you think, "Hmm, that's odd he mentioned tha… oh God, that's going to come back pretty soon in a nasty way, isn't it?" got me hooked).
Now, if only this book could reach a wider readership... ( )
  mhanlon | Mar 23, 2014 |
This book not only captured my imagination, but my heart. The character's are drawn so vividly, with such humanity, it is impossible not to fall in love with them.

While this story is crafted with such depth and feeling, a central theme that I appreciated getting to grips with is life in Afghanistan at this time, and the surrounding areas. A book that can so adequately inform, and improve upon my general knowledge, holds much in terms of depth.

Finally I would highly recommend this book, and consider Khaled Hosseini as a hugely talented individual. ( )
  Holly_85 | Mar 16, 2014 |
Be prepared to sniffle - several times. Kept reading to see what happened. However much of it seems a bit too "canned" to not have been predictable. A good author, much excellent writing. Everyone has probably read it by now or made their decision. I'm a late bloomer to this book so I'm glad to finally know "the story." ( )
  CasaBooks | Mar 14, 2014 |
Knjiga koja ti slomi srca i onda ga nastavlja usitnjavati do kraja.... ( )
  Sanja_Sanjalica | Mar 14, 2014 |
Absolutely phenomenal! I loved this novel. Hosseini is a truly gifted writer. The movie adaptation of this work cannot compare to how truly amazing this book is. The story is captivating and Hosseini has an easy-to-understand, yet beautiful writing style. I would highly recommend his work. After reading The Kite Runner, I immediately sought out A Thousand Splendid Suns, which was likewise, amazing, and I look forward to reading his newest work, And The Mountains Echoed. He is a talented writer who produces beautiful work. ( )
  CareBear36 | Mar 8, 2014 |
This was a great read! So glad I gave it a chance and read it :) A must-read! ( )
  pathogenik | Mar 2, 2014 |
A Masterpiece,a heartbreaking hopeful beautiful amazing lovely novel, cried my eyes out ALOT while reading it, till the last sentence in this novel I cried, I cried over the last sentence..

Some novels r just too good that it leaves u speechless, can't review it well just keep saying how beautiful and lovely it's, how much I love it and how much I'm excited abt it..

"For you, A thousand times over"... an unbelievable heartbreaking quote that I love and keep using
Read it couple of years ago, and it's still a top 4 me,don't miss it,it's A MUST read...

( )
  Samar.Abd-Allah | Feb 27, 2014 |
This is one of my all time favorites. It is beautifully written with parts which left my soul in pieces. The reader is left questioning thoughts, feelings, and motivations in all human behavior. ( )
  necowade | Feb 25, 2014 |
Loved this story. Very touching and presented a true view of the Muslim world. ( )
  Jacqklueh | Feb 21, 2014 |
Loved this story. Very touching and presented a true view of the Muslim world. ( )
  Jacqklueh | Feb 21, 2014 |
Loved this story. Very touching and presented a true view of the Muslim world. ( )
  Jacqklueh | Feb 21, 2014 |
Loved this story. Very touching and presented a true view of the Muslim world. ( )
  Jacqklueh | Feb 21, 2014 |
Loved this story. Very touching and presented a true view of the Muslim world. ( )
  Jacqklueh | Feb 21, 2014 |
Loved this story. Very touching and presented a true view of the Muslim world. ( )
  Jacqklueh | Feb 21, 2014 |
I can't. I just can't finish this however much I try.


( )
  Sairah7 | Feb 11, 2014 |
Even though I was underwhelmed by the quality of writing I have to say there were a number of meaningful quotations and visuals that I will take with me from this. But like other reviewers, I found the cliches and coincidences inappropriate, was bored by the lack of complexity in all the characters, and was disappointed that the opportunity for historical literary depth was lost. Through most of the book I kept thinking that this book is a no-brainer for a typical Hollywood movie. Even though the ending was predictable I did appreciate that it's "happy ending" was somewhat more realistic in the happiness quotient, although I'm sure Hollywood will ruin by minimizing Sohrab's ongoing emotional issues so that everyone can live oh so happily ever after! All in all, I enjoyed the quick read but found it lacking in complexity and writing quality. ( )
  KikiUnhinged | Feb 9, 2014 |
The portrayal of Afghanistan was fascinating. I don't know how it reads to someone who is familiar with the country, but I found that aspect of the book vivid, evocative, and gripping and so was the child's viewpoint. The book started to lose me with the return to Afghanistan. At that point I found it overly coincidental, predictable, and lacking in complexity. ( )
  liliannattel | Feb 6, 2014 |
This was a powerful book. Gripping would be a good way to describe it, since I was up until almost 3am finishing it last night. It was not always easy to take, with a few intense, disturbing scenes, but also with much tenderness and depth.

My admiration for this book isn't completely unqualified. Occasionally I thought it strayed into melodrama, and I did get annoyed with the author's clumsy use of foreshadowing. He kept using devices such as "little did I know, this was the last time I would see him." That was overdone.

But I am giving this book five stars because my complaints pale in comparison to all that I found praiseworthy. The story moved me, and I learned a lot about a country and a culture (Afghanistan), and how it has been destroyed from within and without. The characters felt real, and at times I had trouble believing they didn't exist somewhere out there in the world.

I recommend this book to all. ( )
  ksimon | Feb 6, 2014 |
An engaging, quick read. I enjoyed the flashbacks to Afghanistan, but the present-day chapters were a bit too coincidence-filled for me. ( )
  thatotter | Feb 6, 2014 |
Very good book. Great story line. I really enjoy this author and how he narrates life in the Middle East. ( )
  NatalieAlanna | Jan 30, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 880 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.22)
0.5 23
1 103
1.5 25
2 330
2.5 109
3 1329
3.5 383
4 3926
4.5 674
5 5026

Audible.com

Eight editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 89,494,683 books! | Top bar: Always visible