HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian…
Loading...

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian Edition of Harry Potter and… (original 1997; edition 2011)

by J. K. Rowling

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
79,80411421 (4.26)7 / 862
Hbooks12's review
L'inizio di una grande amicizia tra me e le pagine di questo libro e di quelli che sono seguiti.Harry Potter è stato prezioso per me perchè in un periodo in cui non avevo nessun'altro è stato il mio unico rifugio e il mio unico punto di forza. Ho letto tutti libri un centinaio di volte,ma ogni volta scopro qualcosa di nuovo e ogni volta trovo un consiglio utile e adatto alla situazione che sto vivendo.Tutti e 7 i libri hanno dei particolari speciali che li rendono tutti perfetti;in questo primo libro mi piacciono le prove finali prima di arrivare alla pietra, in particolare la prova di logica di Piton e quella della scacchiera.Oltre a questo mi piace molto il pezzo in cui Hermione copre Ron ed Harry dopo l'avventura con il troll,e ovviamente la parte dello specchio delle brame... a volte vorrei avere quello specchio per poter capire cosa vuole davvero il mio cuore...
  Hbooks12 | May 22, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (1,083)  Dutch (12)  German (9)  Italian (8)  Spanish (8)  French (5)  Danish (3)  Finnish (3)  Hungarian (2)  Catalan (2)  Swedish (2)  Portuguese (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  Russian (1)  All languages (1,140)
Showing 1-25 of 1083 (next | show all)
Description: What did Harry Potter know about magic? He was stuck with the decidedly un-magical Dursleys, who hated him. He slept in a closet and ate their leftovers. But an owl messenger changes all that, with an invitation to attend the Hogwarts School for Wizards and Witches, where it turns out Harry is already famous...

Thoughts: I love it. Have for almost 20 years now.

Oh my god, it's been almost 20 years. Hold on a second while I die.

Seriously. What the hell. I can't think about that anymore.

This reread was great and reminded me of all the little things I had forgotten. It was also great listening to the UK audiobook narrated by Stephen Fry for the first time. Looking forward to rediscovering the rest!

Rating: 4.42

Liked: 4.5
Plot: 4.5
Characterization: 4.5
Writing: 4.5
Audio: 4

https://www.librarything.com/topic/163445#4591379 ( )
  leahbird | Jan 20, 2015 |
Excellent Book, really enjoyed it. Five Star!!!! Magical Stuff!!!! What a great Imagination the author as!!!!! Brilliant, True Talent!!!! ( )
  Claire5555 | Jan 15, 2015 |
I love the magical point of the book. I love how it is set in a real place but also in a fictional place too. ( )
1 vote harleyqgrayson02 | Jan 14, 2015 |
*Spoiler Alert!*

This thrilling tale of Harry Potter, by J. K. Rowling, stars Harry and his Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry friends. The novel begins with Harry's parents being killed by an evil wizard named Lord Voldemort. Miraculously, Harry (just an infant at the time) survives the attack, seemingly defeats Voldemort, and is taken to live with his aunt, uncle, and cousin… a dreadful place in which he is given no respect nor any information about his magical past. On his eleventh birthday, Harry receives an invitation to attend Hogwarts. On the school train, he meets two fellow students, Ron Weasley and Hermoine Granger, who are destined to come his closest friends and allies. Through a series of unfortunate events, the three discover information about a sorcerer's stone, a rock which provides everlasting youth and immortality, that is hidden deep within the school. In addition to this, they learn that Voldemort is still alive, though not in human form, and his servants are trying to help him return by finding this hidden stone. Harry and his friends set out to find the stone before Voldemort does. The path to the stone is rigged with enchantment and traps, and at the end of the journey the three students discover that Voldemort has been possessing a Hogwarts teacher in order to accomplish his return. The two wizards battle, Harry wins, but the stone is forever destroyed.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is an exciting novel. It always kept me hooked at the end of every chapter. I sometimes stayed up until 10:30 or later (well past my bedtime) reading. It had just enough action and surprises to keep me turning the pages. The Harry Potter series is great for all ages -- from 3rd grade and up. I am definitely excited about reading (and rereading) this series. I hope that all of the books are equally as riveting! ( )
  MeganS.B3 | Jan 11, 2015 |
The book starts of with Albus Dumbledore and Professor McGonagall discussing what to do with the orphaned baby, Harry Potter. They decide to leave him with his non-magical(muggle) aunt and uncle. Harry's aunt and uncle know that he is a wizard. They are ashamed of him and his family, and begin mistreating him. The years pass by, and finally, a letter inviting him to the Hogwarts School of Wizardry. Harry's uncle Vernon nearly goes insane trying to stop Harry from going to Hogwarts. However, Hagrid pops up and tells Harry he's a wizard and everything clicks into place for Harry. He then begins to attend Hogwarts. Near the end of the book, Harr and his friends try to stop you-know-who(Voldemort) from retrieving the Sorcerer's Stone. This could let Voldemort-excuse me, you-know-who-become immortal. This setback becomes a great defeat for Volde-you-know-who! Man I got tot used to saying that!
The beginning masterpiece of a great novel series by J.K Rowling. Honestly, this book is great! I'm usually more for sci-fi and comedy, but this is the exception! This book showed great promise when it first made its appearance. It is still a favorite among kids and adults alike. This may very well be the best-selling fantasy book series on Earth! This book is beyond what words can describe! This deserves every star it receives from me. ( )
  RileyM.g1 | Jan 11, 2015 |
This is a re-read for me. I really do not enjoy watching any movie based on a book before reading the book; I find it so hard (if not impossible) to read the book afterwards without picturing the scenes/characters from the movie. So I first read this book, what 10 years ago, before the first movie came out. And my opinion then was that while it was a quick, enjoyable read, it was a children's book. I had no desire to read the second in the series after finishing the first. It's hard now to write a review when I know that the books mature and I can't separate the first book from the movie series. But ultimately, I still believe this a children's book - with the short, choppy sentences and the failure to really develop any sort of plot/characters. This isn't a bad thing, it's MEANT to be a children's book. However, I don't generally read children's books in my spare time anymore. While I enjoyed reading the book and was eager to know what happened next, if I hadn't been told that not every book in the series is as childish, I wouldn't continue the series. As it is, on to the second book... ( )
  carebear10712 | Jan 8, 2015 |
One of my favorite of all the Harry Potter books. ( )
  pravinkumar1 | Jan 8, 2015 |
I like Stephen Fry, reasonable voices for the characters.
  rakerman | Jan 7, 2015 |
Harry Potter is a young 10 year old boy. His parents died when he was a baby. He went to go live with his aunt and uncle who completely dispise him, and know what he is, but don't tell him. Once his 11th birthday comes a giant walks into a shack they ran away to, because of strange letters, and told Harry that he was a wizard. The giant says that he was accepted to a magical school. He has magical adventures there, and makes new friends, and he finds out about something mysterious called the Sorcerer's Stone. He finds out who kills his parents, and he also finds out what he did to everyone.
I really like the whole Harry Potter series. It is thrilling, and you never know what is going to happen next. I really like books about fantasy. I also like books about magic. All fantasy books, and books with wizards are just exciting to me. In my opinion Harry Potter can't mind his own buissness. Same with Hermoine and Ron. Well that is my opinion. ( )
  RyanT.B3 | Jan 6, 2015 |
READ IN DUTCH

I took me years to start reading Harry Potter. I think the main reason was my parents didn't like fantasy, and I used to think this would mean I wouldn't like it either.

I'm glad I tried Harry Potter anyway. For me, like I said, it's not covered in sauce of youth memories. And as a book I liked it, but didn't think it was that great. I liked the world JK Rowling created but saw that it was far from flawless.

Sometimes it feels like you like everything around it better than the original book. It is quite hard to describe... ( )
  Floratina | Jan 4, 2015 |
Review #5 – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (1997) by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter is an orphan living with his odious uncle and aunt and their fat son, Dudley; they detest him so much that they make him live in the cupboard under the stairs, and wish he didn't exist. One day an envelope arrives addressed to him announcing that he has been chosen to attend Hogwarts; and so our magical story begins.

I seldom read fiction; a decision I'm so happy to admit is wrong. I thoroughly enjoyed reading every page and at times couldn't put it down: one more chapter, I exclaimed inaudibly. J.K Rowling truly is a wonderful writer. Philosopher's Stone will never cease to be revisited.

First published in 1997 by Bloomsbury. The first printing had a youthful wizard Dumbledore with a short brown beard, holding a book and smoking on the dust-jacket; subsequent editions changed this to a silver long beard to be truthful to the text. - IRONJAW'S BOOK REVIEW, Review #5. January 2nd 2015 ( )
  ironjaw | Jan 2, 2015 |
JK Rowling takes readers on a magical journey through Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, with details that help the reader feel he or she is actually at the school, sharing the adventure with the students. The book is rife with complex characters, mischief, adventure and a number of fantastical creatures. This is a great read for older children or adults with a healthy inner child and a continued belief in magic. When you need to leave your real world behind, this is a great escape. I own the entire series and have read it more than once. ( )
  chicbanjo | Dec 21, 2014 |
This is my favorite of all the Harry Potter books.
  Jen-the-Librarian | Dec 21, 2014 |
This classic book is the first of the harry potter series by JK Rowling. Harry is a wizard and learns of his magic powers at 11 years old. He lives with his uncle, aunt, and cousin in a bad situation. He escapes his miserable life in the wizarding school, Hogwarts. He learns about friendship, love, sacrifice, knowledge, integrity, defeating evil, all while battling his tween angst.

Modern Fantasy
  mollybeaver | Dec 17, 2014 |
I think that the Harry Potter books are a great way to get young readers excited about reading long chapter books. Besides the controversy of witchcraft, the magical aspect draws a lot of students in.
  adates12 | Dec 17, 2014 |
This book is the first in a series of seven novels about a boy who is raised, until the age of eleven, by abusive guardians. On his eleventh birthday, he finds out that he's a wizard and that he can go live and learn at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and escape his abusers. Of course, he goes. This book is all about his first year at Hogwarts.
This book applies to the topic of family in that it sends children an extremely important message: if your home life is abusive or neglectful, you do not need to consider them your family and you do not need to feel guilty about it. Harry, for example, found a family support system at Hogwarts. His best friends become like his siblings, Mrs. Weasley becomes his mother figure, and his godfather, Sirius, fills the role of father.
This is an incredible book for children. In addition to the aforementioned lesson, HP and the Sorcerer's Stone shows readers that they can go to a new school and quite literally a whole different world and it isn't the end of your life. In Harry's case, it was actually the beginning. ( )
  hphipp2 | Dec 5, 2014 |
In my opinion, this book is a great book for young readers who are interested in chapter books. One thing I like about this book is that it is a part of a series. This means children can read on to see what happens next in the rest of the books in the series. Another thing I liked about this book was that the main character, Harry, is someone that a lot of children can relate to. He is the outsider, is picked on by another student at Hogwarts, and has every day obstacles like a normal student might. While these aren't every day issues for kids, I think a lot of children have gone through points where they may have felt like Harry at one point. I also really like the magical aspect of this book and the creation of a whole different world than real life where witches and wizards can learn about spells and potions away from the "muggle" world. It definitely creates an escape from the real world which is also something students may relate to. Many children use reading, drawing, or role playing as a way to "escape" from the real world so that makes this book good for children to relate to as well. I also like that these books have been made into movies so that kids can not only read the books, but visualize and see the pages come to life. The big idea of this story was a boy who is destined with mass amounts of responsibility and must overcome obstacles to save himself from a villain. ( )
  khendr4 | Dec 3, 2014 |
I love the book “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” and think that it is a fantastic book for readers of all ages. One reason I like this book so much is because Rowling creates a world that forces readers to think about and imagine a world apart from their own. Readers are exposed to flying broomsticks, people that can transform into animals, magic wands, potions, and more. This not only enhances a reader’s imagination, but also engrosses the reader in the story. I get completely wrapped up in the magical world of Hogwarts when reading any of the “Harry Potter” books. Another aspect of the book that adds to this is the depth of the characters. There is a lot of dialogue in the book, and each character has strengths, flaws, desires, relationships and personality traits. Because the characters are so three dimensional and realistic, they are very easy to relate to and the reader becomes invested in the good vs. evil battle in the story. J. K. Rowling is able to create so much drama, excitement, and mystery in her story to keep readers of all ages interested in her novels. The main idea of the story is that loyal friends can get you through the toughest of times. ( )
  cschne11 | Dec 3, 2014 |
I would use this book with students when discussing writing with description or for emotion. J.K. Rowling does an amazing job bringing her characters and settings to life. Students would like this series because it is an escape to a fantasy world. The books hold your attention and are exciting as well. ( )
  Sara_White | Nov 30, 2014 |
One of my all time favorite books. ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 21, 2014 |
This is the fist of several books describing the wizard world. This book does a lot of background and basic ground work to set up the rest of the books in the series.
I like this book because it is a fun book and because it is so unlikely, it keeps the readers interested.
I would say this book is good for any kids from grades 4+ because of the reading level, and the semi-violent context.
  AmyGelle | Nov 21, 2014 |
A young boy who is forced to live with his aunt and uncle due to a family death, find out he is a wizard and is able to go to hogwarts, a school for wizards. This is about the events that take place and an evil wizard that is after him for the revenge of his parents. 6th
  Nicole129672 | Nov 19, 2014 |
There are many messages expressed throughout the Harry Potter books but one that can be seen in this book, and all the other books, is good versus evil. Harry Potter is dealt very similar cards as the book's villain and must make decisions weather to follow in his foot-steps or make a path on his own. In the end the main message is that good triumphs evil.
One reason I really liked this book was the way the author wrote out her dialect. The way she writes the dialogue really channels her characters and helps the reader fully picture them and their personalities. For example she writes Hagrid saying, "Yer great puddin' of a son don' need fattenin' anymore, Dursley, don' worry." The way she writes his dialogue helps build his character description to the readers and makes the story more enjoyable in the process.
Going along with that, another reason I liked this book was the way she brought the story to life by including other forms of text. For example, when Hagrid gives Harry Potter his acceptance letter to Hogwarts the book says that he opens and reads it. Instead of just leaving it at that, the author includes the "letter" in the text. The text is centered and titled reading, "Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry," and underneath includes the list for uniform, course books, and other equipment. By doing so the author really helps bring the story to life by including different forms of text within the novel. ( )
  JamieLewis | Nov 17, 2014 |
J.K. Rowling has done a wonderful job giving life to the world of Harry Potter. This is the first book out of seven and some of the main characters are introduced in this book. We meet Harry, an orphan boy who lives a miserable life with his aunt and uncle. He is treated very poorly and bullied by his cousin Dudley. When Harry turns 11 he gets a letter from Hogwarts, a school for wizards. The story takes an interesting path when Harry goes off to school and ends up with many challenges such as fighting evil. I love how J.K. Rowling develops the story. She describes the characters and the magic world in such an amazing way that it is very hard to put the book down once you start reading it. ( )
  cvarela | Nov 13, 2014 |
Harry Potter is my ultimate favorite book. I love how Harry forms unlikely friendship with Ron and Hermione. I think this friendship is extremely important for this book because his friends take the role of his family. I also really love the little illustrations on the top of the page on the beginning of every chapter. They give you an insight of what the chapter will be about. Overall, I love the magic of the book, how it captivates the readers and draws you in wanting more. Harry Potter is written in such a fun and whimsical way, that it is extremely hard to resist reading it more than once.
The big idea of Harry Potter is to fight for what you believe in. Just like Harry fights to save Hogwarts and his friends from a horrible enemy. ( )
  Jillian_Magee | Nov 10, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 1083 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.26)
0.5 17
1 129
1.5 59
2 562
2.5 175
3 2745
3.5 684
4 6269
4.5 796
5 10320

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 95,029,597 books! | Top bar: Always visible