HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian…
Loading...

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian Edition of Harry Potter and… (original 1997; edition 2011)

by J. K. Rowling

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
79,47411311 (4.26)7 / 861
Hbooks12's review
L'inizio di una grande amicizia tra me e le pagine di questo libro e di quelli che sono seguiti.Harry Potter è stato prezioso per me perchè in un periodo in cui non avevo nessun'altro è stato il mio unico rifugio e il mio unico punto di forza. Ho letto tutti libri un centinaio di volte,ma ogni volta scopro qualcosa di nuovo e ogni volta trovo un consiglio utile e adatto alla situazione che sto vivendo.Tutti e 7 i libri hanno dei particolari speciali che li rendono tutti perfetti;in questo primo libro mi piacciono le prove finali prima di arrivare alla pietra, in particolare la prova di logica di Piton e quella della scacchiera.Oltre a questo mi piace molto il pezzo in cui Hermione copre Ron ed Harry dopo l'avventura con il troll,e ovviamente la parte dello specchio delle brame... a volte vorrei avere quello specchio per poter capire cosa vuole davvero il mio cuore...
  Hbooks12 | May 22, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (1,073)  Dutch (12)  German (9)  Italian (8)  Spanish (8)  French (5)  Danish (3)  Finnish (3)  Hungarian (2)  Catalan (2)  Swedish (2)  Portuguese (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  Russian (1)  All languages (1,130)
Showing 1-25 of 1073 (next | show all)
JK Rowling takes readers on a magical journey through Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, with details that help the reader feel he or she is actually at the school, sharing the adventure with the students. The book is rife with complex characters, mischief, adventure and a number of fantastical creatures. This is a great read for older children or adults with a healthy inner child and a continued belief in magic. When you need to leave your real world behind, this is a great escape. I own the entire series and have read it more than once. ( )
  chicbanjo | Dec 21, 2014 |
This is my favorite of all the Harry Potter books.
  Jen-the-Librarian | Dec 21, 2014 |
This classic book is the first of the harry potter series by JK Rowling. Harry is a wizard and learns of his magic powers at 11 years old. He lives with his uncle, aunt, and cousin in a bad situation. He escapes his miserable life in the wizarding school, Hogwarts. He learns about friendship, love, sacrifice, knowledge, integrity, defeating evil, all while battling his tween angst.

Modern Fantasy
  mollybeaver | Dec 17, 2014 |
I think that the Harry Potter books are a great way to get young readers excited about reading long chapter books. Besides the controversy of witchcraft, the magical aspect draws a lot of students in.
  adates12 | Dec 17, 2014 |
This book is the first in a series of seven novels about a boy who is raised, until the age of eleven, by abusive guardians. On his eleventh birthday, he finds out that he's a wizard and that he can go live and learn at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and escape his abusers. Of course, he goes. This book is all about his first year at Hogwarts.
This book applies to the topic of family in that it sends children an extremely important message: if your home life is abusive or neglectful, you do not need to consider them your family and you do not need to feel guilty about it. Harry, for example, found a family support system at Hogwarts. His best friends become like his siblings, Mrs. Weasley becomes his mother figure, and his godfather, Sirius, fills the role of father.
This is an incredible book for children. In addition to the aforementioned lesson, HP and the Sorcerer's Stone shows readers that they can go to a new school and quite literally a whole different world and it isn't the end of your life. In Harry's case, it was actually the beginning. ( )
  hphipp2 | Dec 5, 2014 |
In my opinion, this book is a great book for young readers who are interested in chapter books. One thing I like about this book is that it is a part of a series. This means children can read on to see what happens next in the rest of the books in the series. Another thing I liked about this book was that the main character, Harry, is someone that a lot of children can relate to. He is the outsider, is picked on by another student at Hogwarts, and has every day obstacles like a normal student might. While these aren't every day issues for kids, I think a lot of children have gone through points where they may have felt like Harry at one point. I also really like the magical aspect of this book and the creation of a whole different world than real life where witches and wizards can learn about spells and potions away from the "muggle" world. It definitely creates an escape from the real world which is also something students may relate to. Many children use reading, drawing, or role playing as a way to "escape" from the real world so that makes this book good for children to relate to as well. I also like that these books have been made into movies so that kids can not only read the books, but visualize and see the pages come to life. The big idea of this story was a boy who is destined with mass amounts of responsibility and must overcome obstacles to save himself from a villain. ( )
  khendr4 | Dec 3, 2014 |
I love the book “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” and think that it is a fantastic book for readers of all ages. One reason I like this book so much is because Rowling creates a world that forces readers to think about and imagine a world apart from their own. Readers are exposed to flying broomsticks, people that can transform into animals, magic wands, potions, and more. This not only enhances a reader’s imagination, but also engrosses the reader in the story. I get completely wrapped up in the magical world of Hogwarts when reading any of the “Harry Potter” books. Another aspect of the book that adds to this is the depth of the characters. There is a lot of dialogue in the book, and each character has strengths, flaws, desires, relationships and personality traits. Because the characters are so three dimensional and realistic, they are very easy to relate to and the reader becomes invested in the good vs. evil battle in the story. J. K. Rowling is able to create so much drama, excitement, and mystery in her story to keep readers of all ages interested in her novels. The main idea of the story is that loyal friends can get you through the toughest of times. ( )
  cschne11 | Dec 3, 2014 |
I would use this book with students when discussing writing with description or for emotion. J.K. Rowling does an amazing job bringing her characters and settings to life. Students would like this series because it is an escape to a fantasy world. The books hold your attention and are exciting as well. ( )
  Sara_White | Nov 30, 2014 |
One of my all time favorite books. ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 21, 2014 |
This is the fist of several books describing the wizard world. This book does a lot of background and basic ground work to set up the rest of the books in the series.
I like this book because it is a fun book and because it is so unlikely, it keeps the readers interested.
I would say this book is good for any kids from grades 4+ because of the reading level, and the semi-violent context.
  AmyGelle | Nov 21, 2014 |
A young boy who is forced to live with his aunt and uncle due to a family death, find out he is a wizard and is able to go to hogwarts, a school for wizards. This is about the events that take place and an evil wizard that is after him for the revenge of his parents. 6th
  Nicole129672 | Nov 19, 2014 |
There are many messages expressed throughout the Harry Potter books but one that can be seen in this book, and all the other books, is good versus evil. Harry Potter is dealt very similar cards as the book's villain and must make decisions weather to follow in his foot-steps or make a path on his own. In the end the main message is that good triumphs evil.
One reason I really liked this book was the way the author wrote out her dialect. The way she writes the dialogue really channels her characters and helps the reader fully picture them and their personalities. For example she writes Hagrid saying, "Yer great puddin' of a son don' need fattenin' anymore, Dursley, don' worry." The way she writes his dialogue helps build his character description to the readers and makes the story more enjoyable in the process.
Going along with that, another reason I liked this book was the way she brought the story to life by including other forms of text. For example, when Hagrid gives Harry Potter his acceptance letter to Hogwarts the book says that he opens and reads it. Instead of just leaving it at that, the author includes the "letter" in the text. The text is centered and titled reading, "Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry," and underneath includes the list for uniform, course books, and other equipment. By doing so the author really helps bring the story to life by including different forms of text within the novel. ( )
  JamieLewis | Nov 17, 2014 |
J.K. Rowling has done a wonderful job giving life to the world of Harry Potter. This is the first book out of seven and some of the main characters are introduced in this book. We meet Harry, an orphan boy who lives a miserable life with his aunt and uncle. He is treated very poorly and bullied by his cousin Dudley. When Harry turns 11 he gets a letter from Hogwarts, a school for wizards. The story takes an interesting path when Harry goes off to school and ends up with many challenges such as fighting evil. I love how J.K. Rowling develops the story. She describes the characters and the magic world in such an amazing way that it is very hard to put the book down once you start reading it. ( )
  cvarela | Nov 13, 2014 |
Harry Potter is my ultimate favorite book. I love how Harry forms unlikely friendship with Ron and Hermione. I think this friendship is extremely important for this book because his friends take the role of his family. I also really love the little illustrations on the top of the page on the beginning of every chapter. They give you an insight of what the chapter will be about. Overall, I love the magic of the book, how it captivates the readers and draws you in wanting more. Harry Potter is written in such a fun and whimsical way, that it is extremely hard to resist reading it more than once.
The big idea of Harry Potter is to fight for what you believe in. Just like Harry fights to save Hogwarts and his friends from a horrible enemy. ( )
  Jillian_Magee | Nov 10, 2014 |
Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone has, for an array of reasons, been one of my favorite books for as long as I could remember. The first book in the Harry Potter series tells the background story of young Harry and of his first year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The first book goes into a lot of detail concerning Harry finding out he is a Wizard, arriving at Hogwarts, fighting a troll, fighting a three headed dog, encountering a centaur, and finally defeating Lord Voldemort for the second time. As stated previously, I have loved this book for a very long time for a lot of reasons. One reason that I love this book is because of the way that magic is presented to the audience. J.K. Rowling is an author who knows how to write for a large range of readers. Magic is a topic that not a lot of people would be willing to read about over the age of 14 but Rowling did a good job at introducing magic in her books in a way that isn’t too over top but it is still undeniably beautiful in the way it is written about in Harry’s world. Another reason why this books is so extraordinary is because of the imagery that is presented to the readers. Obviously, a huge portion of this book is filled with characters and objects that readers have never seen or heard of before. Rowling does an exemplary job at describing these creatures to her readers with an immense about of detail. “Harry had never seen anything so beautiful and sad. It’s long, slender legs were stuck out at odd angles where it had fallen and its mane was spread pearly-white on the dark leaves.” Lastly, this book is filled with an overwhelming amount of foreshadowing. Rereading this book after reading through the series offers a new insight to the Harry Potter series. It is not common for a series to get better the more and more a person reads it. I have read all of the the Harry Potter books a few times and every time I do I find something I didn’t notice the first time. For example, “Harry got slowly out of bed and started looking for socks. He found a pair under his bed and, after pulling a spider off one of them, put them on. Harry was used to spiders, because the cupboard under the stairs was full of them and that was where he slept.” Later on in the series Harry encounters an overwhelming number of spiders while his best friend, Ron, trembles in fear. This book does not teach one thing specifically to its readers, but a common theme within this specific text is that amazing things can happen even to the least suspected people. ( )
  EmilyEgert | Nov 9, 2014 |
Harry Potter never disappoints. JK Rowling is just a phenomenal writer. I'll admit this isn't my favorite of all the 7 books, but I've noticed more things in this book the more I read it. ( )
  rabidmunkee | Nov 7, 2014 |
I clearly waited a long time to read this series. After finishing the book, I am not sure I see how this started a craze, but that's not to say it wasn't a good read. I enjoyed it and read it quickly. I was saddened that Hufflepuff finished the year in last place, but I was thrilled Slytherin didn't win. I'm more excited to be reading it, however, with a group of Harry Potter fans who are reading this series over again. The journey with them makes this the most fun. ( )
  LiterateHousewife | Nov 7, 2014 |
This is my absolute favorite series. The first book is outstanding because it introduces you into the world of Harry Potter and wizards. The details are so well crafted that you feel yourself walking through the ancient halls of Hogwarts and walking on staircases that move from floor to floor. Another reason I love this book is because of the plot. It is well rounded and thought out. For example the connection between Harry receive his invisibility cloak anonymously and finding out it was his father’s. Also this book has amazing characters that develop throughout the plot. Hermione in the beginning is only concerned about her schoolwork but towards the end comes to understand the importance of friendship.
I think the big idea of this book was always stay to true to your beliefs. Even when threatened, Harry did not give Lord Voldemort the sorcerer’s stone. This shows he is true to what he believes. ( )
  StephanieWeiner | Nov 3, 2014 |
"Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" is an engaging, magical, wonderful story of a boy transported to a world of magic. J.K. Rowling teleports the reader into a new universe filled with witches and wizards, goblins and trolls, potions and spells, and castles and monsters. For me, it was a huge part of my childhood. The language used is wonderfully descriptive and new; it teaches new words such as muggle, wormwood, alohomora, and many more. It brings every reader to the beginning to an adventure of learning about Harry's adventures as a young boy and eventually a young adult. It's the first step in a long journey of trying to defeat evil. You learn about friendship, sacrifice and love when reading "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone". There is no argument, the Harry Potter series is my absolute favorite series I've ever read. It's appropriate for all ages; my dad and I both love it and always talk about it with each other. In my opinion, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" is one of the most amazing books in the world. ( )
  Rosaschuchert | Nov 2, 2014 |
In my opinion, “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” is an amazing book. The language used in this book draws you in. The language is clear and descriptive. The language helps the reader visualize a new, wonderful, magical world. A world of wizards, witches, magical creatures, and more. When I am reading Harry Potter, I feel as if I am there with Harry. “The goblin was about a head shorter than Harry. He had a swarthy, clever face, a pointed beard and, Harry noticed, very long fingers and feet.” “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone”, introduces the reader to a whole new vocabulary. The book is full of words that don’t exist in the “Muggle”, or non-magical, world. “‘For your information, Potter, asphodel and wormwood make a sleeping potion so powerful it is known as the Draught of Living Death.”’ The writing is organized and flows well. The book introduces the reader to an entirely new world without leaving the reader confused. Instead, the writing is engaging and leaves the reader wanting more. The plot is another great aspect of the story. The story starts with a ten-year-old boy, who was living with his abusive aunt and uncle. His room was a cupboard, and he was clearly not loved by the family. To the Dursley’s, Harry Potter was a burden. In a drastic change of fate, Harry finds out he’s a wizard. Not only is he a wizard, but he’s a famous wizard! He gets to go to a school for witches and wizards, called Hogwarts. Life there has its challenges, but Harry overcomes them all with the help of his new friends Ron and Hermione. “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” was the first chapter book I read as a kid. From the very first chapter, I was hooked. I’ve read all the books, and to this day it remains my favorite series. The big idea of this book is to introduce readers to a magical world, and to show the readers the power of friendship. ( )
  Chawki6 | Oct 28, 2014 |
My friend made me read this book because I was making fun of her for reading it, and I am so glad she did. As a middle school student who had read just about everything on my reading level I found interesting, this book reminded me why I like to read. I encourage every young reader to read this series because it teaches some valuable life lessons. ( )
  hensley.221b | Oct 27, 2014 |
Very good. I was impressed by the fact that Rowling doesn't "write down" for her audience. I assume that's why adults like it as well. Good characterizations, imaginative plot, fast-paced, a good fun read. ( )
  AliceAnna | Oct 20, 2014 |
I "reread" this over the last week or so by listening to the Stephen Fry audiobook. It's fantastic. I seriously recommend it for anyone who's read the books before but would like a slightly different experience. I'll certainly be listening to the other ones! Also, this is book 100. I achieved my challenge!

***
Harry Potter tends to be one of those things that either works for you or it doesn't. I was just about the right age when the books came out (I must have been around eight-ish when I read the first two and it continued from there) and I always felt that contributed to my affection for the series; I was almost seventeen when the final book was released and just in that same period of almot-adulthood that the protagonist was enduring at the same time.

I've read (and reread) all of the books several times. This first is a reasonably simple adventure story right until the end, and I can't fault it for that. There are hints of things to come in the future - nothing is more prescient, nor creepy, than the suggestion that Dumbledore set it all up so that Harry and Voldemort would face each other - but nothing too heavy. Although, in saying that, retrospectively the Mirror of Erised scene is a bit fucked up. I'm not sure I would like to be confronted with my heart's deepest desire like that, though I suppose that's sort of the point.

These books were responsible for a lot of my formative reading development, and for that I can't fault them, but I appreciate that this is one of the less fully-formed installments. ( )
  humblewomble | Oct 19, 2014 |
(6)
  mshampson | Oct 15, 2014 |
Harry Potter, a young boy who was orphaned as a baby, discovers that he is a lot more special than his aunt and uncle want him to believe. He's a boy wizard and it is time for him to begin learning all it means to be a wizard. ( )
  Srwhite | Oct 2, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 1073 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.26)
0.5 18
1 126
1.5 59
2 562
2.5 174
3 2731
3.5 680
4 6232
4.5 794
5 10262

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,392,775 books! | Top bar: Always visible