HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian…
Loading...

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian Edition of Harry Potter and… (original 1997; edition 2011)

by J. K. Rowling

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
81,56911852 (4.26)7 / 862
L'inizio di una grande amicizia tra me e le pagine di questo libro e di quelli che sono seguiti.Harry Potter è stato prezioso per me perchè in un periodo in cui non avevo nessun'altro è stato il mio unico rifugio e il mio unico punto di forza. Ho letto tutti libri un centinaio di volte,ma ogni volta scopro qualcosa di nuovo e ogni volta trovo un consiglio utile e adatto alla situazione che sto vivendo.Tutti e 7 i libri hanno dei particolari speciali che li rendono tutti perfetti;in questo primo libro mi piacciono le prove finali prima di arrivare alla pietra, in particolare la prova di logica di Piton e quella della scacchiera.Oltre a questo mi piace molto il pezzo in cui Hermione copre Ron ed Harry dopo l'avventura con il troll,e ovviamente la parte dello specchio delle brame... a volte vorrei avere quello specchio per poter capire cosa vuole davvero il mio cuore...
  Hbooks12 | May 22, 2012 |
English (1,126)  Dutch (12)  German (10)  Spanish (9)  Italian (8)  French (4)  Finnish (3)  Danish (3)  Catalan (2)  Hungarian (2)  Portuguese (1)  Russian (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  Swedish (1)  All languages (1,183)
Showing 1-25 of 1126 (next | show all)
Harry Potter has a terrible life living with his nasty aunt and uncle and rude cousin. Harry is a scrawny kid who gets no attention and has no friends. Life seems pretty grim as Harry turns 11 but then everything changes when he finds out he actually a wizard and is sent away to wizard boarding school. Harry also learns he is a celebrity in the world of magic because an evil wizard disappeared after trying to kill Harry as a baby. Harry adjusts to his new exciting life in the world of magic, with classes like potions, and history of magic. He also learns he has a great natural talent in the wizard support of quidditch flown on brooms. Fun times are dampened when Harry uncovers an evil plot and meets the returning evil wizard Voldermort, but Harry triumphs in the end. ( )
  Kasey.Merrick | Sep 1, 2015 |
What can you say about Harry Potter that has not already been said. I have seen all the movies so the book was probably not as good as if I had read it first. I really enjoyed it and the fact that there were not too many differences from the movie was a real change. I had forgotten many parts of the story so it was nice. I am now going to read all the rest of them. Thanks to the Windsor Library Group for this monthly read, finally getting me to crack open the cover of books that have been on my shelf for several years. ( )
  Carlathelibrarian | Aug 18, 2015 |
This is a re-read. I now own all the Harry Potter series and plan to read all of them again. I had forgotten how much I love these books. I am sure that I knew at one time that the "Mirror of Erised" was "desire" spelled backwards, but it was such a delight to discover it again! And Dumbledore's wisdom: "It does not do [Harry:] to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that." Even though I know that there are six more books, I did not want this one to end. Of course I am already well into Book Two! ( )
  TheresaCIncinnati | Aug 17, 2015 |
Well, I finally permitted myself to read this after about 7 years of snobbery, but by that time, my then 7-year-old had become a snob of his own and wouldn't allow me to read it to him and wouldn't touch it despite all of his friends being Potter fans. How we actually ended up reading this 4 years later I don't know, but I think I just forced him to listen to chapter 1 as a bedtime story with the option of quitting, and when he sneaked the book to school and guiltily told me that he'd accidentally read the next 3 chapters, I knew we were fast becoming Harry Potter people (VERY BELATEDLY).

I LOVED it. I laughed and actually cried, which annoyed my 11-year-old to no end. Excited for the next one! I borrowed two copies from the library so that we can both read at once. I'm thankful that I have bypassed all of the waiting for sequels and movies; I can watch them all at once if I want to! ( )
  engpunk77 | Aug 10, 2015 |
I'm the only person in the world with mixed feelings about the Harry Potter books. Most readers love them. There are non-readers who are indifferent to them as they are to all other books; others who go solely by the fact that they're "children's" books and therefore believe it's ridiculous for adults to read and enjoy them; and of course a legion of similarly anti-literacy folk who have decided the Harry Potter books are immoral. These people, who read and enjoy Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and stories about Merlin and King Arthur, have concluded that the Potter universe is an evil place because it has magic and witches. All righty, then.

I suppose there are readers who genuinely dislike the Harry Potter books. I haven't come across them, but they must be out there somewhere. And of course there must be readers who say they dislike them when what they mean is, they're wildly jealous that they didn't write them.

I don't belong in any of those categories. I admire the fine writing, characterization, dialogue, and world-building Rowling has done. And exactly because her writing is so good, the one flaw I've found pains me to the point that I can't read these with the pure pleasure they give so many others.

The only person I've talked to about this who's been willing to listen long enough to understand what I'm saying is the one person I know who hasn't read the books and has no plans to. He thinks I make a valid point. Everyone else I've attempted to engage on this topic has responded, "You're saying something bad about Harry Potter. You must be bad. I hate you. Please leave my home." Or words to that effect.

I'll grant you that accepting flaws in things we love is a little-taught skill in this world. It's almost as rare as seeing good qualities in those we hate. This is as true with books as it is with people, and it's tragic. I have yet to meet someone who can acknowledge the admirable qualities of books they can't stand. I don't mean genuinely bad books, the kind that will be pulped a year after they were printed (if they last that long) or that will never make it to paper in the first place not because technology is awesome but because *nobody* wants to waste the paper on these works. No, I mean books that have stood the test of time but who have as many haters as lovers.

Perfect example: Little Women. People adore this book, or they despise it.

Listen up: "Little Women" is corny, mawkish, and sentimental. It's also wise, funny, and strong. Whether you like the book or you hate it, if you can't admit that all of this is true and this can all be true at the same time about the same book, you have a serious ego problem.

You can't admit that the book you love could have anything wrong with it. ("Krinkle, krinkle, 'ittle 'tar"? Really? That's not cringe-inducing? Calling a grown woman "Marmee" isn't cringe-inducing? Having the one black child at Jo's school for boys be the best singer isn't seriously cringe-inducing?). Or else you refuse to entertain the idea that anything you hate could have anything right about it. (Marmee's advice to Meg about the difference between the flashing tempers of the March girls and the temperament of the man Meg married stands the test of time very well, as do plenty of the other observations of humanity -- when Jo laughingly admits that she's well enough to go on a carriage ride with Laurie, but not well enough to do disagreeable chores, and then karma kicks her in the arse. Which it tends to do a lot in this book.)

Put your ego aside when thinking about and discussing literature. Good books are not saints. They should be admired, enjoyed, learned from, and reread; but they should also be critically examined. And if I've done all that with the Harry Potter books and I've found something I think is a serious flaw, it would be nice to be able to discuss that, rather than be glared and yelled at (yes, both have happened, and yes, I'm still angry) because I have the unmitigated gall to find something wrong with Saint Jo.

For anyone who's still reading: I'm very uncomfortable with one aspect of the world Rowling has created. Specifically, I don't think her justification for hiding the existence of magic from the world of ordinary humans stands up well in a court of ethics.

This is a review of the first book, so I'll only go into what she says here. When Harry Potter first learns who is parents really are, Hagrid is furious at the Dursleys for not having told him anything about what he calls Harry's world. "Our world, I mean. Your world. My world. Yer parents' world."

It's terribly wrong not to have told Harry who and what he is, and who and what his parents were. Agreed.

How, then, is it all right to hide what is, after all, the real world from the majority of its inhabitants?

How is it all right to scorn them for not having magic while at the same time doing everything to keep them from knowing magic exists?

Don't say there's no scorn. "Muggle" is hardly a term of endearment. (Yes, I'm jumping ahead of myself and I promised I wouldn't, but "mud-blood" is nothing but an extension of the condescension contained in "Muggle.") And as for the attitude towards the mundane world, look at Hagrid -- one of the good guys, certainly, and a very appealing character:

"Although Hagrid seemed to know where he was going, he was obviously not used to getting there in an ordinary way. He got stuck in the ticket barrier on the Underground and complained loudly that the seats were too small and the trains too slow.

'I don't know how the Muggles manage without magic,' he said, as they climbed a broken-down escalator."

We manage because you won't let us do otherwise. And then you sneer at the job we do.

Let me ask you something: Do you really believe that "separate but equal" can be both? That's not how it works in the real world, and it's not how it works in Potter's world. The magical beings there are an elite minority, and they like it that way. They have the power. They're hanging on to it by force (more about that in later books), even when that puts the inhabitants of the mundane world at risk (WAY more about that in later books).

Let me ask you something else: If you read and enjoy Austen's novels in the way that many people do -- taking pleasure in imagining yourself a member of that world -- you imagine yourself as one of the genteel, right? Not one of the servants. We see very little of them, and they have miserable lives. The power situation in Austen's time was horribly imbalanced and unfair. Austen wasn't in much of a position to do anything about it; but at least she didn't have her characters brag all the time about how awesome it was to be of the land-owning class, and how pathetic those stupid servants are.

In fact, the one character I can think of who does complain about servants is Aunt Norris, and she's an out-and-out villain. Her observations on the serving class are meant to reinforce just what a nasty piece of work she is.

One person I know claimed that in the Potter universe, the magic-users keep their existence and powers a secret in order to protect themselves. That's contradicted later -- I think in book #3, in which Harry reads a textbook about how much real witches enjoy being burned at the stake because it tickles and doesn't do them any harm -- but for now I'll just point out what Hagrid says when Harry asks why the Ministry of Magic "keeps it from the Muggles that there's still witches an' wizards up an' down the country."

"Blimey, Harry, everyone'd be wantin' magic solutions to their problems. Nah, we're best left alone."

If Rowling wanted to make a universe in which a failed attempt had been made in the past to live on equal terms with the non-magic world, and that attempt had led to great suffering and many lives lost on both sides, that would be perfectly tenable. (And fascinating. Somebody, write that book. Okay, I will.) If she wanted to claim that magic-users would be persecuted by the ordinary humans, and the magicians might have the magic but the mundane world had the sheer numbers and a lot of nasty technology on their side, that would certainly work. And then I could read these books without a qualm.

Instead, she's created a world in which a ruling class cheerfully admits that they like having all the really cool stuff and they're jolly well not going to share with those foolish mortals who are so stupid, they have to struggle up broken escalators.

What troubles me even more than her making this decision (which, as I've pointed out, is not the only way to go if you want to have a world of hidden magic) is how enthusiastically her readers have embraced it. There are "No Muggles Allowed" posters and Facebook pages. Created and enjoyed by people who don't seem to realize that, just as they'd more likely be a servant than gentility in Austen's world, odds are good they'd be Muggles in Rowling's.

People who have felt odd and left out all their lives naturally embrace the idea that secretly, they're special and strong -- magical, even. I only question the idea that having wonderful abilities has to go hand in hand with lording it over those who don't. How is the Potter universe's attitude toward non-magic users any different from Malfoy's gloating over his entirely inherited monetary wealth, and sneering at Ron's poverty?

I'm very uncomfortable with the Potter universe because I don't have the ego to believe I'd be one of the special ones. I'm rereading these with my son because he doesn't remember them very well and his grandmother kindly lent us an entire hardcover library of the British editions. This journey has its pleasures, but it's the last I'll take to the Potter world. It's no place for Muggles.

UPDATE: I'm now about a hundred pages into the British edition of the last Harry Potter book, and I'm already seriously considering rereading the whole series just to have the entire, incredibly complex plot fresh in my head for once. Yes, the things that bug me philosophically about this series still bother me; but the writing is just too good for even cranky old me to resist. ( )
2 vote Deborah_Markus | Aug 8, 2015 |
I decided not to bother rating these books during my re-read because everyone has either read or heard of Harry Potter and I don't think a review will make any difference. Instead, I decided to compare each book to the movie, because I feel like that'll be helpful to people who haven't read the books in a long time, or ever, and also helpful to me when watching the movies in the future.

-The Dursley's are blonde? Not that this makes any difference because the movies are SO well cast, but I did not remember this.
-I really liked reading about WHY Harry is going to the Zoo in the beginning. It's something in the movie that doesn't really make sense. Why would they invite the kid they hate to the zoo?
-Why does his cupboard lock in the movie? It doesn't lock in the book and locking it makes them seem barbaric. Another weird thing that isn't really necessary.
-In the movie there's a scene near the end where Harry says "Hagrid's always wanted a dragon. Told me so the first time I ever met him." I like that in the book Hagrid actually says that since in the movie it sounds like Harry's just making up stuff.
-I do like the changes they made near the end where they took out Ron's dragon bite and let Ron be in the detention scenes and stuff instead of Neville.
-I wish we got more of the centaur stuff in the movie though I liked their scenes in the forbidden forest.
-I liked that every time they lost track of the cloak we saw how they got it back. In the movie it just happens to randomly be where they need it.
-JK just does great world buiding.
-Why did they build up the Fluffy scene so much in the movie? It was really easy to get past Fluffy in the book.
-I wish they included Snape's poison test in the book. It showed how useful Hermione is. Like she was good with the Devil's Snare but Ron got an entire chess game to show how useful he was. Hermione needed that little extra step.
-I like that in the book it explains why Quirrel couldn't have Harry touch him in better detail.
-And they tell us that Dumbledore gave Harry the cloak, another thing I wish was in the movie.
-And another is that I wish we found out in the movies that James Potter saved Snape's life. I would have thought that important since it shows how pety Snape is in his reasoning for hating James.
-I wish we had scene Ron and Hermione meeting the Dursley's at the end of the movie.

Hopefully this little review reminds me in the future of the differences between the books and the movies. Now on to the next one! ( )
1 vote thatgirlbookworm | Aug 5, 2015 |
Has become a classic.
  BdF | Jul 30, 2015 |
Exciting, Engaging Story Line, Gripping ( )
  LisaAndrews | Jul 25, 2015 |
Currently re-reading the series ( )
  aliceoddcabinet | Jul 25, 2015 |
A re-read, this time aloud with my Other Reader. Both of us familiar with the series and this story specifically, making it a simple pleasure read.

Points of interest:
• Sirius Black loans Hagrid the motorcycle used to deliver Harry to the Dursley's ... despite Black not showing up until Book 3?
• Had forgotten the weeks of not talking to one another, after Hermione & Harry were caught releasing Hagrid's dragon. (Ron avoids it in sick bay). Though it does provide a crucial plot point in the loss of 150 points, making Slytherin the likely winner of House Cup again.
• Dumbledore gives Harry the invisibility cloak, from his father (who left it w Albus?). Dumbledore at this point declining to answer Harry's question of why V can't kill him.
• Still love the bit when Neville gets the points to win the House Cup. Clearly Neville's arc was planned beforehand, perhaps my favourite character, he's not quite so sniveling as in the films. ( )
  elenchus | Jul 21, 2015 |
This was a reread for me and it just reminded me again why I loved the Harry Potter books so much! It took my imagination to flight again and I can't wait to read the rest of the series again! ( )
  Hanneri | Jul 2, 2015 |
I would really have to re-read the book to write a proper review, as the only time I've read [b:Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone|17700865|Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone|j.k.rowling|http://d.gr-assets.com/books/1364569788s/17700865.jpg|24745631] I was ten years old and had just picked up Harry Potter for the first time.

( )
  momma182 | Jun 23, 2015 |
Full disclosure: my opinion is biased due to the enjoyment of reading it in tandem with my young daughter. Also, no poking fun at the fact that I'm embarking on the series way past its heyday. Having said those: the book lives up to the hype. It is a true adventure, with well-drawn empathetic characters of both good and evil, an excellent storyline of which many sequels could be built (this came to pass, natch), taught plotting that evoking genuine concern for the players, the clear and obvious fun of quidditch (can I be goalkeeper?), and a definite thirst for more. Minor quibbles (do the wizard children learn...math?; some scary hyperviolence and meanness) do not detract from the enjoyment. Now on to the next book, and the first movie. ( )
  MartinBodek | Jun 11, 2015 |
Great Book about adventure and magic! Lets your imagination grow as you read the how Harry Potter starts his journey towards becoming a wizard! ( )
  iamryancorcoran | Jun 9, 2015 |
Great Book about adventure! Lets your imagination grow as you read the how Harry Potter starts his journey towards becoming a wizard! I can't wait to read the next book in the series!
  RuthFinnigan | Jun 1, 2015 |
I told my sister I was not going to read any Harry Potter books until after the last Harry Potter movie was released. Since the last movie was released recently, I decided it was time for me to read the book. And yes, as most of you already know, it is very good. ( )
  AdrienneJS | May 18, 2015 |
this book is about a boy named Harry Potter and he is a wizard. There is a man who comes to his house and and tells him and his family that he is a wizard. The man takes the boy to a place called hongwarts and it is a school for wizards where he learns to use his powers for good. harry potter meets 2 friends that he will fight the bad wizards with. There is a bad character in the movie who is a secret spy who pretends to be good but then reports to his leaders and tells them ways to beat the good wizards. in the end of the book the bad wizards kill the leader of the good wizards. and the book ends with Harry and his friends chasing the bad wizard leader.

The reason why I gave this book a 5 is because it was an extrodinary book. I enjoyed this book so much I could not keep my eyes off it. this book was a good book for me because it had actione and mystery which is something I love in books. I hope to read this book sometime soon in the near future. I would recommend this book to you if you like this type of genre. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did. ( )
  nicholasvb1 | May 17, 2015 |
What's awesome is that thanks to a recommendation from a relative I actually read this before Harry Potter was a big thing, so I got to experience it untainted by all the fanaticism. The Harry Potter books are page-turners and very imaginative. I read them and was entertained for the duration, and then went on with my life. I didn't camp outside the bookstore waiting for the next release, and I didn't put on a costume and go nuts when the movie came out.

Contrary to a minority opinion, I don't think Harry Potter is evil because of the witchcraft and sorcery. The author presents kind of an alternate reality, but it doesn't nullify the sovereignty of a higher Power or create a different God, just modifies the laws of physics. Maybe one day I will get around to reading the last book.... ( )
  krista.rutherford | May 15, 2015 |
Rowling constructs an imaginative world centered on kids with complex backgrounds, capabilities, and issues. An easy and fun read, Rowling's work will likely become a classic read in the next few decades.

Much, much better than the movies. ( )
  bdtrump | May 9, 2015 |
When my friend came over from Hungary, she told me, that the Harry Potter series are good. Well, I was a bit sceptical, since I was not amused at all by the hype that war created all around it.

She sent me the first one in the series and I was hooked. I liked it a lot.I beleive this particular edition is a children's edition. The language was sometimes childish, easy. Nevertheless I enjoyed the read. ( )
  BoekenTrol71 | May 5, 2015 |
This book would be good to use when talking about how to deal with difficult people. I think students will like this book because of the characters and the story. ( )
  Kate_Schulte078 | May 5, 2015 |
Summary: Harry Potter is an eleven year old boy who has just discovered he is a wizard. He goes to a special school for witches and wizards and learns all about his parent's past and the secrets of the wizarding world. He meets his two best friends Hermione and Ron and together try to navigate their new lives.

Personal connection: I love the Harry Potter series and think it's so great for kids who especially might not like to read.

Class use: Have students explore the series and talk about the different houses and attributes that they have. ( )
  allisonpollack | Apr 30, 2015 |
Question Response:
  cassidygavin | Apr 29, 2015 |
I was surprised at how good the writing was - exciting, humorous language, detailed descriptions and magical world made completely real. I did not expect to enjoy Harry Potter, to tell you the truth. I have never been a fan of movies and there was too much hype about the books. But finally I decided to do it - I have read it in a few days and I do not regret a minute of it. This is like an action fantasy book - it more revolves around events than characters and their growth. I really cannot say that characters are interesting (and I do mean the first book only, as I have no idea about character development later on), but the circumstances they live in, adventures they have and trouble they get themselves into - definitely interesting, and entertaining. Plus, it is really sweet reading both a kid & adult friendly book nowadays when writing books becomes more about what will sell than how to tell a good story. All in all - I liked it & will be reading other parts! ( )
  v_allery | Apr 19, 2015 |
Harry Potter: The Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling is a story about a young boy named Harry Potter. He is being taken care of by his uncle and aunt, who treat him very poorly and blame him for every bad thing that happens. One day, a mysterious visitor named Hagrid appears at their door on Harry’s birthday and tells Harry that he is a wizard. He tells Harry that his parents were killed by a man named Voldemort, who was unable to kill Harry. Hagrid takes Harry with him to a magic school called Hogwarts, where Harry will learn to become one of the greatest wizards of all time.

I enjoyed Harry Potter: The Sorcerer’s Stone. The book had a very good plot and setting, interesting characters, and smart twists and turns in the conflict. The book had a lot of vivid detail used to describe the characters and the setting. In addition, Harry Potter is a fantasy book, which is one of my favorite genres. Overall, Harry Potter: The Sorcerer’s Stone was a very good story which I enjoyed reading.
  Jobr14 | Apr 12, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 1126 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.26)
0.5 17
1 141
1.5 59
2 568
2.5 176
3 2807
3.5 689
4 6425
4.5 808
5 10612

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,094,871 books! | Top bar: Always visible