HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian…
Loading...

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian Edition of Harry Potter and… (original 1997; edition 2011)

by J. K. Rowling

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
84,89713042 (4.27)7 / 944
L'inizio di una grande amicizia tra me e le pagine di questo libro e di quelli che sono seguiti.Harry Potter è stato prezioso per me perchè in un periodo in cui non avevo nessun'altro è stato il mio unico rifugio e il mio unico punto di forza. Ho letto tutti libri un centinaio di volte,ma ogni volta scopro qualcosa di nuovo e ogni volta trovo un consiglio utile e adatto alla situazione che sto vivendo.Tutti e 7 i libri hanno dei particolari speciali che li rendono tutti perfetti;in questo primo libro mi piacciono le prove finali prima di arrivare alla pietra, in particolare la prova di logica di Piton e quella della scacchiera.Oltre a questo mi piace molto il pezzo in cui Hermione copre Ron ed Harry dopo l'avventura con il troll,e ovviamente la parte dello specchio delle brame... a volte vorrei avere quello specchio per poter capire cosa vuole davvero il mio cuore...
  Hbooks12 | May 22, 2012 |
English (1,232)  Dutch (13)  German (10)  Spanish (10)  Italian (8)  French (5)  Finnish (3)  Danish (3)  Hungarian (2)  Catalan (2)  Portuguese (1)  Russian (1)  Swedish (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  All languages (1,292)
Showing 1-25 of 1232 (next | show all)
Currently re-reading the entire Harry Potter series with my HS senior daughter (her idea) and HS freshman son. This shared experience is a lot of fun. The first time around, we read them individually at different times.

When I'm done, I'll come back and state which one in the series is my favorite. Otherwise there's not really much to add to the several thousand reviews of each book in this series. We all know the Harry Potter series is an epic story :-) . ( )
  ValerieAndBooks | May 4, 2016 |
Still adore this book twelve years after I first read it and was pleased with the 10th anniversary special edition - Rowling's sketch of Snape is spot-on and the extra illustrations from Mary Grande-Pre are a nice touch for a collector, or someone mad about Potter like myself!

**Got a Candian used copy in Lunenberg in 2015 with Aaron. Because of the difference in some words and the different cover and all it was like reading it again for the first time, almost! ( )
  Kristin_Curdie_Cook | Apr 29, 2016 |
Fabulous ( )
  MaiaMcCauley | Apr 27, 2016 |
A must read for any child or young adult. Suitable for grades 3 and up this book is a classic that highlights the importance of maintaining positive relationships in the face of adversity. Younger years can use book in order to create a personalized HP alphabet picture book. Each student receives a letter and is to draw a poster with the letter and a item from the story correlating to the letter. ( )
  Isaacwinton | Apr 26, 2016 |
This is a great book for two reasons. I really enjoy the plot that this story follows. It is about wizards, which is not a typical story or something that had ever really been done before this book. It is extremely fun and exciting to read about the lives of Harry and his peers after he finds out that he is a wizard. I also like the characters in this story. It is easy to feel for them and build a relationship with them as they are trying to figure out their place in the wizarding world. The big idea in this story is about the importance of friendship and having people who are there for you. ( )
  maddieburchell | Apr 26, 2016 |
I don't think I need to write a review for this book. It's title is a good enough review as any. Just pick up the book and read it. ( )
  gracefranks25 | Apr 24, 2016 |
Read
  MrsDoglvrs | Apr 24, 2016 |
It's a miracle, I've finally read the first Harry Potter book. When the first movie for this series was released, I found out that it was inspired by a children's book. It didn't even occur to me to read it/them. My excuse is that I didn't know of the existence of a fantastical site called "Goodreads". I also didn't have any clue of a genre referred to as Fantasy. Oh yes I did watch the movie. In fact I did watch them all and loved them even though I still thought the books were geared toward kids at least that's what I believed. So eventually I found Goodreads and my eyes were open to a treasure trove of books and genres out there for brain consumption. At first I thought I wouldn't be able to read the books since I already watched the movies but since then I've read books from movies I've seen not knowing they were originally books without any difficulty. I still enjoyed them and in fact even more the the movies. So I kept telling myself I would read the Harry Potter books, it took a while but I've finally started and now I can't wait to consume them all. Visually and mentally that is, lol.

It was amazing and it also answered those unanswered questions you get from watching a movie. Let's just say it filled in the blanks and fed me more missing info that I wasn't even aware of I was missing. I could imagine what Harry was experiencing in his adventures and introduction to the wizarding world. I enjoyed reading Harry's and his friends, Ron and Hermoine's inaugural journey into this new world. I loved the illustrations at the top of every chapter and I fell in love the the characters all over again (in more detail of course). I got to see the magic and allure of this world and how scary, fun, fantastical, and indulgent it can be. It was an enchanting story that would of course eventually end up on the big screen. ( )
1 vote GigisIrieReads | Apr 20, 2016 |
4.5 Stars

Obviously, I am way behind the curve on this one, only now reading Harry Potter. When a book gets as much hype as this series it always puts me on edge and makes me worry it won't live up to it so I always hesitate to read it. Clearly that was not the case here. ( )
  Kristymk18 | Apr 19, 2016 |
It seems like everyone I know has already read (and re-read) the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. Therefore there is no need for me to summarize the plot or even discuss the premise of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, the first book in the series.

I have all the Scholastic editions in my library, and now there is a beautiful illustrated edition of the first book. It's in a large hardback version (11.5" H by 6.5"W), has a ribbon bookmark, and gorgeous illustrations throughout by Jim Kay.

I received this edition as a birthday present, and just now recently read it. I cannot wait until the release of the illustrated edition of the next book -- that'll occur on my birthday this coming fall.

A must-have for all fans of Harry Potter. ( )
  ValerieAndBooks | Apr 17, 2016 |
Bernard Giraudeau does voices for every character. These voices may not necessarily match what you had imagined.
  rakerman | Apr 16, 2016 |
Harry Potter, a young wizard, and his two best friends, Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger, are in their first year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The three 11-year-olds seem to attract mischief and danger wherever they go, but this is most apparent in their retrieval of the powerful Sorcerer's Stone from the evil Lord Voldemort at the end of the school year, rescuing their classmates, and probably the entire wizarding world from the return of the darkest wizard of their time.
Uses: I think I will always have all of the Harry Potter books on my choice reading list, because they are beautifully written and such wonderful examples of fantasy. Rowling not only creates her own world separate from our own, but makes it totally feasible and even uses it to explain away some of the more mysterious occurrences in our world.
  meggienell | Apr 15, 2016 |
2 copy, $5.99
  stdamian | Apr 12, 2016 |
I am downright giddy over this Jim Kay edition. It added so much to my re-read experience. Just wish they were going to release more than one at a time! At least I'll have my Christmas wish-list done for the next seven years. ( )
  daniellamaria8 | Apr 9, 2016 |
I have read this book repeatedly over the years. If you haven't read the Harry Potter books yet, it's really about time you do. They are better than the movies of course, though the movies are great too.

*Read on June 13th, 2011
*Read on August 18th, 2012
*Read for Group Read on FB on January 29th, 2015 ( )
  MynTop | Apr 8, 2016 |
This is the book that made me love reading as a child. When i first picked up harry potter to read i did not put it down. This book is about an 11 year old boy who lives with his aunt and uncle. One day he finds out her is a wizard and is going to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. From there J.K. Rowling takes you on a magical adventure with Harry and his friends. They learn about themselves,friendship, trust and loyalty. I recommend that this book be read during circle time in class. its most definitely a book that all children should read and can connect too in some way. ( )
  lsavar3 | Apr 4, 2016 |
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone opens with baby Harry being left on the door step of his aunt and uncle, Petunia and Vernon Dursley. After ten years Harry has to put with his aunt, uncle, and cousin's behavior towards him, as they basically abuse him and make him their slave. On Dudley Dursley's eleventh birthday Petunia, Vernon, Harry and Dudley go to the zoo, while inside the reptile house Harry starts speaking to a boa constrictor. Making the glass vanish and claiming that he has no idea what happened, his uncle locks him the cupboard under the stairs. Days later letters start arriving from nobody leading to the Dursleys and Harry going to hide in a cottage on top of a rock. On the night of Harry's birthday the front door of the cottage was broken down by the half-giant Hagrid who gives Harry his invitation to Hogwarts. The next day Harry is taken to Diagon Alley where he gets all of his school supplies like a wand which is the twin of the wand that killed his parent Lily and James Potter. Later Harry boards the Hogwarts express with the help of Molly Weasley. On the way Harry meats Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger, once they arrive at Hogwarts the three are sorted into Gryffindor house of the courageous and bold. At their first quidditch lesson Draco Malfoy throws Neville Longbottom's remembrall when he is taken to the hospital wing for falling of his broom. Harry then fetches it and shows the skills of a seeker on a quidditch team therefor Professor McGonagall puts him on the Gryffindor quidditch team. When walking through the Hogwarts corridors with Hermione, Ron, and Neville, the four stumble into a forbidden corridor where a giant three headed dog is standing over a trap door. On Halloween, the defense against the dark arts teacher Professor Qurirell says there is a troll in the dungeons but the troll is really in the girls bathroom. Where Hermione is so Harry and Ron go to rescue her since they saved her she took the blame for her and her friends. Over the winter holidays Harry and Ron stay at Hogwarts to do research on Nicolas Flamel who has something to do vault 713 which has to with the trap door the dog was guarding. After the holidays the three go through the trap door which holds the Sorcerer's Stone which makes the elixir of life which Voldemort is after. Since only one person could go though after a series of tasks. Harry enters to find Professor Quirell who happens to have the face of Lord Voldemort on the back of his head. Killing Quirell with the power love Harry obtains the Sorcerer's Stone and Gryffindor wins the house cup.
Harry Potter in the Sorcerer's Stone isn't the best book because most of the beginning was backstory for everything in Harry's life before. It is a good book but definitely isn't the best in the series. There is plenty of detail and it is a good introduction to the wizarding world. Yet nothing really happens and it can get a little boring, Personally I think that the last few chapters are the best. ( )
  KateE.B3 | Mar 29, 2016 |
I'm finally getting around to "reading" the HP series, since I've already seen all of the movies and I was told by my coworkers I should be fired for not reading them. Hah! :) Great introduction to the series. I loved listening to Jim Dale for this. He read all of the characters very well.[return][return]Of course I already knew what was going to happen, the style of writing didn't surprise me. All in all a very good YA book. A little less advanced than what I'd prefer, obviously, but I can appreciate it for what it is! ( )
  kristilabrie_tinycat | Mar 28, 2016 |
All the Harry Potter books are fun and a great way to get kids engaged in reading discussions. ( )
  add_dragon | Mar 26, 2016 |
Love it! ( )
  katieloucks | Mar 21, 2016 |
I am a huge Harry Potter fan! I like Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's stone a lot because it J.K. Rowling does an amazing job of creating an entire new world. The wizarding world has completely different customs and culture. For example she designed a history for this world. It really allows the reader to feel like they are a part of this secret world. I also liked this book because at the beginning of each chapter there is a small symbol that represents what the chapter is going to be about. This allows the reader to predict what will happen next. For example, there is picture of the sorting hat right before the chapter where the characters find out what house they are being put into. The main idea of this book is to have courage and follow your heart. ( )
  jgreen87 | Mar 21, 2016 |
There is so much I could say about this book series, especially this book in particular, as it is my favorite. This beloved book written by J.K. Rowling is such a fun adventure for kids and even young adults! As it is a lengthy book that might be challenging for some, it is so interesting that the reading flies by! The mysterious characters like Professor Snape lure you in as the trolls and evil wizards give it such a great shock value! The fabulous story of Harry Potter's tale begins in this book. Learning about the story from the start really engages the reader. J.K. Rowling really has a way of making Harry Potter such a great character that you just have to keep reading about. This book expanded my imagination and secured my love for reading. I love how she opens the book with such a dramatic story of how Harry lost his parents tragically. The message in this series to me seems to do a lot with friendship, as Hermoine and Ron become essential pieces to helping out Harry in the long run when he is left with no family. This book takes you on a wild adventure that most kids will love! ( )
  ldewey1 | Mar 21, 2016 |
Bet you can't read just one! ( )
  ndpmcIntosh | Mar 21, 2016 |
uhh Harry Potter, need I say more. This book was the basis of my HP obsession during my teen years and my current age. I will always love these books. ( )
  welkeral | Mar 20, 2016 |
Summary: Harry Potter discovers he is a wizard when he gets invited to go to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry's parents died when he was young so he has been raised by his emotionally abusive and neglectful aunt and uncle. Harry discovers that his parents were killed by Lord Voldemort, and that he himself survived the dark wizard's attack. Harry is famous in the wizarding world, and he develops deep long lasting friendships and learns about himself throughout this book. At the end of this book, Harry encounters Lord Voldemort for the 2nd time and defeats him again.

Personal Reactions: This book is the lightest of all of the Harry Potter books and the one that can be most considered a children's book. I have loved this book since I was a kid and it was so great to reread it as an adult. This book gave me an outlet from the real world and made me want to explore the wizarding world so badly! I will always be forever grateful for this series.

Classroom Extensions:
1. In the book, the Mirror of Erised shows you your greatest desire. I would print out a silhouette of the mirror and have the children draw what THEY would see in the mirror.

2. In the series, there are jellybeans that are a mix of delicious and disgusting flavors and they have been produced in real life too! We could try the Bertie and Botts Every Flavored Beans. ( )
  emcnally | Mar 19, 2016 |
Showing 1-25 of 1232 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.27)
0.5 17
1 149
1.5 59
2 585
2.5 178
3 2922
3.5 702
4 6671
4.5 826
5 11204

Audible.com

4 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,354,826 books! | Top bar: Always visible