HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian…
Loading...

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian Edition of Harry Potter and… (original 1997; edition 2011)

by J. K. Rowling

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
83,81012692 (4.27)7 / 867
L'inizio di una grande amicizia tra me e le pagine di questo libro e di quelli che sono seguiti.Harry Potter è stato prezioso per me perchè in un periodo in cui non avevo nessun'altro è stato il mio unico rifugio e il mio unico punto di forza. Ho letto tutti libri un centinaio di volte,ma ogni volta scopro qualcosa di nuovo e ogni volta trovo un consiglio utile e adatto alla situazione che sto vivendo.Tutti e 7 i libri hanno dei particolari speciali che li rendono tutti perfetti;in questo primo libro mi piacciono le prove finali prima di arrivare alla pietra, in particolare la prova di logica di Piton e quella della scacchiera.Oltre a questo mi piace molto il pezzo in cui Hermione copre Ron ed Harry dopo l'avventura con il troll,e ovviamente la parte dello specchio delle brame... a volte vorrei avere quello specchio per poter capire cosa vuole davvero il mio cuore...
  Hbooks12 | May 22, 2012 |
English (1,200)  Dutch (12)  German (10)  Spanish (10)  Italian (8)  French (5)  Finnish (3)  Danish (3)  Hungarian (2)  Catalan (2)  Portuguese (1)  Russian (1)  Swedish (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  All languages (1,259)
Showing 1-25 of 1200 (next | show all)
2.70
  johnrid11 | Feb 14, 2016 |
Illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Not sure if they're planning to put out unabridged illustrated editions of the whole series because if so those are gonna be some huge books. But I'd buy 'em...

5 stars

Fave illustration was the unicorn in the Forbidden Forest (pp. 204-205).

Least liked illustration was Fang (p.193). This version of Fang was just too darn small and skinny for his breed. ( )
  flying_monkeys | Feb 12, 2016 |
Truly amazing. I have read this book multiple times, but i can never get over the masterful work of literature. The back story and his current situation make for a great series in the making as he slowly figures out Harry's true identity ( )
  d_mckinley | Feb 12, 2016 |
Marvelous. ( )
  alchemist123 | Feb 10, 2016 |
Really, what can I say about Harry Potter that hasn't already been said a million times before?

For me, the biggest draw of the novel is its positive message. While the book does contain some serious themes, including bullying and child abuse, they're not the focus of the story. Harry Potter and the Philosopher's stone is a book about hope and courage and friendship. Harry finds an escape from his abusive home to study at the bright and whimsical Hogwarts, building a new family from his loyal new friends.

The plot is largely competent containing a lovely light humor and building a surprisingly complex mystery for a middle grade novel. While it feels little weak in a couple of places (no spoilers here), it largely holds together and draws itself to a largely satisfying conclusion.

My primary issues with the story are small and largely dwarfed by the books sheer enjoyability. It's by no means an original concept as it's a blending of Tom Brown's Schooldays and The Worst Witch. It's also not fantastically written. There's some pretty heavy adverb use and Rowling has a tendency to repeat words in close succession (for example, at one point she uses the word "pocket" three times in the space of two sentences). The book also ends very abruptly, leaving only a few pages for resolution after the climax.

In terms of characterisation, Harry is obviously the main focus of the story. He's our everyman - a character who can learn about the wizarding world at the same rate as the reader. While he is a suitably loveable character, he does lean towards being a bit of a Gary-Stu and I do still object to the method by which he defeats the villain as it's just a little too schmaltzy.

While no character really receives anywhere near Harry's development, they still present a cast of really colourful, imaginative and likable characters. I have a particular love for Hagrid (how could you not?) and Nearly Headless Nick purely because the concept of being "nearly headless" still makes me smile.

The only character I find really unsettling is Dumbledore. I mean, the man knowingly left a child in what he knew would be an abusive home. And also allowed said child to remove to said home at the end of the school year. What kind of monster is he? I know that reason is given for this later in the series but it's still flimsy and makes me really detest him. I just can't view him as being a lovable old man when he's responsible for Harry's horrible upbringing.

Anyway, review is running long so I'll cut it short. Despite its flaws, this novel is just wonderfully enjoyable and definitely one I'd recommend. I don't really agree with the people who say it's a story for all ages - it's most definitely a children's story - but it's still just a wonderfully heartwarming read that I think everyone should pick up at least once in their lifetime. ( )
  ArkhamReviews | Feb 9, 2016 |
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

★★★★

No reason for me to do a synopsis on Harry Potter. Most people have read it and the ones that haven’t probably have the gist.

This is my 9th time re-reading the series throughout the years. And with each reading I find that the first book really is lacking. It seemed like at the time, Rowling was simply getting her ideas onto paper and the book often reads as such “and then this happened, then this happened.” It all seems fairly rushed. With that being said, I still love this book (although not my favorite) and the series. When I’m having a rough time it’s a good one to get me through. It’s an easy fun read, no matter how many times I’ve read it.
( )
  UberButter | Feb 9, 2016 |
As I read this, I was torn between deep contentment to be back in Harry Potter's world and homesickness for the characters that don't come along until later books. ( )
  AngelClaw | Feb 8, 2016 |
I wish I could remember exactly how many times I've read the earlier books in the series; obviously it's more than the later books, because starting around book four, each time a new book came out I read all the previous ones again. Based on that, this was at least my tenth time, including once on audio.
  mirikayla | Feb 8, 2016 |

The Dursleys, Hagrid, Dumbledore, the Weasleys, Hermione, Diagon Alley, Ollivander, the sorting hat, Draco Malfoy, Neville, Professor Snape, Quidditch, Fluffy, the Forbidden Forest, Professor Quirrell, Voldemort and of course, Harry Potter. These are among the many reasons to read (or re-read) this amazing book.

I can't say much about this book or J.K. Rowling or the series itself that hasn't already been said. Suffice it to say that this is a must read for nearly everyone. I remember reading it the first time and never wanting it to end. Then waiting, waiting.... for the next book in the series. Lucky you who can read it now for the first time, and if it takes a part of your soul, are able to read them all at your own pace. I only wish I could read it again for the first time. But, even having read it (twice already), and seen the movies, I was still enthralled by the characters, the amazing settings, and the story.

LOVE LOVE LOVE this book!!!

Recommended to:
Everyone who likes magic, fantasy, amazing characters or stories where someone small achieves something huge against overwhelming odds with the help of his friends. I will say that Voldemort can be frightening and when I read this to my daughter in second grade, she was a little scared of him. We waited a year to move on to the next one. ( )
1 vote Jadedog13 | Feb 3, 2016 |
My friends keep asking why has it taken so long for me to read Harry Potter. The answer is no clue. I must say that I finished this in two days so my answer is I love it! What a great book!

For the rest of the review, visit my blog at: http://angelofmine1974.livejournal.com/101164.html ( )
  booklover3258 | Feb 3, 2016 |
I really love this book. ( )
  worldsaway | Feb 3, 2016 |
I guess if I were still a teenager I would have enjoyed it much more but I just could not get my mind right. ( )
  sundowneruk | Feb 2, 2016 |
I "reread" this over the last week or so by listening to the Stephen Fry audiobook. It's fantastic. I seriously recommend it for anyone who's read the books before but would like a slightly different experience. I'll certainly be listening to the other ones! Also, this is book 100. I achieved my challenge!

***
Harry Potter tends to be one of those things that either works for you or it doesn't. I was just about the right age when the books came out (I must have been around eight-ish when I read the first two and it continued from there) and I always felt that contributed to my affection for the series; I was almost seventeen when the final book was released and just in that same period of almot-adulthood that the protagonist was enduring at the same time.

I've read (and reread) all of the books several times. This first is a reasonably simple adventure story right until the end, and I can't fault it for that. There are hints of things to come in the future - nothing is more prescient, nor creepy, than the suggestion that Dumbledore set it all up so that Harry and Voldemort would face each other - but nothing too heavy. Although, in saying that, retrospectively the Mirror of Erised scene is a bit fucked up. I'm not sure I would like to be confronted with my heart's deepest desire like that, though I suppose that's sort of the point.

These books were responsible for a lot of my formative reading development, and for that I can't fault them, but I appreciate that this is one of the less fully-formed installments. ( )
  thebookmagpie | Jan 30, 2016 |
I "reread" this over the last week or so by listening to the Stephen Fry audiobook. It's fantastic. I seriously recommend it for anyone who's read the books before but would like a slightly different experience. I'll certainly be listening to the other ones! Also, this is book 100. I achieved my challenge!

***
Harry Potter tends to be one of those things that either works for you or it doesn't. I was just about the right age when the books came out (I must have been around eight-ish when I read the first two and it continued from there) and I always felt that contributed to my affection for the series; I was almost seventeen when the final book was released and just in that same period of almot-adulthood that the protagonist was enduring at the same time.

I've read (and reread) all of the books several times. This first is a reasonably simple adventure story right until the end, and I can't fault it for that. There are hints of things to come in the future - nothing is more prescient, nor creepy, than the suggestion that Dumbledore set it all up so that Harry and Voldemort would face each other - but nothing too heavy. Although, in saying that, retrospectively the Mirror of Erised scene is a bit fucked up. I'm not sure I would like to be confronted with my heart's deepest desire like that, though I suppose that's sort of the point.

These books were responsible for a lot of my formative reading development, and for that I can't fault them, but I appreciate that this is one of the less fully-formed installments. ( )
  hoegbottom | Jan 30, 2016 |
I "reread" this over the last week or so by listening to the Stephen Fry audiobook. It's fantastic. I seriously recommend it for anyone who's read the books before but would like a slightly different experience. I'll certainly be listening to the other ones! Also, this is book 100. I achieved my challenge!

***
Harry Potter tends to be one of those things that either works for you or it doesn't. I was just about the right age when the books came out (I must have been around eight-ish when I read the first two and it continued from there) and I always felt that contributed to my affection for the series; I was almost seventeen when the final book was released and just in that same period of almot-adulthood that the protagonist was enduring at the same time.

I've read (and reread) all of the books several times. This first is a reasonably simple adventure story right until the end, and I can't fault it for that. There are hints of things to come in the future - nothing is more prescient, nor creepy, than the suggestion that Dumbledore set it all up so that Harry and Voldemort would face each other - but nothing too heavy. Although, in saying that, retrospectively the Mirror of Erised scene is a bit fucked up. I'm not sure I would like to be confronted with my heart's deepest desire like that, though I suppose that's sort of the point.

These books were responsible for a lot of my formative reading development, and for that I can't fault them, but I appreciate that this is one of the less fully-formed installments. ( )
  hoegbottom | Jan 30, 2016 |
Wow! I did not know how good this series really was but I'm glad I finally started reading them. Fun page turner! ( )
  Erika.D | Jan 28, 2016 |
This book is the beginning of a completely fundamental series. As a beginning, it is the best thing in the world. J.K. Rowling has done something wonderful with this novel, she made me laugh, she made me cry. But in the end, it was a perfect way to bond with books. I really suggest that teachers and parents mention this book to there children. ( )
  krazykatwriter | Jan 27, 2016 |
4.5 of 5 stars:

Read this on my blog and see what else I read in the month of May!

I realize I’m a little late to the Harry Potter game. Reading the series has been on my to do list since the movies came out ages ago, but I’m lazy and a seven part series is a much bigger bite of my reading time than a novel or trilogy (obviously) so it’s taken me a bit to get started. Reading the series, however, was in my bookish goals of 2015 so it had to be started. I will be honest, the first 100 pages of this book I was thinking “okay, um, gonna erase this to-do from my list” because it was sooooo hard to get through. But once Harry stepped foot on Hogwarts premises, I was hooked. I get that back story can drag and I think my issue was just the need to get acquainted with Rowling’s writing style. Now that I’m invested, I look forward to reading the rest of the series! ( )
  racarpenter94 | Jan 27, 2016 |
A fun if rather juvenile fantasy that can be enjoyed on many levels. The downtrodden come out on top - which is the important thing. Were it true that bullies always got their own, the world would be a much better place. To delve into this sort of make-believe is better than facing the brutal truth. ( )
  dbsovereign | Jan 26, 2016 |
I will never tire of this series. I read these book to my children and hope to read them to my grandchildren some day. Whether you are ten or one hundred and ten Harry Potter is sure to delight. ( )
  Dband54 | Jan 26, 2016 |
My 10th time through ( )
  nraichlin | Jan 26, 2016 |
This, the first Harry Potter book, has a plot a bit like Cinderella meets Mallory Towers, with a touch of the Wizard of Oz and a hint of The Hobbit. Harry, brought up by his ghastly relatives, gets the surprise of his life on his 11th birthday. He goes to Hogwarts school and makes new friends.

Thus begins an exciting - and ongoing - school story, with Harry and his new friends attempting to learn to harness and use their gifts, making plenty of choices, and thwarting evil.

Well-written, humorous in places, interesting characters, and and a thrilling ending. Excellent.

Even better on re-reading for the fourth time! Recommended to anyone over the age of about eight. ( )
  SueinCyprus | Jan 26, 2016 |
uhh Harry Potter, need I say more. This book was the basis of my HP obsession during my teen years and my current age. I will always love these books. ( )
  alwelker | Jan 25, 2016 |
Regarding the 2015 edition with new illustrations, Jim Kay's art is just as vibrant and imaginative as its source material. Re-re-re-reading this was a pleasure. ( )
  SomethingIshy | Jan 25, 2016 |
I'm finally getting around to "reading" the HP series, since I've already seen all of the movies and I was told by my coworkers I should be fired for not reading them. Hah! :) Great introduction to the series. I loved listening to Jim Dale for this. He read all of the characters very well.

Of course I already knew what was going to happen, the style of writing didn't surprise me. All in all a very good YA book. A little less advanced than what I'd prefer, obviously, but I can appreciate it for what it is! ( )
  kristilabrie | Jan 25, 2016 |
Showing 1-25 of 1200 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.27)
0.5 17
1 147
1.5 59
2 578
2.5 177
3 2882
3.5 696
4 6588
4.5 820
5 11020

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,260,089 books! | Top bar: Always visible