HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian…
Loading...

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian Edition of Harry Potter and… (original 1997; edition 2011)

by J. K. Rowling

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
78,02810941 (4.26)7 / 857
Hbooks12's review
L'inizio di una grande amicizia tra me e le pagine di questo libro e di quelli che sono seguiti.Harry Potter è stato prezioso per me perchè in un periodo in cui non avevo nessun'altro è stato il mio unico rifugio e il mio unico punto di forza. Ho letto tutti libri un centinaio di volte,ma ogni volta scopro qualcosa di nuovo e ogni volta trovo un consiglio utile e adatto alla situazione che sto vivendo.Tutti e 7 i libri hanno dei particolari speciali che li rendono tutti perfetti;in questo primo libro mi piacciono le prove finali prima di arrivare alla pietra, in particolare la prova di logica di Piton e quella della scacchiera.Oltre a questo mi piace molto il pezzo in cui Hermione copre Ron ed Harry dopo l'avventura con il troll,e ovviamente la parte dello specchio delle brame... a volte vorrei avere quello specchio per poter capire cosa vuole davvero il mio cuore...
  Hbooks12 | May 22, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (1,039)  Dutch (12)  German (9)  Italian (8)  Spanish (8)  French (4)  Finnish (3)  Danish (3)  Swedish (2)  Hungarian (2)  Catalan (2)  Portuguese (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  Russian (1)  All languages (1,095)
Showing 1-25 of 1039 (next | show all)
I was a relative late-comer to Harry Potter, I read the first book when I was in high school I think. This was an amazingly fast read for me. I would say though compared with the others in the series Chamber of Secrets is definitely more of a 'light' read, meaning less in depth than the others, though it is a fantastic start to a great series. I would also say it is very difficult to look at each of the books individually, because of the nature of the series they very easily flow into the next, almost as if you're setting one book down for a moment in time rather than say the 'entire summer' before Harry returns to school. I like this book so much I have it in two formats hardback and paperback...that should tell you a lot about how I feel about it. ( )
  ouladybird2005 | Jul 21, 2014 |
I'm not a huge fan of the Harry Potter series, but I did enjoy this book. Everybody knows the story of Harry Potter, the boy who lived. I think it had some parts that were kind of slow and it definitely made me not want to read the rest of the books. ( )
  hockeyzc58 | Jul 16, 2014 |
Summary of book: Harry Potter is a boy who has led an unfortunate life. His parents have died and he is in the care of his aunt and uncle. He is forced to live like a slave and sleep in a small cupboard under the stairs. Everything changes on his 12th birthday when a mysterious stranger comes to collect him and tell him that he is a wizard. Harry can hardly believe it. Soon he is in a world that he cant believe is real and meeting new friends. For once, Harry is feeling like he belongs- until he finds out the horrible truth about his parents and is faced with danger he never could have imagined. This book takes you on a magical adventure and keeps you interested with thrills and excitement!

Personal Reaction: I grew up with Harry Potter. I read every single one of these books twice. It started when I was about the same age as him and I feel as if we grew up together. When the movies came out- my parents would make a whole day of it. Watching these movies with them were some of my favorite memories. The series really helped me grow up and was fun to read.

Extension Ideas:
1. I would have the students create a fantasy would where they would have magical powers and write about their adventures.
2. I would ask my students how they would feel about becoming wizards. Would they accept the letter from Hogwarts? Why?
3. I would have my students create their own school with magical rooms and whatever kind of activities they wanted. ( )
1 vote Gizellecardiel | Jul 14, 2014 |
Summary:
Harry Potter is about a little boy after being raised by his evil aunt and uncle for the last eleven years, discovers he is a wizard. He finds out he is one of the most famous wizards in the world, because he survived and attack from one of the most powerful wizards in the world, Lord Voldemort. With his new found powers he finds himself immersed in the wizard world, and attend Hogwarts schools of witchcraft and wizardry. At Hogwarts, Harry finds new adventures. He discovers that Hogwarts is home to the Sorcerer's Stone, a powerful stone that gives everlasting life, and he believes it is going to be stolen. Harry and his friends decide to find the stone to protect it, and they come to find out that the person that is trying to steal it is Lord Voldemort. Harry must face Voldemort for the first time since he tried to kill Harry and prevent Voldemort from getting the stone and returning to power.

Personal Reaction:
This was a first time to read this book. It is full of adventure and excitement that keeps you turning the pages. This is a book that I would be leery about using in the classroom. Lots of parents including myself wouldn't want their children to read it at a young age.

Classroom Extension: (Even though I wouldn't use this book in a classroom sitting)
1. Creative Writing Idea: Imagine you have just received a letter of acceptance to a new school. What would that new school be about.
2. Creative Writing #2: If you just discovered you had a new power, what would it be and how would you use it for good?
  Tarakalynn | Jul 14, 2014 |
Harry Potter is one of those books that I've been avoiding reading...but we read it as part of a book club at school...and Rowling is good. It's a fun book, that I enjoyed reading...and I will, no doubt, read the rest of the series (in time..). ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
Harry Potter is one of those books that I've been avoiding reading...but we read it as part of a book club at school...and Rowling is good. It's a fun book, that I enjoyed reading...and I will, no doubt, read the rest of the series (in time..). ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
Do you remember entering that wonderful world of books as a child? The books by Enid Blyton et al and the tales of the Knights of the Round Table and of Robin Hood; the Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys sleuthing stories; the Sherlock Holmes mysteries and the ones by Agatha Christie? The school stories and the stories of magic and mystery and mayhem; and the ones where you could fly or where the foundling who turned out to be the hero who saved the world?

Well, this book rolls all of those into one, and does it well.

Though we see Harry Potter arriving at his Aunt Petunia's house under mysterious circumstances, we first really meet him as he is approaching his tenth birthday, and finds out he has a magical heritage, when he is invited to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, run by its eccentric headmaster Albus Dumbledore.

After introducing us to Harry and his circumstances, this book covers Harry's first year of (secondary) school as he is introduced to the magical community. As its existence has been hidden from him until now, he is as clueless as we are and we learn along with him about this alternative world.

I must confess that I only started reading this series because my husband bought the fourth book ([Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire]) for me and, being a completist, I had to start at the beginning. I've always found it hard to pinpoint how I feel about the books since they were already so famous.

Rowling's world building is solid and fairly consistent. This first book is quite light in tenor (wizarding folk can be spotted in our world by their odd clothing and brightly coloured cloaks for instance), though Harry and his friends face danger and some people do get hurt - but they can be healed magically. The story is paced well, with the right amount of action and adventure and quirkiness - and not forgetting the ick factor so essential for the target age group.

Professor Snape is deliciously villainous. The Dursleys are so very bad to Harry, but it's so tongue-in-cheek that you don't feel very sorry for him, because - anyway - you know he's going to go to Hogwarts and learn magic - because it says so on the back. ;0)

I leave you with the school song :

"Everyone pick their favourite tune," said Dumbledore, "and off we go!"

Hogwarts, Hogwarts, Hoggy Warty Hogwarts,
Teach us something please,
Whether we be old and bald
Or young with scabby knees,
Our heads could do with filling,
With some interesting stuff,
For now they're bare and full of air,
Dead flies and bits of fluff,
So teach us things worth knowing,
Bring back what we've forgot,
Just do your best, we'll do the rest,
And learn until our brains all rot.


4 stars ( )
1 vote humouress | Jul 4, 2014 |
One of my favorites! ( )
  MelissaPatek | Jun 24, 2014 |
One of my favorite books! It really propelled my interest in reading! It helped me learn so much about reading strategies and vocabulary development. ( )
  melissapatek48 | Jun 23, 2014 |
Great book. This was the book that got me to love reading as a kid. ( )
  ShansMousey | Jun 21, 2014 |
I have been curious about the Harry Potter books for a long time but when they were first released - seventeen years ago! - I decided that I would wait to read them until I had children of my own so we could read them together for the first time. (I'm a planner.) This summer both my nine and seven year old sons decided to start the series so I did too.
My plan is not working exactly how I wanted it to though. The boys have way more free time than me and are tearing through this series. Cash, my nine-year old, finished the last book in the series this week and West, my seven-year old, is on book four. And I've still only read the first one! (I have read other books in the meantime though.) We are watching the movies together as they finish the books that correspond with each one. I don't mind the books being spoiled for me by watching the movies. And I sincerely hope that the books are better because I have not been impressed by the movies so far. More on that in later posts.
So...Harry Potter. Long-time readers know that I don't read much fantasy and when I do, I usually don't like it. I'll cut to the chase and tell you that I did like this book but I'm not a raving fan girl about it. Not yet anyway. Part of that may be that it's really hard for a book to live up to over fifteen years of major hype. I was expecting it to be the Holy Grail of middle grade fiction.
It WAS a great story, with fun characters. Even the "evil" aunt and uncle were pretty bumbling and funny, which was good because if they were darker, it would have freaked West and other sensitive children out. I think I felt more sorry for poor Harry and the treatment he got, with having to sleep in the cupboard and not getting good food, than my boys did.
The thing that bothers me about fantasy is that at times it seems too easy to advance the plot with magic. There are usually no basic rules that must be followed like in science fiction world-building. That happens a little bit in this book but not as much as in other fantasy books I've read. In one instance, Harry needs something and it magically appears in his pocket. Why? How? That kind of thing bothers me. I think my favorite magic article in this book was the mirror. I liked what it did and how it affected Harry when he looked into it.
The bottom line is that my boys and millions of other kids LOVE this book. Kids who were reluctant readers read this book and were reluctant no more. For whatever reason, this book touches kids and sparks their interest in reading. And that is the most important thing. ( )
  mcelhra | Jun 18, 2014 |
this is an amazing book ( )
  saraheggy | Jun 18, 2014 |
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is about this boy named Harry, who is a wizard, and how he gets invited to a wizarding school named Hogwarts. Hogwarts is a school for wizards, and teachers teach the children witchcraft and wizardry. Harry meets a boy named Ron Weasley and a girl name Hermione Granger. They have a very good adventure when they have to go on a mission to get a stone that will make a person stay alive forever. The conflict is that the kids are trying to save the stone from He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named (Voldemort), a bad wizard who killed Harry's mom and dad. When Voldemort was doing this, Harry managed to stay alive, even though his parents died.

Lots of other adventures happen in the story, like when the kids have to search for the stone and encounter a room full of flying keys, where Hermione gets lost. She catches up with them and then all three kids have to play a titanic-sized game of chess, where the pieces come to life. A final adventure is when Harry learns to play Quiddich, which is a game where the players fly on broomsticks.

I thought J.K. Rowling put in a lot of detail and made the book interesting by adding details that allow children to use their imagination to pretend they are one of the characters. I liked this book because it was fun and exciting.

--Nolan, age 7
  Nolanhahn | Jun 13, 2014 |
Harry Potter is special, he just doesn't know it yet. Harry Potter lives in a boring suburb with his aunt, uncle and cousin who hate and mistreat him. All that changes when a mysterious letter arrives for Harry followed by the appearance of a giant man who informs Harry that he is a wizard! And that he has been invited to enroll at the prestigious Hogwarts Academy for Witchcraft and Wizardry. Once Harry finds platform 9 3/4 and travels to Hogwart's nothing will be the same again!
  gfurth | Jun 12, 2014 |
A lovely, fast-paced stpry that appeals to boys and girls alike. As a mistreated orphaned child approaches his eleventh birthday, he has no idea his world is about to change forever. Fantastical adventures beyond his wildest dreams await him!
  ameliagilbertson | Jun 9, 2014 |
A fantasy book about a lonely and isolated boy who is acutally a wizard. His journey is one of good vs evil, as well as an acceptance of himself.
  laurlou | Jun 9, 2014 |
This book definitely does an amazing job at hooking you into the entire series! Although this is a fantasy-based novel, set in a fictional world, anyone can relate to the characters and their feelings. Even though Harry, Hermione and Ron are facing huge trolls and evil Wizards, children can still relate to them, learn from their actions, and strive for their courage. This is a wonderfully detailed book with many positive messages!
  ErinnnPratt | Jun 9, 2014 |
In the first book of this fantasy series, a young boy learns he may be one of the most powerful wizards who has ever lived, despite his wretched life living with his aunt, uncle and cousin. Harry begins school at Hogwarts, and quickly learns to use his magic to overcome evil.
  kfh2 | Jun 8, 2014 |
I really enjoyed breezing through this delightful fantasy. It was full of mystery and surprise. I am looking forward to making my way through the rest of the series.

I know some Christians schools have banned this book in the library and classroom and I felt a little uncomfortable with the words "witch" and "witchcraft." I think that I will reserve my judgements until I get a little deeper into the series.

I also think that this is a book that is just for fun: this is not an enduring classic like Peter Pan. In my opinion, it is below the level of A Wrinkle in Time. There are some universal themes and wisdom, but they are a little haphazard. However, this is her very first work. I am sure she will do nothing but get better and I like her creativity and sense of adventure! ( )
  aconant | Jun 6, 2014 |
I've just read this book for the THIRD time, now that my best friend has picked up the series and I'd like to take a summer and study JK's writing style.

JK's style is easy, clean, funny, and slightly indifferent. Something happens, usually funny to some degree, like Hagrid sitting in a chair and it breaking, JK just tells it as it is with simple words strung together the best way possible, so it sounds like she just tells it how it is, but yet is hilarious.

Also, her foreshadowing is fantastic! In just the first chapter, there as at LEAST five foreshadowments, and some of them hinting at things that won't be revealed until the third book or later. A name, a description, an explanation. It's all very subtle.

As for her morals, which is a heated discussion amongst Christians, is simple: Rowling shows strong morals of friendship, loyalty, and the classic battle against Good and Evil from the correct perspective: Good will eventually win in the end. Although there is points in the book where the protagonists deliberately decide to break the rules to save Hogwarts and lives, and although they do seem to get away with quite a bit of it, it's not an oppressive theme that is designed to egg on kids to disobey their authority. Looking at the series as a whole, sometimes I'll hear that the "good teachers" are ones that let Harry get away with rule breaking and the "bad teachers" are ones that punish Harry for rule breaking. This statement is false. Professor Mcgonagall and Professor Snape are two great examples of this. Mcgonagall is the strict head of Griffindor house, as well as a teacher. Particularly in this book, she busts Harry and his friends for being out of bed after hours. Although the protagonists aren't at all happy about their detention, the book never hints that the reader is suppose to dislike Mcgonagall. In fact, by the end of the series, you actually are quite fond of her. Snape, the head of Slytherine and rival of Griffindor, also busts Harry and his friends for rule breaking. However, he finds great joy in doing it and often makes up rules simply to tell them off or try to get them expelled (the reason for this is explained in future books). He favors his own students (who border on the line of evil) and openly humiliates Harry and the others, often making fun of them for things they can't help.

As for the magic issue: when the argument arose amongst Christians, let me just point out, that many of them read those fake articles from places like The Onion, which makes up stories and publishes them, like internet hoaxes. Stories that Rowling was possessed when she wrote them, or that the books encourage readers to study witchcraft is completely false. There is no subliminal urge to tamper with true witchcraft or learning real spells. In fact, there is absolutely NO demonic or satanic influences in this series. And, as a side note, I would whole-hearted say that Harry Potter is more morally sound and Biblically friendly even, than Hunger Games, Twilight, Divergent, Fault in Our Stars, or any other band wagon book of the recent years. There is very little bad language in the series, no immoral romance, lust, or other themes parents would want to screen from their kids.

The plot is fantastic, the characters well-rounded, and the writing is beautiful and classic. Yes, I would recommend Sorcerer's Stone whole-heartedly, especially if the choice is among other band wagon books. The only suggestion I would give if an elementary student were to pick this up, I would suggest the parent talk to their kid as he read the book so the parent can answer questions like "Is magic really real?", which, of course, can be asked about pretty much any fantasy book of this time.

Things to watch out for:
Language: "What the devil"-1, "Good L*"-1
Violence: small explosions, accidents when dealing with magic spells, most of which are supposed to be funny, attempted strangle, talking of hanging students by their ankles in the dungeons as punishment, though not taken seriously, man is bitted by a monster, bewitched broom tries to kill a main character
Drugs: brief alcohol references, The Leaky Cauldron is a bar and inn
Other: use of magic, being referred to as "witchcraft" though absolutely none of it is demonic or satanic

Rated fifth grade and up ( )
  Jenneth | Jun 2, 2014 |
This was my favorite book in the series. It was very well written. I thought it was nerveracking. It was very suprising. I think all her books are very good. I think she is a very talented author.
This is a book about a boy with magical powers. He was left by his mother with his aunt and uncle and there son who are terrible to him. One day a man comes and takes him to a school for wizards. He is a very talened student. He finds a trap door and there is a three headed dog on it there he has to see what is under it. ( )
  eli.burnett | May 30, 2014 |
I just read this book about a young kid in a school for wizards and witches. I think this book could be HUGE. ( )
  dtn620 | May 22, 2014 |
J.K. Rowling is a late in life genius. I found Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is awesomely inventive and creative. Her magical world pulls you in and traps you into wanting to read more and more. Can't wait to read the next! ( )
  NicolefromCarmel | Apr 29, 2014 |
I enjoyed every single Harry Potter book. The storyline is always good and the author gives great details in the book to where you feel like you are in the story. ( )
  EmilySansovich | Apr 27, 2014 |
Shorter than I remember it being, and less detailed. Perhaps it was because the last time I read it, I was younger and things seem to last longer when you read slower.
  liveshipvivacia | Apr 26, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 1039 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.26)
0.5 18
1 124
1.5 58
2 547
2.5 176
3 2677
3.5 678
4 6106
4.5 783
5 10009

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,690,480 books! | Top bar: Always visible