Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian…

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian Edition of Harry Potter and… (original 1997; edition 2011)

by J. K. Rowling

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
82,36312122 (4.26)7 / 863
L'inizio di una grande amicizia tra me e le pagine di questo libro e di quelli che sono seguiti.Harry Potter è stato prezioso per me perchè in un periodo in cui non avevo nessun'altro è stato il mio unico rifugio e il mio unico punto di forza. Ho letto tutti libri un centinaio di volte,ma ogni volta scopro qualcosa di nuovo e ogni volta trovo un consiglio utile e adatto alla situazione che sto vivendo.Tutti e 7 i libri hanno dei particolari speciali che li rendono tutti perfetti;in questo primo libro mi piacciono le prove finali prima di arrivare alla pietra, in particolare la prova di logica di Piton e quella della scacchiera.Oltre a questo mi piace molto il pezzo in cui Hermione copre Ron ed Harry dopo l'avventura con il troll,e ovviamente la parte dello specchio delle brame... a volte vorrei avere quello specchio per poter capire cosa vuole davvero il mio cuore...
  Hbooks12 | May 22, 2012 |
English (1,145)  Dutch (12)  German (10)  Spanish (10)  Italian (8)  French (5)  Finnish (3)  Danish (3)  Hungarian (2)  Catalan (2)  Portuguese (1)  Russian (1)  Swedish (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  All languages (1,204)
Showing 1-25 of 1145 (next | show all)
The message behind this book is that love is defeat anything if you are brave enough to stand up for what you believe in.
I really enjoyed reading this book because of the writing style of the author. She was able to create such a vivid description of Hogwarts, the characters, monsters, and the magic. She included some tiny details but in a way that made them seem very important and memorable for the readers. Because she was able to make the details so important and the characters so life like, as a reader I was able to relate with the characters so well. I started to feel sympathetic towards them and I became very engrossed in finishing the book.
I also enjoyed the characters, themselves. I was able to relate and picture them in my head quite well as I was reading. They seemed so real. I enjoyed how they grew over the course of the story. They were not simple, stale characters. They overcame their insecurities, they became friends, they changed. During most stories, the characters don’t learn much, they are the same person they are from the beginning to the end, but these characters are the complete opposite. I loved watching them grow. ( )
  graceberry | Nov 23, 2015 |
A beautifully illustrated edition of the first in a wonderful series of children's books. It was fun to see how Jim Kay imagined the characters, and added so much to the story. I would love to have him illustrate all the HP books (though the size of books 4-7 would be immense or perhaps have to be in volumes if they were illustrated in color). ( )
  whymaggiemay | Nov 17, 2015 |
"Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" is the first book in series of 7. It is an incredible series with amazing plot construction. It teaches children about having courage and being brave. It also exemplifies great friendships. ( )
  mlw539 | Nov 16, 2015 |
Wonderful series that teaches courage and bravery in order to save the innocent. ( )
  Blaire_Stewart | Nov 16, 2015 |
One of my all time favorite books. ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 12, 2015 |
"Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" by J.K. Rowling, is the first of a seven book series filled with adventure and excitement. From the book’s first pages, I was immediately hooked. J.K. Rowling’s conversational, yet eloquent style of writing sparked my imagination. In the duration of the first few pages, I was already laughing out loud. The way the characters interacted with each other was always the main source. They are all extremely relatable, which definitely made every scene funnier due to the fact that it was more realistic. Each character reminded me of someone I knew in my own life, and I feel like that's the case for many others. Everybody knows a spoiled kid that needs to get their way like Dudley, or a bossy and nosey girl like Hermione. The main character, Harry is very relatable in the sense of the emotional and physical struggles he goes through being a teenager, let alone his rough life at home. When he finally does leave his old life behind to live the life he wanted to, he travels to this magical place that draws the reader in further. His new school, Hogwarts, is a truly magical place, not only in the most obvious way but also in all the detail that the author has gone to describe it so vibrantly. It is the place that everybody wishes they could of gone to when they where eleven. Rowling is one of the most successful authors of our century and it's no wonder. The way she pulls the reader in while sparking so much imagination and interest goes to show why her novels are best sellers. ( )
  allypomper | Nov 3, 2015 |
This is the first book in the Harry Potter series. This book introduces the reader to the world of Harry Potter. It tells of Harry's parents being murdered and that he lives with his aunt and uncle and has no idea that he is a wizard. The most famous wizard. Harry learns that he is a wizard and goes to the school Hogwarts for witchcraft and wizardry. This was my first time reading one of the Harry Potter books. The book has many differences than the movie. I liked the book more. This book grabs the reader and makes them want to keep reading and reading. I didn't want to put the book down. ( )
  fmccas1 | Nov 3, 2015 |
I also own and have read the German version, _Harry Potter und der Stein der Weisen_. An absolutely wonderful book, though at first I admit avoiding it because of all of the hype, I eventually had to read it because of a party my bookstore was hosting and got so sucked in I immediately devoured the next two books. Soo much better than the movie - I can't believe J.K. Rowling mutilated her own work like that! ( )
  BethHatchel | Oct 31, 2015 |
The book is about a young boy namedHarry Potter, he has a scar on his forhead and wears glasses. He lives with his uncle and aunt, who are very cruel to him. One day he gets a letter claiming he is a wizard and he gets to go to a wizard school called Hogwarts. There he mets friends and enimies. He also finds out about secrets in his past, like how got the scar on his forehead from the evil wizard that killed his parents named Voldemort. Every one seems to know Harry Potter because of this.
I honestly really liked this book. I just read it this year and it is probably one of my favorites. I gave this book a raiting of 5 stars based on the voice and story. The voice has a lot of confidence, excitement, and explains the story so well without any confusion. Plus, J.K. Rowling is one of my favorite authors, so that just tops it all off. This book is the first book in the Harry Potter series. Its a fictional book, and it really makes you see a visual picture because the book is so well descripted. ( )
  hannahL.G1 | Oct 30, 2015 |
This is the first book in the Harry Potter series. So what happened in the book was Harry figures out he is a wizard and how his parents died. Unfortunately his parents died from a dark wizard Voldemort who tried to get them to help him and the other Dark wizards. But when he tried this on Harry it did not work so easily and Voldemort went into hiding no longer powerful. Later on, when Harry is in Hogwarts he sees his least favorite teacher roaming the school and go through the forbidden door. Behind that door are a bunch of obstacle courses mad by the teachers and a big dog to keep the sorcerer's stone safe. The sorcerer's stone can have someone live longer. Which is why Voldemort came back. Towards the end Harry, Ron, and Hermione think Snape will take it and go after him. But when Harry(the other two sent him and they stayed) gets down he sees Proffeser Quirrel who is actually Voldemort take the stone. Long story short Voldemort was defeated once more and Harry won the Hose cup for his house for the first year in forever
I am giving this book a five star rating because being the first book in the series it is one of my favorites. I started and finished in a day because it was so great! If you like magic and fantasy and little twists then Harry Potter is for you. My favorite parts are always the twist within the book. The last thing that I like was the descriptions of each character or thing in the. Especially the big dog Fluffy. I really recommend this book if you have not read it yet. ( )
  Paris.Hudson | Oct 30, 2015 |
Illustrations are gorgeous, and the story is, of course, phenomenal. Highly recommend this to all Potter lovers. ( )
  Overcastallen | Oct 28, 2015 |
Harry is a boy who gets saved when his parents died when he was a baby.And he gets sent to his aunt and uncle .When he grows up he gets permission to go to the great witchcraft and wizard school Hogwarts.But the family tires not to get him sent to the school . When the letter arrives for the suplies for the school he meets Hagrid . He helps Harry getting his supplies for school and as a birthday present he receives a white snowy owl by Hagrid.I like the book how the author really described the felling and how they first came into Hogwarts and how Harry really wanted to get into Griffendor . ( )
  AnikaU13 | Oct 27, 2015 |
I told my sister I was not going to read any Harry Potter books until after the last Harry Potter movie was released. Since the last movie was released recently, I decided it was time for me to read the book. And yes, as most of you already know, it is very good. ( )
  writerfidora | Oct 26, 2015 |
Well, it just took me what, ten years to finish this book. And while the writing no longer makes me shake, or gives me horrible migraines, I didn't think it was fantastic. The story is okay. The characters are okay. It's sort of a middle of the road thing for me at this point.

Which explains why I'm like four weeks behind my Harry Potter group read. I just couldn't get all that into it, and read it straight through. And while stuff like Quidditch is well through out, there's nothing that I can see that's horribly creative in a 'I can't get enough way'. I have Kadrey for that in fantasy, thank you very much. (He's clever, and hilarious, too. And oh my god, his use of language is just fucking orgasmic. I seriously need to reread the Sandman Slim series.)

Eeeeeh. I'll try to catch up on the group read, but I'm not super excited or anything. Onto The Chamber of Secrets. ( )
  All_Hail_Grimlock | Oct 25, 2015 |
I admit it...I am one of those people who never read Harry Potter growing up. In fact, I only recently read the first book in the series this year. GASP! To add to the mix, I have seen every Harry Potter movie, multiple times even. Oh, and I've visited the Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios (the 3-hour wait for the ride is totally worth it by the way). When I finally hunkered down to read the much-acclaimed Sorcerer's Stone, I went in with lots of expectations, especially wondering if all of the hype I had heard about it would be true. I was also worried that it would be too "kiddie" to read as an adult.

Within the first chapter, this book easily became one of my favorites. J.K. Rowling effortlessly invites you into her magical world, which leaves a delightfully whimsical lasting impression on any child or adult. I now know why this book is so popular and I must say that all of the hype is 100% true. Although this would've been awesome to read growing up, I think I appreciate it that much more now (especially as a writer). I'm pleased to say that I'm on to the next books in the series and plan to finish them all.

Everyone needs to read Harry Potter (even just the first book) at least once in your lifetime. You won't regret it. Unless you're a Muggle. ( )
  amieiwinters | Oct 22, 2015 |
First read not long after initial publication. Re-reading (audiobook) October 2015. ( )
  JennyArch | Oct 14, 2015 |
'Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone,'' by J. K. Rowling, a magnificent first novel from England that won major scholarly grants and has been at the highest point of the grown-up hit records there, and is having the same sort of achievement here as well. Poor Harry Potter is stranded as a child and is sent to live with his evil close relative and uncle, Petunia and Vernon Dursley, and their fat child, Dudley. While Fat Dudley Dursley has two rooms (one only for his surplus toys, similar to the TV set he put his foot through when his most loved show was scratched off), Harry is compelled to rest in a creep space under the stairs, hosts never had a birthday gathering in his 11 years and must wear his cousin's way loose leftover garments.

However, Harry is bound for enormity, as we probably am aware from the lightning-formed scar on his brow, and one day he strangely gets a notification via the post office declaring that he has been decided to go to Hogwarts, the country's world class school for preparing wizards and witches, the Harvard of divination. Before he is done, Harry Potter will meet a mythical beast, make companions with a despairing centaur and fight with a three-headed puppy; he will figure out how to fly a floor brush and how to utilize a shroud that makes him undetectable. In spite of the fact that this hocus-pocus is delightful, the enchantment in the book is not the genuine enchantment of the book. Much like Roald Dahl, J. K. Rowling has a present for keeping the feelings, reasons for alarm and triumphs of her characters on a human scale, even while the powerful is popping out everywhere.

We feel Harry's apprehension when interestingly he is heading out to a faraway spot, a 11-year-old kid arriving alone at the King's Cross train station with a trunk greater than he is, and no thought how to discover Platform 9. This is a world where a few individuals know from conception that they are wizards, and are raised by their alchemist folks to go to reasonable old Hogwarts, while others, as Harry - brought up in human or what Rowling calls ""Muggle"" families - don't figure out that they have unique forces until they get their acknowledgment letters. As Harry stresses that first day over whether he can contend with the favored offspring of Hogwarts alums, I got myself recollecting 30 years to my first days at Harvard, considering how, originating from a hands on shipyard town and an open secondary school, I could ever rival preppies from Exeter and Andover.

''I wager I'm the most noticeably awful in the class,'' says Harry.

''You won't be,'' says a companion. ''There's heaps of individuals who originate from Muggle families and they learn sufficiently brisk.''

The book is brimming with superb, wily amusingness. Exam period at Hogwarts implies exposition tests, as well as viable exams as well. ''Teacher Flitwick called them one by one into his class to check whether they could make a pineapple tap-move over a work area. Teacher McGonagall watched them transform a mouse into a snuffbox - focuses were given for how beautiful the snuffbox was, yet taken away on the off chance that it had bristles.''

All through the vast majority of the book, the characters are stunningly three-dimensional (at times four-dimensional!) and move along consistently through the account. Be that as it may, a couple times in the last four parts, the narrating starts to sputter, and there are turns I discovered chafing and invented. To serve the plot, characters start carrying on unusual. Most perceptibly, Hagrid, the tender titan of a maintenance person who has sacrificially ensured Harry again and again, all of a sudden turns so childish he is willing to let Harry be rebuffed for something that is Hagrid's issue. That is not the Hagrid I'd come to know.

These are minor reactions. All in all, ''Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone'' is as entertaining, moving and amazing as the story behind its written work. J. K. Rowling, an educator via preparing, was a 30-year-old single parent living on welfare in a cool one-room level in Edinburgh when she started composing it in longhand amid her child girl's rest times. In any case, as Harry Potter, she had wizardry inside, and has taken off past her unobtrusive Muggle surroundings to accomplish something very unique. ( )
  Eduzaurus | Oct 12, 2015 |
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is an amazing and adventurous book about a boy named Harry Potter who is a wizard, who, in the past, was not able to be killed by an extremely powerful, and evil wizard named Voldemort. Harry was dropped off on his cruel aunt and uncle's doorstep when he was only a baby, after Voldemort killed his parents. Harry discovers that he is a wizard, and he goes to Hogwarts, the school for witches and wizards. Harry's life is wonderful, but he soon figures out that one of the teachers is trying to get a powerful weapon - the Sorcerer's Stone, a powerful weapon that can make someone immortal. Harry and his friends find clues to who is trying to get the stone, but they need to get in a lot of trouble in the process. I liked this book because of the adventure and the hidden clues that the author puts in the book. I think the author ( J.K. Rowling) did a wonderful job writing the book because she added in so much suspense and surprises that you can't put the book down. ( )
  JillianK25 | Oct 8, 2015 |
Summary: This is the extraordinary story of orphan Harry Potter who discovers he is more than he thinks he is. By taking a train to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, Harry discovers more than just magic- he discovers friendship, and finds family unlike anything he has ever known before.

Personal Reaction: I personally love the Harry Potter series. It is amazing to see so much creativity put into a book, and to be given a character you want to see become successful after having suffered so much. It really gives the audience something worthwhile.

Classroom extensions: I think it would be great for students to draw out what they think Platform 9 3/4 looks like, or what kinds of candy they believe should be incorporated into this world. ( )
  CelesteJoy | Oct 5, 2015 |
One of the greatest series of all-time. The books are much better than the movies which I would rate a 3. J.K. Rowling is a genius! ( )
  Dodgerdoug | Sep 30, 2015 |
This is a great book series, and I regret not having read them as they came out. The characters are colorful and invoke emotion. Harry's adventures are fun and fanciful, but have a serious side to them as well. These books are great for any age will keep you engaged till the very end. ( )
  alanbuffington | Sep 17, 2015 |
I wanted to wait until all the mania around this series had died down. I think it's safe to I waited long enough.
I can certainly see why this book is what it is. It has so many fun elements that would excite its young audience! Wizards, mystery, comedy. And at the heart of it a story about friendship, hope and courage!
I'm certainly hoping the rest of the series grows up with Harry and becomes more mature, because I found the writing very young! Which makes sense. However, its not my favorite writing style. Luckily, everything I've heard says that it does get more mature, which excites me to continue reading the series.
It certainly had the makings of a classic from this very first novel, and it clearly is just that.
Overall I'm happy I finally joined the bandwagon, and am happy to say that it's a good banwagon to be on! ( )
  Kiddboyblue | Sep 16, 2015 |
I enjoyed this book for a great number of reasons. Firstly, the plot was fascinating and despite the fact that I have read it many times prior to now, I was still enticed in the plot. The story was very suspenseful and the plot was thick with conflict and tension. The plot followed the characters through one year of school and detailed all of the major events over the course of this year at Hogwarts. I think that this helped keep the plot very organized and at one pace. The plot was definitely the most riveting part of this story but I also enjoyed other aspects. The language in this story was amazing; J.K. Rowling used very descriptive language and painted pictures in the readers heads. For example, when reading about Harry Potter finding the right wand for him, you can almost feel what he feels when Rowling describes it. She writes "Harry took the wand. He felt a sudden warmth in his fingers. He raised the wand above his head, brought it swishing down through the dusty air and a stream of red and gold sparks shot from the end like a firework, throwing dancing spots of light on to the walls." (page 85) This is just one of the many examples of the author using descriptive language to give the reader an image. One other thing that I loved about this book was the characters. It was very easy to relate to these well-developed characters which is something very important for children books. Each character in the story was believable and the reader almost felt like they knew them. Readers could feel like they were playing Quidditch with Harry Potter, best friends with Ron Weasley, or fighting a troll with Hermoine Granger because these characters were made to be so realistic. The big idea of this story was that bravery and courage can take you a long way, and that believing in yourself is a crucial aspect of success. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone was a magnificent story that I would suggest to any children in the 2nd-5th grade range! ( )
  CasieProdoehl | Sep 14, 2015 |
I am glad I finally broke down and read this book! I wish that I had started it when it first came out so that I could have grown up reading it, but I am glad that I understand now why everyone loves this series! ( )
  BridgettKathryn | Sep 6, 2015 |
@hp_sorcerers ( )
  Lorem | Sep 4, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 1145 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers


Average: (4.26)
0.5 17
1 143
1.5 59
2 571
2.5 178
3 2834
3.5 692
4 6477
4.5 813
5 10765

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,880,974 books! | Top bar: Always visible