HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian…
Loading...

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian Edition of Harry Potter and… (original 1997; edition 2011)

by J. K. Rowling

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
78,60211051 (4.26)7 / 858
Hbooks12's review
L'inizio di una grande amicizia tra me e le pagine di questo libro e di quelli che sono seguiti.Harry Potter è stato prezioso per me perchè in un periodo in cui non avevo nessun'altro è stato il mio unico rifugio e il mio unico punto di forza. Ho letto tutti libri un centinaio di volte,ma ogni volta scopro qualcosa di nuovo e ogni volta trovo un consiglio utile e adatto alla situazione che sto vivendo.Tutti e 7 i libri hanno dei particolari speciali che li rendono tutti perfetti;in questo primo libro mi piacciono le prove finali prima di arrivare alla pietra, in particolare la prova di logica di Piton e quella della scacchiera.Oltre a questo mi piace molto il pezzo in cui Hermione copre Ron ed Harry dopo l'avventura con il troll,e ovviamente la parte dello specchio delle brame... a volte vorrei avere quello specchio per poter capire cosa vuole davvero il mio cuore...
  Hbooks12 | May 22, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (1,046)  Dutch (12)  German (9)  Italian (8)  Spanish (8)  French (5)  Danish (3)  Finnish (3)  Hungarian (2)  Catalan (2)  Swedish (2)  Portuguese (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  Russian (1)  All languages (1,103)
Showing 1-25 of 1046 (next | show all)
The Harry Potter Series has always been my favorite books. One thing I liked about the first book are the characters. In the first book you are just getting introduced to the characters but you really learn to like them the more you read. For example, we first think that Hermione is just a know-it-all but later we come to find out that she is really kindhearted and nice. Another reason I liked this book is because it is thrilling and keeps the reader interested. For example, the three headed giant dog that they all encounter on the third floor corridor had me reading to find out why it was there. Overall, I think the big message of this book is that bravery and friendship can get you through almost anything.
  rjayne2 | Sep 18, 2014 |
Summary: Harry Potter is, more or less, an ordinary boy, until his eleventh birthday, when a giant arrives in the midst of a thunderstorm to inform Harry that he is a wizard. But not only is Harry Potter a wizard, he is a famous wizard, whose name is known throughout the secret wizarding community for vanquishing the most evil wizard of all time, Lord Voldemort, when he was a baby. So Harry goes off to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry to learn magic. He has a number of excellent adventures, and stumbles upon a plot to steal the Sorcerer's Stone, an object that has the power to give eternal life and unlimited amounts of gold. He and his friends, Ron and Hermione, manage to stop their teacher, who is working for the (defeated but not dead) Voldemort, from stealing the Stone, and Harry returns to his aunt and uncle's house to while away the summer until next school year.

Review: This is the first book in a series that will probably define my generation. It is a fantastic story, unlike anything that there ever was before. Though it can be treated as an escape from real life, there are also valuable lessons to be learned from this book, if the reader digs deeper, such as: your home is where you are happiest. Harry's home is not the house where he was raised by his aunt and uncle; it is his school, where lives his true family of friends and teachers who care for him more deeply than his relatives. All in all, a wonderful, marvelous book that I recommend to anyone and everyone.

Central Idea of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone: Love is one of the most powerful forces in the world. ( )
  jlampr1 | Sep 16, 2014 |
There is really no way to do this book justice. I felt years younger in spirit just from reading it. This is all.


( )
  bookqueenshelby | Sep 9, 2014 |
What can I say? Harry is great. Rowling does such an excellent job creating this alternate world, full of so much detail that the reader's imagination has no limits. This is akin to the Star Wars universe. So many opportunities to use this book with students.
  hugo.johnson | Aug 13, 2014 |
The book that led me through life, there will never be one so flawless again. ( )
  writercity | Aug 13, 2014 |
I'm ju-u-ust heading into my twenties, and I had never read a Harry Potter book before. I figured I was probably too old to enjoy them by now, but I decided to pick a used copy up for fifty cents at a library fundraiser.

Wow! I have not had such a quick, purely enjoyable read in a while. Everything about it oozes fun - Rowling is great at painting mental pictures, and her characters warmed my heart with their familiarity and depth.

Depth. In a kids' book. Who'd have thought?

I honestly didn't know what I had been missing, but I'm an avid fan and catching up quickly! ( )
  zhyatt | Aug 12, 2014 |
“To the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure.”

Incredible, magical and totally hilarious. Spell awestruck. M-E. I can't believe I've put off reading this book for years. Well, now at least I know what the fuss is all about. I really wished I've read this sooner!

The plot:

It was unique and exceptionally good. I can't help but loved Hogwarts and wished it to be a real school. The classes are so cool, I mean, we all wished somehow to learn how to fly sometime in our lives, right?

The world building is fascinating. I was truly delighted while exploring Harry's world, learning about those complicated things like Quidditch, the houses, the sorting hat! At first, I was having a hard time dealing with them but then again that's common when starting books.

The characters:

Harry Potter. I admire Harry for even though he grew up in a family that treated him like dirt, he still managed to have a brave and kind heart. He has serious self-worth issues at first but he managed to somehow overcome them.

“Don't play," said Hermione at once.
"Say you're ill," said Ron.
"Pretend to break your leg," Hermione suggested.
"Really break your leg," said Ron.”


The friendship between Harry, Ron and Hermione is amazing. The bonds between them was formed by really extraordinary circumstances. Hermione Granger is such a headstrong girl. Obviously, she's a good company and influence to have. A little bit of a perfectionist at the beginning but she started to loosen up by the end of the book. Ron Weasley is a great friend and sidekick. He's fiercely loyal and I'm happy Harry and Ron stick together since the beginning.

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to
our enemies, but just as much to stand up to
our friends.”


The other characters were introduced and portrayed perfectly. The Dursley Family annoyed me so much, I mean, Harry slept in the cupboards? :O Draco Malfoy sucks and I just know that he's going to be some kind of a villain in the next books.

Everyone added something to fuel my interest more, as if it needed fueling. I can't wait to hear about Harry and his gang's next adventure!

The ending:

It was so awesome! I was really shocked at the turn of some events and I did not expect that one guy to be the villain at all!

Okay. I didn't need to say anything more. Definitely looking forward to continuing this series. :) ( )
  margaraawr | Aug 8, 2014 |
“To the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure.”

Incredible, magical and totally hilarious. Spell awestruck. M-E. I can't believe I've put off reading this book for years. Well, now at least I know what the fuss is all about. I really wished I've read this sooner!

The plot:

It was unique and exceptionally good. I can't help but loved Hogwarts and wished it to be a real school. The classes are so cool, I mean, we all wished somehow to learn how to fly sometime in our lives, right?

The world building is fascinating. I was truly delighted while exploring Harry's world, learning about those complicated things like Quidditch, the houses, the sorting hat! At first, I was having a hard time dealing with them but then again that's common when starting books.

The characters:

Harry Potter. I admire Harry for even though he grew up in a family that treated him like dirt, he still managed to have a brave and kind heart. He has serious self-worth issues at first but he managed to somehow overcome them.

“Don't play," said Hermione at once.
"Say you're ill," said Ron.
"Pretend to break your leg," Hermione suggested.
"Really break your leg," said Ron.”


The friendship between Harry, Ron and Hermione is amazing. The bonds between them was formed by really extraordinary circumstances. Hermione Granger is such a headstrong girl. Obviously, she's a good company and influence to have. A little bit of a perfectionist at the beginning but she started to loosen up by the end of the book. Ron Weasley is a great friend and sidekick. He's fiercely loyal and I'm happy Harry and Ron stick together since the beginning.

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to
our enemies, but just as much to stand up to
our friends.”


The other characters were introduced and portrayed perfectly. The Dursley Family annoyed me so much, I mean, Harry slept in the cupboards? :O Draco Malfoy sucks and I just know that he's going to be some kind of a villain in the next books.

Everyone added something to fuel my interest more, as if it needed fueling. I can't wait to hear about Harry and his gang's next adventure!

The ending:

It was so awesome! I was really shocked at the turn of some events and I did not expect that one guy to be the villain at all!

Okay. I didn't need to say anything more. Definitely looking forward to continuing this series. :) ( )
1 vote margaraawr | Aug 8, 2014 |
I was a relative late-comer to Harry Potter, I read the first book when I was in high school I think. This was an amazingly fast read for me. I would say though compared with the others in the series Chamber of Secrets is definitely more of a 'light' read, meaning less in depth than the others, though it is a fantastic start to a great series. I would also say it is very difficult to look at each of the books individually, because of the nature of the series they very easily flow into the next, almost as if you're setting one book down for a moment in time rather than say the 'entire summer' before Harry returns to school. I like this book so much I have it in two formats hardback and paperback...that should tell you a lot about how I feel about it. ( )
  ouladybird2005 | Jul 21, 2014 |
I'm not a huge fan of the Harry Potter series, but I did enjoy this book. Everybody knows the story of Harry Potter, the boy who lived. I think it had some parts that were kind of slow and it definitely made me not want to read the rest of the books. ( )
  hockeyzc58 | Jul 16, 2014 |
Summary of book: Harry Potter is a boy who has led an unfortunate life. His parents have died and he is in the care of his aunt and uncle. He is forced to live like a slave and sleep in a small cupboard under the stairs. Everything changes on his 12th birthday when a mysterious stranger comes to collect him and tell him that he is a wizard. Harry can hardly believe it. Soon he is in a world that he cant believe is real and meeting new friends. For once, Harry is feeling like he belongs- until he finds out the horrible truth about his parents and is faced with danger he never could have imagined. This book takes you on a magical adventure and keeps you interested with thrills and excitement!

Personal Reaction: I grew up with Harry Potter. I read every single one of these books twice. It started when I was about the same age as him and I feel as if we grew up together. When the movies came out- my parents would make a whole day of it. Watching these movies with them were some of my favorite memories. The series really helped me grow up and was fun to read.

Extension Ideas:
1. I would have the students create a fantasy would where they would have magical powers and write about their adventures.
2. I would ask my students how they would feel about becoming wizards. Would they accept the letter from Hogwarts? Why?
3. I would have my students create their own school with magical rooms and whatever kind of activities they wanted. ( )
1 vote Gizellecardiel | Jul 14, 2014 |
Summary:
Harry Potter is about a little boy after being raised by his evil aunt and uncle for the last eleven years, discovers he is a wizard. He finds out he is one of the most famous wizards in the world, because he survived and attack from one of the most powerful wizards in the world, Lord Voldemort. With his new found powers he finds himself immersed in the wizard world, and attend Hogwarts schools of witchcraft and wizardry. At Hogwarts, Harry finds new adventures. He discovers that Hogwarts is home to the Sorcerer's Stone, a powerful stone that gives everlasting life, and he believes it is going to be stolen. Harry and his friends decide to find the stone to protect it, and they come to find out that the person that is trying to steal it is Lord Voldemort. Harry must face Voldemort for the first time since he tried to kill Harry and prevent Voldemort from getting the stone and returning to power.

Personal Reaction:
This was a first time to read this book. It is full of adventure and excitement that keeps you turning the pages. This is a book that I would be leery about using in the classroom. Lots of parents including myself wouldn't want their children to read it at a young age.

Classroom Extension: (Even though I wouldn't use this book in a classroom sitting)
1. Creative Writing Idea: Imagine you have just received a letter of acceptance to a new school. What would that new school be about.
2. Creative Writing #2: If you just discovered you had a new power, what would it be and how would you use it for good?
  Tarakalynn | Jul 14, 2014 |
Harry Potter is one of those books that I've been avoiding reading...but we read it as part of a book club at school...and Rowling is good. It's a fun book, that I enjoyed reading...and I will, no doubt, read the rest of the series (in time..). ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
Harry Potter is one of those books that I've been avoiding reading...but we read it as part of a book club at school...and Rowling is good. It's a fun book, that I enjoyed reading...and I will, no doubt, read the rest of the series (in time..). ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
Do you remember entering that wonderful world of books as a child? The books by Enid Blyton et al and the tales of the Knights of the Round Table and of Robin Hood; the Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys sleuthing stories; the Sherlock Holmes mysteries and the ones by Agatha Christie? The school stories and the stories of magic and mystery and mayhem; and the ones where you could fly or where the foundling who turned out to be the hero who saved the world?

Well, this book rolls all of those into one, and does it well.

Though we see Harry Potter arriving at his Aunt Petunia's house under mysterious circumstances, we first really meet him as he is approaching his tenth birthday, and finds out he has a magical heritage, when he is invited to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, run by its eccentric headmaster Albus Dumbledore.

After introducing us to Harry and his circumstances, this book covers Harry's first year of (secondary) school as he is introduced to the magical community. As its existence has been hidden from him until now, he is as clueless as we are and we learn along with him about this alternative world.

I must confess that I only started reading this series because my husband bought the fourth book ([Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire]) for me and, being a completist, I had to start at the beginning. I've always found it hard to pinpoint how I feel about the books since they were already so famous.

Rowling's world building is solid and fairly consistent. This first book is quite light in tenor (wizarding folk can be spotted in our world by their odd clothing and brightly coloured cloaks for instance), though Harry and his friends face danger and some people do get hurt - but they can be healed magically. The story is paced well, with the right amount of action and adventure and quirkiness - and not forgetting the ick factor so essential for the target age group.

Professor Snape is deliciously villainous. The Dursleys are so very bad to Harry, but it's so tongue-in-cheek that you don't feel very sorry for him, because - anyway - you know he's going to go to Hogwarts and learn magic - because it says so on the back. ;0)

I leave you with the school song :

"Everyone pick their favourite tune," said Dumbledore, "and off we go!"

Hogwarts, Hogwarts, Hoggy Warty Hogwarts,
Teach us something please,
Whether we be old and bald
Or young with scabby knees,
Our heads could do with filling,
With some interesting stuff,
For now they're bare and full of air,
Dead flies and bits of fluff,
So teach us things worth knowing,
Bring back what we've forgot,
Just do your best, we'll do the rest,
And learn until our brains all rot.


4 stars ( )
1 vote humouress | Jul 4, 2014 |
One of my favorites! ( )
  MelissaPatek | Jun 24, 2014 |
One of my favorite books! It really propelled my interest in reading! It helped me learn so much about reading strategies and vocabulary development. ( )
  melissapatek48 | Jun 23, 2014 |
Great book. This was the book that got me to love reading as a kid. ( )
  ShansMousey | Jun 21, 2014 |
I have been curious about the Harry Potter books for a long time but when they were first released - seventeen years ago! - I decided that I would wait to read them until I had children of my own so we could read them together for the first time. (I'm a planner.) This summer both my nine and seven year old sons decided to start the series so I did too.
My plan is not working exactly how I wanted it to though. The boys have way more free time than me and are tearing through this series. Cash, my nine-year old, finished the last book in the series this week and West, my seven-year old, is on book four. And I've still only read the first one! (I have read other books in the meantime though.) We are watching the movies together as they finish the books that correspond with each one. I don't mind the books being spoiled for me by watching the movies. And I sincerely hope that the books are better because I have not been impressed by the movies so far. More on that in later posts.
So...Harry Potter. Long-time readers know that I don't read much fantasy and when I do, I usually don't like it. I'll cut to the chase and tell you that I did like this book but I'm not a raving fan girl about it. Not yet anyway. Part of that may be that it's really hard for a book to live up to over fifteen years of major hype. I was expecting it to be the Holy Grail of middle grade fiction.
It WAS a great story, with fun characters. Even the "evil" aunt and uncle were pretty bumbling and funny, which was good because if they were darker, it would have freaked West and other sensitive children out. I think I felt more sorry for poor Harry and the treatment he got, with having to sleep in the cupboard and not getting good food, than my boys did.
The thing that bothers me about fantasy is that at times it seems too easy to advance the plot with magic. There are usually no basic rules that must be followed like in science fiction world-building. That happens a little bit in this book but not as much as in other fantasy books I've read. In one instance, Harry needs something and it magically appears in his pocket. Why? How? That kind of thing bothers me. I think my favorite magic article in this book was the mirror. I liked what it did and how it affected Harry when he looked into it.
The bottom line is that my boys and millions of other kids LOVE this book. Kids who were reluctant readers read this book and were reluctant no more. For whatever reason, this book touches kids and sparks their interest in reading. And that is the most important thing. ( )
  mcelhra | Jun 18, 2014 |
this is an amazing book ( )
  saraheggy | Jun 18, 2014 |
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is about this boy named Harry, who is a wizard, and how he gets invited to a wizarding school named Hogwarts. Hogwarts is a school for wizards, and teachers teach the children witchcraft and wizardry. Harry meets a boy named Ron Weasley and a girl name Hermione Granger. They have a very good adventure when they have to go on a mission to get a stone that will make a person stay alive forever. The conflict is that the kids are trying to save the stone from He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named (Voldemort), a bad wizard who killed Harry's mom and dad. When Voldemort was doing this, Harry managed to stay alive, even though his parents died.

Lots of other adventures happen in the story, like when the kids have to search for the stone and encounter a room full of flying keys, where Hermione gets lost. She catches up with them and then all three kids have to play a titanic-sized game of chess, where the pieces come to life. A final adventure is when Harry learns to play Quiddich, which is a game where the players fly on broomsticks.

I thought J.K. Rowling put in a lot of detail and made the book interesting by adding details that allow children to use their imagination to pretend they are one of the characters. I liked this book because it was fun and exciting.

--Nolan, age 7
  Nolanhahn | Jun 13, 2014 |
Harry Potter is special, he just doesn't know it yet. Harry Potter lives in a boring suburb with his aunt, uncle and cousin who hate and mistreat him. All that changes when a mysterious letter arrives for Harry followed by the appearance of a giant man who informs Harry that he is a wizard! And that he has been invited to enroll at the prestigious Hogwarts Academy for Witchcraft and Wizardry. Once Harry finds platform 9 3/4 and travels to Hogwart's nothing will be the same again!
  gfurth | Jun 12, 2014 |
A lovely, fast-paced stpry that appeals to boys and girls alike. As a mistreated orphaned child approaches his eleventh birthday, he has no idea his world is about to change forever. Fantastical adventures beyond his wildest dreams await him!
  ameliagilbertson | Jun 9, 2014 |
A fantasy book about a lonely and isolated boy who is acutally a wizard. His journey is one of good vs evil, as well as an acceptance of himself.
  laurlou | Jun 9, 2014 |
This book definitely does an amazing job at hooking you into the entire series! Although this is a fantasy-based novel, set in a fictional world, anyone can relate to the characters and their feelings. Even though Harry, Hermione and Ron are facing huge trolls and evil Wizards, children can still relate to them, learn from their actions, and strive for their courage. This is a wonderfully detailed book with many positive messages!
  ErinnnPratt | Jun 9, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 1046 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.26)
0.5 18
1 125
1.5 58
2 554
2.5 174
3 2696
3.5 679
4 6151
4.5 788
5 10093

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,780,577 books! | Top bar: Always visible