HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian…
Loading...

Harry Potter e la Pietra Filosofale (Italian Edition of Harry Potter and… (original 1997; edition 2011)

by J. K. Rowling

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
80,66411681 (4.26)7 / 862
L'inizio di una grande amicizia tra me e le pagine di questo libro e di quelli che sono seguiti.Harry Potter è stato prezioso per me perchè in un periodo in cui non avevo nessun'altro è stato il mio unico rifugio e il mio unico punto di forza. Ho letto tutti libri un centinaio di volte,ma ogni volta scopro qualcosa di nuovo e ogni volta trovo un consiglio utile e adatto alla situazione che sto vivendo.Tutti e 7 i libri hanno dei particolari speciali che li rendono tutti perfetti;in questo primo libro mi piacciono le prove finali prima di arrivare alla pietra, in particolare la prova di logica di Piton e quella della scacchiera.Oltre a questo mi piace molto il pezzo in cui Hermione copre Ron ed Harry dopo l'avventura con il troll,e ovviamente la parte dello specchio delle brame... a volte vorrei avere quello specchio per poter capire cosa vuole davvero il mio cuore...
  Hbooks12 | May 22, 2012 |
English (1,108)  Dutch (12)  German (10)  Spanish (9)  Italian (8)  French (5)  Finnish (3)  Danish (3)  Catalan (2)  Swedish (2)  Hungarian (2)  Portuguese (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  Russian (1)  All languages (1,167)
Showing 1-25 of 1108 (next | show all)
I was surprised at how good the writing was - exciting, humorous language, detailed descriptions and magical world made completely real. I did not expect to enjoy Harry Potter, to tell you the truth. I have never been a fan of movies and there was too much hype about the books. But finally I decided to do it - I have read it in a few days and I do not regret a minute of it. This is like an action fantasy book - it more revolves around events than characters and their growth. I really cannot say that characters are interesting (and I do mean the first book only, as I have no idea about character development later on), but the circumstances they live in, adventures they have and trouble they get themselves into - definitely interesting, and entertaining. Plus, it is really sweet reading both a kid & adult friendly book nowadays when writing books becomes more about what will sell than how to tell a good story. All in all - I liked it & will be reading other parts! ( )
  v_allery | Apr 19, 2015 |
Harry Potter: The Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling is a story about a young boy named Harry Potter. He is being taken care of by his uncle and aunt, who treat him very poorly and blame him for every bad thing that happens. One day, a mysterious visitor named Hagrid appears at their door on Harry’s birthday and tells Harry that he is a wizard. He tells Harry that his parents were killed by a man named Voldemort, who was unable to kill Harry. Hagrid takes Harry with him to a magic school called Hogwarts, where Harry will learn to become one of the greatest wizards of all time.

I enjoyed Harry Potter: The Sorcerer’s Stone. The book had a very good plot and setting, interesting characters, and smart twists and turns in the conflict. The book had a lot of vivid detail used to describe the characters and the setting. In addition, Harry Potter is a fantasy book, which is one of my favorite genres. Overall, Harry Potter: The Sorcerer’s Stone was a very good story which I enjoyed reading.
  Jobr14 | Apr 12, 2015 |
I love all the books, and I love movies too (although I wish they hadn't changed some things). I reread all the book last year, and I loved it just as much as reading it for the first time. It is more than a story for children, it is a story for the ages. ( )
  mlg11031112 | Apr 10, 2015 |
harry finds that he is a powerful wizard that had survived a blast from a dark wizard. With his parents dead harry has to live with his aunt and uncle. ( )
  gerbillover | Mar 27, 2015 |
The Harry Potter book are a phenomena for a reason, they are just that good. Rowling has created a character in Potter than any child across the world can relate to and stand for to see him come out on top in the end. Her portrayal of poor, young, neglected Harry is what entices a reader to first fall in love with the boy under the cupboard and everything after that is his climb to popularity of "the chosen one". Children connect to this because they feel dramatically wronged in life and that they deserve a star filled ending like HP.
Rowling fantastical description of Hogwarts is another element that draws a reader in. Her world building is so elaborate and full of fantasy that every reader hopes and wishes to be a witch or wizard in Hogwarts. There's a reason many 11 year old sit by their mailbox on their birthday waiting for a letter to arrive.
A great book and series to start kids on reading or maybe get a "book hater" to turn around. ( )
  crieder95 | Mar 26, 2015 |
Summary: A boy is orphaned when he was an infant due to, what he believed to be, a car accident. He was raised by his aunt and uncle who treated him very poorly, which led to him feeling alone and like an outsider. On his 11th birthday he received a letter accepting him into Hogwarts, a school for witches and wizards. It turns out his parents were magical and his aunt and uncle, who disapproved of magic, tried to hide this from him so he would be "normal". Once Harry finally makes it to Hogwarts, he is in awe of the magical world and finds that this is where he belongs. He quickly finds new friends and enemies in this new world. His new life is full of exciting and dangerous adventures as he defends the magical world from Lord Voldemort, a dark wizard responsible for the death of his parents.

Reflection: This is a very good book filled with action, excitement, and suspense. There are many twists and turns in the book and series that are sure to grab the readers attention. It is very easy to lose yourself in this book. It is very entertaining.

Extensions: There are many things you could do as a classroom extension with this book. One thing you could do is have the students write a story about their favorite part of the magical world. Another extension you could do would be to turn your classroom into the wizarding world and have everyone act as a witch or wizard.
  mikefletch | Mar 25, 2015 |
Summary
This book followed the adventures of Harry Potter, a teenage wizard who was taken away from his home and goes to a school for witchcraft and wizardry. He gets caught up in a series of events as he develops his magic.
Personal Reaction
I personally enjoyed reading this book. It was one that my cousin—who read this series many times over recommended to me. It was something I didn’t think I’d like it, but I thought that it was a good series.
Extension Ideas:
1) In class I can break my students up into different Hogwarts houses and arrange a point system so that they can earn points throughout the school year for good behavior.
2) In class I can have the children write a journal prompt based on their favorite character and why that specific character is their favorite.
  GSoto95 | Mar 25, 2015 |
Lindsey Johnson

Book # 2

Genre-
Fantasy

Book Summary: Harry Potter stayed at the Dursley’s house all summer. Harry didn’t hear from his friends all summer until Ron and his brothers show up one night in a flying car and take him to the Weasley’s house. When Harry started his second year at Hogwarts people around campus start being found, frozen. They hear a story about a chamber of secrets with a beast that only the heir of Slytherin can unleash. Harry, Ron, and Hermione go about trying to find a way to stop this. Harry ends up down in the chamber of secrets and has to face the heir of Slytherin.

Personal Reaction: I enjoyed this book, it had great suspense. I think the children will really like reading it.

Extension Activities:
1. Write a story about Hagrid while he is in Azkaban.
2. Draw a picture of the snake that is in the chamber of secrets.
  LindseyJohnson | Mar 24, 2015 |
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone tells the story of a boy who discovers he is a wizard. He goes to a school called Hogwarts and there he meets two of his best friends for life, Ron and Hermione. He finds out that an evil wizard, Voldemort, tried to kill him when he was a baby and now he is back to try it again, so with the help of his friends he is able to defeat him. ( )
  gsacido | Mar 24, 2015 |
Summary:
Harry Potter was sent to live with his wretched aunt and uncle when his parents were killed. At age 11, Harry discovers that he is special and sent to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. He quickly befriends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger and becomes the youngest player on the Quidditch team. Near the end of the school year he defeats the wizard responsible for his parents’ death and returns home for the summer, knowing he has found his real home at Hogwarts.

Personal response:
Harry Potter is well written. It explains itself thoroughly, explaining foreign terms clearly. I visualized the settings and characters very closely to the way the author chose to have them portrayed in the movie. I do understand that some parents have an objection to the Harry Potter series based on the fact that it discusses magic. I contend (my personal opinion only) that children old enough to read Harry Potter books are able to understand that this is fiction. The book clearly offers lessons in against prejudice, bullying and sexism. The book deals with loss, friendship and universal problems that all human children may experience.

Learning Extensions:
Create a classroom “house cup” award points for behavior/academic excellence and reward the cup to the group with the most points periodically.
After reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, students should be provided a book review (New York Times, Goodreads.com etc.) and write their own review of the book. ( )
  Lena_Krenzke | Mar 23, 2015 |
Harry Potter is a book about a young boy that receives a letter to attend the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft. His parents were killed when he was a baby and he lived with his aunt and uncle. When Harry found out he was a wizard he had no idea how great he could be. When he got to the school besides learning his normal lessons he also finds out that the one, Voldemort, that killed his parents is somewhere around the school. He and his friends embark on a journey to find Voldemort and stop him from doing anymore evil. This book is exciting as ever. I'm glad I haven't seen the movies in a really long time and it allowed me to relive the journey all over again. I think this is a great read for 5th graders.
Classroom extension: I would have the students write a short story about what comes next for Harry Potter after he defeats Voldemort.
Or, I would have the students (in groups of 3) write a story about how they would defeat Voldemort together. ( )
  emedwards | Mar 22, 2015 |
Harry Potter is a wonderful book series, continually loved by children and even adults, so vividly written, there is another world created where everything has been thought of. Some books have bits left out and blank spaces that don't make sense but harry potter is a world thats real. From the orphaned child with mean guardians to a world of high fantasy and adventure !
  jessicaevelyn | Mar 14, 2015 |
Harry Potter is loved by tons of kids due to its high intensity and high adventure. This book should not be assigned, but rather available for kids to read. be careful of parents wanting to censor out fantasy books.
  harleybrenton | Mar 12, 2015 |
A less than ordinary boy discovers his new identity in a world that has been hidden from him. I love happy endings. ( )
  sharlenehsmith | Mar 9, 2015 |
Orphaned as a baby, Harry Potter has spent 11 awful years living with his mean aunt, uncle, and cousin Dudley. But everything changes for Harry when an owl delivers a mysterious letter inviting him to attend a school for wizards. At this special school, Harry finds friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, as well as a great destiny that's been waiting for him...if Harry can survive the encounter. ( )
This review has been flagged by multiple users as abuse of the terms of service and is no longer displayed (show).
  Tutter | Mar 3, 2015 |
This story is a well written, powerful example that not everything can be as it seems and that every one of us is capable of accomplishing something great if we only put our minds to it. It, in my opinions, teaches children about perseverance and to try one’s best at all times. The characters are easy for a young child to relate to, as well as for an adult to grasp onto and see the merits of the characteristics of that individual. And yet, people still find fault in it. A lot of times, the reason a book makes it onto that list is because it challenges the basic tenets of one religion or another. Do the fanatics remember the constitution? That whole freedom of speech, freedom from religious persecution thing? Yeah, bet they forgot that one.

I refuse to censor what my child wants to read, as a parent.

My thoughts on Harry Potter from a parent perspective:

My oldest child asked for the Harry Potter books for his 6th birthday. Let’s set aside the sheer delight at a child wanting books instead of toys as a gift, especially at 6. That is a whole other blog post that I shall entertain eventually. But let’s look at what my thoughts about the book he asked for were:

Hmmm, Harry Potter, huh? Well, having either seen all movies to date at that time (2009) or read all books, I evaluated my thoughts on whether it was appropriate for my then 6 year old son to read. The answer was yes. As mentioned in the above-referenced post, I do not believe in censoring what my child reads. Yes, I understand there is a bit of violence and a few things some others may not think appropriate for a child his age. I get that. But the difference between me and some other people is this: I view it as an opportunity to learn and teach him. We discussed the parts that others might have thought inappropriate. We also discussed that some of the words in the book are not words we hear regularly, because it was written in England, and there are a few differences in our version of English and theirs. Which then led to a discussion about England and it’s history and culture. See how that worked out there? Great stuff.

This opened a door. Now, at nine, he has read the books, seen all of the movies, and amazingly, he never had nightmares because of it. Now, watching The Punisher with his stepfather, totally different story, that kind of creeped him out a little. But I digress.

Harry Potter is an excellent series that I feel all middle-grade children should read because it can teach them things about life. It opens the door for communication with parents about all sorts of things, not least of all the difference between fantasy and reality. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
This story is a well written, powerful example that not everything can be as it seems and that every one of us is capable of accomplishing something great if we only put our minds to it. It, in my opinions, teaches children about perseverance and to try one’s best at all times. The characters are easy for a young child to relate to, as well as for an adult to grasp onto and see the merits of the characteristics of that individual. And yet, people still find fault in it. A lot of times, the reason a book makes it onto that list is because it challenges the basic tenets of one religion or another. Do the fanatics remember the constitution? That whole freedom of speech, freedom from religious persecution thing? Yeah, bet they forgot that one.

I refuse to censor what my child wants to read, as a parent.

My thoughts on Harry Potter from a parent perspective:

My oldest child asked for the Harry Potter books for his 6th birthday. Let’s set aside the sheer delight at a child wanting books instead of toys as a gift, especially at 6. That is a whole other blog post that I shall entertain eventually. But let’s look at what my thoughts about the book he asked for were:

Hmmm, Harry Potter, huh? Well, having either seen all movies to date at that time (2009) or read all books, I evaluated my thoughts on whether it was appropriate for my then 6 year old son to read. The answer was yes. As mentioned in the above-referenced post, I do not believe in censoring what my child reads. Yes, I understand there is a bit of violence and a few things some others may not think appropriate for a child his age. I get that. But the difference between me and some other people is this: I view it as an opportunity to learn and teach him. We discussed the parts that others might have thought inappropriate. We also discussed that some of the words in the book are not words we hear regularly, because it was written in England, and there are a few differences in our version of English and theirs. Which then led to a discussion about England and it’s history and culture. See how that worked out there? Great stuff.

This opened a door. Now, at nine, he has read the books, seen all of the movies, and amazingly, he never had nightmares because of it. Now, watching The Punisher with his stepfather, totally different story, that kind of creeped him out a little. But I digress.

Harry Potter is an excellent series that I feel all middle-grade children should read because it can teach them things about life. It opens the door for communication with parents about all sorts of things, not least of all the difference between fantasy and reality. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
I resisted reading the Harry Potter series for a long time because I thought that anything that was so wildly popular and hyped could not possibly be as great as its reputation (I have yet to see the movies). I was wrong, of course. The first time around, I read the entire series cover to cover within a couple of days. I can honestly say that I loved every minute of it. It's a spectacular little romp with funny, courageous, and endearing characters that you can't help but love. It offers an escape into a world of magic, optimism, honor, and hope... a place where anything is possible. ( )
  crunchymunchkin | Feb 27, 2015 |
This is the first of the harry potter series. It introduces who he is and his family past. He is an orphan and this is his first time at hogwarts. Harry gets into mischief and explores the grounds. Harry deals with a stone that makes your life immortal. He runs into a three-headed dog, attacking troll, a violent life-size chess board which he maneuvers around. He finds out a lot about himself in this novel. ( )
  MeganBumeder | Feb 25, 2015 |
series- 5th grade- Harry lives with his aunt and uncle, Mr and Mrs. Dursley, after his mother and father died when he was an infant. He lives under the stairs. At age 11 he goes to the zoo and realizes he has some powers and can talk to snakes. A letter comes inviting him to go to Hogwarts for school. The Dursleys ignore the letter. Hagrad comes and takes Harry to Hogwarts.. Harry defeats Voldermort's host with the sorcerer's stone.
  RachelHollingsworth | Feb 24, 2015 |
For some reason,I just couldn't get into this book. And I really wanted to.

( )
  feenie1010 | Feb 22, 2015 |
I had a great time reading this book to our 6 children as we drove across the USA, camping and visiting historical sites. We got hooked into the Harry Potter series and enjoyed each and every book, as well as the movies based on them. We recommend these fun, adventuresome books into this magical world to children, families...and adults who just love children's books! ( )
  CILLYart4U | Feb 16, 2015 |
Harry Potter is the main character in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. This story takes place at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry is very smart, clever and will save the day even if it means breaking a lot of school rules. He lived with Mr. and Mrs. Dursley from the ages of 1-11. When he arrives at Hogwarts, Harry meets 2 friends, Hermione and Ron. He has a strange teacher named Snape. Harry, Ron , and Hermione think Snape stole the Sorcerers Stone. Are they right or are they wrong?

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is the best book I have ever read. All of the action will keep you reading until late at night. J.K. Rowling does an amazing job describing the scenes and the characters. She creates a movie in your mind. This book is a must read for all ages. ( )
  Olivia.Rose3 | Feb 15, 2015 |
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's (Philosopher's) Stone Review Why'd they change the name of this book for American readers? Did they think that we of the red, white, and food persuasion wouldn't understand what a philosopher was? 
 
Anyfuck, this was my second time reading this book, and I can honestly say I liked this one twice as much as I did the first time around. Being that I hated the paper it was written after my initial go at it, that means I enjoyed myself about fifty percent more. For a while it was like-a-chapter/hate-a-chapter, back and forth, until I got to the last three chapters. I liked those quite a bit, I did, and the final chapter was damn near a love. I somehow missed the message of this one the first time, and that saddens me. 
 
J. K. Rowling's accomplishments are amazing. She first wrote this book on napkins while she was homeless, if I'm correctly remembering the one interview I saw with her years back. This first novel in the series was rejected by various publishers numerous times, yet she kept pressing on. Now she's one of the most successful authors in the history of literature. I applaud her.
 
With that being said, this book is too middle grade for me. I'm in that tiny percentage of the population that doesn't feel like a kid while reading this book. I feel like an outsider, a muggle through and through. I don't much like that feeling, but it's honest. Books that make me feel young would be: Koontz's The Voice in the Night, King's It, and McCammon's Boy's Life. Never was a wizarding kind of guy. 
 
In summation: It's Harry Potter. Either you've read it or you've seen the movies. You've at least heard of it. Much like Star Wars, there aren't many people in the dark about Harry, Ron, and Hermoine. I'm looking forward to the later books, but this one was about middle of the road for me. 
 
  ( )
  Edward.Lorn | Feb 13, 2015 |
This is a realistic fantasy book. It is great for 5th graders because it is engaging and involves morals and twisting plot lines. It would be a transition book from shorter chapter books into longer chapter books. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is about a boy who finds out he is a wizard and he embarks on the adventure of a lifetime, on his way to becoming the greatest wizard in the world. He runs into conflict when him and his friends run into Voldemort, and Harry has to battle him for the first time. All is resolved when Harry destroys the stone that gives Voldemort powers. Harry learns that he must continue to be brave because it is his destiny to fight evil forces such as Voldemort, someday defeating him forever. The genre is fantasy fiction or modern fantasy.
  lauraleerose | Feb 10, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 1108 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.26)
0.5 17
1 132
1.5 59
2 563
2.5 175
3 2782
3.5 684
4 6330
4.5 798
5 10436

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 96,724,016 books! | Top bar: Always visible