HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Mysterious Universe: Supernovae, Dark…
Loading...

Mysterious Universe: Supernovae, Dark Energy, and Black Holes

by Ellen Jackson

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
739164,469 (3.63)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
This book is so informative it's amazing. The book, for the most part, follows the daily activities of Alex Filippeko as he tries to uncover the mysterious of our universe. For fans of "Through the Wormhole" and 'The Universe", you will be surprise to see that this book is basically the written version of some of those episodes. Also, the pictures are stunning and dazzling. ( )
  Remy_Ferrell | Nov 28, 2014 |
A look into the mystery of space. Nic Bishop does the photos, gives great photos of the space.
  Emily.Small | Mar 10, 2014 |
I'm going to put this somewhere between 3-1/2 and 4 stars. This is a rating in the context of the age group it was written for which is listed in the resource I use for age considerations as 8 to 12 year olds. It seems to me that the intention was to cover the subject in a way that would spark an interest in those just being introduced to science in general and astronomy/physics in particular. I believe it would do an excellent job of that. If you have any knowledge of the subject at all you probably won't get much out of it. It was a little hard sticking with this for me but some of the things I read are for the sake of evaluating whether I want to pass them on to a couple young friends. This will definitely be one that I pass on. ( )
  Yona | May 2, 2013 |
This book is about Alex Filippenko, an astronomer, who studies supernovae, dark energy, and black holes. It explains his job descriptions and the type of telescopes he uses to view space. He gives lots of information and facts throughout the book about the universe and a few pages about himself.
This book does not follow any order; it jumps from subject to subject and was hard to follow. Also, it was difficult to retain any of the information because the reader is trying to figure out what the author is discussing.
The illustrations fit well with the content of the book. There were plenty of bright, real-life images of stars, supernovae, and many other space related objects.
I thought the content level in this book was suitable for high school science classes; however, I would not use this book in my class. I thought it was hard to follow and was too technical. I read it out loud to my sixth grade son. He did not like the book and had a hard time keeping up with what subject was being discussed. ( )
  JCHolmes | Jan 31, 2013 |
The Mysterious Universe was a fascinating account of a day in the life of an astronomer. Often times students think that an astronomer only looks through a telescope and finds starts. This book of the Scientist in the Field series, really breaks down some deep, mind-boggling concepts for a middle school reader. The descriptions about supernovae and black holes leave the reader feeling not only well-informed, but also understanding his or her place in this ever growing universe. Mysterious Universe also leaves a reader with questions - a sign that the book, in a sense, worked. The scientist, Alex Fillippenko, is just a regular guy with a great sense of humor. This makes the idea of being a scientist so much closer to home than what a typical middle school student may think. While this book would be more applicable to a science class, I would quickly recommend it to any student who has an interest in science or space. It could also be used in a collaborative, interdisciplinary unit that is stirring in my head. ( )
  econnick | Nov 23, 2012 |
Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0618563253, Hardcover)

The universe is rapidly expanding. Of that much scientists are certain. But how fast? And with what implications regarding the fate of the universe?
Ellen Jackson and Nic Bishop follow Dr. Alex Fillippenko and his High-Z Supernova Search Team to Mauna Kea volcano in Hawaii, where they will study space phenomena and look for supernovae, dying stars that explode with the power of billions of hydrogen bombs. Dr. Fillippenko looks for black holes--areas in space with such a strong gravitational pull that no matter or energy can escape from them--with his robotic telescope. And they study the effects of dark energy, the mysterious force that scientists believe is pushing the universe apart, causing its constant and accelerating expansion.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:22:00 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

Follow Dr. Alex Fillippenko and his High-Z Supernova Search Team to Mauna Kea volcano in Hawaii, where they will study space phenomena and look for supernovae, dying stars that explode with the power of billions of hydrogen bombs. Dr. Fillippenko looks for black holes--areas in space with such a strong gravitational pull that no matter or energy can escape from them--with his robotic telescope. And they study the effects of dark energy, the mysterious force that scientists believe is pushing the universe apart, causing its constant and accelerating expansion.… (more)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
6 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.63)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2
2.5 1
3 3
3.5 2
4 7
4.5
5 2

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,389,823 books! | Top bar: Always visible