HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School, and…
Loading...

Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School, and Other Scary Things (2008)

by Lenore Look

Series: Alvin Ho (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5243819,294 (3.78)10
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 10 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 38 (next | show all)
A lighthearted, humorous story in the vein of Ramona Quimby, Junie B. Jones, et al. Looking forward to more about Alvin...

Audio edition narrated by Everette Plen. Young Everette voices Alvin's story with the exuberance we expect of Alvin, although at times the delivery is rushed and there's no difference between Alvin's voice and his brother's. But given that Everette is obviously a kid, I give him kudos for the effort. ( )
  Salsabrarian | Feb 2, 2016 |

If I were a lot younger I would have enjoyed this more. As it was, it was lightly entertaining & amusing.... If I were younger it would be funny.

Alvin Ho doesn't speak when out of his home.... he only has one friend, Flea, a one eyed girl w/ a gimpy leg. Alvin gets into so much trouble that his family sends him to a therapist, whom he ends up cussing out in Shakespearean language.....
( )
  Auntie-Nanuuq | Jan 18, 2016 |
This book is one in a series around Alvin Ho. This precious book tells the story of how Alvin Ho is so scared of school that he has what is usually referred to as selective mutism. As the story progresses, it shows that Alvin can overcome his fear of girls, and can make friends, in spite of his disability. ( )
  jlaurendine | Jan 25, 2015 |
Alvin Ho is a kid I would like to know. Alvin is full of insecurities, but he finds a true friend in the end. I love the Shakespeare cursing. It makes me want to read more Shakespeare so I can do it too. If I feel this way maybe kids will as well. ( )
  mosbor | Sep 20, 2014 |
***Listened to audiobook***

Loved it! See notes in other Alvin Ho book.
  pigeonlover | Mar 4, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 38 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
This book belongs to Sam Fisher, who inspired it. -L.L.
To all the little Year of the Pigs born last year, including two of my favorites: my nephew, Dylan, and, of course, my own little Leo. -L.P.
First words
The first thing you should know about me is that my name is Alvin Ho.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0375849300, Paperback)

ALVIN HO IS an Asian American second grader who is afraid of everything—elevators, tunnels, girls, and, most of all, school. He’s so afraid of school that, while he’s there, he never, ever, says a word. But at home he’s a very loud superhero named Firecracker Man, a brother to Calvin and Anibelly, and a gentleman-in-training, so he can be just like his dad.

From the author of the ALA Notable Ruby Lu series comes a funny and touching chapter book—perfect for both beginning and reluctant readers— that introduces a truly unforgettable character.


From the Hardcover edition.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:09:22 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

A young boy in Concord, Massachusetts, who loves superheroes and comes from a long line of brave Chinese farmer-warriors, wants to make friends, but first he must overcome his fear of everything.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
3 avail.
16 wanted
2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.78)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 5
2.5 3
3 24
3.5 13
4 49
4.5 3
5 20

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,202,424 books! | Top bar: Always visible