HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

El Tunel by Ernesto Sabato
Loading...

El Tunel (original 1948; edition 1948)

by Ernesto Sabato, Ernesto Sabato (Auteur)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,066407,857 (3.89)39
Member:AngelusSilesius
Title:El Tunel
Authors:Ernesto Sabato
Other authors:Ernesto Sabato (Auteur)
Info:Planeta (2006), Broché
Collections:Your library
Rating:***
Tags:roman, Argentine, ESP

Work details

The Tunnel by Ernesto Sábato (1948)

Recently added byLauraLara, Neurotauro, mcarmenbriones, cristination, private library, nico_cj, lucila.fernandez
Legacy LibrariesThomas Mann
  1. 10
    La gangrena by Mercedes Salisachs (caflores)
    caflores: Dos confesiones, dos personajes degradándose.
  2. 00
    Contempt by Alberto Moravia (giovannigf)
    giovannigf: Looking for pseudo-existentialist first-person narratives from paranoid misogynists consumed by jealousy? This is your lucky day! I'd recommend Sabato's novel over Moravia's because it's mercifully brief, but you should save yourself the grief and read Tolstoy's masterful "The Kreutzer Sonata" instead.… (more)
  3. 00
    Los suicidas/ The Suicide Victims (La Lengua) by Antonio Di Benedetto (Ronoc)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 39 mentions

Spanish (19)  English (16)  Italian (2)  Romanian (1)  German (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (40)
Showing 1-5 of 16 (next | show all)
I will say this is one of my favorite books, ever. Is short but it has so much inside! It makes you think about your life, it makes you think about the people that is next to you and your relations. Sabato manage to put all the ingredients in just one book is jut amazing. ( )
  CaroPi | May 6, 2014 |
Ernesto Sabato writes about an artist, Juan Pablo Castel, narrating his own story about desire and obsessive love through the lens of madness. I would describe the nature of the narrator, but let me quote his own assessment from early in the book:
"My brain was in pandemonium: swarming ideas, emotions of love and loathing, questions, resentment, and memories all blended together or flashed by in rapid succession." (p 47)
Juan had just discovered that his beloved Maria Iribarne was married to a blind man. He thinks, "why hadn't she warned me she was married?" There is much he does not know about Maria in spite of his longing for her; a longing that leads him to the brink of despair.

This story, set in Buenos Aires, is told from the narrator's point of view, but the narrator, like the narrator of Edgar Allan Poe's The Tell-Tale Heart, is deranged, living in an internal world that is filled with discontinuities with the outside world of other people because it is based on his own delusions rather than the real world. His thoughts seem to bounce between two poles represented by moments of acute focus on reality contrasted with a bizarre world where he understands no one and they do not understand him. All of this is enhanced by increasingly complex dreams. He wants to be with Maria but when she seemingly rejects him, by leaving for the "estancia" in the country, he retreats in to a world of "absolute loneliness". He describes this world:
"Usually the feeling of being alone in the world is accompanied by a condescending sense of superiority. I scorn all humankind; people around me seem vile, sordid, stupid, greedy, gross, niggardly. I do not fear solitude; it is almost Olympian." (p 81)

The novel is short with only thirty-nine short chapters over less than one hundred fifty pages. Even so it is complex and suspenseful although it begins with the seemingly straightforward declaration from the narrator that he is "the painter who killed Maria Iribarne." The obsessiveness of his love for Maria is demonstrated by both his stalking her, watching from a distance, and his imagining what she must be thinking, often extrapolating delusional thoughts from a brief note that she has written. For example, when she writes him the note "I think of you, too. Maria" he immediately begins to wonder if she was nervous and whether the note betrayed "real emotion" followed by exuberance over the signature. The simple act of her signing her name led Juan to a feeling that "she now belonged to me." (p 49)
The narrator gradually becomes more intense in his thoughts about Maria. This is accompanied by difficulties relating to the few other people he encounters in the book; symbolized by the disintegration of his painting and by references to the increasing turbulence of the sea.

The story is not without humor demonstrated best by Juan's encounter with a postal clerk who will not return to him a letter he has written to Maria. He demands that it be returned because he left out an important thought. As a reader you almost feel sympathy for Juan as his entreaties are blocked by the petty bureaucrat, but this lighter moment does not last long and the urge to sympathize melts away as he returns to his delusional world.

Ernesto Sabato has created a mesmerizing story of a man who has lost touch with reality and his obsessions over a married woman who eludes his grasp. He is an artist who cannot abide this world so he creates a world of his own. When the two worlds collide the consequences are grave. His narrator shares the sickness of Dostoevsky's narrator in Notes from Underground along with the life of urban denizens found in the works of Hamsun and Kafka among others. Brilliant in its evocation of this modern world it raises questions for any reader who dreams of other realities or shares, even in a little part, questions about the nature of the real world around himself. ( )
  jwhenderson | Mar 9, 2014 |
A novel that really shows the character's thoughts and makes one think like him. ( )
  Kirmuriel | Sep 19, 2013 |
A taut and powerful book, speckled with monologues like the Underground Man's or Josef K.'s, a violent and 'love story', and a hideous murder out of deluded obsession and possessive hatred. (This is no spoiler - our narrator tells you all this in Capitulo I).

When it was released in the late 1940s, it was then classified as an existential novel, in the vein of Dostoyevsky and Camus. Presently, however, it may be regarded more of a successor to the former, in its psychological portrait of a deranged man and his ugly descent into hatred and violence.

(Read in the original Spanish/Lo leí en el español original)

( )
  HadriantheBlind | Mar 30, 2013 |
Impresionante. ¡Qué gran libro! Me encantó. Lástima que duró tan poco en mis manos ya que me senté un domingo al sol y en 2 horas ya no tenía libro nuevo como antes.
Magnífico el tratamiento de las oraciones y la temática en sí. ( )
  CheapRegrets | Mar 22, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 16 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Information from the Spanish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to the English one.
Awards and honors
Information from the Russian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to the English one.
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Bastará decir que soy Juan Pablo Castel, el pintor que mató a Maríá Iribarne; supongo que el proceso está en el recuerdo de todos y que no se necesitan mayores explicaciones sobre mi persona.
It should be sufficient to say that I am Juan Pablo Castel, the painter who killed María Iribarne.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Information from the Spanish Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to the English one.
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary
Juan has unhealthy
Obsession with Maria.
Murder ensues: jail!
(passion4reading)

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0345373774, Mass Market Paperback)

"When it was first published in Spanish, THE TUNNEL won the applause of Thomas Mann and Albert Camus and was described as an existentialist classic," reminded The New York Times Book Review, in its recent review. Indeed, THE TUNNEL is one of the most highly regarded short novels of the twentieth century. Since its first publication in 1948, it has been translated into most of the major languages of the world. In the fresh, compelling, and critically acclaimed translation by Margaret Sayers Peden, it is available for a whole new readership.
"The power of Sabato's story remains . . . . He delivers several satisfying satirical thrusts at the vagaries of the life of the urban intellectual that retain a remarkable contemporary resonance . . . . Sabato captures the intensity of passions run into uncharted passages where love promises not tranquility, but danger."
-- Los Angeles Times Book Review

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 14:01:35 -0400)

(see all 5 descriptions)

Juan Pablo Castel is a tormented and insane painter who falls for Maria, a woman he meets at an art exhibition. She is married to a blind man -the subject of Sabato and Saramago's obsession- and has a house in the countryside. She is also the mistress of her own cousin. Castel discovers this and goes mad with jealousy. We have no way to know the truth, because everything in the novel happens inside Castel's mind.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
33 wanted
9 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.89)
0.5
1 2
1.5 1
2 19
2.5 6
3 54
3.5 15
4 96
4.5 12
5 79

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,712,223 books! | Top bar: Always visible