HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Lament by Maggie Stiefvater
Loading...
MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,288836,082 (3.8)97
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 97 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 84 (next | show all)
READ IN DUTCH

I liked the series about the wolves and that was why I wanted to try this series as well. I had little to no knowledge about fairies and whatsoever but I thought; lets give it a try.

I was not really what I expected it to be. The love story was weak and not really imaginative, the story itself was not great either. I was quite disappointed reading it. For me, it was not as special as her other series, which I enjoyed. I wouldn't recommend this series, please try her other series! ( )
  Floratina | May 26, 2016 |
Nachdem ich vom letzten Buch, welches von Feen handelte, nicht ganz so begeistert war (Als die schwarzen Feen kamen), wollte ich diesem Buch eine Chance geben. Nicht zuletzt weil es in aller Munde ist und sehr gute Rezensionen erhalten hat. Leider steckte ich zuletzt in einer Leseflaute, was das Beenden des Buches als etwas schwieriger gestaltete.

Inhalt:

"Die sechzehnjährige Deirdre liebt die Musik und spielt ihre Harfe meisterhaft. Vor Auftritten wird ihr immer schlecht, so auch bei einem wichtigen Schulkonzert. Überraschenderweise trifft sie auf Luke, welcher ein Meister auf der Flöte zu sein scheint. Gemeinsam rocken sie die Aufführung und anschließend fragt Luke, ob er Deirdre wiedersehen darf. Deirdre willigt ein ohne zu wissen, was das nach sich ziehen wird. Warum reagiert ihre Großmutter so abweisend auf Luke? Was, zum Teufel, hat es mit den ganzen Kleeblättern auf sich, welche plötzlich erscheinen? Plötzlich findet sich Deirdre in einem Kamp von Mächten wieder, an welche sie in ihren kühnsten Vorstellungen niemals gedacht hätte. Was sie nicht weiß: Lukes eigentlicher Auftrag besteht darin, sie aus dem Weg zu schaffen ..."

Auf dem Kindle:

Also eBook liest sich Lamento gut. Die Aufmachung passt und es gibt keine Störfaktoren. Auch als eBook zu empfehlen!

Meine Meinung:

"Arm in Arm saßen wir da und starrten auf die schmierige Plastikspeisekarte, als wären wir ein ganz normales Pärchen und kein telekinetischer Freak in Begleitung ihres Feen-Meuchlers."

Deirdre (kurz: Dee) - ich liebe diesen Namen! Ich kenne ihn von einem Onlinespiel, welches ich lange Zeit gespielt habe. Da hatte ein Mitspieler genau diesen Namen und im ganzen Buch musste ich an genau diesen Charakter denken - auch wenn Dee kein gepanzerter Paladin ist.

Obwohl ich knappe zwölf Jahre älter bin, war mir Dee sehr sympathisch. Für mich war sie sehr erwachsen, hat jedoch nicht die typischen Merkmale ihres Alters verloren. Sie wird im Laufe der Geschichte erwachsen und wandelt sich vom fügsamen, schüchternen Mädchen zu einer selbstbewussten, jungen Frau. Aber: Ihre Reaktionen auf das Auftreten der Feen haben mich gestört. Sie nimmt das alles total locker, was nicht wirklich authentisch wirkt. Würde ich eine Fee sehen, ich würde garantiert nicht locker bleiben und mir denken "Ach joa, es gibt sie halt."

Die Geschichte basiert auf einer Grundlage, welche ich schon zu Haufe kenne. Junges Mädchen, gutaussehender, älterer Junge mit übernatürlichem Dasein. Das alles ist jedoch in einer wirklich schönen Idee verpackt, welche das alt bekannte Schema in den Hintergrund stellen. Es gibt zwar auch hier wieder die übliche Liebe auf den ersten Blick, jedoch konnte ich in diesem Fall darüber hinwegsehen, da die Geschichte einfach auch andere Prioritäten hat.

Besonders die Feenwesen haben mir sehr gut gefallen. Die Darstellung, ihr Auftreten und ihre Geschichte. Ich hätte mir davon noch mehr gewünscht, liebe ich es doch, mir solche Welten ganz genau vorzustellen.

Außerdem hat mir die Verbindung zur Musik sehr gut gefallen. In der ganzen Geschichte nimmt die Musik einen hohen Stellenwert ein und wird immer wieder mit den Geschehnissen verknüpft. Da das in Büchern eher selten vorkommt, war es genau richtig und hat voll und ganz gepasst.

Der Schreibstil von Maggie Stiefvater hat mich voll und ganz überzeugt! Es war mein erstes Buch von ihr und es werden auch noch weitere Folgen. Sie hat die Gabe, die Geschichte zu erzählen, als sei man live dabei und stehe nur ein paar Zentimeter von den Protagonisten entfernt.

Reihe:

1. Maggie Stiefvater - Lamento: Im Bann der Feenkönigin
2. Maggie Stiefvater - Ballade: Der Tanz der Feen

Fazit:

Ein schönes Buch, welches mir angenehme Lesestunden gebracht hat. Für Freunde von Jugendbüchern, die fantasylastig sind, ein guter Tip. Mir hat es gut gefallen und ich werde mit Sicherheit den zweiten Band lesen. Ich vergebe 4 Sterne für ein Buch, welches noch einiges an Potenzial beinhaltet, jedoch mehr als drei Bärchen verdient. Hier muss ich noch mal den Schreibstil von Maggie Stiefvater hervorheben: genial! ( )
  Wandapanda | Mar 13, 2016 |
I've read Shiver before this book and I got to say this book is much better. There is more magic in it's pages. I am just enjoying it so much. ( )
  mrsdanaalbasha | Mar 12, 2016 |
I've read Shiver before this book and I got to say this book is much better. There is more magic in it's pages. I am just enjoying it so much. ( )
  mrsdanaalbasha | Mar 12, 2016 |
This book caught my attention from the moment I picked it up and found it hard to put down. It's an amazing tale of the Fae, love, confusion, magic and what can happen when you follow your heart.
Deidre was used to getting attention for her music abilities though she just wants to be loved for herself. Her best friend James is always there to lend support, defend and bring comic relief. When she encounters Luke on a summer day for a competition, she has no idea how much he will change her life and get her to believe in herself. Deidre soon learns that she's a cloverhand who is someone that can see the Fae and she has powers. With the support of James, Luke and unlikely allies, she learns to believe in herself and starts learning how to use her powers. Not everything is as it seems and tragedy will strike, causing her to question what she took for granted and two people she holds dear will be put into danger. Read more to find out what happens, it will be well worth the wait! ( )
  Eire2011 | Mar 11, 2016 |
Showing 1-5 of 84 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Book One: You've left my heart shaken with a hopeless desolation, I'd have you to know It's the wonders of admiration your quiet face has taken and your beauty will haunt me wherever I go. - Bridgit O'Malley
Book Two: Now when we're out a-sailing and you are far behind fine letters will I write to you with the secrets of my mind, The secrets of my mind, my girl, you're the girl that I adore, And still I live in hope to see the Holy Ground once more. You're the girl that I adore, and still I live in hope to see the Holy Ground once more. - "The Holy Ground"
Book Three: I sat within a valley green, Sat there with my true love, And my fond heart strove to choose between the old love and the new love... While soft the wind blew down the glade and shook the golden barely. - "The Wind That Shakes the Barley"
Book Four: The Minstrel Boy to the war is gone - in the ranks of death you will find him. - "The Minstrel Boy"
Book Five: My love, fond and true, What else could I do - But shield you from wind and from weather? When the shots fall like hail, They us both shall assail - And mayhap we shall die together. - "Ned of the Hill"
Dedication
To my dad, because he's like me,
and Ed, because he's not.
First words
He didn't know how long he'd been clinging there.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Sixteen-year-old Dee is a cloverhand - someone who can see faeries. When she finds herself irresistibly drawn to beautiful, mysterious Luke, Dee senses that he wants something more dangerous than a summer romance.

But Dee doesn't realize that Luke is an assassin from the faerie world.

And she is his next target.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0738713708, Paperback)

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING NOVEL SHIVER

Starred Review"Vibrant and potent, YA readers searching for faerie stories will be happy to find this accomplished debut novel."
Publishers Weekly
(starred review)

Starred Review"This beautiful and out-of-the-ordinary debut novel, with its authentic depiction of Celtic Faerie lore and dangerous forbidden love in a contemporary American setting, will appeal to readers of Nancy Werlin's Impossible and Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series."
Booklist
(starred review)

Starred Review"Part adventure, part fantasy, and wholly riveting love story, Lament will delight nearly all audiences with its skillful blend of magic and ordinary life."
KLIATT (starred review)

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand—one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass—a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky—and equally dangerous—dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind . . .

Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey.

 

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:17:00 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

On the day of an important music competition, talented but painfully introverted and nervous Deirdre Monaghan is helped to perform by the compelling and enigmatic Luke Dillon and finds herself inexorably drawn into the mysteries and dangers of the faerie world.… (more)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
10 avail.
297 wanted
2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.8)
0.5
1 5
1.5
2 20
2.5 7
3 94
3.5 26
4 136
4.5 13
5 89

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 108,409,745 books! | Top bar: Always visible