HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) by…
Loading...

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) (original 2008; edition 2008)

by Stephenie Meyer

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
28,47792533 (3.76)2 / 172
I am somewhat shocked by the negative backlash on this book. Ultimately the most gripping book in her series by far and one of the most gripping books I've read recently the book started sweetly quiet and halfway in I think I was making dentmarks in the book itself. Love or hate the premise it is a rollercoaster ride of a novel.
*Spoilers ahead*
The good-
Completely shocking- to be honest I thought the series would go out quietly (with much melodrama), the book is a powderkeg of shockers; even when you see them coming.

The pregnancy depictions & especially the delivery- no punches were pulled in the depiction of how difficult it was... and how much Bella loved her baby already despite that.

Renesmee herself was decently fleshed out for a baby, the idea ultimately held more charm for me than the real character.

The Bad

Basically all of the characters lack a certain je ne sais quoi that they've had in the other books. Due to the events going on you don't spend as much time in Bella's head thus you spend less time with Edward, Alice isn't in much of the book. You do spend a lot of time with Jacob yet I found myself not invested in him at all this book. I cared for Leah & Seth Clearwater far more.

Bella as a newborn should have had at least a couple of truly out of control scenes and needed more time to recover herself before mingling in company.

The ending was far too neatly wrapped, don't buy that there would be no bloodshed at all. The way the rest of the book moved someone should have died.

Overall
The book was a compelling and moving read because of all the character work she had done thus far; sadly that character work was mostly absent here. I also feel as though the end with the Volturi was far too compressed and bled of it's force. I think there was more writing to the series; the Volturi could have been a stand alone book and that there should have been loss. I think unfortunately the writer let the book gallop her straight to the end (spending not enough time touching & giving life to her characters along the way) and when she got to the end the writer couldn't make the necessary sacrifce the book demanded ultimately letting down all of us; readers, characters & writer. ( )
6 vote Jacey25 | Aug 4, 2008 |
English (896)  Dutch (5)  Spanish (5)  German (4)  Finnish (3)  Portuguese (Portugal) (3)  French (2)  Italian (2)  Danish (2)  Catalan (1)  Eskimo languages (1)  Swedish (1)  All languages (925)
Showing 1-25 of 896 (next | show all)
What a paradox this novel is. It is somehow both brilliant and awful between the same two covers, and I wish I could reconcile the two.

The opening--the wedding and blissful island honeymoon--is about as saccharine as the inch-thick icing on Bella's towering wedding cake. You can almost smell the Vaseline and gauze on the camera lens. Cue the violins. But then Bella discovers she's pregnant, and suddenly the novel shifts dangerously close to a serious discussion of abortion rights and teen (albeit in wedlock) pregnancy, and things get a lot more interesting. And then, in what was I think a genuinely brilliant move on Meyer's part, she drops Bella entirely and shifts the narrative perspective to Jacob. This is much different than Edward's much-needed absence in the second book; here, Bella herself disappears into a sweaty pregnant near-comma, utterly incapable of telling her own story, and Jacob takes over the narration in a voice that is blunt, brutish, and extremely refreshing. I understand Meyer is rewriting the first novel from Edward's perspective; I haven't read the opening chapter of that yet (it's on her website), but I already think it's a mistake--she needs to spend a LOT more time with Jacob. His section of this novel is the best writing I've seen in this whole series: the language is precise and observant and mythical without ever resorting to overblown Gothic melodrama, while the narrator himself is clearly flawed, realistic, and embracing. Jacob is, I think, the narrator who should have been telling this story all along.

Better still, we finally get a genuine sense of violence in this book, with a brutally gory description of half-vampire birth that serves as a terrific metaphor for actual birth. I've heard there has been some backlash regarding that violent depiction, but let's be honest here--birth ain't pretty, and we come into this world screaming for a reason. It's about time Meyer put some blood in this series, and if she had to hold back till now, she certainly picked the right place to get messy and terrifying.

But then the narrative shifts back to Bella, who--now a vampire--is, surprise surprise, practically a superhero. She is the "perfect" vampire, resisting any evil as naturally as breathing, and learning to control her new preternatural body as easily as learning to ride a bicycle. Please. Where's Jacob? He at least forgets to tie his clothes on now and then and has to go running through the forest naked--that's a REAL character. And the ending, the great-granddaddy of all vampire showdowns, written as though it belonged in a dusty alley in Dodge City instead of the damp backwoods of the Pacific Northwest, turned into an overrated debate match. There were some cool superpowers on display, I suppose, but I'd rather have read an issue of X-Men, for all the good those superpowers did the story. No one got into a single scrap--there were barely even any nasty looks or guttural snarls--and the only person to bite it (pardon the pun) was a temporary bitch no one really cared about anyway. The stakes were high in this series climax, but the consequences drifted away on the wind--no one paid any price at all. If you ask me, a happy ending has to be bought with blood or sacrifice, and this one was handed over with a big pretty bow and a Christmas bonus to boot.

When Meyer writes a werewolf novel, I'll be back for more. Until then, I think I'm done with this author. ( )
  Snoek-Brown | Feb 7, 2016 |
Wowza! SPOILER ALERT!!!! Don't read further unless you never plan on reading the book!









So I wanted to strangle Bella with my bare hands for the first third of the book. Argh! So typical though. I was unbelievably frustrated about the change in perspective for the 2nd third....I guess it was a nice break from insane Bella, but it seemed a little strange to only have Jacob and Bella's perspective. But it did make sense when he finally imprints on Nessie.

I thought it was a little convenient to have Bella just sort of breeze through being a newborn...it seemed like a LOT of gifts to have, you know? I did think her "gift" of being a shield was cool and made sense though.

I know it's a little "wrapped up in a nice bow" but I gotta say I love this happily ever after ending. Everyone's happy, although there is still a vague threat of Volturi in the distant future. A satisfying ending. I'm not sort of aching for it like other series enders (like His Dark Materials, when I cried for several hours!). It was just satisfying - no real loose ends. Sigh. ( )
  chessakat | Feb 5, 2016 |
Finally Bella contributes more then whining and getting into trouble and has her own strength. Actually quite enjoyed this one. ( )
  tashlyn88 | Feb 5, 2016 |
I enjoyed this book much more than I anticipated-I couldn't put it down and finished it in less than 48 hours! Quite an accomplishment lately considering my two under two! I don't feel like the story is really complete, there is quite a bit of room for another sequel. Also it felt like it was very rushed near the end-the climax and conclusion all happen in the last 20 pages. ( )
  twileteyes | Feb 4, 2016 |
Breaking Dawn was my favourite of the Twiliht series. I thought it was hilarious, and I like funny books. I think too much happened too fast. ( )
  babydogfish | Jan 29, 2016 |
Great read ( )
  micahmom2002 | Jan 25, 2016 |
Great read ( )
  micahmom2002 | Jan 25, 2016 |
After having heard several oral reviews of Breaking Dawn I was not sure what to expect. However, it was a pleasant surprise to find that this final episode in the Twilight Sage was as enjoyable, if not better, than its predecessors.

It was definitely a case of ‘Good’ triumphing over ‘Evil’ which is always a good way to end any story. After an apprehensive beginning to this series – I had never heard of the Twilight saga when I purchased New Moon and was told to listen to Twilight first – I have become a closet Twilight devotee enjoying all the Audio books and movies so far. Although I must confess that I was outed when I had to stand in line to purchase 'Eclipse' movie tickets when all other movie goers were around 40 years younger. Thank goodness I was able to feel safe in the company of my wife among all those teenagers!
( )
  DCarlin | Jan 23, 2016 |
******POSSIBLE SPOILERS*********
Bella and Edward have Alice's dream wedding, honeymoon on Esme's tropical island, and return with a violent pregnancy watched over diligently by the strange Rosalie. The first half of the book deals with Bella's unimaginably horrific pregnancy and the birth of daughter Renesmee (What? Seriously the worst baby name ever invented). The second half of the book deals with protecting the rapidly growing Renesmee from every vampire in the world. I can't even begin to explain how Jacob 'imprinting' on Bella's baby girl is creepy......ewwwww. I shall now return the book I borrowed from my daughter, thank her for her loan and quietly go vomit in the corner. ( )
1 vote Ellen_R | Jan 15, 2016 |
Now that I've become so familiar with the series and its cast of characters, I found this book to be predictable, but that didn't lessen my enjoyment of the story. I'm glad the middle of the book took on a whole new perspective. I don't know how much agony I could stomach and this outside view was a great way to keep the story progressing. The last third of the book was both spectacular and slow going. I love Meyer's fresh ideas about vampires and werewolves of La Push. The one thing that really annoyed me was the name of the newest, youngest character.... I'm trying not to spoil anything for those of you who have not read the book, but geez!! What the heck!!! So the figurative honeymoon with this series is over. I think Eclipse was my seven-year itch. This last book feels like a comfortable marriage now.... still some irritations, but I'm willing to overlook them because of my affection for it. All in all, it was fun, imaginative, and Edward Cullen is my kind of vamp! Team Edward!! ( )
  bouldermimi | Jan 13, 2016 |
Breaking Dawn seemed a very different type of story compared with the first three novels in the series. In the other novels it felt like nothing really happened until the last quarter of the book where the author decided to throw in some external conflict. In Breaking Dawn, there was external conflict from the beginning of the book until the end. The story was much more about the action than about the relationship between Bella and Edward (and Jacob). I enjoyed the book as much as the others, just in a different way. The characters and emotions did not seem as real and compelling as in the first three, but the action and story itself was more so. Although it was a little predictable and the ending a little too neat, I liked seeing how the author brought us to the conclusion. ( )
  Cora-R | Jan 13, 2016 |
Really enjoyed this -- wasn't sure about some of the storyline decisions, but I definitely enjoyed the read. I'd previously heard a spoiler (or so I thought) and I kept reading this waiting for it to happen -- turns out it didn't.

Oh. Wait. I thought I was done with this series. (Although I realized it was wide open for more very long, big books.) So uh oh. Maybe the spoiler will still happen. And I'm destined to sit with another monster hardcover at some point in the future. ( )
  emblue | Jan 3, 2016 |
I actually hated seeing this series end. But, I'm glad it did! I'm also glad that I didn't catch on until all books were out. I tend to be impatient, but I would've lined up for any of these, had I caught on early on. Regardless, there are some fantastical ideas that wouldn't usually appeal to me. That is a credit to Stephanie Meyer that she was able to draw me in and create a passion within me, for this story. Easy to read, and entertaining. This will always be one of my favorite book series. ( )
  LaneySmith | Dec 1, 2015 |
I couldn't put the book down. I had to find out how it all ended. I'm not sure that I'd want my teen to read it (if I had one). I did like how the Edward/Jacob issues were resolved since I wasn't to thrilled about those issues in the past two books of the series. ( )
  mtunquist | Nov 29, 2015 |
I couldn't put the book down. I had to find out how it all ended. I'm not sure that I'd want my teen to read it (if I had one). I did like how the Edward/Jacob issues were resolved since I wasn't to thrilled about those issues in the past two books of the series. ( )
  mtunquist | Nov 29, 2015 |
I don't know.... where. to. begin. But however did it get here from Twilight?? Really, this is how to end the SAGA??? Are you kidding me? I didn't think it could get worst from Eclipse... not only did it get worst.. it got longer!!!!! 756 pages longer!!!

This book proved 2 things to me, Meyer can not write a love making scene... and she can not write a fighting scene. Think about how we missed the fight with James.... barely got any fighting from Victoria...and completely avoided the bloodshed from the Volturi. They're suppose to be deadly, show us a little something of what that might look like.
And the fade to black, every time Bella and Edward were suppose to be making love... they're married... it's okay if they have sex, really it's OKAY!!! Make us see how dangerous it is, instead of implying it with the ripped up pillows and the crushed headboard... tell us how that happened... UGH!!! this was one frustrating book that I had to make myself get through...where as Twilight and New Moon were fun reads though they too were sophmoric at best.

But again, I keep reminding myself that I am not the intended audience... even if I were, I'd still think it was aweful. Follow the rules you set Stephenie Meyer... don't change things just to get your happy ending... find a more creative way to get it or don't take it there at all!!!!

I could go on about this... but I won't. This book is disappointing plain and simple.
( )
  KatDes | Nov 20, 2015 |
I read through these hoping she'd become a crazy vampire and just destroy. But no. ""It's like you were made to be a vampire."" Ugh. ( )
  Adam_N_Rabenstein | Sep 16, 2015 |
That was really cool.. I like the way it ended, as happily ever after..
I'm just sad to know that it's the end of the series..
Great job Stephenie ! :) ( )
  smiley0905 | Sep 3, 2015 |
"I liked this book. There were parts that I really liked, and parts that I didn't like quite so much, but overall, I did enjoy reading it despite its flaws. It dealt with a lot more mature themes than the other Twilight books: loss of innocence, recognition of death, sacrifices, the importance of family, friendship and truth. The main point of this book is to end Edward and Bella's story. And I think the author delivered that end surprisingly well. After finishing the book, I really feel that their story has been told now.

Regarding the characters, what I liked the most is Bella's development. The teenage whining has finally stopped! Also, Bella and Edward are equals at last, so their relationship is not that awkward, creepy ball of madness it has always been. It is somewhat closer to normal. About Jacob: I still like him as a character more than any of the others, really. He has a lot of layers to him and they got even more exposed and clear on this book than the previous ones.

Overall, regardless of its flaws, I really enjoyed reading Breaking Dawn. The author undoubtedly knows how to make a story compelling, although she likes to let you hang in the air after all the tension just pops like a soap bubble. There were really awful things about this series, but, in the end, the story found its end, and it wasn't bad at all.

Interesting quotes that I didn't include in the review:
Life sucks, and then you die...

The Last Passage
I laughed breathlessly when his urgent kiss interrupted my efforts again.
“Damn it,” he growled, kissing hungrily down the edge of my jaw.
“We have plenty of time to work on it,” I reminded him.
“Forever and forever and forever,” he murmured.
“That sounds exactly right to me.” And then we continued blissfully into this small but perfect piece of our forever.
" ( )
  AdemilsonM | Sep 2, 2015 |
Spoiler alert - Meyer does a decent job of carrying the romance past a wedding and a kid - not an easy feat! But this book suffered as the romance dwindled and the fantasy came forward. There were too many new rules introduced for this world we'd already lived in for three books. It felt contrived. These books are romances, and should have ended at the wedding! ( )
  KristinAkerHowell | Aug 15, 2015 |
Spoiler alert - Meyer does a decent job of carrying the romance past a wedding and a kid - not an easy feat! But this book suffered as the romance dwindled and the fantasy came forward. There were too many new rules introduced for this world we'd already lived in for three books. It felt contrived. These books are romances, and should have ended at the wedding! ( )
  KristinAkerHowell | Aug 15, 2015 |
Coming soon, after I've settled down. ( )
  engpunk77 | Aug 10, 2015 |
The short review: If you'd like to read something from the Twilight universe so you can feel culturally literate and cool, read online summaries of the first three books so you have a sense of what's going on, and then read this one.

The longer review: If you hadn't read the first three books, you'd never know from reading this one that Edward routinely treated Bella like an idiot (see my previous reviews and, oh, probably the entire freakin' Internet).

You'd certainly never know that Bella put up with being stalked, threatened, manipulated, controlled, and gaslighted because the alternative would be – oh, noes! – speaking up for herself.

Bella in this last Twilight novel tells Edward to stop ruining her good time on their honeymoon when he tries to pull his usual "But I'm bad for you, Bella" nonsense. "We're married and I want a sex life and it's called a honeymoon, so shut up and get over here, already," she (more or less) replies. And he does. (Eventually. There's still some brooding, but waaay less than there would have been if Bella hadn't told him to put a sock in it.)

Bella makes her own decisions about her own body when Edward tries to arrange for her to have an abortion without even telling her. Either he takes it as a given that she'll go along with whatever he says, or he doesn't care what she thinks – this is going to happen. Except it isn't. She rallies her troops and stands up to him when she's not even strong enough to literally physically stand up.

She eats her cake and has it, too (which is how the saying used to go, back when it made sense) by getting to have a baby with the vampire she loves and getting to become a vampire herself. And thanks to how things work in this universe, she gets to be the baddest-ass vampire on the block – at least for a while.

Edward stops being such a condescending berk and treats her with respect, admiration, and utter trust. He has faith in her strength and is proud of her abilities. (Where the hell was all this good behavior back when she was human? Maybe it's not that these books are sexist so much as Edward is racist. Or speciesist. Or deadist. Whatever you'd call it.)

I liked that Bella got to have a lot of fun being powerful for once. She also enjoys her new supernatural good looks without letting them go to her head.

A friend of mine warned me that the climax of this book is a bit of a cock-tease (my words, not hers), and the surprise at the very very end was a huge disappointment to her. I see her point, but I was actually fine with all of it. I even kind of liked the surprise, since I thought it reinforced the idea of Bella being in control.

Conclusion: This book was on top of my lunchtime reading material stack, and it didn't get demoted or shuffled down once. I found it an engaging and enjoyable read, and if the previous novels had been like this one, I'd have liked them just fine, even with the love triangle and insta-love. I mean, they wouldn't have been my Most Favoritest Books Of All Time Ever, but they wouldn't have made me scream.

So. There. I read all the Twilight books.

Now I just have to survive Fifty Shades of Grey, and then I can finally read that stupid Chuck Palahniuk book and explain all the references to my friend. ( )
  Deborah_Markus | Aug 8, 2015 |
An interesting end for the Twilight series. This story was definitely of a different ilk (in my opinion)but it was good overall.
I don't usually go in for the whole happily-ever-after spiel, but i enjoyed it here.

Definitely a series i would recommend. ( )
  mkclane | Jul 31, 2015 |
Synopsis
Bella and Edward Cullen get married, leaving behind a heartbroken Jacob. When Bella faces unexpected and life-threatening situations, she willingly risks her human life and possible vampire immortality to undergo the ultimate transformation from a weak pawn to the strong queen with unique powers to fight the final battle to save all those she loves.

So what do I think?
The last book in the series and I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book. The whole entire book had me on the edge of my seat. So many surprises that I wasn't expecting. Im pretty sad to see this book series end and I would wish that there would be more. With every single book I just could never put them down until I had finished reading every, single page. ( )
  KristyKhaos | Jul 1, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 896 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.76)
0.5 98
1 577
1.5 82
2 758
2.5 157
3 1497
3.5 303
4 2157
4.5 255
5 3368

Audible.com

4 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,104,830 books! | Top bar: Always visible