HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) by…
Loading...

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) (original 2008; edition 2008)

by Stephenie Meyer

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
28,01191135 (3.78)2 / 169
I am somewhat shocked by the negative backlash on this book. Ultimately the most gripping book in her series by far and one of the most gripping books I've read recently the book started sweetly quiet and halfway in I think I was making dentmarks in the book itself. Love or hate the premise it is a rollercoaster ride of a novel.
*Spoilers ahead*
The good-
Completely shocking- to be honest I thought the series would go out quietly (with much melodrama), the book is a powderkeg of shockers; even when you see them coming.

The pregnancy depictions & especially the delivery- no punches were pulled in the depiction of how difficult it was... and how much Bella loved her baby already despite that.

Renesmee herself was decently fleshed out for a baby, the idea ultimately held more charm for me than the real character.

The Bad

Basically all of the characters lack a certain je ne sais quoi that they've had in the other books. Due to the events going on you don't spend as much time in Bella's head thus you spend less time with Edward, Alice isn't in much of the book. You do spend a lot of time with Jacob yet I found myself not invested in him at all this book. I cared for Leah & Seth Clearwater far more.

Bella as a newborn should have had at least a couple of truly out of control scenes and needed more time to recover herself before mingling in company.

The ending was far too neatly wrapped, don't buy that there would be no bloodshed at all. The way the rest of the book moved someone should have died.

Overall
The book was a compelling and moving read because of all the character work she had done thus far; sadly that character work was mostly absent here. I also feel as though the end with the Volturi was far too compressed and bled of it's force. I think there was more writing to the series; the Volturi could have been a stand alone book and that there should have been loss. I think unfortunately the writer let the book gallop her straight to the end (spending not enough time touching & giving life to her characters along the way) and when she got to the end the writer couldn't make the necessary sacrifce the book demanded ultimately letting down all of us; readers, characters & writer. ( )
6 vote Jacey25 | Aug 4, 2008 |
English (883)  Spanish (5)  Dutch (5)  German (4)  Portuguese (Portugal) (3)  Finnish (3)  French (2)  Italian (2)  Eskimo languages (1)  Catalan (1)  Danish (1)  Swedish (1)  All languages (911)
Showing 1-25 of 883 (next | show all)
That was really cool.. I like the way it ended, as happily ever after..
I'm just sad to know that it's the end of the series..
Great job Stephenie ! :) ( )
  smiley0905 | Sep 3, 2015 |
"I liked this book. There were parts that I really liked, and parts that I didn't like quite so much, but overall, I did enjoy reading it despite its flaws. It dealt with a lot more mature themes than the other Twilight books: loss of innocence, recognition of death, sacrifices, the importance of family, friendship and truth. The main point of this book is to end Edward and Bella's story. And I think the author delivered that end surprisingly well. After finishing the book, I really feel that their story has been told now.

Regarding the characters, what I liked the most is Bella's development. The teenage whining has finally stopped! Also, Bella and Edward are equals at last, so their relationship is not that awkward, creepy ball of madness it has always been. It is somewhat closer to normal. About Jacob: I still like him as a character more than any of the others, really. He has a lot of layers to him and they got even more exposed and clear on this book than the previous ones.

Overall, regardless of its flaws, I really enjoyed reading Breaking Dawn. The author undoubtedly knows how to make a story compelling, although she likes to let you hang in the air after all the tension just pops like a soap bubble. There were really awful things about this series, but, in the end, the story found its end, and it wasn't bad at all.

Interesting quotes that I didn't include in the review:
Life sucks, and then you die...

The Last Passage
I laughed breathlessly when his urgent kiss interrupted my efforts again.
“Damn it,” he growled, kissing hungrily down the edge of my jaw.
“We have plenty of time to work on it,” I reminded him.
“Forever and forever and forever,” he murmured.
“That sounds exactly right to me.” And then we continued blissfully into this small but perfect piece of our forever.
" ( )
  AdemilsonM | Sep 2, 2015 |
Spoiler alert - Meyer does a decent job of carrying the romance past a wedding and a kid - not an easy feat! But this book suffered as the romance dwindled and the fantasy came forward. There were too many new rules introduced for this world we'd already lived in for three books. It felt contrived. These books are romances, and should have ended at the wedding! ( )
  KristinAkerHowell | Aug 15, 2015 |
Spoiler alert - Meyer does a decent job of carrying the romance past a wedding and a kid - not an easy feat! But this book suffered as the romance dwindled and the fantasy came forward. There were too many new rules introduced for this world we'd already lived in for three books. It felt contrived. These books are romances, and should have ended at the wedding! ( )
  KristinAkerHowell | Aug 15, 2015 |
Coming soon, after I've settled down. ( )
  engpunk77 | Aug 10, 2015 |
The short review: If you'd like to read something from the Twilight universe so you can feel culturally literate and cool, read online summaries of the first three books so you have a sense of what's going on, and then read this one.

The longer review: If you hadn't read the first three books, you'd never know from reading this one that Edward routinely treated Bella like an idiot (see my previous reviews and, oh, probably the entire freakin' Internet).

You'd certainly never know that Bella put up with being stalked, threatened, manipulated, controlled, and gaslighted because the alternative would be – oh, noes! – speaking up for herself.

Bella in this last Twilight novel tells Edward to stop ruining her good time on their honeymoon when he tries to pull his usual "But I'm bad for you, Bella" nonsense. "We're married and I want a sex life and it's called a honeymoon, so shut up and get over here, already," she (more or less) replies. And he does. (Eventually. There's still some brooding, but waaay less than there would have been if Bella hadn't told him to put a sock in it.)

Bella makes her own decisions about her own body when Edward tries to arrange for her to have an abortion without even telling her. Either he takes it as a given that she'll go along with whatever he says, or he doesn't care what she thinks – this is going to happen. Except it isn't. She rallies her troops and stands up to him when she's not even strong enough to literally physically stand up.

She eats her cake and has it, too (which is how the saying used to go, back when it made sense) by getting to have a baby with the vampire she loves and getting to become a vampire herself. And thanks to how things work in this universe, she gets to be the baddest-ass vampire on the block – at least for a while.

Edward stops being such a condescending berk and treats her with respect, admiration, and utter trust. He has faith in her strength and is proud of her abilities. (Where the hell was all this good behavior back when she was human? Maybe it's not that these books are sexist so much as Edward is racist. Or speciesist. Or deadist. Whatever you'd call it.)

I liked that Bella got to have a lot of fun being powerful for once. She also enjoys her new supernatural good looks without letting them go to her head.

A friend of mine warned me that the climax of this book is a bit of a cock-tease (my words, not hers), and the surprise at the very very end was a huge disappointment to her. I see her point, but I was actually fine with all of it. I even kind of liked the surprise, since I thought it reinforced the idea of Bella being in control.

Conclusion: This book was on top of my lunchtime reading material stack, and it didn't get demoted or shuffled down once. I found it an engaging and enjoyable read, and if the previous novels had been like this one, I'd have liked them just fine, even with the love triangle and insta-love. I mean, they wouldn't have been my Most Favoritest Books Of All Time Ever, but they wouldn't have made me scream.

So. There. I read all the Twilight books.

Now I just have to survive Fifty Shades of Grey, and then I can finally read that stupid Chuck Palahniuk book and explain all the references to my friend. ( )
  Deborah_Markus | Aug 8, 2015 |
An interesting end for the Twilight series. This story was definitely of a different ilk (in my opinion)but it was good overall.
I don't usually go in for the whole happily-ever-after spiel, but i enjoyed it here.

Definitely a series i would recommend. ( )
  mkclane | Jul 31, 2015 |
Synopsis
Bella and Edward Cullen get married, leaving behind a heartbroken Jacob. When Bella faces unexpected and life-threatening situations, she willingly risks her human life and possible vampire immortality to undergo the ultimate transformation from a weak pawn to the strong queen with unique powers to fight the final battle to save all those she loves.

So what do I think?
The last book in the series and I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book. The whole entire book had me on the edge of my seat. So many surprises that I wasn't expecting. Im pretty sad to see this book series end and I would wish that there would be more. With every single book I just could never put them down until I had finished reading every, single page. ( )
  KristyKhaos | Jul 1, 2015 |
Meh. I originally started reading Twilight because all of my friends at school were/had read/ing it. I liked it, but more or less just read Breaking Dawn to finish the series. ( )
  momma182 | Jun 23, 2015 |
I personally felt it was the best out of the four. More action compared to the rest, but it had to sacrifice the nice amount of character development that the first three had. I was hoping for more of an emotional impact, and a return on the time I invested in the series, but I didn't get that. A good quick read, but nothing more. ( )
  jms001 | Jun 14, 2015 |
EDIT , ABRIL 2014

ESTOY haciendo un poco de revisionismo en mis reseñas (ya que en estos dias de paro de profesores y un continuo estudio no puedo concentrarme lo que quisiera en la lectura) ... y me acorde de AMANECER .

Dejando de lado el asco que me provocan muuuuuuuuchas cosas del libro en su totalidad , no puedo dejar de acordarme lo mucho que me gusto el final ; y con "final" me refiero a la batalla que no es batalla , al hecho de que Meyer haya decidido resolver el conflicto de forma pacifista y no con una gran y ridicula guerra .

Me acuerdo de la decepcion general que se propago entre mis compañeros crepusculeanos cuando no hubo derramamiento de sangre ; y en medio de eso , de las decenas de voces indignadas por un "climax" que nunca se alcanzo , me acuerdo de mi misma pensando pero no estuvo tan mal! -algo que sigo pensando el dia de hoy y razon por la cual le doy dos estrellas y no una .

Me encanta , me fascina que la autora haya elegido ese camino . Que entre todas sus patrañas mormonas , al menos haya entendido que No todo tiene que ir por el lado belico y destructivo ; que no todos los finales son amargos y estan marcados por la muerte insipida y el dolor al pedo .AUnque a muchos lectores les parezca increible e imposibles -SI ! Puede darse , puede pasar que LOs conflictos se resuelvan pacificamente cuando hay charlas de por medio ; cuando hay representantes de un lado y del otro que llegan a un acuerdo sin necesidad de que mueran inocentes .

Hoy pienso que si l primera parte de la novela (la patetica luna de miel , el patetico embarazo y etc etc etc) , AMANECER hubiera tenido mas potencial , hubiese sido mas que una mera novela de el sexo el malo , el aborto es un crimen y todo el conjunto de patrañas anti-mujer que hay implicitas .

-----------------------------

Encontré el final perfecto :



Que suerte que existía Buffy cuando tenia once años .
( )
  LaMala | Jun 7, 2015 |
It was a phase, that is all I can say. Going back and reading the stories, I can find so many issues with all three of the books. I can only say that it was a phase. Caught up in the movie hype along with the romantic storyline, I can now see why so many people hated this whole series. ( )
  NicolefromCarmel | May 24, 2015 |
To preface, I didn't like the first three books. As a result, I didn't have much hope for this going in.

The overall purpose of my reading this series is that I needed to understand the claims of many for myself that the Twilight books were fabulous, worth a read for anyone, a great romance story, and done a disservice by the movies. After finishing this last installment, I can definitively say that this is not so, at least for me.

What once was just dull, static, or otherwise creepy has become strange and disjointed. The plot is all over the place, and deus ex abounds. I generally felt that while the first three books had structure in their own right, this book fell apart by halfway through.

Character actions are often nonsensical and irrational, and development completely halts. The writing itself isn't great, and is a bit overwritten. Overall, I feel that there's nothing to gain by reading this - the story is a bit absurd, the characters shallow and unlikable, and the ending completely devoid of a moral or lesson that makes most stories great. It reads like a cheesy romance novel minus the eroticism (which can be a great thing, if done right), and geared at teen girls to boot.

In the end, I group this and the rest of the series as viral pop fiction, which were made excessively popular due to a rabid fan base that's unwilling to discuss the book's faults. More power to them, I'm happy that you enjoy what you read. However, I most certainly did not. ( )
  bdtrump | May 9, 2015 |
I know I keep saying its a great series but it really really is! I recommend to everyone who likes romance and/or young adult novels. ( )
  AngelaFries | Apr 20, 2015 |
3-1/2 stars.

The completion of this series always seemed rather bittersweet to me. On one hand, you get closure on a lot of unknowns that have permeated the series, but on the other hand, you get a few more unknowns that you can't help but wonder about.

The old favorite characters feature prominently, but it always confuses me when an author introduces new characters so close to the end like this author did. You are left to wonder about the new players and no way of getting closure on the newest plot twists that are introduced, because the series is over and you are not going to get to know the characters any more than what is laid out in the pages you have already read.

There were not nearly as many inconsistencies in this final installment as there had been in some of the earlier books, so the writing style improves some.

I really don't know what it is about this series, though. It is not the best writing I have ever read, and one of the rare instances when I enjoy the movie more than the books, but I still keep coming back to it every couple of years. Maybe it is a matter of wanting to read something I know I already enjoy to clear a slump, maybe it is wanting to revisit old friends. For me, this series started it all. I hadn't read anything in so long, and then devoured these books in short order. Whatever the reason, I still enjoy it every time I pick it up, even with knowing already what is going to happen. I guess that says something. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
3-1/2 stars.

The completion of this series always seemed rather bittersweet to me. On one hand, you get closure on a lot of unknowns that have permeated the series, but on the other hand, you get a few more unknowns that you can't help but wonder about.

The old favorite characters feature prominently, but it always confuses me when an author introduces new characters so close to the end like this author did. You are left to wonder about the new players and no way of getting closure on the newest plot twists that are introduced, because the series is over and you are not going to get to know the characters any more than what is laid out in the pages you have already read.

There were not nearly as many inconsistencies in this final installment as there had been in some of the earlier books, so the writing style improves some.

I really don't know what it is about this series, though. It is not the best writing I have ever read, and one of the rare instances when I enjoy the movie more than the books, but I still keep coming back to it every couple of years. Maybe it is a matter of wanting to read something I know I already enjoy to clear a slump, maybe it is wanting to revisit old friends. For me, this series started it all. I hadn't read anything in so long, and then devoured these books in short order. Whatever the reason, I still enjoy it every time I pick it up, even with knowing already what is going to happen. I guess that says something. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
I really enjoyed the creative stories and characters in this modern-day fairytale of the Twilight series, but sometimes Bella's personality drove me nuts. I also enjoyed the movies based on this series as well, tho' many professed that they were less desirable. ( )
  CILLYart4U | Feb 16, 2015 |
This book provided yet more incessant ramblings from the self-obsessed Bella. At over 700 pages, it needed a good editor. The speech is stilted, the writing poor, the characters are bland and the ending carries a big fat meh. ( )
  martensgirl | Feb 14, 2015 |
Hmm...so this was better than the second & third installments, but was still a tad dissapointing. I liked the twists & suspense, as well as the change in POV. I still struggled to feel attached to the characters; I wish they were more likeable. ( )
  NetteinNJ | Jan 24, 2015 |
What I learned from this book? Like ice cream, the first bite is the best. I still haven't finished this novel, which I ran to the store to purchase. I'm bogged down about 50 pages from the end and I'm just bored. I'm TIRED of these people. I LOVED the series with the first book, liked the second, was okay with the third, and now--well, if the Twilight Series be the food of love, I've certainly gotten to the surfeit part and, having excess of it, my appetite is sickened and I'm done. ( )
  AlisonLea | Jan 10, 2015 |
Yes, I have read the book. I read all four... This is the only one, though, that I just didn't like at all. It had no direction, just wandered around aimlessly, and the ending was very much a letdown. ( )
  KVHardy | Jan 2, 2015 |
I am not going to say much. There have been tens of thousands of reviews of each of the books in the twilight series. I read them in a little over a week and enjoyed them all. I will just mention what I enjoyed most in this last book, Breaking Dawn.

The battle at the end was very enjoyable to me. It was handled as all battles should be written about. There was a long period of preparation, diplomacy was involved, the most important goal was to avoid fighting, and the minds and emotions and goals of each of the leaders on both sides was crucial to the beginning of the conflict and the final resolution.

It would be too much of a spoiler to say what happens in the final battle, but I was very happy at the outcome.

This was a satisfying conclusion to this tetralogy of books. ( )
  SAGibson | Dec 21, 2014 |
(4.3)
  mrsforrest | Oct 15, 2014 |
hilarious story about a pedophile vampire, stalking a bland teen in a small town. A love triangle is introduced, where it is later revealed the werewolf (the other love interest of Bella, the teen girl) has only been in love with one of Bella's unfertilized eggs. Things heat up when that egg gets doused in glittery vampire sperm and a baby, with a very unfortunate name, is born. The pedophilia theme is expanded when the teen werewolf declares his unending love and devotion to the new born infant. The baby's parents are inexplicably okay with this ( )
  taraseverson | Oct 14, 2014 |
Okay start. Messed up middle and the ending was sooo sooo boring. But I am addicted and will watch the movie version and probably re-read this mess. ( )
  lushrain | Sep 29, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 883 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.78)
0.5 99
1 544
1.5 80
2 739
2.5 157
3 1448
3.5 301
4 2110
4.5 255
5 3336

Audible.com

4 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,152,321 books! | Top bar: Always visible