HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) by…
Loading...

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) (original 2008; edition 2008)

by Stephenie Meyer

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
27,78190236 (3.78)2 / 166
I am somewhat shocked by the negative backlash on this book. Ultimately the most gripping book in her series by far and one of the most gripping books I've read recently the book started sweetly quiet and halfway in I think I was making dentmarks in the book itself. Love or hate the premise it is a rollercoaster ride of a novel.
*Spoilers ahead*
The good-
Completely shocking- to be honest I thought the series would go out quietly (with much melodrama), the book is a powderkeg of shockers; even when you see them coming.

The pregnancy depictions & especially the delivery- no punches were pulled in the depiction of how difficult it was... and how much Bella loved her baby already despite that.

Renesmee herself was decently fleshed out for a baby, the idea ultimately held more charm for me than the real character.

The Bad

Basically all of the characters lack a certain je ne sais quoi that they've had in the other books. Due to the events going on you don't spend as much time in Bella's head thus you spend less time with Edward, Alice isn't in much of the book. You do spend a lot of time with Jacob yet I found myself not invested in him at all this book. I cared for Leah & Seth Clearwater far more.

Bella as a newborn should have had at least a couple of truly out of control scenes and needed more time to recover herself before mingling in company.

The ending was far too neatly wrapped, don't buy that there would be no bloodshed at all. The way the rest of the book moved someone should have died.

Overall
The book was a compelling and moving read because of all the character work she had done thus far; sadly that character work was mostly absent here. I also feel as though the end with the Volturi was far too compressed and bled of it's force. I think there was more writing to the series; the Volturi could have been a stand alone book and that there should have been loss. I think unfortunately the writer let the book gallop her straight to the end (spending not enough time touching & giving life to her characters along the way) and when she got to the end the writer couldn't make the necessary sacrifce the book demanded ultimately letting down all of us; readers, characters & writer. ( )
6 vote Jacey25 | Aug 4, 2008 |
English (873)  Spanish (5)  Dutch (5)  German (4)  Portuguese (Portugal) (3)  Finnish (3)  French (2)  Italian (2)  Eskimo languages (1)  Catalan (1)  Danish (1)  Swedish (1)  All languages (901)
Showing 1-25 of 873 (next | show all)
This book seems like it dragged a lot. I hated how each characters story was all broken up. It was all over the place. ( )
  harleyqgrayson02 | May 27, 2015 |
It was a phase, that is all I can say. Going back and reading the stories, I can find so many issues with all three of the books. I can only say that it was a phase. Caught up in the movie hype along with the romantic storyline, I can now see why so many people hated this whole series. ( )
  NicolefromCarmel | May 24, 2015 |
To preface, I didn't like the first three books. As a result, I didn't have much hope for this going in.

The overall purpose of my reading this series is that I needed to understand the claims of many for myself that the Twilight books were fabulous, worth a read for anyone, a great romance story, and done a disservice by the movies. After finishing this last installment, I can definitively say that this is not so, at least for me.

What once was just dull, static, or otherwise creepy has become strange and disjointed. The plot is all over the place, and deus ex abounds. I generally felt that while the first three books had structure in their own right, this book fell apart by halfway through.

Character actions are often nonsensical and irrational, and development completely halts. The writing itself isn't great, and is a bit overwritten. Overall, I feel that there's nothing to gain by reading this - the story is a bit absurd, the characters shallow and unlikable, and the ending completely devoid of a moral or lesson that makes most stories great. It reads like a cheesy romance novel minus the eroticism (which can be a great thing, if done right), and geared at teen girls to boot.

In the end, I group this and the rest of the series as viral pop fiction, which were made excessively popular due to a rabid fan base that's unwilling to discuss the book's faults. More power to them, I'm happy that you enjoy what you read. However, I most certainly did not. ( )
  bdtrump | May 9, 2015 |
I know I keep saying its a great series but it really really is! I recommend to everyone who likes romance and/or young adult novels. ( )
  AngelaFries | Apr 20, 2015 |
3-1/2 stars.

The completion of this series always seemed rather bittersweet to me. On one hand, you get closure on a lot of unknowns that have permeated the series, but on the other hand, you get a few more unknowns that you can't help but wonder about.

The old favorite characters feature prominently, but it always confuses me when an author introduces new characters so close to the end like this author did. You are left to wonder about the new players and no way of getting closure on the newest plot twists that are introduced, because the series is over and you are not going to get to know the characters any more than what is laid out in the pages you have already read.

There were not nearly as many inconsistencies in this final installment as there had been in some of the earlier books, so the writing style improves some.

I really don't know what it is about this series, though. It is not the best writing I have ever read, and one of the rare instances when I enjoy the movie more than the books, but I still keep coming back to it every couple of years. Maybe it is a matter of wanting to read something I know I already enjoy to clear a slump, maybe it is wanting to revisit old friends. For me, this series started it all. I hadn't read anything in so long, and then devoured these books in short order. Whatever the reason, I still enjoy it every time I pick it up, even with knowing already what is going to happen. I guess that says something. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
3-1/2 stars.

The completion of this series always seemed rather bittersweet to me. On one hand, you get closure on a lot of unknowns that have permeated the series, but on the other hand, you get a few more unknowns that you can't help but wonder about.

The old favorite characters feature prominently, but it always confuses me when an author introduces new characters so close to the end like this author did. You are left to wonder about the new players and no way of getting closure on the newest plot twists that are introduced, because the series is over and you are not going to get to know the characters any more than what is laid out in the pages you have already read.

There were not nearly as many inconsistencies in this final installment as there had been in some of the earlier books, so the writing style improves some.

I really don't know what it is about this series, though. It is not the best writing I have ever read, and one of the rare instances when I enjoy the movie more than the books, but I still keep coming back to it every couple of years. Maybe it is a matter of wanting to read something I know I already enjoy to clear a slump, maybe it is wanting to revisit old friends. For me, this series started it all. I hadn't read anything in so long, and then devoured these books in short order. Whatever the reason, I still enjoy it every time I pick it up, even with knowing already what is going to happen. I guess that says something. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
I really enjoyed the creative stories and characters in this modern-day fairytale of the Twilight series, but sometimes Bella's personality drove me nuts. I also enjoyed the movies based on this series as well, tho' many professed that they were less desirable. ( )
  CILLYart4U | Feb 16, 2015 |
This book provided yet more incessant ramblings from the self-obsessed Bella. At over 700 pages, it needed a good editor. The speech is stilted, the writing poor, the characters are bland and the ending carries a big fat meh. ( )
  martensgirl | Feb 14, 2015 |
Hmm...so this was better than the second & third installments, but was still a tad dissapointing. I liked the twists & suspense, as well as the change in POV. I still struggled to feel attached to the characters; I wish they were more likeable. ( )
  NetteinNJ | Jan 24, 2015 |
What I learned from this book? Like ice cream, the first bite is the best. I still haven't finished this novel, which I ran to the store to purchase. I'm bogged down about 50 pages from the end and I'm just bored. I'm TIRED of these people. I LOVED the series with the first book, liked the second, was okay with the third, and now--well, if the Twilight Series be the food of love, I've certainly gotten to the surfeit part and, having excess of it, my appetite is sickened and I'm done. ( )
  AlisonLea | Jan 10, 2015 |
Yes, I have read the book. I read all four... This is the only one, though, that I just didn't like at all. It had no direction, just wandered around aimlessly, and the ending was very much a letdown. ( )
  KVHardy | Jan 2, 2015 |
I am not going to say much. There have been tens of thousands of reviews of each of the books in the twilight series. I read them in a little over a week and enjoyed them all. I will just mention what I enjoyed most in this last book, Breaking Dawn.

The battle at the end was very enjoyable to me. It was handled as all battles should be written about. There was a long period of preparation, diplomacy was involved, the most important goal was to avoid fighting, and the minds and emotions and goals of each of the leaders on both sides was crucial to the beginning of the conflict and the final resolution.

It would be too much of a spoiler to say what happens in the final battle, but I was very happy at the outcome.

This was a satisfying conclusion to this tetralogy of books. ( )
  SAGibson | Dec 21, 2014 |
(4.3)
  mshampson | Oct 15, 2014 |
hilarious story about a pedophile vampire, stalking a bland teen in a small town. A love triangle is introduced, where it is later revealed the werewolf (the other love interest of Bella, the teen girl) has only been in love with one of Bella's unfertilized eggs. Things heat up when that egg gets doused in glittery vampire sperm and a baby, with a very unfortunate name, is born. The pedophilia theme is expanded when the teen werewolf declares his unending love and devotion to the new born infant. The baby's parents are inexplicably okay with this ( )
  taraseverson | Oct 14, 2014 |
Okay start. Messed up middle and the ending was sooo sooo boring. But I am addicted and will watch the movie version and probably re-read this mess. ( )
  lushrain | Sep 29, 2014 |
This book was the best of the series. I would have given it 5 stars if only the main character had done more and actually used her amazing powers more. Sure she has this cool ability and sure she's powerful, but why couldn't she actually annihilate the bad guys, or at least rip them to shreds? On the plus side, again there wasn't as much "his skin was like satin" or "his eyes were the deepest shade of puce" or whatever color they were. ( )
  piersanti | Sep 28, 2014 |
I can honestly say I liked twilight before it became a hype. The books are fun to read and they triggered the whole YA vampire/wolf thing, so we all like them in a way. I just hate what the hype & media did to the books. Now it's all kirsten, pattinson & shrieking fangirls.
Besides all that the books were ok. ( )
  lisa.isselee | Sep 26, 2014 |
Well, I liked Eclipse better, but this book also isn't the horrible disaster that some of my friends warned me about. Yes, there was some shark-jumping, and I don't think it's possible to come up with a WORSE name for the baby, and Bella (or as a friend calls her) SuperBella is annoying beyond belief. . .but it's still readable. I think the worst part is that Bella is really starting to turn into a Mary Sue by the end. . ...not to mention the disturbing right-to-life implications and sexism. Ugh. ( )
  sammii507 | Aug 19, 2014 |
OH MY GOD! What a FRUSTRATING BOOK!







All that work up... all that... anticipation... for nothing! I HATED how this series ended! I should have stopped reading at book three and made up my own ending!

"My children, beware of popularity; it is a delusion and a snare; it puffeth up the heart of man, and especially of woman; it blindeth the eyes to faults; it exaltath unduly the humble powers of the victim; it is apt to be capricious, and just as one gets to liking the taste of this intoxicating draught, it suddenly faileth, and one is left gasping, like a fish out of water." -Louisa May Alcott "An Old-Fashioned Girl" ( )
  KRaySaulis | Aug 13, 2014 |
In the final book of the series, Bella changes dramatically. She realizes her love for her father, for Jacob and the other wolves, and for her deepest love in Edward and his family. When it looks like the family will be killed, Bella pulls all her strength to fight for those she loves. This story touches on the kind of fairy tale love we all wish we could experience and brings in the worst of all enemies. I encourage everyone to read the Twilight series keeping in mind it was written for pre-teen/teenage girls. Loved the whole series.
  DMYates | Aug 2, 2014 |
Great from the beginning to the point where Bella had the baby. Then it turned into too much fantasy with way too many characters to keep track of. ( )
  AshleyLynnWillis | Aug 1, 2014 |
Great from the beginning to the point where Bella had the baby. Then it turned into too much fantasy with way too many characters to keep track of. ( )
  AshleyLynnWillis | Aug 1, 2014 |
I am still debating the number of stars...suffice to say there are parts I thought were too easy, and parts I thought didn't fit. The whole series was way too soap opera for me...but it always goes back to me for YA fiction: it's getting kids to read.

I'm sure if I went back and read Goosebumps I'd be horrified by utter fascination with it as a child...but at least it got me reading. I saw twilight do that for my students...let's them know books are not all bad, so how do I fault that? ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
I am still debating the number of stars...suffice to say there are parts I thought were too easy, and parts I thought didn't fit. The whole series was way too soap opera for me...but it always goes back to me for YA fiction: it's getting kids to read.

I'm sure if I went back and read Goosebumps I'd be horrified by utter fascination with it as a child...but at least it got me reading. I saw twilight do that for my students...let's them know books are not all bad, so how do I fault that? ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
The novel Breaking Dawn, by Stephenie Meyer is the third book in a love story about Edward and Bella. The book starts off where it left off in the second book. The Vulturi are after the Cullen family because Edward and Bella have fallen in love. The catch is that Bella is not a vampire like the rest of the Cullens. This is book is amazingly well written. The way Stephenie Meyer portrays each character in this book is amazing. The book is told from the first person point of view from Bella and Edward. The narrator changes with every section of the book. This brings a new perspective to the situation a we see it from another characters eyes. Overall this book is an amazingly well written take on something some people would say closely resembles Romeo and Juliet. I would definitely recommend this book to any high school student looking for a good read.
  tianagaddis | Jun 11, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 873 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.78)
0.5 98
1 536
1.5 80
2 730
2.5 157
3 1428
3.5 301
4 2089
4.5 255
5 3315

Audible.com

4 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 97,304,728 books! | Top bar: Always visible