HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) by…
Loading...

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) (original 2008; edition 2008)

by Stephenie Meyer

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
27,09688437 (3.79)2 / 146
Jacey25's review
I am somewhat shocked by the negative backlash on this book. Ultimately the most gripping book in her series by far and one of the most gripping books I've read recently the book started sweetly quiet and halfway in I think I was making dentmarks in the book itself. Love or hate the premise it is a rollercoaster ride of a novel.
*Spoilers ahead*
The good-
Completely shocking- to be honest I thought the series would go out quietly (with much melodrama), the book is a powderkeg of shockers; even when you see them coming.

The pregnancy depictions & especially the delivery- no punches were pulled in the depiction of how difficult it was... and how much Bella loved her baby already despite that.

Renesmee herself was decently fleshed out for a baby, the idea ultimately held more charm for me than the real character.

The Bad

Basically all of the characters lack a certain je ne sais quoi that they've had in the other books. Due to the events going on you don't spend as much time in Bella's head thus you spend less time with Edward, Alice isn't in much of the book. You do spend a lot of time with Jacob yet I found myself not invested in him at all this book. I cared for Leah & Seth Clearwater far more.

Bella as a newborn should have had at least a couple of truly out of control scenes and needed more time to recover herself before mingling in company.

The ending was far too neatly wrapped, don't buy that there would be no bloodshed at all. The way the rest of the book moved someone should have died.

Overall
The book was a compelling and moving read because of all the character work she had done thus far; sadly that character work was mostly absent here. I also feel as though the end with the Volturi was far too compressed and bled of it's force. I think there was more writing to the series; the Volturi could have been a stand alone book and that there should have been loss. I think unfortunately the writer let the book gallop her straight to the end (spending not enough time touching & giving life to her characters along the way) and when she got to the end the writer couldn't make the necessary sacrifce the book demanded ultimately letting down all of us; readers, characters & writer. ( )
6 vote Jacey25 | Aug 4, 2008 |
All member reviews
English (857)  Dutch (5)  Spanish (5)  German (4)  Portuguese (Portugal) (3)  French (2)  Italian (2)  Finnish (2)  Catalan (1)  Eskimo languages (1)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  All languages (884)
Showing 1-25 of 857 (next | show all)
I am still debating the number of stars...suffice to say there are parts I thought were too easy, and parts I thought didn't fit. The whole series was way too soap opera for me...but it always goes back to me for YA fiction: it's getting kids to read.

I'm sure if I went back and read Goosebumps I'd be horrified by utter fascination with it as a child...but at least it got me reading. I saw twilight do that for my students...let's them know books are not all bad, so how do I fault that? ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
I am still debating the number of stars...suffice to say there are parts I thought were too easy, and parts I thought didn't fit. The whole series was way too soap opera for me...but it always goes back to me for YA fiction: it's getting kids to read.

I'm sure if I went back and read Goosebumps I'd be horrified by utter fascination with it as a child...but at least it got me reading. I saw twilight do that for my students...let's them know books are not all bad, so how do I fault that? ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
The novel Breaking Dawn, by Stephenie Meyer is the third book in a love story about Edward and Bella. The book starts off where it left off in the second book. The Vulturi are after the Cullen family because Edward and Bella have fallen in love. The catch is that Bella is not a vampire like the rest of the Cullens. This is book is amazingly well written. The way Stephenie Meyer portrays each character in this book is amazing. The book is told from the first person point of view from Bella and Edward. The narrator changes with every section of the book. This brings a new perspective to the situation a we see it from another characters eyes. Overall this book is an amazingly well written take on something some people would say closely resembles Romeo and Juliet. I would definitely recommend this book to any high school student looking for a good read.
  tianagaddis | Jun 11, 2014 |
Ok. I admit. I am a sucker for a happy ending, and I loved it. I have a friend who did not; it was too far-fetched for her. Lets face it---the whole series is far-fetched! But who does not want to be loved by either Edward (Mr. Perfection) or Jacob? ( )
  Dmtcer | Jun 3, 2014 |
Second favourite. Full of drama, couldn't put it down. Great way to end the series. ( )
  IceMaiden786 | May 31, 2014 |
I really enjoyed this conclusion to the series. I have to point out though, I rate books right after I read them so that I am as fair as possible with the book still being fresh in my mind. Usually it doesn't make a difference but with all the books in the series I might be inclined to give them all lower ratings now. Its been a year since I read the Saga and considering I have not gone one day without hearing the word "Twilight", I'm pretty sick of it all. Don't get me wrong, I'm not some snob who cant like something just because lots of others do, its just due to a ridiculous amount of over exposure.

Something miraculous happened in this book. I actually started to kind of like Bella, who would have thought it? (let me be clear though, I grew fond of vampire Bella who mercifully had no choices to make and therefore was less of an annoying little bitch). ( )
  katie1802 | May 10, 2014 |
I was really hoping someone would shove a stake through my stone cold heart before I could finish this series, but I listened to the audio version on my way home from work--the only alternative was late night NPR. This last book in the series is clearly the best, which tells you how bad the other ones were. One would think that immortality would subdue gossipy, truculent, petty behaviors, but all of these magical characters would have been better suited on an episode of "Dawson's Creek" or whatever the young folk watch these days ("Saved by the Bell"? "Real Housewives of Atlanta?"). Anyway, I fastforwarded all the boring/romantic parts and this story still dragged on forever. I understand the concept of writing minute details to absorb readers into the author's world, but the end result resembled bland, unwelcome house guests lingering for far too long. There's a problem when the only character worth rooting for is Aro the Italian vampire. ( )
  NickAngelis | Apr 28, 2014 |
Eh...that was my overall impression of this book.



Some parts of the book were quite good- Jacob's "book", especially, was enjoyable and interesting.



However, some of the book gave me a headache because it was so horrific. I had to keep stopping, putting it down, and hoping that when I came back to it, it'd be better.
  liveshipvivacia | Apr 26, 2014 |
Eh...that was my overall impression of this book.



Some parts of the book were quite good- Jacob's "book", especially, was enjoyable and interesting.



However, some of the book gave me a headache because it was so horrific. I had to keep stopping, putting it down, and hoping that when I came back to it, it'd be better.
  liveshipvivacia | Apr 26, 2014 |
When you loved the one who was killing you, it left you no options. How could you run, how could you fight, when doing so would hurt that beloved one? If your life was all you had to give, how could you not give it? If it was someone you truly loved?

To be irrevocably in love with a vampire is both fantasy and nightmare woven into a dangerously heightened reality for Bella Swan. Pulled in one direction by her intense passion for Edward Cullen, and in another by her profound connection to werewolf Jacob Black, a tumultuous year of temptation, loss, and strife have led her to the ultimate turning point. Her imminent choice to either join the dark but seductive world of immortals or to pursue a fully human life has become the thread from which the fates of two tribes hangs.

Now that Bella has made her decision, a startling chain of unprecedented events is about to unfold with potentially devastating, and unfathomable, consequences. Just when the frayed strands of Bella's life-first discovered in Twilight, then scattered and torn in New Moon and Eclipse-seem ready to heal and knit together, could they be destroyed... forever?
  Megan88 | Apr 22, 2014 |
Vampires :)
  ChrisTemm | Apr 13, 2014 |
Yes, I'll admit it. I'm 40 and read these books. At first I was hesitant. I actually made fun of people reading them. Now I have to say, I too was hooked.

Book four is the last book in the series. This is where the baby is born, the sex scenes, transformation, imprinting (odd) and an weird ending.

I personally wish it ended better. It's like she got bored and said, ok, let's wrap this up! In all it was a good series. ( )
  cbilbo | Apr 8, 2014 |
Yes, I'll admit it. I'm 40 and read these books. At first I was hesitant. I actually made fun of people reading them. Now I have to say, I too was hooked.

Book four is the last book in the series. This is where the baby is born, the sex scenes, transformation, imprinting (odd) and an weird ending.

I personally wish it ended better. It's like she got bored and said, ok, let's wrap this up! In all it was a good series. ( )
  cbilbo | Apr 8, 2014 |
vampyyrit, 2013, äänikirjat, Twilight
  silanto | Apr 5, 2014 |
OH MY GOODNESS! Ok, all I will say is that "I didn't see that coming!" I loved the whole book. I actually loved that Jacob imprinted on Renesme, because I liked him, but never saw him with Bella. It made sense to me, kept them as family and what a way to cement the new alliance between vampire and shapeshifters.

I also loved that Jacob found a way for Bella to keep her father in her life just a little longer. I love happy endings and this worked for me. I just wonder how long the Volturi will actually let the "ruling" stand. You know they still want Edward and now Bella even more than ever, not to mention Alice. LOVED IT! ( )
  CharityBradford | Apr 1, 2014 |
OH MY GOODNESS! Ok, all I will say is that "I didn't see that coming!" I loved the whole book. I actually loved that Jacob imprinted on Renesme, because I liked him, but never saw him with Bella. It made sense to me, kept them as family and what a way to cement the new alliance between vampire and shapeshifters.

I also loved that Jacob found a way for Bella to keep her father in her life just a little longer. I love happy endings and this worked for me. I just wonder how long the Volturi will actually let the "ruling" stand. You know they still want Edward and now Bella even more than ever, not to mention Alice. LOVED IT! ( )
  CharityBradford | Apr 1, 2014 |
Happy to be finished with these books. I enjoyed them and the characters stayed with me - way more then I would have liked.

Was happy with how it all wrapped up.

I have the same complaints as most people have with the series...but hard to give a lower star rating when I couldn't put these down. A good guilty pleasure. ( )
  dms02 | Feb 27, 2014 |
Well, I finally got it read before the last movie comes out. While I enjoyed the other books in the series, this one had issues. The other books had their flaws, but this one ebb and flowed between what I wanted to read and boring. I'm kinda wary of people who are overly critical of Twilight...it's a TEEN ROMANCE people. If you didn't like, I feel like your probably not a frequent TEEN ROMANCE reader in the first place. If you mainly read YA and TEEN ROMANCE and still didn't enjoy it, then more power to you.

First off, much like the movies, I think this should have been broken into two books. Twilight book 4 should have ended after Bella hunted with Edward as a vampire for the first time. Then maybe Stephanie Meyer could have come up with more plot for Twilight book 5/part 2 whatever you want to call it. After Bella's transformation, I was bored. The bad guys Volturi come to town, I think there's going to be a cool fight, but after way too much dialogue everybody goes happy skippy on there own way.

But, my main issue is the Jacob/Renesmee pairing. In my reading experience it was the most forced pairing since Laurie and Amy from "Little Women". Way too convenient. I feel Meyer didn't want to deal with fully resolving the Jacob/Bella/Edward triangle, so she just stuck Jacob with the infant. Logically, I think Jacob should have ended up with Leah Clearwater, the female shapeshifter in his pack. They had a hate/love/loyalty relationship that could have bloomed into a good story. Also convenient reference to Jacob and Leah in the Bible for Meyer's Mormon connection. If Renesmee had to be imprinted to a werewolf, I think Seth Clearwater would have been a better choice. Hey, at least he was closer to her age.

So, overall, disappointed at the weird twists and the plot that ran out of steam. Maybe Breaking Dawn Part 2 movie will improve on the book. ( )
  vonze | Feb 6, 2014 |
I think this was my favorite out of all the Twilight books. This one had an edge to it that was refreshing after all the teenage drama of the other books. ( )
  DanaMBurnett | Jan 27, 2014 |
I hated the ending. She really needs to work on this. It was totally anti climactic. It was building to this great scene and then nothing. I was so disappointed. ( )
  Ahnya | Jan 25, 2014 |





  potterhead9.75 | Jan 5, 2014 |
What an exceptionally stupid and poorly written book.
Spoiler: Nothing happens. At all. ( )
  newskepticx | Dec 18, 2013 |
I really liked this book because I liked how Bella and Edward got married and when Bella got pregnant how Edward tried to help her and also the final part when they were fighting. ( )
  adrianazablah | Nov 15, 2013 |
Unbelieveable! Just when I'd think I had things figured out, something would change...kept me engaged the entire time. Such a good read! ( )
  emmyson | Oct 9, 2013 |
Great book. ( )
  JFussell | Oct 1, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 857 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.79)
0.5 96
1 496
1.5 76
2 705
2.5 156
3 1363
3.5 299
4 2023
4.5 253
5 3245

Audible.com

Four editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,604,790 books! | Top bar: Always visible