HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) by…
Loading...

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) (original 2008; edition 2008)

by Stephenie Meyer

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
28,50192633 (3.76)2 / 172
I was never sure what it was about this series that drew me in. I read Twilight somewhat unwillingly and had mixed reactions to it as well as New Moon and Eclipse, though each one did seem to get a little better; a little more grounded in real emotion. To this point I hadn't found anything particularly literary about the Twilight Saga, it was more the hidden 12-year-old girl inside of me that loved the books, the more analytical adult in me was horrified throughout much of the books. Now I know Stepehenie Meyer was building up to something. Something amazing.

Breaking Dawn is divided into three books and, unlike so many books in this format, each really could be a different book. One of these books is told from Jacob's perspective, much like the epilogue at the end of Eclipse, which was a particularly fascinating move on the part of Meyer. At first it was somewhat jarring to realize I was about to read 200+ pages in a different voice than Bella's, which I had become so used to, but it ended up being my favorite section of the book. It was a genius move on Meyer's part, had we been trapped reading the events Jacob chronicles for us from Bella's point of view, it certainly would have seemed like more of the same. Getting a new and unique perspective on things at a crucial plot turn left the book feeling fresh and helped to reinvigorate me for the end.

As to plot, there's not much that can be said that would not end up spoiling something important. Impressively, all the questions I had before beginning, were answered by the end, as well as some questions I didn't know I should be asking. Many of the plot twists felt unique this time, something different than the usual vampire story or love triangle. By the middle of the book, some relationships had changed in such a drastic way, I was ravenous to see how it would all turn out.

If you have been avoiding this series or tried it and put it away disappointed, I would encourage you to give it another shot. The path to reach Breaking Dawn was at times tedious, and at times frustrating, but having reached the end of Bella's story, I'm glad I gave it the time. ( )
33 vote biblioholic29 | Aug 5, 2008 |
English (897)  Dutch (5)  Spanish (5)  German (4)  Finnish (3)  Portuguese (Portugal) (3)  French (2)  Italian (2)  Danish (2)  Catalan (1)  Eskimo languages (1)  Swedish (1)  All languages (926)
Showing 1-25 of 897 (next | show all)
This book started out quite well... but it doesn't take long before the author suddenly, as if she's purposely trying to ruin the book, jumps the shark. It's as if she forgot that she was writing a vampire/human love story, and decided to turn completely sci-fi/horror. Gone was the weak and lovestruck, but ultimately lovable Bella. Instead, we got a girl whose motivations could no longer be identified with .
Pregnant. 17-year-old vampire Edward and 18-year-old human Bella.I can accept the marriage, because Edward will never get older, and they love each other.The fact that Meyer had made the ridiculously immature, but lovable and relatable teenager Bella pregnant was bad enough. But then it is with some weird, unknown mutant parasite, that saps all her strength, breaks several of her bones and causes various bruises, and makes her drink human blood. During Bella's pregnancy, I was literally shuddering with disgust on almost every page. That is not an exaggeration. And I'm 20.
The birth and Bella's transformation. This was hands-down the most disturbing passage I have read.Here, Bella, dieing and screaming in agony, vomits blood while the mutant baby inside of her destroys her body, internal organs and spine. Edward uses his teeth to bite the baby out of her uterus. Bella dies and then Edward injects vampire venom into her heart with a syringe.
The transformation was a disappointment. The vampire Bella was a disappointment. Of course she is the most beautiful, graceful, controlled, perfect vampire ever!She is infinitely more beautiful, graceful, powerful, inexplicably becomes supermom at 18, and still retains all the parts of her humanity she was afraid to lose. She has a child, she stays in Forks, and tells her family.
Jacob, the cute and friendly guy who is painfully in love with and loyal to Bella,falls in love with her newborn baby. This is beyond sick and pedophilic. But it's ok. He's willing to "share" the baby with Bella and Edward. Bella and Edward quickly realize this whole thing is great.If it weren't bad enough that this annoyingly perfect child that absolutely everyone in the book adores exists, she is destined to be with Jacob.
The only worthwhile reason to read Breaking Dawn is to finally end this nightmarish obession with the Cullens and to satisfy one's curiosity as to how the series ends. Besides that, the book is useless. I had to force myself to read the entire thing. ( )
  AlexisLovesBooks | Feb 9, 2016 |
What a paradox this novel is. It is somehow both brilliant and awful between the same two covers, and I wish I could reconcile the two.

The opening--the wedding and blissful island honeymoon--is about as saccharine as the inch-thick icing on Bella's towering wedding cake. You can almost smell the Vaseline and gauze on the camera lens. Cue the violins. But then Bella discovers she's pregnant, and suddenly the novel shifts dangerously close to a serious discussion of abortion rights and teen (albeit in wedlock) pregnancy, and things get a lot more interesting. And then, in what was I think a genuinely brilliant move on Meyer's part, she drops Bella entirely and shifts the narrative perspective to Jacob. This is much different than Edward's much-needed absence in the second book; here, Bella herself disappears into a sweaty pregnant near-comma, utterly incapable of telling her own story, and Jacob takes over the narration in a voice that is blunt, brutish, and extremely refreshing. I understand Meyer is rewriting the first novel from Edward's perspective; I haven't read the opening chapter of that yet (it's on her website), but I already think it's a mistake--she needs to spend a LOT more time with Jacob. His section of this novel is the best writing I've seen in this whole series: the language is precise and observant and mythical without ever resorting to overblown Gothic melodrama, while the narrator himself is clearly flawed, realistic, and embracing. Jacob is, I think, the narrator who should have been telling this story all along.

Better still, we finally get a genuine sense of violence in this book, with a brutally gory description of half-vampire birth that serves as a terrific metaphor for actual birth. I've heard there has been some backlash regarding that violent depiction, but let's be honest here--birth ain't pretty, and we come into this world screaming for a reason. It's about time Meyer put some blood in this series, and if she had to hold back till now, she certainly picked the right place to get messy and terrifying.

But then the narrative shifts back to Bella, who--now a vampire--is, surprise surprise, practically a superhero. She is the "perfect" vampire, resisting any evil as naturally as breathing, and learning to control her new preternatural body as easily as learning to ride a bicycle. Please. Where's Jacob? He at least forgets to tie his clothes on now and then and has to go running through the forest naked--that's a REAL character. And the ending, the great-granddaddy of all vampire showdowns, written as though it belonged in a dusty alley in Dodge City instead of the damp backwoods of the Pacific Northwest, turned into an overrated debate match. There were some cool superpowers on display, I suppose, but I'd rather have read an issue of X-Men, for all the good those superpowers did the story. No one got into a single scrap--there were barely even any nasty looks or guttural snarls--and the only person to bite it (pardon the pun) was a temporary bitch no one really cared about anyway. The stakes were high in this series climax, but the consequences drifted away on the wind--no one paid any price at all. If you ask me, a happy ending has to be bought with blood or sacrifice, and this one was handed over with a big pretty bow and a Christmas bonus to boot.

When Meyer writes a werewolf novel, I'll be back for more. Until then, I think I'm done with this author. ( )
  Snoek-Brown | Feb 7, 2016 |
Wowza! SPOILER ALERT!!!! Don't read further unless you never plan on reading the book!









So I wanted to strangle Bella with my bare hands for the first third of the book. Argh! So typical though. I was unbelievably frustrated about the change in perspective for the 2nd third....I guess it was a nice break from insane Bella, but it seemed a little strange to only have Jacob and Bella's perspective. But it did make sense when he finally imprints on Nessie.

I thought it was a little convenient to have Bella just sort of breeze through being a newborn...it seemed like a LOT of gifts to have, you know? I did think her "gift" of being a shield was cool and made sense though.

I know it's a little "wrapped up in a nice bow" but I gotta say I love this happily ever after ending. Everyone's happy, although there is still a vague threat of Volturi in the distant future. A satisfying ending. I'm not sort of aching for it like other series enders (like His Dark Materials, when I cried for several hours!). It was just satisfying - no real loose ends. Sigh. ( )
  chessakat | Feb 5, 2016 |
Finally Bella contributes more then whining and getting into trouble and has her own strength. Actually quite enjoyed this one. ( )
  tashlyn88 | Feb 5, 2016 |
I enjoyed this book much more than I anticipated-I couldn't put it down and finished it in less than 48 hours! Quite an accomplishment lately considering my two under two! I don't feel like the story is really complete, there is quite a bit of room for another sequel. Also it felt like it was very rushed near the end-the climax and conclusion all happen in the last 20 pages. ( )
  twileteyes | Feb 4, 2016 |
Breaking Dawn was my favourite of the Twiliht series. I thought it was hilarious, and I like funny books. I think too much happened too fast. ( )
  babydogfish | Jan 29, 2016 |
Great read ( )
  micahmom2002 | Jan 25, 2016 |
Great read ( )
  micahmom2002 | Jan 25, 2016 |
After having heard several oral reviews of Breaking Dawn I was not sure what to expect. However, it was a pleasant surprise to find that this final episode in the Twilight Sage was as enjoyable, if not better, than its predecessors.

It was definitely a case of ‘Good’ triumphing over ‘Evil’ which is always a good way to end any story. After an apprehensive beginning to this series – I had never heard of the Twilight saga when I purchased New Moon and was told to listen to Twilight first – I have become a closet Twilight devotee enjoying all the Audio books and movies so far. Although I must confess that I was outed when I had to stand in line to purchase 'Eclipse' movie tickets when all other movie goers were around 40 years younger. Thank goodness I was able to feel safe in the company of my wife among all those teenagers!
( )
  DCarlin | Jan 23, 2016 |
******POSSIBLE SPOILERS*********
Bella and Edward have Alice's dream wedding, honeymoon on Esme's tropical island, and return with a violent pregnancy watched over diligently by the strange Rosalie. The first half of the book deals with Bella's unimaginably horrific pregnancy and the birth of daughter Renesmee (What? Seriously the worst baby name ever invented). The second half of the book deals with protecting the rapidly growing Renesmee from every vampire in the world. I can't even begin to explain how Jacob 'imprinting' on Bella's baby girl is creepy......ewwwww. I shall now return the book I borrowed from my daughter, thank her for her loan and quietly go vomit in the corner. ( )
1 vote Ellen_R | Jan 15, 2016 |
Now that I've become so familiar with the series and its cast of characters, I found this book to be predictable, but that didn't lessen my enjoyment of the story. I'm glad the middle of the book took on a whole new perspective. I don't know how much agony I could stomach and this outside view was a great way to keep the story progressing. The last third of the book was both spectacular and slow going. I love Meyer's fresh ideas about vampires and werewolves of La Push. The one thing that really annoyed me was the name of the newest, youngest character.... I'm trying not to spoil anything for those of you who have not read the book, but geez!! What the heck!!! So the figurative honeymoon with this series is over. I think Eclipse was my seven-year itch. This last book feels like a comfortable marriage now.... still some irritations, but I'm willing to overlook them because of my affection for it. All in all, it was fun, imaginative, and Edward Cullen is my kind of vamp! Team Edward!! ( )
  bouldermimi | Jan 13, 2016 |
Breaking Dawn seemed a very different type of story compared with the first three novels in the series. In the other novels it felt like nothing really happened until the last quarter of the book where the author decided to throw in some external conflict. In Breaking Dawn, there was external conflict from the beginning of the book until the end. The story was much more about the action than about the relationship between Bella and Edward (and Jacob). I enjoyed the book as much as the others, just in a different way. The characters and emotions did not seem as real and compelling as in the first three, but the action and story itself was more so. Although it was a little predictable and the ending a little too neat, I liked seeing how the author brought us to the conclusion. ( )
  Cora-R | Jan 13, 2016 |
Really enjoyed this -- wasn't sure about some of the storyline decisions, but I definitely enjoyed the read. I'd previously heard a spoiler (or so I thought) and I kept reading this waiting for it to happen -- turns out it didn't.

Oh. Wait. I thought I was done with this series. (Although I realized it was wide open for more very long, big books.) So uh oh. Maybe the spoiler will still happen. And I'm destined to sit with another monster hardcover at some point in the future. ( )
  emblue | Jan 3, 2016 |
I actually hated seeing this series end. But, I'm glad it did! I'm also glad that I didn't catch on until all books were out. I tend to be impatient, but I would've lined up for any of these, had I caught on early on. Regardless, there are some fantastical ideas that wouldn't usually appeal to me. That is a credit to Stephanie Meyer that she was able to draw me in and create a passion within me, for this story. Easy to read, and entertaining. This will always be one of my favorite book series. ( )
  LaneySmith | Dec 1, 2015 |
I couldn't put the book down. I had to find out how it all ended. I'm not sure that I'd want my teen to read it (if I had one). I did like how the Edward/Jacob issues were resolved since I wasn't to thrilled about those issues in the past two books of the series. ( )
  mtunquist | Nov 29, 2015 |
I couldn't put the book down. I had to find out how it all ended. I'm not sure that I'd want my teen to read it (if I had one). I did like how the Edward/Jacob issues were resolved since I wasn't to thrilled about those issues in the past two books of the series. ( )
  mtunquist | Nov 29, 2015 |
I don't know.... where. to. begin. But however did it get here from Twilight?? Really, this is how to end the SAGA??? Are you kidding me? I didn't think it could get worst from Eclipse... not only did it get worst.. it got longer!!!!! 756 pages longer!!!

This book proved 2 things to me, Meyer can not write a love making scene... and she can not write a fighting scene. Think about how we missed the fight with James.... barely got any fighting from Victoria...and completely avoided the bloodshed from the Volturi. They're suppose to be deadly, show us a little something of what that might look like.
And the fade to black, every time Bella and Edward were suppose to be making love... they're married... it's okay if they have sex, really it's OKAY!!! Make us see how dangerous it is, instead of implying it with the ripped up pillows and the crushed headboard... tell us how that happened... UGH!!! this was one frustrating book that I had to make myself get through...where as Twilight and New Moon were fun reads though they too were sophmoric at best.

But again, I keep reminding myself that I am not the intended audience... even if I were, I'd still think it was aweful. Follow the rules you set Stephenie Meyer... don't change things just to get your happy ending... find a more creative way to get it or don't take it there at all!!!!

I could go on about this... but I won't. This book is disappointing plain and simple.
( )
  KatDes | Nov 20, 2015 |
I read through these hoping she'd become a crazy vampire and just destroy. But no. ""It's like you were made to be a vampire."" Ugh. ( )
  Adam_N_Rabenstein | Sep 16, 2015 |
That was really cool.. I like the way it ended, as happily ever after..
I'm just sad to know that it's the end of the series..
Great job Stephenie ! :) ( )
  smiley0905 | Sep 3, 2015 |
"I liked this book. There were parts that I really liked, and parts that I didn't like quite so much, but overall, I did enjoy reading it despite its flaws. It dealt with a lot more mature themes than the other Twilight books: loss of innocence, recognition of death, sacrifices, the importance of family, friendship and truth. The main point of this book is to end Edward and Bella's story. And I think the author delivered that end surprisingly well. After finishing the book, I really feel that their story has been told now.

Regarding the characters, what I liked the most is Bella's development. The teenage whining has finally stopped! Also, Bella and Edward are equals at last, so their relationship is not that awkward, creepy ball of madness it has always been. It is somewhat closer to normal. About Jacob: I still like him as a character more than any of the others, really. He has a lot of layers to him and they got even more exposed and clear on this book than the previous ones.

Overall, regardless of its flaws, I really enjoyed reading Breaking Dawn. The author undoubtedly knows how to make a story compelling, although she likes to let you hang in the air after all the tension just pops like a soap bubble. There were really awful things about this series, but, in the end, the story found its end, and it wasn't bad at all.

Interesting quotes that I didn't include in the review:
Life sucks, and then you die...

The Last Passage
I laughed breathlessly when his urgent kiss interrupted my efforts again.
“Damn it,” he growled, kissing hungrily down the edge of my jaw.
“We have plenty of time to work on it,” I reminded him.
“Forever and forever and forever,” he murmured.
“That sounds exactly right to me.” And then we continued blissfully into this small but perfect piece of our forever.
" ( )
  AdemilsonM | Sep 2, 2015 |
Spoiler alert - Meyer does a decent job of carrying the romance past a wedding and a kid - not an easy feat! But this book suffered as the romance dwindled and the fantasy came forward. There were too many new rules introduced for this world we'd already lived in for three books. It felt contrived. These books are romances, and should have ended at the wedding! ( )
  KristinAkerHowell | Aug 15, 2015 |
Spoiler alert - Meyer does a decent job of carrying the romance past a wedding and a kid - not an easy feat! But this book suffered as the romance dwindled and the fantasy came forward. There were too many new rules introduced for this world we'd already lived in for three books. It felt contrived. These books are romances, and should have ended at the wedding! ( )
  KristinAkerHowell | Aug 15, 2015 |
Coming soon, after I've settled down. ( )
  engpunk77 | Aug 10, 2015 |
The short review: If you'd like to read something from the Twilight universe so you can feel culturally literate and cool, read online summaries of the first three books so you have a sense of what's going on, and then read this one.

The longer review: If you hadn't read the first three books, you'd never know from reading this one that Edward routinely treated Bella like an idiot (see my previous reviews and, oh, probably the entire freakin' Internet).

You'd certainly never know that Bella put up with being stalked, threatened, manipulated, controlled, and gaslighted because the alternative would be – oh, noes! – speaking up for herself.

Bella in this last Twilight novel tells Edward to stop ruining her good time on their honeymoon when he tries to pull his usual "But I'm bad for you, Bella" nonsense. "We're married and I want a sex life and it's called a honeymoon, so shut up and get over here, already," she (more or less) replies. And he does. (Eventually. There's still some brooding, but waaay less than there would have been if Bella hadn't told him to put a sock in it.)

Bella makes her own decisions about her own body when Edward tries to arrange for her to have an abortion without even telling her. Either he takes it as a given that she'll go along with whatever he says, or he doesn't care what she thinks – this is going to happen. Except it isn't. She rallies her troops and stands up to him when she's not even strong enough to literally physically stand up.

She eats her cake and has it, too (which is how the saying used to go, back when it made sense) by getting to have a baby with the vampire she loves and getting to become a vampire herself. And thanks to how things work in this universe, she gets to be the baddest-ass vampire on the block – at least for a while.

Edward stops being such a condescending berk and treats her with respect, admiration, and utter trust. He has faith in her strength and is proud of her abilities. (Where the hell was all this good behavior back when she was human? Maybe it's not that these books are sexist so much as Edward is racist. Or speciesist. Or deadist. Whatever you'd call it.)

I liked that Bella got to have a lot of fun being powerful for once. She also enjoys her new supernatural good looks without letting them go to her head.

A friend of mine warned me that the climax of this book is a bit of a cock-tease (my words, not hers), and the surprise at the very very end was a huge disappointment to her. I see her point, but I was actually fine with all of it. I even kind of liked the surprise, since I thought it reinforced the idea of Bella being in control.

Conclusion: This book was on top of my lunchtime reading material stack, and it didn't get demoted or shuffled down once. I found it an engaging and enjoyable read, and if the previous novels had been like this one, I'd have liked them just fine, even with the love triangle and insta-love. I mean, they wouldn't have been my Most Favoritest Books Of All Time Ever, but they wouldn't have made me scream.

So. There. I read all the Twilight books.

Now I just have to survive Fifty Shades of Grey, and then I can finally read that stupid Chuck Palahniuk book and explain all the references to my friend. ( )
  Deborah_Markus | Aug 8, 2015 |
An interesting end for the Twilight series. This story was definitely of a different ilk (in my opinion)but it was good overall.
I don't usually go in for the whole happily-ever-after spiel, but i enjoyed it here.

Definitely a series i would recommend. ( )
  mkclane | Jul 31, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 897 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.76)
0.5 98
1 579
1.5 82
2 759
2.5 157
3 1497
3.5 303
4 2158
4.5 255
5 3367

Audible.com

4 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,186,723 books! | Top bar: Always visible