HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) by…
Loading...

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) (original 2008; edition 2008)

by Stephenie Meyer

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
27,95390535 (3.78)2 / 169
Ho appena finito di leggere il libro in inglese. Tranquille non vi dirò nulla di specifico sulla trama per non rovinarvi la sopresa. Mi limiterò a darvi una mia opninione su questo libro che segna la conclusione di una serie ormai famosissima e venerata. Comunque qualcosa dovrò pur dirvi perciò se non volete sapere priprio nulla, non leggete oltre.

Ebbene la mia opinione di questo libro è.....che Delusioooone.

Ma andiamo per gradi. Perchè non mi è piaciuto? Bè i motivi sono molteplici. Il libro è diviso in tre parti. La prima dal punto di vista di Bella, la seconda dal punto di vista di Jacob, la terza dal punto di vista ancora di Bella. Sulla prima parte, stendiamo un velo pietoso, veramente. Sia per stile di scrittura che per contenuti è quasi illeggibile nella sua banalità. Ero tentata di smettere di leggere. E' praticamente un susseguirsi di piagnistei di Bella.La seconda parte per fortuna risolleva lievemente il livello e anche se la storia è piuttosto banale, almeno si può leggere. La terza parte è indubbiamente la migliore del libro, anche se nel finale cala un pò. Il lettore è in tensione perchè finalmente sta per accadere qualcosa ( uno scontro) e poi invece.....

Comunque sia, è certo che come conclusione di questa serie credevo la Meyer avrebbe tirato fuori una bella trama, invece anche se alcune idee anche se banail potrebbero essere considerate buone, poi non le sviluppa abbastanza. Vuole dire tante cose fare accadere tante cose e alla fine non approfondisce nulla. Tutto si risolve come per magia e vissero tutti felici e contenti come nelle favole, senza problemi, senza rimpianti, senza dover lottare tanto. Non mi piace come si risolve la storia di Jacob, non mi piace come Edward sembri preferire molto Bella da vampiro (dopo che per tre libri piagnucolava di volerla umana adesso dice che da vampiro è meglio, no, ma dico, siamo impazziti?), e Bella a parte i piagnistei iniziali davvero insopportabili (per tre libri vuole sposare Edward e poi si lamenta dello stress dei preparativi del matrimonio), da vampiro non è male ma......perde molte delle caratteristiche che la rendevano simpatica al lettore.

Insomma, concludendo, il libro si può leggere, non è bruttissimo, ma secondo me snatura molto i personaggi e la storia ed è un peccato. Forse se non avessi letto Twilight, ma solo questo lo avrei apprezzato di più.....ma sapendo come può scrivere la Meyer mi sari aspettata di più.

Il romanticismo, c'è, l'amore c'è, alcune scelte difficili ci sono, quindi probabilmente anche questo libro vavrà successo, ma credo veramente che questa serie meritasse un finale migliore. Non posso dare la sufficienza a questo libro. ( )
3 vote santippe | Aug 10, 2008 |
English (877)  Spanish (5)  Dutch (5)  German (4)  Portuguese (Portugal) (3)  Finnish (3)  French (2)  Italian (2)  Eskimo languages (1)  Catalan (1)  Danish (1)  Swedish (1)  All languages (905)
Showing 1-25 of 877 (next | show all)
An interesting end for the Twilight series. This story was definitely of a different ilk (in my opinion)but it was good overall.
I don't usually go in for the whole happily-ever-after spiel, but i enjoyed it here.

Definitely a series i would recommend. ( )
  mkclane | Jul 31, 2015 |
Synopsis
Bella and Edward Cullen get married, leaving behind a heartbroken Jacob. When Bella faces unexpected and life-threatening situations, she willingly risks her human life and possible vampire immortality to undergo the ultimate transformation from a weak pawn to the strong queen with unique powers to fight the final battle to save all those she loves.

So what do I think?
The last book in the series and I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book. The whole entire book had me on the edge of my seat. So many surprises that I wasn't expecting. Im pretty sad to see this book series end and I would wish that there would be more. With every single book I just could never put them down until I had finished reading every, single page. ( )
  KristyKhaos | Jul 1, 2015 |
Meh. I originally started reading Twilight because all of my friends at school were/had read/ing it. I liked it, but more or less just read Breaking Dawn to finish the series. ( )
  momma182 | Jun 23, 2015 |
I personally felt it was the best out of the four. More action compared to the rest, but it had to sacrifice the nice amount of character development that the first three had. I was hoping for more of an emotional impact, and a return on the time I invested in the series, but I didn't get that. A good quick read, but nothing more. ( )
  jms001 | Jun 14, 2015 |
EDIT , ABRIL 2014

ESTOY haciendo un poco de revisionismo en mis reseñas (ya que en estos dias de paro de profesores y un continuo estudio no puedo concentrarme lo que quisiera en la lectura) ... y me acorde de AMANECER .

Dejando de lado el asco que me provocan muuuuuuuuchas cosas del libro en su totalidad , no puedo dejar de acordarme lo mucho que me gusto el final ; y con "final" me refiero a la batalla que no es batalla , al hecho de que Meyer haya decidido resolver el conflicto de forma pacifista y no con una gran y ridicula guerra .

Me acuerdo de la decepcion general que se propago entre mis compañeros crepusculeanos cuando no hubo derramamiento de sangre ; y en medio de eso , de las decenas de voces indignadas por un "climax" que nunca se alcanzo , me acuerdo de mi misma pensando pero no estuvo tan mal! -algo que sigo pensando el dia de hoy y razon por la cual le doy dos estrellas y no una .

Me encanta , me fascina que la autora haya elegido ese camino . Que entre todas sus patrañas mormonas , al menos haya entendido que No todo tiene que ir por el lado belico y destructivo ; que no todos los finales son amargos y estan marcados por la muerte insipida y el dolor al pedo .AUnque a muchos lectores les parezca increible e imposibles -SI ! Puede darse , puede pasar que LOs conflictos se resuelvan pacificamente cuando hay charlas de por medio ; cuando hay representantes de un lado y del otro que llegan a un acuerdo sin necesidad de que mueran inocentes .

Hoy pienso que si l primera parte de la novela (la patetica luna de miel , el patetico embarazo y etc etc etc) , AMANECER hubiera tenido mas potencial , hubiese sido mas que una mera novela de el sexo el malo , el aborto es un crimen y todo el conjunto de patrañas anti-mujer que hay implicitas .

-----------------------------

Encontré el final perfecto :



Que suerte que existía Buffy cuando tenia once años .
( )
  LaMala | Jun 7, 2015 |
It was a phase, that is all I can say. Going back and reading the stories, I can find so many issues with all three of the books. I can only say that it was a phase. Caught up in the movie hype along with the romantic storyline, I can now see why so many people hated this whole series. ( )
  NicolefromCarmel | May 24, 2015 |
To preface, I didn't like the first three books. As a result, I didn't have much hope for this going in.

The overall purpose of my reading this series is that I needed to understand the claims of many for myself that the Twilight books were fabulous, worth a read for anyone, a great romance story, and done a disservice by the movies. After finishing this last installment, I can definitively say that this is not so, at least for me.

What once was just dull, static, or otherwise creepy has become strange and disjointed. The plot is all over the place, and deus ex abounds. I generally felt that while the first three books had structure in their own right, this book fell apart by halfway through.

Character actions are often nonsensical and irrational, and development completely halts. The writing itself isn't great, and is a bit overwritten. Overall, I feel that there's nothing to gain by reading this - the story is a bit absurd, the characters shallow and unlikable, and the ending completely devoid of a moral or lesson that makes most stories great. It reads like a cheesy romance novel minus the eroticism (which can be a great thing, if done right), and geared at teen girls to boot.

In the end, I group this and the rest of the series as viral pop fiction, which were made excessively popular due to a rabid fan base that's unwilling to discuss the book's faults. More power to them, I'm happy that you enjoy what you read. However, I most certainly did not. ( )
  bdtrump | May 9, 2015 |
I know I keep saying its a great series but it really really is! I recommend to everyone who likes romance and/or young adult novels. ( )
  AngelaFries | Apr 20, 2015 |
3-1/2 stars.

The completion of this series always seemed rather bittersweet to me. On one hand, you get closure on a lot of unknowns that have permeated the series, but on the other hand, you get a few more unknowns that you can't help but wonder about.

The old favorite characters feature prominently, but it always confuses me when an author introduces new characters so close to the end like this author did. You are left to wonder about the new players and no way of getting closure on the newest plot twists that are introduced, because the series is over and you are not going to get to know the characters any more than what is laid out in the pages you have already read.

There were not nearly as many inconsistencies in this final installment as there had been in some of the earlier books, so the writing style improves some.

I really don't know what it is about this series, though. It is not the best writing I have ever read, and one of the rare instances when I enjoy the movie more than the books, but I still keep coming back to it every couple of years. Maybe it is a matter of wanting to read something I know I already enjoy to clear a slump, maybe it is wanting to revisit old friends. For me, this series started it all. I hadn't read anything in so long, and then devoured these books in short order. Whatever the reason, I still enjoy it every time I pick it up, even with knowing already what is going to happen. I guess that says something. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
3-1/2 stars.

The completion of this series always seemed rather bittersweet to me. On one hand, you get closure on a lot of unknowns that have permeated the series, but on the other hand, you get a few more unknowns that you can't help but wonder about.

The old favorite characters feature prominently, but it always confuses me when an author introduces new characters so close to the end like this author did. You are left to wonder about the new players and no way of getting closure on the newest plot twists that are introduced, because the series is over and you are not going to get to know the characters any more than what is laid out in the pages you have already read.

There were not nearly as many inconsistencies in this final installment as there had been in some of the earlier books, so the writing style improves some.

I really don't know what it is about this series, though. It is not the best writing I have ever read, and one of the rare instances when I enjoy the movie more than the books, but I still keep coming back to it every couple of years. Maybe it is a matter of wanting to read something I know I already enjoy to clear a slump, maybe it is wanting to revisit old friends. For me, this series started it all. I hadn't read anything in so long, and then devoured these books in short order. Whatever the reason, I still enjoy it every time I pick it up, even with knowing already what is going to happen. I guess that says something. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
I really enjoyed the creative stories and characters in this modern-day fairytale of the Twilight series, but sometimes Bella's personality drove me nuts. I also enjoyed the movies based on this series as well, tho' many professed that they were less desirable. ( )
  CILLYart4U | Feb 16, 2015 |
This book provided yet more incessant ramblings from the self-obsessed Bella. At over 700 pages, it needed a good editor. The speech is stilted, the writing poor, the characters are bland and the ending carries a big fat meh. ( )
  martensgirl | Feb 14, 2015 |
Hmm...so this was better than the second & third installments, but was still a tad dissapointing. I liked the twists & suspense, as well as the change in POV. I still struggled to feel attached to the characters; I wish they were more likeable. ( )
  NetteinNJ | Jan 24, 2015 |
What I learned from this book? Like ice cream, the first bite is the best. I still haven't finished this novel, which I ran to the store to purchase. I'm bogged down about 50 pages from the end and I'm just bored. I'm TIRED of these people. I LOVED the series with the first book, liked the second, was okay with the third, and now--well, if the Twilight Series be the food of love, I've certainly gotten to the surfeit part and, having excess of it, my appetite is sickened and I'm done. ( )
  AlisonLea | Jan 10, 2015 |
Yes, I have read the book. I read all four... This is the only one, though, that I just didn't like at all. It had no direction, just wandered around aimlessly, and the ending was very much a letdown. ( )
  KVHardy | Jan 2, 2015 |
I am not going to say much. There have been tens of thousands of reviews of each of the books in the twilight series. I read them in a little over a week and enjoyed them all. I will just mention what I enjoyed most in this last book, Breaking Dawn.

The battle at the end was very enjoyable to me. It was handled as all battles should be written about. There was a long period of preparation, diplomacy was involved, the most important goal was to avoid fighting, and the minds and emotions and goals of each of the leaders on both sides was crucial to the beginning of the conflict and the final resolution.

It would be too much of a spoiler to say what happens in the final battle, but I was very happy at the outcome.

This was a satisfying conclusion to this tetralogy of books. ( )
  SAGibson | Dec 21, 2014 |
(4.3)
  mshampson | Oct 15, 2014 |
hilarious story about a pedophile vampire, stalking a bland teen in a small town. A love triangle is introduced, where it is later revealed the werewolf (the other love interest of Bella, the teen girl) has only been in love with one of Bella's unfertilized eggs. Things heat up when that egg gets doused in glittery vampire sperm and a baby, with a very unfortunate name, is born. The pedophilia theme is expanded when the teen werewolf declares his unending love and devotion to the new born infant. The baby's parents are inexplicably okay with this ( )
  taraseverson | Oct 14, 2014 |
Okay start. Messed up middle and the ending was sooo sooo boring. But I am addicted and will watch the movie version and probably re-read this mess. ( )
  lushrain | Sep 29, 2014 |
This book was the best of the series. I would have given it 5 stars if only the main character had done more and actually used her amazing powers more. Sure she has this cool ability and sure she's powerful, but why couldn't she actually annihilate the bad guys, or at least rip them to shreds? On the plus side, again there wasn't as much "his skin was like satin" or "his eyes were the deepest shade of puce" or whatever color they were. ( )
  piersanti | Sep 28, 2014 |
I can honestly say I liked twilight before it became a hype. The books are fun to read and they triggered the whole YA vampire/wolf thing, so we all like them in a way. I just hate what the hype & media did to the books. Now it's all kirsten, pattinson & shrieking fangirls.
Besides all that the books were ok. ( )
  lisa.isselee | Sep 26, 2014 |
Well, I liked Eclipse better, but this book also isn't the horrible disaster that some of my friends warned me about. Yes, there was some shark-jumping, and I don't think it's possible to come up with a WORSE name for the baby, and Bella (or as a friend calls her) SuperBella is annoying beyond belief. . .but it's still readable. I think the worst part is that Bella is really starting to turn into a Mary Sue by the end. . ...not to mention the disturbing right-to-life implications and sexism. Ugh. ( )
  sammii507 | Aug 19, 2014 |
OH MY GOD! What a FRUSTRATING BOOK!







All that work up... all that... anticipation... for nothing! I HATED how this series ended! I should have stopped reading at book three and made up my own ending!

"My children, beware of popularity; it is a delusion and a snare; it puffeth up the heart of man, and especially of woman; it blindeth the eyes to faults; it exaltath unduly the humble powers of the victim; it is apt to be capricious, and just as one gets to liking the taste of this intoxicating draught, it suddenly faileth, and one is left gasping, like a fish out of water." -Louisa May Alcott "An Old-Fashioned Girl" ( )
  KRaySaulis | Aug 13, 2014 |
In the final book of the series, Bella changes dramatically. She realizes her love for her father, for Jacob and the other wolves, and for her deepest love in Edward and his family. When it looks like the family will be killed, Bella pulls all her strength to fight for those she loves. This story touches on the kind of fairy tale love we all wish we could experience and brings in the worst of all enemies. I encourage everyone to read the Twilight series keeping in mind it was written for pre-teen/teenage girls. Loved the whole series.
  DMYates | Aug 2, 2014 |
Great from the beginning to the point where Bella had the baby. Then it turned into too much fantasy with way too many characters to keep track of. ( )
  AshleyLynnWillis | Aug 1, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 877 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.78)
0.5 99
1 542
1.5 79
2 734
2.5 158
3 1445
3.5 301
4 2105
4.5 255
5 3331

Audible.com

4 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 98,523,726 books! | Top bar: Always visible