HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) by…
Loading...

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) (original 2008; edition 2008)

by Stephenie Meyer

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
27,68590036 (3.78)2 / 162
Ho appena finito di leggere il libro in inglese. Tranquille non vi dirò nulla di specifico sulla trama per non rovinarvi la sopresa. Mi limiterò a darvi una mia opninione su questo libro che segna la conclusione di una serie ormai famosissima e venerata. Comunque qualcosa dovrò pur dirvi perciò se non volete sapere priprio nulla, non leggete oltre.

Ebbene la mia opinione di questo libro è.....che Delusioooone.

Ma andiamo per gradi. Perchè non mi è piaciuto? Bè i motivi sono molteplici. Il libro è diviso in tre parti. La prima dal punto di vista di Bella, la seconda dal punto di vista di Jacob, la terza dal punto di vista ancora di Bella. Sulla prima parte, stendiamo un velo pietoso, veramente. Sia per stile di scrittura che per contenuti è quasi illeggibile nella sua banalità. Ero tentata di smettere di leggere. E' praticamente un susseguirsi di piagnistei di Bella.La seconda parte per fortuna risolleva lievemente il livello e anche se la storia è piuttosto banale, almeno si può leggere. La terza parte è indubbiamente la migliore del libro, anche se nel finale cala un pò. Il lettore è in tensione perchè finalmente sta per accadere qualcosa ( uno scontro) e poi invece.....

Comunque sia, è certo che come conclusione di questa serie credevo la Meyer avrebbe tirato fuori una bella trama, invece anche se alcune idee anche se banail potrebbero essere considerate buone, poi non le sviluppa abbastanza. Vuole dire tante cose fare accadere tante cose e alla fine non approfondisce nulla. Tutto si risolve come per magia e vissero tutti felici e contenti come nelle favole, senza problemi, senza rimpianti, senza dover lottare tanto. Non mi piace come si risolve la storia di Jacob, non mi piace come Edward sembri preferire molto Bella da vampiro (dopo che per tre libri piagnucolava di volerla umana adesso dice che da vampiro è meglio, no, ma dico, siamo impazziti?), e Bella a parte i piagnistei iniziali davvero insopportabili (per tre libri vuole sposare Edward e poi si lamenta dello stress dei preparativi del matrimonio), da vampiro non è male ma......perde molte delle caratteristiche che la rendevano simpatica al lettore.

Insomma, concludendo, il libro si può leggere, non è bruttissimo, ma secondo me snatura molto i personaggi e la storia ed è un peccato. Forse se non avessi letto Twilight, ma solo questo lo avrei apprezzato di più.....ma sapendo come può scrivere la Meyer mi sari aspettata di più.

Il romanticismo, c'è, l'amore c'è, alcune scelte difficili ci sono, quindi probabilmente anche questo libro vavrà successo, ma credo veramente che questa serie meritasse un finale migliore. Non posso dare la sufficienza a questo libro. ( )
3 vote santippe | Aug 10, 2008 |
English (870)  Spanish (5)  Dutch (5)  German (4)  Portuguese (Portugal) (3)  Finnish (3)  French (2)  Italian (2)  Eskimo languages (1)  Catalan (1)  Danish (1)  Swedish (1)  All languages (898)
Showing 1-25 of 870 (next | show all)
3-1/2 stars.

The completion of this series always seemed rather bittersweet to me. On one hand, you get closure on a lot of unknowns that have permeated the series, but on the other hand, you get a few more unknowns that you can't help but wonder about.

The old favorite characters feature prominently, but it always confuses me when an author introduces new characters so close to the end like this author did. You are left to wonder about the new players and no way of getting closure on the newest plot twists that are introduced, because the series is over and you are not going to get to know the characters any more than what is laid out in the pages you have already read.

There were not nearly as many inconsistencies in this final installment as there had been in some of the earlier books, so the writing style improves some.

I really don't know what it is about this series, though. It is not the best writing I have ever read, and one of the rare instances when I enjoy the movie more than the books, but I still keep coming back to it every couple of years. Maybe it is a matter of wanting to read something I know I already enjoy to clear a slump, maybe it is wanting to revisit old friends. For me, this series started it all. I hadn't read anything in so long, and then devoured these books in short order. Whatever the reason, I still enjoy it every time I pick it up, even with knowing already what is going to happen. I guess that says something. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
3-1/2 stars.

The completion of this series always seemed rather bittersweet to me. On one hand, you get closure on a lot of unknowns that have permeated the series, but on the other hand, you get a few more unknowns that you can't help but wonder about.

The old favorite characters feature prominently, but it always confuses me when an author introduces new characters so close to the end like this author did. You are left to wonder about the new players and no way of getting closure on the newest plot twists that are introduced, because the series is over and you are not going to get to know the characters any more than what is laid out in the pages you have already read.

There were not nearly as many inconsistencies in this final installment as there had been in some of the earlier books, so the writing style improves some.

I really don't know what it is about this series, though. It is not the best writing I have ever read, and one of the rare instances when I enjoy the movie more than the books, but I still keep coming back to it every couple of years. Maybe it is a matter of wanting to read something I know I already enjoy to clear a slump, maybe it is wanting to revisit old friends. For me, this series started it all. I hadn't read anything in so long, and then devoured these books in short order. Whatever the reason, I still enjoy it every time I pick it up, even with knowing already what is going to happen. I guess that says something. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
I really enjoyed the creative stories and characters in this modern-day fairytale of the Twilight series, but sometimes Bella's personality drove me nuts. I also enjoyed the movies based on this series as well, tho' many professed that they were less desirable. ( )
  CILLYart4U | Feb 16, 2015 |
This book provided yet more incessant ramblings from the self-obsessed Bella. At over 700 pages, it needed a good editor. The speech is stilted, the writing poor, the characters are bland and the ending carries a big fat meh. ( )
  martensgirl | Feb 14, 2015 |
Hmm...so this was better than the second & third installments, but was still a tad dissapointing. I liked the twists & suspense, as well as the change in POV. I still struggled to feel attached to the characters; I wish they were more likeable. ( )
  NetteinNJ | Jan 24, 2015 |
What I learned from this book? Like ice cream, the first bite is the best. I still haven't finished this novel, which I ran to the store to purchase. I'm bogged down about 50 pages from the end and I'm just bored. I'm TIRED of these people. I LOVED the series with the first book, liked the second, was okay with the third, and now--well, if the Twilight Series be the food of love, I've certainly gotten to the surfeit part and, having excess of it, my appetite is sickened and I'm done. ( )
  AlisonLea | Jan 10, 2015 |
Yes, I have read the book. I read all four... This is the only one, though, that I just didn't like at all. It had no direction, just wandered around aimlessly, and the ending was very much a letdown. ( )
  KVHardy | Jan 2, 2015 |
I am not going to say much. There have been tens of thousands of reviews of each of the books in the twilight series. I read them in a little over a week and enjoyed them all. I will just mention what I enjoyed most in this last book, Breaking Dawn.

The battle at the end was very enjoyable to me. It was handled as all battles should be written about. There was a long period of preparation, diplomacy was involved, the most important goal was to avoid fighting, and the minds and emotions and goals of each of the leaders on both sides was crucial to the beginning of the conflict and the final resolution.

It would be too much of a spoiler to say what happens in the final battle, but I was very happy at the outcome.

This was a satisfying conclusion to this tetralogy of books. ( )
  SAGibson | Dec 21, 2014 |
(4.3)
  mshampson | Oct 15, 2014 |
hilarious story about a pedophile vampire, stalking a bland teen in a small town. A love triangle is introduced, where it is later revealed the werewolf (the other love interest of Bella, the teen girl) has only been in love with one of Bella's unfertilized eggs. Things heat up when that egg gets doused in glittery vampire sperm and a baby, with a very unfortunate name, is born. The pedophilia theme is expanded when the teen werewolf declares his unending love and devotion to the new born infant. The baby's parents are inexplicably okay with this ( )
  taraseverson | Oct 14, 2014 |
Okay start. Messed up middle and the ending was sooo sooo boring. But I am addicted and will watch the movie version and probably re-read this mess. ( )
  lushrain | Sep 29, 2014 |
This book was the best of the series. I would have given it 5 stars if only the main character had done more and actually used her amazing powers more. Sure she has this cool ability and sure she's powerful, but why couldn't she actually annihilate the bad guys, or at least rip them to shreds? On the plus side, again there wasn't as much "his skin was like satin" or "his eyes were the deepest shade of puce" or whatever color they were. ( )
  piersanti | Sep 28, 2014 |
I can honestly say I liked twilight before it became a hype. The books are fun to read and they triggered the whole YA vampire/wolf thing, so we all like them in a way. I just hate what the hype & media did to the books. Now it's all kirsten, pattinson & shrieking fangirls.
Besides all that the books were ok. ( )
  lisa.isselee | Sep 26, 2014 |
Well, I liked Eclipse better, but this book also isn't the horrible disaster that some of my friends warned me about. Yes, there was some shark-jumping, and I don't think it's possible to come up with a WORSE name for the baby, and Bella (or as a friend calls her) SuperBella is annoying beyond belief. . .but it's still readable. I think the worst part is that Bella is really starting to turn into a Mary Sue by the end. . ...not to mention the disturbing right-to-life implications and sexism. Ugh. ( )
  sammii507 | Aug 19, 2014 |
OH MY GOD! What a FRUSTRATING BOOK!







All that work up... all that... anticipation... for nothing! I HATED how this series ended! I should have stopped reading at book three and made up my own ending!

"My children, beware of popularity; it is a delusion and a snare; it puffeth up the heart of man, and especially of woman; it blindeth the eyes to faults; it exaltath unduly the humble powers of the victim; it is apt to be capricious, and just as one gets to liking the taste of this intoxicating draught, it suddenly faileth, and one is left gasping, like a fish out of water." -Louisa May Alcott "An Old-Fashioned Girl" ( )
  KRaySaulis | Aug 13, 2014 |
In the final book of the series, Bella changes dramatically. She realizes her love for her father, for Jacob and the other wolves, and for her deepest love in Edward and his family. When it looks like the family will be killed, Bella pulls all her strength to fight for those she loves. This story touches on the kind of fairy tale love we all wish we could experience and brings in the worst of all enemies. I encourage everyone to read the Twilight series keeping in mind it was written for pre-teen/teenage girls. Loved the whole series.
  DMYates | Aug 2, 2014 |
Great from the beginning to the point where Bella had the baby. Then it turned into too much fantasy with way too many characters to keep track of. ( )
  AshleyLynnWillis | Aug 1, 2014 |
Great from the beginning to the point where Bella had the baby. Then it turned into too much fantasy with way too many characters to keep track of. ( )
  AshleyLynnWillis | Aug 1, 2014 |
I am still debating the number of stars...suffice to say there are parts I thought were too easy, and parts I thought didn't fit. The whole series was way too soap opera for me...but it always goes back to me for YA fiction: it's getting kids to read.

I'm sure if I went back and read Goosebumps I'd be horrified by utter fascination with it as a child...but at least it got me reading. I saw twilight do that for my students...let's them know books are not all bad, so how do I fault that? ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
I am still debating the number of stars...suffice to say there are parts I thought were too easy, and parts I thought didn't fit. The whole series was way too soap opera for me...but it always goes back to me for YA fiction: it's getting kids to read.

I'm sure if I went back and read Goosebumps I'd be horrified by utter fascination with it as a child...but at least it got me reading. I saw twilight do that for my students...let's them know books are not all bad, so how do I fault that? ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
The novel Breaking Dawn, by Stephenie Meyer is the third book in a love story about Edward and Bella. The book starts off where it left off in the second book. The Vulturi are after the Cullen family because Edward and Bella have fallen in love. The catch is that Bella is not a vampire like the rest of the Cullens. This is book is amazingly well written. The way Stephenie Meyer portrays each character in this book is amazing. The book is told from the first person point of view from Bella and Edward. The narrator changes with every section of the book. This brings a new perspective to the situation a we see it from another characters eyes. Overall this book is an amazingly well written take on something some people would say closely resembles Romeo and Juliet. I would definitely recommend this book to any high school student looking for a good read.
  tianagaddis | Jun 11, 2014 |
Ok. I admit. I am a sucker for a happy ending, and I loved it. I have a friend who did not; it was too far-fetched for her. Lets face it---the whole series is far-fetched! But who does not want to be loved by either Edward (Mr. Perfection) or Jacob? ( )
1 vote Dmtcer | Jun 3, 2014 |
Second favourite. Full of drama, couldn't put it down. Great way to end the series. ( )
  IceMaiden786 | May 31, 2014 |
I really enjoyed this conclusion to the series. I have to point out though, I rate books right after I read them so that I am as fair as possible with the book still being fresh in my mind. Usually it doesn't make a difference but with all the books in the series I might be inclined to give them all lower ratings now. Its been a year since I read the Saga and considering I have not gone one day without hearing the word "Twilight", I'm pretty sick of it all. Don't get me wrong, I'm not some snob who cant like something just because lots of others do, its just due to a ridiculous amount of over exposure.

Something miraculous happened in this book. I actually started to kind of like Bella, who would have thought it? (let me be clear though, I grew fond of vampire Bella who mercifully had no choices to make and therefore was less of an annoying little bitch). ( )
  katie1802 | May 10, 2014 |
I was really hoping someone would shove a stake through my stone cold heart before I could finish this series, but I listened to the audio version on my way home from work--the only alternative was late night NPR. This last book in the series is clearly the best, which tells you how bad the other ones were. One would think that immortality would subdue gossipy, truculent, petty behaviors, but all of these magical characters would have been better suited on an episode of "Dawson's Creek" or whatever the young folk watch these days ("Saved by the Bell"? "Real Housewives of Atlanta?"). Anyway, I fastforwarded all the boring/romantic parts and this story still dragged on forever. I understand the concept of writing minute details to absorb readers into the author's world, but the end result resembled bland, unwelcome house guests lingering for far too long. There's a problem when the only character worth rooting for is Aro the Italian vampire. ( )
  NickAngelis | Apr 28, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 870 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.78)
0.5 98
1 530
1.5 79
2 727
2.5 157
3 1420
3.5 298
4 2081
4.5 255
5 3301

Audible.com

4 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 96,136,731 books! | Top bar: Always visible