HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) by…
Loading...

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4) (original 2008; edition 2008)

by Stephenie Meyer

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
26,671None37 (3.8)2 / 141
santippe's review
Ho appena finito di leggere il libro in inglese. Tranquille non vi dirò nulla di specifico sulla trama per non rovinarvi la sopresa. Mi limiterò a darvi una mia opninione su questo libro che segna la conclusione di una serie ormai famosissima e venerata. Comunque qualcosa dovrò pur dirvi perciò se non volete sapere priprio nulla, non leggete oltre.

Ebbene la mia opinione di questo libro è.....che Delusioooone.

Ma andiamo per gradi. Perchè non mi è piaciuto? Bè i motivi sono molteplici. Il libro è diviso in tre parti. La prima dal punto di vista di Bella, la seconda dal punto di vista di Jacob, la terza dal punto di vista ancora di Bella. Sulla prima parte, stendiamo un velo pietoso, veramente. Sia per stile di scrittura che per contenuti è quasi illeggibile nella sua banalità. Ero tentata di smettere di leggere. E' praticamente un susseguirsi di piagnistei di Bella.La seconda parte per fortuna risolleva lievemente il livello e anche se la storia è piuttosto banale, almeno si può leggere. La terza parte è indubbiamente la migliore del libro, anche se nel finale cala un pò. Il lettore è in tensione perchè finalmente sta per accadere qualcosa ( uno scontro) e poi invece.....

Comunque sia, è certo che come conclusione di questa serie credevo la Meyer avrebbe tirato fuori una bella trama, invece anche se alcune idee anche se banail potrebbero essere considerate buone, poi non le sviluppa abbastanza. Vuole dire tante cose fare accadere tante cose e alla fine non approfondisce nulla. Tutto si risolve come per magia e vissero tutti felici e contenti come nelle favole, senza problemi, senza rimpianti, senza dover lottare tanto. Non mi piace come si risolve la storia di Jacob, non mi piace come Edward sembri preferire molto Bella da vampiro (dopo che per tre libri piagnucolava di volerla umana adesso dice che da vampiro è meglio, no, ma dico, siamo impazziti?), e Bella a parte i piagnistei iniziali davvero insopportabili (per tre libri vuole sposare Edward e poi si lamenta dello stress dei preparativi del matrimonio), da vampiro non è male ma......perde molte delle caratteristiche che la rendevano simpatica al lettore.

Insomma, concludendo, il libro si può leggere, non è bruttissimo, ma secondo me snatura molto i personaggi e la storia ed è un peccato. Forse se non avessi letto Twilight, ma solo questo lo avrei apprezzato di più.....ma sapendo come può scrivere la Meyer mi sari aspettata di più.

Il romanticismo, c'è, l'amore c'è, alcune scelte difficili ci sono, quindi probabilmente anche questo libro vavrà successo, ma credo veramente che questa serie meritasse un finale migliore. Non posso dare la sufficienza a questo libro. ( )
3 vote santippe | Aug 10, 2008 |
All member reviews
English (849)  Dutch (5)  Spanish (5)  German (4)  Portuguese (Portugal) (3)  Italian (3)  French (2)  Finnish (2)  Catalan (1)  Eskimo languages (1)  Danish (1)  Swedish (1)  All languages (877)
Showing 1-25 of 849 (next | show all)
Vampires :)
  ChrisTemm | Apr 13, 2014 |
Yes, I'll admit it. I'm 40 and read these books. At first I was hesitant. I actually made fun of people reading them. Now I have to say, I too was hooked.

Book four is the last book in the series. This is where the baby is born, the sex scenes, transformation, imprinting (odd) and an weird ending.

I personally wish it ended better. It's like she got bored and said, ok, let's wrap this up! In all it was a good series. ( )
  cbilbo | Apr 8, 2014 |
Yes, I'll admit it. I'm 40 and read these books. At first I was hesitant. I actually made fun of people reading them. Now I have to say, I too was hooked.

Book four is the last book in the series. This is where the baby is born, the sex scenes, transformation, imprinting (odd) and an weird ending.

I personally wish it ended better. It's like she got bored and said, ok, let's wrap this up! In all it was a good series. ( )
  cbilbo | Apr 8, 2014 |
vampyyrit, 2013, äänikirjat, Twilight
  silanto | Apr 5, 2014 |
OH MY GOODNESS! Ok, all I will say is that "I didn't see that coming!" I loved the whole book. I actually loved that Jacob imprinted on Renesme, because I liked him, but never saw him with Bella. It made sense to me, kept them as family and what a way to cement the new alliance between vampire and shapeshifters.

I also loved that Jacob found a way for Bella to keep her father in her life just a little longer. I love happy endings and this worked for me. I just wonder how long the Volturi will actually let the "ruling" stand. You know they still want Edward and now Bella even more than ever, not to mention Alice. LOVED IT! ( )
  CharityBradford | Apr 1, 2014 |
OH MY GOODNESS! Ok, all I will say is that "I didn't see that coming!" I loved the whole book. I actually loved that Jacob imprinted on Renesme, because I liked him, but never saw him with Bella. It made sense to me, kept them as family and what a way to cement the new alliance between vampire and shapeshifters.

I also loved that Jacob found a way for Bella to keep her father in her life just a little longer. I love happy endings and this worked for me. I just wonder how long the Volturi will actually let the "ruling" stand. You know they still want Edward and now Bella even more than ever, not to mention Alice. LOVED IT! ( )
  CharityBradford | Apr 1, 2014 |
Happy to be finished with these books. I enjoyed them and the characters stayed with me - way more then I would have liked.

Was happy with how it all wrapped up.

I have the same complaints as most people have with the series...but hard to give a lower star rating when I couldn't put these down. A good guilty pleasure. ( )
  dms02 | Feb 27, 2014 |
Well, I finally got it read before the last movie comes out. While I enjoyed the other books in the series, this one had issues. The other books had their flaws, but this one ebb and flowed between what I wanted to read and boring. I'm kinda wary of people who are overly critical of Twilight...it's a TEEN ROMANCE people. If you didn't like, I feel like your probably not a frequent TEEN ROMANCE reader in the first place. If you mainly read YA and TEEN ROMANCE and still didn't enjoy it, then more power to you.

First off, much like the movies, I think this should have been broken into two books. Twilight book 4 should have ended after Bella hunted with Edward as a vampire for the first time. Then maybe Stephanie Meyer could have come up with more plot for Twilight book 5/part 2 whatever you want to call it. After Bella's transformation, I was bored. The bad guys Volturi come to town, I think there's going to be a cool fight, but after way too much dialogue everybody goes happy skippy on there own way.

But, my main issue is the Jacob/Renesmee pairing. In my reading experience it was the most forced pairing since Laurie and Amy from "Little Women". Way too convenient. I feel Meyer didn't want to deal with fully resolving the Jacob/Bella/Edward triangle, so she just stuck Jacob with the infant. Logically, I think Jacob should have ended up with Leah Clearwater, the female shapeshifter in his pack. They had a hate/love/loyalty relationship that could have bloomed into a good story. Also convenient reference to Jacob and Leah in the Bible for Meyer's Mormon connection. If Renesmee had to be imprinted to a werewolf, I think Seth Clearwater would have been a better choice. Hey, at least he was closer to her age.

So, overall, disappointed at the weird twists and the plot that ran out of steam. Maybe Breaking Dawn Part 2 movie will improve on the book. ( )
  vonze | Feb 6, 2014 |
I think this was my favorite out of all the Twilight books. This one had an edge to it that was refreshing after all the teenage drama of the other books. ( )
  DanaMBurnett | Jan 27, 2014 |
I hated the ending. She really needs to work on this. It was totally anti climactic. It was building to this great scene and then nothing. I was so disappointed. ( )
  Ahnya | Jan 25, 2014 |





  potterhead9.75 | Jan 5, 2014 |
What an exceptionally stupid and poorly written book.
Spoiler: Nothing happens. At all. ( )
  newskepticx | Dec 18, 2013 |
I really liked this book because I liked how Bella and Edward got married and when Bella got pregnant how Edward tried to help her and also the final part when they were fighting. ( )
  adrianazablah | Nov 15, 2013 |


The continuation of the love saga between Bella and Edward set against the backdrop of her change to immortality was good. Kind of felt like the author just wanted to stop writing at the end. ( )
  kt.1908 | Oct 19, 2013 |


The continuation of the love saga between Bella and Edward set against the backdrop of her change to immortality was good. Kind of felt like the author just wanted to stop writing at the end. ( )
  kt.1908 | Oct 19, 2013 |
Unbelieveable! Just when I'd think I had things figured out, something would change...kept me engaged the entire time. Such a good read! ( )
  emmyson | Oct 9, 2013 |
Great book. ( )
  JFussell | Oct 1, 2013 |
★★★★Breaking Dawn by Stepanie Meyer (Twilight Series-book 4)

Breaking Dawn begins with an over the top wedding planned by Alice. Everything is going as planned, until Jacob, learns of the plans of having a traditional honeymoon. He freaks out and takes off. Edward and Bella, now married go to a private island for their honeymoon. They go to bed, wake up with feathers everywhere, a lot of broken furniture, and Bella being covered in bruises. Edward won't touch Bella now, for fear of hurting her. Bella wakes up a few days later, to morning sickness, weird food cravings, and a baby bump. Edward freaks, the maid says he has killed her, and they leave to go she Carlise. The family is divided, Rosalie, wants her to keep it, because she always wanted a baby, Edward, Carlise, and Jacob, want her to end it. No one knows what will happen, and with how fast the baby is growing, it is literally breaking her body in half. She refuses to get rid of her baby, so as a human, giving birth to a vampire baby, she dies. Edward, uses his venom, to change her. She comes back, a vampire, with special protection powers. A feud starts over a misunderstanding, on if the baby was born or bitten, which receives an instant death. Bella uses her powers to save her side of the feud. We learn that Jacob was so insane over Bella, for the baby Renesme, in which he imprints on. And they all live happily ever after. ( )
  Chantelle713 | Sep 25, 2013 |
Breaking Dawn is my second favorite in the Twilight series. For me, it's Twilight back on its feet. Despite being a fan of the series, I had a lot of complaints about the last two books in the series, New Moon and Eclipse. Breaking Dawn, however, has only minor issues with (mostly related to the imprinting part of the story).

Breaking Down was divided into three; first part told from Bella's point of view, as it has been since the first book in the series. The second is told from Jacob's POV, which was great fun to see, and the third is back in Bella's.

Bella in this book is a lot like the Bella I loved in the first book. She's active, not passive. She protects what hers fiercely. She is strong, and meaningful, and without her they actually wouldn't be able to win the fight... contrary to the last three books, in which she was the cause for the fight and needed protection. Her fixation with Jacob still pissed the hell out of me in the first part of the book, though.

We also get to see insights into Jacob as we spent a third of the book in his head. We get to see the degree of his feelings toward Bella, his sadness... We get to see what he really think. I think it was a really nice touch to the book.

One of my favorite parts of the entire series is Jacob and Rosalie's blonde jokes. That's right, you heard right.

To read the full review go to my blog; Drugs Called Books (and trust me, you want to. not to brag, but I included an... interesting... conversation between Jake and his kids in this review) ( )
  Nitzan_Schwarz | Sep 25, 2013 |
2.5
Que me disculpen las fans, pero cuando abrí Amanecer no pude evitar pensar "el último, por fin!".
La primer mitad fue más de lo que ya veníamos viendo, la segunda mitad me gustó. Y cuando se puso interesante de nuevo, se terminó.
Cuando lo terminé me quedé con la sensación de que la historia hubiese estado bien con el primer libro y la última mitad de éste. ( )
  outlanders22 | Sep 21, 2013 |
Epic book! One of the best I've ever read. ( )
  RamzArtso | Sep 15, 2013 |
Why, Stephanie? WHY?! Half way through the book, when Jacob's POV came in, I was already mad enough about that little interruption in the Bella dialogue, *******spoiler*********


SHE'S PREGNANT!! Are you kidding me?! That is way left field and out of the freaking park! Talk about literary whiplash! No way is that how the last book should have ended and in no way is that what should've happened to them! Ahhhh! ( )
  LindsayChamberlin | Aug 15, 2013 |
Espantoso e de cortar a respiração, "Amanhecer"é o final anunciado da Saga «Twilight», no qual se desvendam os segredos e os mistérios deste romance épico fascinante que arrebatou milhões de leitores.

«Amares aquele que te matava, deixava-te sem qualquer opção. Como poderias fugir ou lutar, se ao fazê-lo magoarias o teu amor? Se a tua vida era tudo o que tinhas para dar, como recusá-la a alguém que amavas verdadeiramente?»
Para Bella Swan, o amor inelutável por um vampiro enreda-se, de um modo fantástico e terrível, com a realidade perigosamente opressiva. Impelida, num sentido, pela sua paixão intensa por Edward Cullen e, no outro, pela ligação profunda ao lobisomem Jacob Black, Bella enfrentara um ano tumultuoso de tentações, perdas e conflitos que a irá colocar perante um momento final e decisivo. A escolha eminente entre ingressar num mundo tenebroso mas sedutor dos imortais, ou prosseguir uma existência inteiramente humana é o fio do qual se suspendem os destinos dos dois clãs.
Agora que Bella já tomou uma decisão, uma cadeia perturbante de acontecimentos sem precedentes está prestes a desenrolar-se, antevendo efeitos potencialmente devastadores e incomensuráveis. Quando os fragmentos corroídos da sua vida - inicialmente desvendada em "Crepúsculo", e, depois, estilhaçada e dilacerada em "Lua Nova" e "Eclipse" - parecem prestes a sarar e a unir-se num todo, será que irão terminar destruídos... Para sempre? ( )
  atptv23 | Aug 6, 2013 |
By far my FAVORITE Twilight book of the series! ( )
  Trisarahtop | Jul 26, 2013 |
I felt a little let down by the end of this book (and the series). I had just finished the Harry Potter series, and this book seemed like no match. I expected more I guess. 7/10 ( )
  DianaLynn5287 | Jun 21, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 849 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.8)
0.5 96
1 474
1.5 75
2 688
2.5 153
3 1337
3.5 299
4 1996
4.5 252
5 3212

Audible.com

Four editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 89,499,169 books! | Top bar: Always visible