HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison…
Loading...

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic (original 2006; edition 2007)

by Alison Bechdel

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,0922251,236 (4.21)343
fyrefly98's review
Summary: Alison Bechdel grew up with a father who was alternatingly distant and angry, an English teacher and director of the local funeral home (or "Fun Home", as Alison and her siblings called it). Their relationship grew more and more complex until Alison was in college. Shortly after Alison had come out to her parents, she learned that her father was also gay... but before she had more than a brief chance to process that news, he was dead. Whether the accident that killed him had been truly an accident or a suicide, Alison would never know, just one of the many mysteries left by her father for Alison to slowly and painfully unravel here.

Review: The "look at my terrible childhood" flavor of memoir is my least favorite flavor, and is responsible for me thinking I didn't like memoirs in general until relatively recently. I'll happily grant Fun Home an exception, however, even though it technically does fall into that category. There are several reasons that it sets itself apart from the rest of its peers, but I think the primary reason is that Bechdel is not using her the trauma of childhood for laughs (although there are some humorous touches throughout) or for dramatic potential (although there's certainly plenty of that as well). Instead, there's a very palpable sense that she's writing this memoir because she's really trying to figure out her relationship with her father, and what it meant, and that putting her memories down on paper is the best way she can hope to make sense of it all. The narrative flow does jump backwards and forwards through time, repeating some parts of the story from different angles as they come to bear on different topics, giving it a feeling of "thinking out loud," but even so, it doesn't come across as feeling scattered or unpolished.

It also helps that her analysis, both of her father and of herself, is extremely penetrating, with enough emotion to make it powerful but enough age and maturity to make it thoughtful. Bechdel's prose is similarly both elevated and immediate, verbose and vocabulary-ridden, but still clear and forceful. The book is rife with literary allusions and direct textual comparisons, some of which I got, some of which surely went over my head, but which certainly set the intellectual tone of the book. Bechdel's art is also great, and I really liked the juxtaposition of her own detailed drawings with the drawn reproduction of photographs, printed text, and her own diary entries.

Overall, this was a very thoughtful and penetrating book. I'm sure that there are layers of meaning about homosexuality and the process of coming out that I, as a straight person, didn't latch on to. But I think there's also a message that's applicable to everyone, about the secrets that our parents keep, and about who they really are, and how we, as children of our parents, can manifest those secrets without ever truly understanding them. 4 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: Definitely recommended, particularly for people who like memoirs, but maybe even for people that think they don't. ( )
4 vote fyrefly98 | Jul 8, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (216)  French (3)  Danish (2)  Swedish (1)  Catalan (1)  Finnish (1)  Dutch (1)  German (1)  All languages (226)
Showing 1-25 of 216 (next | show all)
The openness and reflective mood of the ending recovered a star for me. Her use of Joyce to explore both her discovery of sexuality and of her father (and his) was great. ( )
  wjmcomposer | Nov 5, 2014 |
The openness and reflective mood of the ending recovered a star for me. Her use of Joyce to explore both her discovery of sexuality and of her father (and his) was great. ( )
  wjmcomposer | Nov 5, 2014 |
So, it's an autobiography of the author, sorta, I think, and yet it isn't. It's also one ginormous literature allusion. There's a lot of Proust, those I Didn't get so much, and a whole lotta James Joyce, and I definitely got more of those allusions than the Proust ones.

It was also a very dark narrative, though it didn't seem totally depressing, and it was quite funny.

I also liked the art for the most part, which surprised me, because it was all blue (there's probably an arty word for it, but I'm gonna stick with blue). But, even as it was all blue all the characters were very, very expressive as well.

A solid 4 star Graphic Novel. ( )
1 vote DanieXJ | Oct 24, 2014 |
Okay. Interesting family. Mostly just about the author and her parents. Quick read. ( )
  njcur | Sep 30, 2014 |
Not a graphic novel fan, but this was well illustrated. The story was engaging for a novel-gazing, coming-of-age tale. Connection at the end to Ulysses was a bit of a stretch. ( )
  KymmAC | Sep 23, 2014 |
A graphic novel of a young woman trying to figure out her father's life in retrospect. Only in college, after she comes out as a lesbian, does she finally learn that her father is gay. A few weeks later, her father dies, leaving hundreds of questions unanswered. Her father's distance and the author's early discomfort with her own gender create a massively hollow feeling at the center of this book. It's there for good reason, but still, it's disconcerting.

This book won a lot of acclaim when it first came out, and I've no doubt that it's well-deserved. Still, it will probably never be one of my favorites. ( )
  greeniezona | Sep 20, 2014 |
Fun, witty, and a nice read! :) ( )
  Czarmoriarty | Sep 14, 2014 |
This grapohic novel is so literary! Besides the descriptions of a family in despair or just silence, Bechdel adds a whole cultural universe to the reading experience. This is perfection! ( )
  casparia | Sep 13, 2014 |
I wish I could give this book 8 stars, it was brilliant. I love the way she works her own journal into the narrative as a text, and explores the possibilities offered by different literary references throughout all to flesh out the extraordinarily complicated relationship she has with her dad. There were a lot of resonances here for me personally, and I can't wait to read it again after digesting this first encounter. ( )
  raselyem7 | Aug 30, 2014 |
I have wanted to read this graphic novel for a long time. It just sounded so interesting and it was very interesting. It’s incredibly well done, very funny, emotionally engaging, and full of interesting literary references.

This is an autobiographical novel by Bechdel and it was incredibly engaging and well done. Alison lives with her interior decorating obsessed father. Her father is also manic-depressive and a closet gay man. As you can imagine the marriage between Alison’s father and mother is very strained. To add to the macabre humor of it all Alison’s father owns and runs a funeral home which they call the “Fun Home”.

The book bounces between a number of times in Alison’s life. From when she was a child to an adult and back to a child. It is mainly told as a reflection of her growing up with her father after she hears about his death. She thinks about the many things she saw him doing as a child that she didn’t really understand until she got older.

Woven through all of this story is Alison’s own realization that she is a lesbian and what that confession did (or didn’t do) to her family. You get to watch as Alison’s dad struggles to form her into the perfect girl that he could never be (and Alison never wanted to be) and as Alison’s dad sneaks off for secret liaisons with other men.

The story takes place in a rural and very non-tolerant town in Pennsylvania mainly in the late 70’s and early 80’s. Bits and pieces of the history of era are woven throughout the story.

Alison’s father also had a deep love for literature, which Alison herself develops as she gets older. This provides a bridge between Alison and her father, we also get to read a lot of literature references throughout the story that have meaning to our characters’ lives.

This is a book that is easy to read and at first seems a bit meandering, but it is also incredibly thought-provoking. It does an excellent job of making you look on and reflect on your own life. I especially enjoyed how the characters’ feelings for each other ebb and flow and they go from understanding and relating to each other to hating each other. The whole thing just captures family dynamics very well (if a bit more dramatically than most families).

The drawing throughout is very well done. It’s a fairly simple style interspersed with some very detailed lifelike drawings. I pretty much read the whole book in one sitting and loved the way it ended.

This is one of those very complex and emotional novels that will make you laugh, cry, wonder and consider how society influences relationships. It’s very masterfully done and was impossible to put down.

Overall a very masterfully done graphic novel autobiography. Really I have never read anything like this before. I highly recommend it. I would recommend for older teen or adult only, there are some graphic sex scenes and discussion about sex. I bet this is one of those books they are recommending for GLBT classes in college...there is just so much in here to discuss and think about. ( )
1 vote krau0098 | Jul 27, 2014 |
I'm not exactly sure what to make of this book. On one hand, I find the narrator incredibly annoying. Throughout the novel, the reader is assaulted by literary references: Joyce, Proust, Fitzgerald among others. Although the narrator states that she understands her parents better through literature, often the descriptions seem forced or dry or too undeveloped (despite the wordiness of these pages) to be interesting. However, when Bechdel focuses on actual interactions between her family members, such as when her father sends her to change for not having matching necklines, the scenes about her missing hair barrette, or the conversation they have about a book her father loaned her, the book is incredibly moving. It's impossible not to ache for all of the characters. I dislike the way Bechdel tries to force her characters to fit the molds of fictional characters when her characters are so much more compelling as their own people. ( )
  EEDevore | Jul 8, 2014 |
Culturally we seem to hold this idea that both comics and stories about young people are necessarily intended for a young audience. Fun Home shows us how false this thinking is. In Fun Home, we get to see a young character (Alison) who embraces her identity (and sexuality) and comes out to her parents while still a teenager. That’s contrasted with an older character (Bechdel’s father) who, because of the time he grew up in, doesn’t have that option. Bruce is pushed by his culture to marry someone who seems to fit the mould of what he thinks (or what society thinks) a relationship is supposed to look like. The decades of repression and internalize homophobia lead to grossly inappropriate behaviors. Alison and Bruce stand in stark contrast to one another, a chilling example of an older generation’s way of thinking giving way to that of a new one.
( )
  MCHBurke | Jul 7, 2014 |
This graphic novel was suggested to me by a friend who said her book club had read it. I'm sure it would have provoked a lot of discussion. Alison Bechdel has pulled the covers off her family secrets and you have to admire her guts. I'm sure I wouldn't have the nerve to do this and I doubt my family would talk to me after if I did.

The title comes from what Alison and her siblings called the family business which was a funeral home. That alone would provide plenty of material for a book but throw in a father who restores old buildings and decorates them to the nines who is also an English teacher and a closeted gay man and you have a barn burner of a book. And then... but I'll let you find out what else happens. There is also some very interesting discussion about English literature, especially James Joyce, which makes me wish I had managed to finish at least one of Joyce's books.

The drawing style is detailed and vivid and enhances the written words.

Recommended. ( )
  gypsysmom | Jul 6, 2014 |
Complicated, dense, fascinating memoir of growing up in a dysfunctional family with unhappy parents. Her father was apparently gay, but closeted, and seems to have been manic depressive. Bechdel describes her own childhood neuroses and her eventual coming out, and wonders if that triggered her father's death, which could have been a suicide. I read Dykes to Watch Out For for years (when I lived where I could pick up papers that carried it) and already loved her drawings but this is on a whole other level as she finds connections between various family events, literature, her own coming out, gay history, and more. ( )
1 vote piemouth | Jun 14, 2014 |
One of the most fulfilling memoirs I've ever read, even though it only took about fourty-five minutes to read. ( )
  marthaearly | Jun 6, 2014 |
Q5, P3

Q5 - This graphic novel is brilliantly written and drawn. It's the true story of the author's complex relationship with her father, coming of age, and coming out of the closet. The story is really accessible because of the graphic novel format and the writing flows easily and freely.

P3 - The book is autobiographical and very frank. I could see this being a good book to recommend to a teen who is struggling with coming to terms with their own sexuality. However, because of the subject matter, it may not be popular with teens who are not part of the LGBTQ community or supporters. Additionally, I could only find this book in the adult graphic novel section of my local bookstore, so I could foresee this book not reaching a YA audience through the typical means of berrypicking/browsing in the bookstore. I could also foresee issues with this book being challenged frequently in the school or library environment. ( )
  Johanna_Talbott | May 21, 2014 |
I should preface this by saying I had to read this book for class, and I was pleasantly surprised.

This isn't exactly what I would call a novel. It's a comic. With comic strips. And more words than I would expect from, say, a newspaper comic, but it's not a novel. That being said, it was fun to read, and I enjoyed it while it lasted. There were lots of interesting references lit lovers while love, and the pictures are very detailed and involved (a surprise to me from a comic), and you definitely had to be paying attention to both the words and the pictures.

I'm glad I read it, but I can't say I'm particularly moved to pick up the sequel. 3.5 stars. ( )
  frozenplums | May 20, 2014 |
Another great example of the graphic novel as memoir/coming-of-age story, this is about the sadness of growing up queer in a family hollowed out by deep denial and sexual repression. Yet another reminder that Americans don't actually have to experience poverty, illness, violence or war to make a nightmare of their lives, just pretending to be normal will do it.

But it's also a love letter to capital-L Literature, full of tributes to and real affinity for Great Books, as well as the story of a kind of triumph, or at least survival. It's funny and wise and bittersweet, like all the best coming of age tales. ( )
  CSRodgers | May 3, 2014 |
Potentially good for LGBT youth and adults, but I'm doubtful that others would read beyond the first two chapters. The novel is well written, but includes historical and literary connections or jokes that one without being well-read will have difficulty understanding or relating to. ( )
  abcrane | Apr 21, 2014 |
5Q, 4P
I love this novel! Alison Bechdel is so refreshingly honest in her writing, holding nothing back even when describing her own insecurities and faults. I don't know if Bechdel's beliefs of her father's final moments are true, but what's important is that she came to understand him and herself through his actions, which is more than what many children can say of their relationships with their parents. It is difficult to recognize our parents as separate from us, but Bechdel has reached inside herself to understand and let go of the pain she built up around her father. This book speaks to those who struggle to let go, and allows readers to learn from both her and her father's experience. It is better to be who you are and live with the consequences than die never having been yourself. ( )
  Jen4k | Apr 21, 2014 |
Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic is an autobiographical graphic novel (or a “graphic memoir,” if you prefer) that explores the complexities of love, loss, and growing up in a family that just doesn’t seem to fit. In a nonlinear narrative, Bechdel delivers an in-depth character study of both herself and her emotionally distant, sometimes volatile father. The title serves multiple purposes. Firstly, it is the Bechdels’ nickname for the family funeral home, an example of Bechdel’s frequent dark humor. Secondly, it perfectly captures the relationship between Alison and her father – both reflections and distortions of each other and their literary heroes. The language and inclusion of many mythological and literary allusions could be challenging for some readers, but they may also be inspired to attempt some of the classic literature Bechdel so frequently references.

4Q, 5P ( )
  Thea-Ploetz | Apr 21, 2014 |
5Q, 3P
This autobiographical work is a stunningly well-done piece of literature. The quality of writing is superb especially in combination with endearing and easy-to-follow illustrations that enhance the understanding of the text and contribute to its entertaining quality. The quality extends to a heavy use of references to great works of literature and advanced vocabulary heavily peppered throughout the novel. The headiness of the work combined with mature themes of sexuality is the only reason that I gave this work a 3P rather than a 4P. I feel some teens would struggle with the language and dense literary allusions and metaphors. This is a graphic novel that I would recommend to just about any teen up to the challenge. Blechdel's narrative voice is compelling and I couldn't put the novel down until I was done. Her treatment of sexual identity, family dynamics, homosexuality and obsessive-compulsive disorder, is honest and enlightening. This book would be a good counter-argument to any critic who claims that graphic novels are not works of serious literary merit. Fun Home is highly academic and socially provocative and deserves a place alongside the most respected of autobiographical works. ( )
  Millerloo | Apr 21, 2014 |
VOYA - 4Q 3P

Confession: Before this, I had never read a graphic novel. I always associated them with Manga and superheroes - I KNOW. SHAME. However, this novel has forever changed that perspective for me. It is wonderfully written and so incredibly touching. The graphics are so wonderful and while overall this novel is a quick read, I had to make sure to take the time to look at each frame carefully in order to fully absorb the details the author put in each of them. I don't think this book will appeal to everyone but I think it's a wonderful story that should be read. That being said, there are quire a bit of references that might make teens feel alienated or might find them needing to look things up, etc which could be turn off (aka, why it didn't get 5Q). ( )
  freeborboleta | Apr 20, 2014 |
Fun Home is a fantastic book. The illustrations pair so nicely with the text, it is impossible to imagine this work outside of its graphic novel format. Sometimes Bechdel discusses a classic work of literature in the text while using the illustrations to portray her family living out scenarios similar to those depicted in the cited literature. This is a wonderful tactic and earns this book a 5Q from me. In terms of popularity, I believe Fun Home could appeal to mature teen readers with pushing. The vocabulary is quite sophisticated, and might require more work from the reader, but would be well worth the effort. It may even encourage readers to explore other works of literature.

I personally enjoyed Fun Home very much, and would recommend it widely to adult readers as well as older teens, and will use it as an exemplar of a superb graphic novel that is absolutely nothing like what most people expect from graphic novels, which are often confused with "comics". ( )
  StellaJay | Apr 19, 2014 |
4Q 3P (my VOYA rating) "Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic" is a graphic novel which explores the personal and family history of author Alison Bechdel. Through this "tragicomic" we see Alison realize her own sexuality, discover her dad's secrets, and her memories of the emotional intimacy, or lack of it at times, in her family. "Fun Home" also balances using metaphors from classic literature like James Joyce's "Ulysses" for both her relationship with her father and her own sexual discovery as a young lesbian woman with real emotional reactions. I gave this book a rating of 4 for quality, as I thought is done really well, but got into some trouble, from my point of view, with the usage of so much classic literature for comparisons. It could read a little confusing at times. I gave a 3 for popularity because I think that although this is a graphic novel, the content wouldn't be widely appealing to a lot of teenagers. I think it should be read and is well worth reading, but it might take a little pushing.
  Crystalmiles | Apr 18, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 216 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
7 avail.
588 wanted
3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.21)
0.5 1
1 9
1.5 4
2 29
2.5 12
3 178
3.5 70
4 493
4.5 117
5 581

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,336,706 books! | Top bar: Always visible