HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

One Second After by William R. Forstchen
Loading...

One Second After (2009)

by William R. Forstchen

Other authors: See the other authors section.

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,212966,585 (3.68)58
  1. 00
    Alas, Babylon by Pat Frank (sturlington)
    sturlington: Alas, Babylon influenced One Second After.
  2. 00
    Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer (deslivres5)
    deslivres5: YA novel details family life from a teenagers perspective after a comet throws the moon off its axis.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 58 mentions

English (94)  Swedish (1)  All languages (95)
Showing 1-5 of 94 (next | show all)
When a nuclear explosion occurs above earth's atmosphere, it creates an electromagnetic pulse (EMP) that disables the power grid and all electronic devices throughout the entire United States. In small town North Carolina, John Matherson, history professor at the local college, tries to protect his family and help the town keep from dying of starvation, disease, ransacking criminals and other desperate people trying to survive.

This was a story about a disaster that could really happen. The author is so concerned about this that he wrote the story to give it some attention. In the Forward and Prologue he has a congressman and military official state their same concerns. That made it more real and scary for me. The author did a good job making me feel the pain and sadness of the slow loss of life as food and medicine run out. There is some hope in the end but also a lot of uncertainty of the United States recovering. ( )
  gaylebutz | Jan 22, 2016 |
Too scary for words as this could truly happen. ( )
  becka11y2 | Jan 19, 2016 |
I'm a post-apocalyptic/natural disasters/lone (few) survivors fiction junkie. For years, it's been nuclear strikes or freak natural disasters that dominate the genre. Lately, though, EMP and massive invasion have almost taken over the genre. This is my first dive into the EMP pool, so to speak.

Overall, the book is good, not great. There are some issues with editing -- incorrect word usage, repetition, telling not showing, "off page" events -- that make it impossible to give this more than three stars.

It manages to keep three stars because I spent more than ten minutes after finishing the book wondering if I should ship myself off to a survivalist camp.

I don't know that I will read the next in the series. Maybe if it's on sale. ( )
  lesmel | Dec 31, 2015 |
If an EMP would happen it would catastrophic to any country.
The book describes clearly what would happen next:
- The first to die
- The groups that will form
- The fights and the gun's importance
- The food...

I have enjoyed reading it, because it details some of the organization needed to keep people calm and organized. ( )
  NelsonFaria | Dec 5, 2015 |
My wife hated this book and couldn't get very far into it. I liked it enough to complete it and to read the second in the series (One Year After). As some of the reviews noted, this book is thin on characterization and plot and is laden with cliches. It is male-centric. Females are barely sketched as real people. If you are a fan of apocalyptic fiction, this book will not rank high on your list. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it. The story was good, if a bit repetitious. Characterization was not the best, but it was ok.

Forstchen's book does read like a warning about the dangers of being unprepared for an EMP attack (or any other apocalyptic event) that throws us back to a pre-electricity era. Still, it is a reasonable story, and a warning worth heeding. I would recommend it but would caution the reader to lower his/her expectations. ( )
  rondoctor | Oct 31, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 94 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (3 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
William R. Forstchenprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Barrett, JoeNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Barrett, JoeNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Gingrich, NewtForewordsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For my daughter, Megan Marie Forstchen...and for those who protect her, that she may grow up in peace. And for my father, John Joseph Forstchen, who taught me what should truly be valued in life.
First words
John Matherson lifted the plastic bag off the counter.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
William R. Forstchen tells a story that might be all too terrifyingly real. A story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war that sends our nation back to the Dark Ages.

A war lost because of a terrifying weapon, an Electromagnetic Pulse (EMP).

And it may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read. It has been discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a realistic look at EMPs and their awesome ability to send catastrophic shockwaves throughout the United States, literally within seconds. It is a weapon that The Wall Street Journal warned could shatter our nation. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail-Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future... and our end.

Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0765317583, Hardcover)

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP).  A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.
 
Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:24:35 -0400)

(see all 4 descriptions)

One man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war based upon an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP) weapon that will send America back to the Dark Ages.

» see all 5 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
707 wanted
3 pay8 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.68)
0.5 2
1 11
1.5 3
2 34
2.5 10
3 84
3.5 31
4 145
4.5 9
5 90

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,255,109 books! | Top bar: Always visible