HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers Book 1) by…
Loading...

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers Book 1) (edition 2009)

by Rachel Vincent

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9091149,684 (3.87)43
alcarinqa's review
I don’t usually read books bordering on horror, so I was unsure about reading about a girl who senses when people are about to die. I shouldn’t have worried: I enjoyed My Soul to Take a lot and am glad there’s plenty more where that came from!

The mythology used in the book is interesting - I think it is fresh and engaging. Kaylee’s discovery of her supernaturally inclined side and her acceptance of it is a little too quick and glossy for me, but otherwise I really enjoyed the pacing and premise of the book.

I enjoyed reading about the characters immensely, especially Kaylee, who is great and relatable. And Nash, the love interest is awesome (and hot). I didn’t trust him initially but he’s definitely my favourite character now! Kaylee’s best friend Emma is the only character I didn’t like, because she didn’t act how I think a best friend should act. She is jealous and controlling of her friend when she be concerned about all the changes in Kaylee’s life.

I liked this book a lot and will recommend it to anyone who wants a quick, enjoyable read to distract them. I plan to read the rest of the series as soon as I can.

You can read more of my reviews at Speculating on SpecFic. ( )
  alcarinqa | Apr 18, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (113)  German (1)  All languages (114)
Showing 1-25 of 113 (next | show all)
WOW! This book was awesome. Why, might you be asking? It had a strong, fast moving plot, dynamic and perfectly depicted characters, and some nice sarcasm and humor (when appropriate). I have to say, once I got into the book, and started to learn more about Kaylee's particular situation, I was socked, I have never read a book with this particular paranormal uh...trying not to spoil anything...situation, maybe. You will have to read it to get it, and I don't want to give it away. This book is awesome, and I am already in love with Nash. 100%. ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 21, 2014 |
I have heard a lot of great things about this series ever since it came out, and like a few other books I have read lately this one disappointed me.

This book starts out when Kaylee Cavanaugh meets her love interest. There is no build up. No nothing. It is just BAM here is Nash. Nash is here now. Hold your applause until the end of this book please.

That kind of start just started to sour my expectations.

My Soul to Take felt mediocre. I will continue in the hopes it does get better mainly because I bought the entire series at the same time. ( )
  Tarklovishki | Oct 31, 2014 |
Check out my other listens at Eargasms Audiobook Reviews

This could easily become a favorite series!! Really great characters and a fantastic premise. Kaylee is a really great character. I love it when the teen in the YA book is not a whiny angsty brat!! Kaylee has just the right amount of attitude, spunky and innocence to make her a truly engaging character. She deals with her problem really well for a teen. Mostly she takes things in stride with the support of her friends. When she finally finds out what is causing her troubles I was not really surprised. But it is an interesting new twist in the paranormal genre.

Nash is kinda dreamy!! I really liked him from the start and loved that he really is a nice guy. So, rare in teen books. Most of the time girls are all about the guy who treats them bad. Nash is a refreshing change! For the jerk angle you meet Tod who is a serious bad boy in the making. I see much trouble there in future books.

I listened to the audiobooks narrated by Amanda Ronconi, one of my absolute favorites!! She does a terrific job with all the voices keeping them distinct and consistent. She has a fun snarky tone that adds to the read. I am also a fan of her swift reads, she instills energy and drama into key moments in the narration. The girl gives good voice!

The overall mystery was really interesting and kept me on my toes much of the time. Some things were predictable but the ending was a surprise.

A great start to a series and loads of places it could go in the future! Can't wait to see what is next!!

( )
  grapeapril75 | Oct 18, 2014 |
The Soul Screamers series is certainly different from the mainstream.

Kaylee has a powerful urge to scream every time she comes across someone who is about to die, it only stops when she either puts some distance between her and them or when that person finally dies. She knows she's not crazy but she covers up the truth by stating that she has panic-attacks. She doesn't know why she has this ability or why the most popular boy in school is now interested in her and frankly neither did I until about half way through the book.

Nash and Kaylee's attraction seemed to be down to their secret shared heritage and teenage hormones and not much else. Nash's sudden personality change when it came to Kaylee was odd considering how he treated numerous other girls so I understood why Kaylee at the end was questioning how long it would take for Nash to get bored and move on.

Kaylee's family keeping her in the dark for so long was not only dangerous but damaging to her. Encouraging her to think that she's crazy instead of revealing who and what she is was cruel.

The revelation of Nash and Tod's connection was unexpected but made sense. The idea of the reapers reminded me of the TV show Dead Like Me but with master lists of those to die instead of just post-it notes!

What I couldn't quite understand was Aunt Val's motivation for doing what she did. How was she going to get what she wanted by making that deal? Maybe I missed that part or maybe she was just deluding herself into thinking that what she wanted was even possible, who knows? We all know that Faustian deals are just wrong, wrong, wrong - they never end well.

I read the prequel My Soul to Lose first and this straight after, I recommend that others read the prequel first too because it highlights the seriousness of Kaylee's situation and her family's reaction to it.

Overall I was pretty impressed with the originality of the story but there did feel like there was something missing, I'm not sure what it was, I can't put my finger on it otherwise I would give this 5 stars.

( )
  Cynical_Ames | Sep 23, 2014 |


Review coming soon~ ( )
  ku. | Sep 20, 2014 |


Review coming soon~ ( )
  ku. | Sep 20, 2014 |


Review coming soon~ ( )
  ku. | Sep 20, 2014 |
I felt like this was a worth-while read for those who are tired of the vampire stuff out. ( )
  Mirandalg14 | Aug 18, 2014 |
This was an interesting twist on banshees and fae. I really enjoyed it. There were some of the things that are cliche in YA fantasy fiction, but overall I thought it was a fun and entertaining read. I'll probably read the rest of the series. ( )
  a.happy.booker | Mar 14, 2014 |
This was an interesting twist on banshees and fae. I really enjoyed it. There were some of the things that are cliche in YA fantasy fiction, but overall I thought it was a fun and entertaining read. I'll probably read the rest of the series. ( )
  ahappybooker | Feb 7, 2014 |
This was an interesting twist on banshees and fae. I really enjoyed it. There were some of the things that are cliche in YA fantasy fiction, but overall I thought it was a fun and entertaining read. I'll probably read the rest of the series. ( )
  ahappybooker | Feb 7, 2014 |
I liked this book. It was interesting to read a book about a being that's not a vampire, werewolf or shapeshifter. I like the whole banshee and reaper mythology that was created in this book. It was interesting to read about each being's abilities and skills.

I liked Kaylee well enough. She's not my favorite character but I could relate to her and her feelings. I like how she took the information that she was a banshee in stride and how she dealt with being able to predict people's death. I probably would have dealt with it as well as her. I also liked her inner strength when she would hold her screaming back as much as she could even though it caused her physical pain. When she held back the scream, it caused her sever head and chest pain as well as tearing pain in her throat. I don't think I would have been able to hold the scream in that long in that much pain.

Nash was ok. He wasn't anything special for me. I like how caring he was with Kaylee and how he helped her with holding back her screaming. Even the very first time he talked to her in the club and she was holding back the scream, instead of running away from her, he stayed with her and helped her through her "panic attack" (this was before she knew she was a banshee). He was a great source of comfort for Kaylee and it was clear that he would be there for her no matter what Turns out Nash is a male banshee and he tells Kaylee what she is. That being said, I like Tod the reaper better. Hes sarcastic, funny and sneaky. His personality just clicked better with me than Nash's. I like how he also cares about Kaylee which become evident in some scenes from the book. I'd rather have Kaylee in a relationship with Tod than with Nash (even though Tod is dead.)

I really like Emma, Kaylee's best friend. She knew about Kaylee's panic attacks (not the real cause) and she helps her with them. Emma automatically knows when Kaylee is beginning to have a panic attack and she immediately stops what shes doing, no matter what it is, and goes to Kaylee to help. She takes Kaylee away from the source of the panic attack and takes care of her, no questions asked. Even when Kaylee reveals that she knows when people are going to die, Emma stays by her side, believes her and helps her without asking for any explanations. That's a true friend and I hope we see Emma in the future books of the series, without having her fade in the background which usually happens in paranormal books.

The plot was interesting. While this book focused on Kaylee finding out what she was and her abilities, it also included a mystery that was another focus of the book. Young girls are dying without any reason or any real cause of death. The girls just collapse dead. Kaylee becomes involved because she predicts 2 of the deaths with her banshee abilities. After she finds out that she is a banshee, she investigates the mysterious deaths with the help of Nash and Tod the reaper. Its very interesting to see how this part of the plot. There's a lot of action that takes place later on in the book.

I know this review is very vague and its missing a lot of information but I don't want to give away any parts of the book. I suggest anyone who wants to know more to read the book. Its worth it and I recommend it.

This review is also posted on Spantalian's Book Reviews ( )
  spantalian12 | Jan 10, 2014 |
First and foremost, the paranormal aspect in this series is so new and refreshing! No vampires, angels, or werewolves here. Not that there is anything wrong with those, I enjoy them as well. But I have not read any book like this. And it’s killing me! I really want to tell you the paranormal aspect, but I really don’t want to give it away either, so I’m going to just say that has Irish origins. Which made me the happiest reader alive when I came upon this revelation.

Kaylee is a character that I like, but not love. She partially orphaned and then abandoned, left to be raised by her aunt and uncle. Suffice it to say, the girl has trust issues. Enter Nash. Good looking senior love interest. He has quite the reputation for being intimate with the ladies. Lots of ladies. When he shows an interest, she is shocked. Even more shocking to Kaylee, is his ability to be able to calm her “panic attacks” that leave her throat raw and chest about to explode. I wish Emma, the best friend, had more of a role to play. She has one major “scene,” if you will, but most of the book was focused on Kaylee and Nash and their paranormal aspect.

The plot of this book is really fast paced and I loved the world building. It didn’t take too long to be told about this new world, but it also wasn’t thrown at you. One of my favorite parts of this book is when we are introduced to Tod. He is probably my favorite character. Also, I am kind of hoping for a love triangle. I normally hate them, but I feel like he’d be a worthy part who can stand on his own. I just hate when it’s obvious that one guy is the right now. But that’s just me.

Also, the family dynamics of this book actually exists! I am always disappointed when family is left out of the young adult novels. I feel like this book actually pushed Kaylee to her family, instead of them just being there in the background, as is usual of YA novels.

The only problem I have with this book, is the insta-love. I am getting really burned out on it. But aside from that, the whole “I’m so average, I’m not good enough for someone like him” is seriously making me mad. Kaylee has a great personality. She is loyal and does what she believes is right, even if there are consequences. And I’m sure her appearance is pretty! It really kills me that main female “heroines” are so self-reliant on their boys, and that they only qualify as being average.

Other than that last lit bit, I really, really enjoyed this book. I hope throughout the series, Kaylee gets more confident and realizes that she is hot stuff. Anyone with Irish paranormal ties have to be hot stuff. ( )
  Ashley_McElyea | Dec 15, 2013 |
The Moody Reader

Okaaaaaaaay. That was, um, one hell of a ride! I liked this book. It was awesome, amazing, badass, entertaining, cool, intense, superb *throws every amazing adjectives in here*

At first, I had a hard time trying to read My Soul To Take, it was sloooooow I almost, ALMOST, lost interest in it but thank the gods I didn't! Kaylee, the main character, I actually had a hard time trying to connect with her though halfway through the book I started to liked her and I realized that she's the best definition of awesomeness. Kaylee, she' strong, she doesn't lie and oh my gods, she doesn't make stupid decisions. Thank goodness! Because I really hate when the character goes onto something dangerous when her boyfriend already warn her not to *cough* *cough* *tris* *cough* *tris* *insurgent* *cough*

I really liked the concept of the book, the mythology (Yes! I'm a big fan of mythology, that's why I already have the other books with me because I have the feeling that this series that Rachel Vincent created will be awesomesauce) The romance, however, I'm not really fond of it. I think the romance was really rushed it didn't gave me time to connect with Nash (Kaylee's Boyfriend) Yup, he's hot, he has dimples, he's good whatsoever but I want to know him more other than Kaylee constantly reminding me that he's hot and yada yada yada, Hopefully in the next book I can get a chance though *whispers* I'm actually Team Tod. there's something about him and I think Nash is too good to be true, there I've said it!

All in all it really was a gooooood, entertaining read. I can't wait to read the next book!

I highly recommend this to everyone who really likes mythology with a little bit of paranormal... Oh wait.. Paranormal with mythology... but... Hey! It doesn't matter because this book is amazing and YOU. SHOULD. READ. IT. LIKE. RIGHT. NOW! ( )
  themoodyreader | Dec 15, 2013 |
To read more reviews and fun things go to my blog; Drugs Called Books!

Kaylee is just a normal teenager... or is she? Apparently not, if the screams wailing in her throat--the ones that she can't stop, which come side by side with the sight of certain people surrounded by shadows and the morbid but absolute knowledge they are going to die, and soon--are any indication.
She is bent on keeping her abilities--or insanity?--hidden, shutting and never letting the screams - but fate has something else in store. Like making her encounter such shadowed, doomed person in the middle of a bar, right next to the hottest guy in school - Nash Hudson. She thinks everything is lost after Nash sees her breakdown (thankfully, she thinks, she managed not to scream) – public humiliation, isolation, mental facility, you name it and it will happen. Except… it doesn't.
That Nash person? He doesn't laugh at her, doesn't call her crazy… he calms her down, as unbelievable as it sounds – something no one and nothing, not even the medications doctor tried to give her – did.
And he seems to know something, something about who, or rather what she is. And when young, beautiful women started dropping dead—literally—with no apparent reason, Kaylee will have to learn and face the truth, because she can stop whatever it is that happens. All she has to do is…
Sing.

Okay, now to the real review of the book:
I loved it. Ahem, Ahem… okay, that's not my best review yet, I guess, but it gets better!
I loved this book for plenty reasons. First, it was full of suspense and action. I mean, even when it wasn't packed with it, there was never a dull moment, and things moved swiftly and quickly. You couldn't just put it down, because every time you turned the page over, you found out more intriguing information or saw that something had happened, and you just had to find out what it was, find more. More, more, more.
Second, I loved the romance. Nash and Kaylee are so sweet, and the author wasn't afraid to make them kiss. A lot. Their instant connection and relationship nearly made me forget how quickly it all happened… nearly. It always bothers me how quickly the relationship evolves, but I guess in Nash and Kaylee's case I have not many complaints – I just loved their romance, and was itching to see more of it.
The death, reapers (as in, grim reapers) and the rest of the supernatural stuff added to everything, and fit nicely and perfectly.
This book literally filled all my favorite genres, I think.
I was a bit (okay, much) sad with the ending. It was truly tragic in a way, and I hated to find out who was the killer, in the end. I was screaming "No!" in my head. I didn't really see it coming, too. Sure, there were the signs. Thinking back on it I could clearly see them, but I really didn't want her to be it.
Now, I am dreading what I have to do next. I've decided before reading this novel that I'll have to put at least a month between reading each book, if I wanted to survive the waiting for the last one. I could see, when I reached the middle of My Soul to Take, that this will become one of this series I'm addicted to, and if so, the wait will be painful. It's better to wait between books, knowing that I could, if I wanted to, go and buy the books, than gulp them all in a week like I'm used to and wait, knowing I had no choice but waiting to the final installment. The choice thing makes all the difference, I guess. Must be a psychological thing.
So now, I have to wait. I want to see more Nash hotness (I mean read, of course), but I won't. Because I'm strong willed like that, I guess.
Nitzan out. ( )
  Nitzan_Schwarz | Sep 25, 2013 |
RATING: 3.5 stars.

Aside from the whole hot teen love, I liked this book. It has a heroine with "refreshing" powers... :/ ( )
  slayra | Sep 21, 2013 |
This book took a bit to get into the true action due to the simple fact of it being the first book of the series. I always find that the first book of any series tends to take a while to get into, due to the necessity of set-ups and introductions. However, once it got into the story, it was really good, and I plan on reading at least the next book, if not the whole series. There was a twist with a secret that I saw coming, but the twist at the end was a complete surprise to me!

This was my first full-length audiobook, so it took me a while to get into it. Had I been reading the words, I'm sure I would have finished it sooner. However, given my lack of experience with audiobook narrators, I found the narrator to be very good. Her different voices were believable enough without feeling like she was trying too hard. ( )
  mrso822 | Sep 21, 2013 |
Another great book by RACHEL VINCENT... ( )
  chymekeeper | Aug 21, 2013 |
A completely different paranormal story to the norm and I really enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to reading the second in the series ( )
  lcrabtree | Jul 17, 2013 |
3.5 Stars ***

This is the 1st book of Rachel Vincents YA Soul Screamer series. I have read her adult series Shifter and enjoyed it very much. This book not so much. It screamed (pardon the pun) YA. And followed the insta-love formula to a tee. Which disappointed me somewhat.

I am reading the second in this series, My Soul to Save. I am a fan of Ms. Vincent and want to really give this series a chance. I didn't care much for the first book of the Shifter series but it got better with each book and now I love the series. So I am really hoping this series does the same thing. I will let ya know. ( )
  TeresaOM | Jun 19, 2013 |
Kaylee is a bean sidhe but doesn't know it. All she knows is that she sees when someone is about to die and uncontrollably screams until they do die.
This was a really great story and I really liked the characters, especially Kaylee and Nash.
I hadn't heard of bean sidhes before so I was pleased to see that the mythology behind them was explained in the story.
This was a fantastic start to the series and I can't wait to read the next book! ( )
  26kathryn | Jun 16, 2013 |
Oh Nash ( )
  JustAnotherYABlog | Jun 11, 2013 |
My Soul To Take is a wonderful start to Rachel Vincent’s YA paranormal “Soul Screamers” series. In it we are introduced to 17-year-old Kaylee Cavanaugh, who is subject to “panic attacks” that turn out to be more than they seem. With the assistance of one of the hottest guys in school, Nash Hudson, Kaylee is about to learn more about herself than she ever expected.

This series has one of the strongest character rosters I have ever come across; I love every character (even Sophie, Kaylee’s “mean girl” cousin). Each one is well-developed and feels like someone you could really meet in your daily life. Kaylee is the girl-next-door – with a little supernatural ability. She has a great sense of self-worth (even when questioning her sanity), which was refreshing when I first read this book. Her best friend, Emma, is one of the hottest girls in school and the truest friend anyone could ask for. I love Emma’s character; she is definitely a party girl and likes to play the field, but she is there when Kaylee needs her and backs her up no matter what. Nash Hudson is the handsome football player who meets Kaylee and turns out to know a little bit more about her abilities than he initially lets on. His interest in Kaylee is apparent, and he is very supportive as she learns more about her screaming ability. We also have cousin Sophie who is the bane of Kaylee’s existence – the sophomore who will go to whatever lengths necessary to hold onto her popularity and place in the school hierarchy. It is truly incredible how much character development Vincent is able to fit into 279 pages. And we haven’t even talked about Kaylee’s aunt, uncle and father!

The story is equally strong. Pacing is brisk and there are no superfluous scenes – every thing has a place, including the plentiful humor. When Kaylee and Nash start questioning the unusual deaths of beautiful teenage girls in the area, Nash introduces Kaylee to a young grim reaper named Tod, who has a shift at the local hospital making sure that death occurs right on schedule. After some initial resistance, Tod actively starts assisting them with their investigation – giving them insight into how the entire business of death is handled (it turns out to be quite a bureaucracy) and helping them discover that the deaths are definitely NOT natural. The finale was something I didn’t see coming – Kaylee learns who is behind it all, who Tod REALLY is, and loses someone close to her – and yet it fits perfectly.

Without a doubt, this is one of the most entertaining series in the YA paranormal genre and one I absolutely love. I cannot tell you how many times I have read these books over the past year and yet each time I enjoy them just as much as the first time. My Soul To Take is a strong start in a great series. ( )
  eomalley | May 26, 2013 |
oh, i like this! ( )
  emily.s | May 6, 2013 |
WOW, this was a totally awesome book! I loved how Kaylee dealt with her new self, and how she grew and took charge of herself and her situation.

Nash is great - I really hope that they WILL be able to have a long and happy life, and that Kaylee's dad will be able to accept all that will come his way as well.

I really didn't appreciate Sophie, though, totally spoiled girl, with little emphaty for others. Val scared me - but at the same time, she incarnated the kind of woman that there actually are plenty of in the real world, not just in the soulscreamer world! Way to go in order to try to stay forever young.

Poor Tod! I feel bad for him, but I have a feeling he will be around in the next books to wreak some havoc, both on Kaylee and on Nash.

And I could totally see Kaylee's dad and Harmony hooking up in the future :D ( )
  Lexxie | Apr 23, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 113 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
9 avail.
259 wanted
6 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.87)
0.5
1 4
1.5 2
2 12
2.5 8
3 66
3.5 17
4 127
4.5 14
5 78

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,390,918 books! | Top bar: Always visible