HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers Book 1) by…
Loading...

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers Book 1) (edition 2009)

by Rachel Vincent

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
84810610,600 (3.86)43
alcarinqa's review
I don’t usually read books bordering on horror, so I was unsure about reading about a girl who senses when people are about to die. I shouldn’t have worried: I enjoyed My Soul to Take a lot and am glad there’s plenty more where that came from!

The mythology used in the book is interesting - I think it is fresh and engaging. Kaylee’s discovery of her supernaturally inclined side and her acceptance of it is a little too quick and glossy for me, but otherwise I really enjoyed the pacing and premise of the book.

I enjoyed reading about the characters immensely, especially Kaylee, who is great and relatable. And Nash, the love interest is awesome (and hot). I didn’t trust him initially but he’s definitely my favourite character now! Kaylee’s best friend Emma is the only character I didn’t like, because she didn’t act how I think a best friend should act. She is jealous and controlling of her friend when she be concerned about all the changes in Kaylee’s life.

I liked this book a lot and will recommend it to anyone who wants a quick, enjoyable read to distract them. I plan to read the rest of the series as soon as I can.

You can read more of my reviews at Speculating on SpecFic. ( )
  alcarinqa | Apr 18, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (105)  German (1)  All languages (106)
Showing 1-25 of 105 (next | show all)
This was an interesting twist on banshees and fae. I really enjoyed it. There were some of the things that are cliche in YA fantasy fiction, but overall I thought it was a fun and entertaining read. I'll probably read the rest of the series. ( )
  a.happy.booker | Mar 14, 2014 |
This was an interesting twist on banshees and fae. I really enjoyed it. There were some of the things that are cliche in YA fantasy fiction, but overall I thought it was a fun and entertaining read. I'll probably read the rest of the series. ( )
  ahappybooker | Feb 7, 2014 |
This was an interesting twist on banshees and fae. I really enjoyed it. There were some of the things that are cliche in YA fantasy fiction, but overall I thought it was a fun and entertaining read. I'll probably read the rest of the series. ( )
  ahappybooker | Feb 7, 2014 |
I liked this book. It was interesting to read a book about a being that's not a vampire, werewolf or shapeshifter. I like the whole banshee and reaper mythology that was created in this book. It was interesting to read about each being's abilities and skills.

I liked Kaylee well enough. She's not my favorite character but I could relate to her and her feelings. I like how she took the information that she was a banshee in stride and how she dealt with being able to predict people's death. I probably would have dealt with it as well as her. I also liked her inner strength when she would hold her screaming back as much as she could even though it caused her physical pain. When she held back the scream, it caused her sever head and chest pain as well as tearing pain in her throat. I don't think I would have been able to hold the scream in that long in that much pain.

Nash was ok. He wasn't anything special for me. I like how caring he was with Kaylee and how he helped her with holding back her screaming. Even the very first time he talked to her in the club and she was holding back the scream, instead of running away from her, he stayed with her and helped her through her "panic attack" (this was before she knew she was a banshee). He was a great source of comfort for Kaylee and it was clear that he would be there for her no matter what Turns out Nash is a male banshee and he tells Kaylee what she is. That being said, I like Tod the reaper better. Hes sarcastic, funny and sneaky. His personality just clicked better with me than Nash's. I like how he also cares about Kaylee which become evident in some scenes from the book. I'd rather have Kaylee in a relationship with Tod than with Nash (even though Tod is dead.)

I really like Emma, Kaylee's best friend. She knew about Kaylee's panic attacks (not the real cause) and she helps her with them. Emma automatically knows when Kaylee is beginning to have a panic attack and she immediately stops what shes doing, no matter what it is, and goes to Kaylee to help. She takes Kaylee away from the source of the panic attack and takes care of her, no questions asked. Even when Kaylee reveals that she knows when people are going to die, Emma stays by her side, believes her and helps her without asking for any explanations. That's a true friend and I hope we see Emma in the future books of the series, without having her fade in the background which usually happens in paranormal books.

The plot was interesting. While this book focused on Kaylee finding out what she was and her abilities, it also included a mystery that was another focus of the book. Young girls are dying without any reason or any real cause of death. The girls just collapse dead. Kaylee becomes involved because she predicts 2 of the deaths with her banshee abilities. After she finds out that she is a banshee, she investigates the mysterious deaths with the help of Nash and Tod the reaper. Its very interesting to see how this part of the plot. There's a lot of action that takes place later on in the book.

I know this review is very vague and its missing a lot of information but I don't want to give away any parts of the book. I suggest anyone who wants to know more to read the book. Its worth it and I recommend it.

This review is also posted on Spantalian's Book Reviews ( )
  spantalian12 | Jan 10, 2014 |
First and foremost, the paranormal aspect in this series is so new and refreshing! No vampires, angels, or werewolves here. Not that there is anything wrong with those, I enjoy them as well. But I have not read any book like this. And it’s killing me! I really want to tell you the paranormal aspect, but I really don’t want to give it away either, so I’m going to just say that has Irish origins. Which made me the happiest reader alive when I came upon this revelation.

Kaylee is a character that I like, but not love. She partially orphaned and then abandoned, left to be raised by her aunt and uncle. Suffice it to say, the girl has trust issues. Enter Nash. Good looking senior love interest. He has quite the reputation for being intimate with the ladies. Lots of ladies. When he shows an interest, she is shocked. Even more shocking to Kaylee, is his ability to be able to calm her “panic attacks” that leave her throat raw and chest about to explode. I wish Emma, the best friend, had more of a role to play. She has one major “scene,” if you will, but most of the book was focused on Kaylee and Nash and their paranormal aspect.

The plot of this book is really fast paced and I loved the world building. It didn’t take too long to be told about this new world, but it also wasn’t thrown at you. One of my favorite parts of this book is when we are introduced to Tod. He is probably my favorite character. Also, I am kind of hoping for a love triangle. I normally hate them, but I feel like he’d be a worthy part who can stand on his own. I just hate when it’s obvious that one guy is the right now. But that’s just me.

Also, the family dynamics of this book actually exists! I am always disappointed when family is left out of the young adult novels. I feel like this book actually pushed Kaylee to her family, instead of them just being there in the background, as is usual of YA novels.

The only problem I have with this book, is the insta-love. I am getting really burned out on it. But aside from that, the whole “I’m so average, I’m not good enough for someone like him” is seriously making me mad. Kaylee has a great personality. She is loyal and does what she believes is right, even if there are consequences. And I’m sure her appearance is pretty! It really kills me that main female “heroines” are so self-reliant on their boys, and that they only qualify as being average.

Other than that last lit bit, I really, really enjoyed this book. I hope throughout the series, Kaylee gets more confident and realizes that she is hot stuff. Anyone with Irish paranormal ties have to be hot stuff. ( )
  Ashley_McElyea | Dec 15, 2013 |
The Moody Reader

Okaaaaaaaay. That was, um, one hell of a ride! I liked this book. It was awesome, amazing, badass, entertaining, cool, intense, superb *throws every amazing adjectives in here*

At first, I had a hard time trying to read My Soul To Take, it was sloooooow I almost, ALMOST, lost interest in it but thank the gods I didn't! Kaylee, the main character, I actually had a hard time trying to connect with her though halfway through the book I started to liked her and I realized that she's the best definition of awesomeness. Kaylee, she' strong, she doesn't lie and oh my gods, she doesn't make stupid decisions. Thank goodness! Because I really hate when the character goes onto something dangerous when her boyfriend already warn her not to *cough* *cough* *tris* *cough* *tris* *insurgent* *cough*

I really liked the concept of the book, the mythology (Yes! I'm a big fan of mythology, that's why I already have the other books with me because I have the feeling that this series that Rachel Vincent created will be awesomesauce) The romance, however, I'm not really fond of it. I think the romance was really rushed it didn't gave me time to connect with Nash (Kaylee's Boyfriend) Yup, he's hot, he has dimples, he's good whatsoever but I want to know him more other than Kaylee constantly reminding me that he's hot and yada yada yada, Hopefully in the next book I can get a chance though *whispers* I'm actually Team Tod. there's something about him and I think Nash is too good to be true, there I've said it!

All in all it really was a gooooood, entertaining read. I can't wait to read the next book!

I highly recommend this to everyone who really likes mythology with a little bit of paranormal... Oh wait.. Paranormal with mythology... but... Hey! It doesn't matter because this book is amazing and YOU. SHOULD. READ. IT. LIKE. RIGHT. NOW! ( )
  themoodyreader | Dec 15, 2013 |
To read more reviews and fun things go to my blog; Drugs Called Books!

Kaylee is just a normal teenager... or is she? Apparently not, if the screams wailing in her throat--the ones that she can't stop, which come side by side with the sight of certain people surrounded by shadows and the morbid but absolute knowledge they are going to die, and soon--are any indication.
She is bent on keeping her abilities--or insanity?--hidden, shutting and never letting the screams - but fate has something else in store. Like making her encounter such shadowed, doomed person in the middle of a bar, right next to the hottest guy in school - Nash Hudson. She thinks everything is lost after Nash sees her breakdown (thankfully, she thinks, she managed not to scream) – public humiliation, isolation, mental facility, you name it and it will happen. Except… it doesn't.
That Nash person? He doesn't laugh at her, doesn't call her crazy… he calms her down, as unbelievable as it sounds – something no one and nothing, not even the medications doctor tried to give her – did.
And he seems to know something, something about who, or rather what she is. And when young, beautiful women started dropping dead—literally—with no apparent reason, Kaylee will have to learn and face the truth, because she can stop whatever it is that happens. All she has to do is…
Sing.

Okay, now to the real review of the book:
I loved it. Ahem, Ahem… okay, that's not my best review yet, I guess, but it gets better!
I loved this book for plenty reasons. First, it was full of suspense and action. I mean, even when it wasn't packed with it, there was never a dull moment, and things moved swiftly and quickly. You couldn't just put it down, because every time you turned the page over, you found out more intriguing information or saw that something had happened, and you just had to find out what it was, find more. More, more, more.
Second, I loved the romance. Nash and Kaylee are so sweet, and the author wasn't afraid to make them kiss. A lot. Their instant connection and relationship nearly made me forget how quickly it all happened… nearly. It always bothers me how quickly the relationship evolves, but I guess in Nash and Kaylee's case I have not many complaints – I just loved their romance, and was itching to see more of it.
The death, reapers (as in, grim reapers) and the rest of the supernatural stuff added to everything, and fit nicely and perfectly.
This book literally filled all my favorite genres, I think.
I was a bit (okay, much) sad with the ending. It was truly tragic in a way, and I hated to find out who was the killer, in the end. I was screaming "No!" in my head. I didn't really see it coming, too. Sure, there were the signs. Thinking back on it I could clearly see them, but I really didn't want her to be it.
Now, I am dreading what I have to do next. I've decided before reading this novel that I'll have to put at least a month between reading each book, if I wanted to survive the waiting for the last one. I could see, when I reached the middle of My Soul to Take, that this will become one of this series I'm addicted to, and if so, the wait will be painful. It's better to wait between books, knowing that I could, if I wanted to, go and buy the books, than gulp them all in a week like I'm used to and wait, knowing I had no choice but waiting to the final installment. The choice thing makes all the difference, I guess. Must be a psychological thing.
So now, I have to wait. I want to see more Nash hotness (I mean read, of course), but I won't. Because I'm strong willed like that, I guess.
Nitzan out. ( )
  Nitzan_Schwarz | Sep 25, 2013 |
RATING: 3.5 stars.

Aside from the whole hot teen love, I liked this book. It has a heroine with "refreshing" powers... :/ ( )
  slayra | Sep 21, 2013 |
This book took a bit to get into the true action due to the simple fact of it being the first book of the series. I always find that the first book of any series tends to take a while to get into, due to the necessity of set-ups and introductions. However, once it got into the story, it was really good, and I plan on reading at least the next book, if not the whole series. There was a twist with a secret that I saw coming, but the twist at the end was a complete surprise to me!

This was my first full-length audiobook, so it took me a while to get into it. Had I been reading the words, I'm sure I would have finished it sooner. However, given my lack of experience with audiobook narrators, I found the narrator to be very good. Her different voices were believable enough without feeling like she was trying too hard. ( )
  mrso822 | Sep 21, 2013 |
Another great book by RACHEL VINCENT... ( )
  chymekeeper | Aug 21, 2013 |
A completely different paranormal story to the norm and I really enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to reading the second in the series ( )
  lcrabtree | Jul 17, 2013 |
3.5 Stars ***

This is the 1st book of Rachel Vincents YA Soul Screamer series. I have read her adult series Shifter and enjoyed it very much. This book not so much. It screamed (pardon the pun) YA. And followed the insta-love formula to a tee. Which disappointed me somewhat.

I am reading the second in this series, My Soul to Save. I am a fan of Ms. Vincent and want to really give this series a chance. I didn't care much for the first book of the Shifter series but it got better with each book and now I love the series. So I am really hoping this series does the same thing. I will let ya know. ( )
  TeresaOM | Jun 19, 2013 |
Kaylee is a bean sidhe but doesn't know it. All she knows is that she sees when someone is about to die and uncontrollably screams until they do die.
This was a really great story and I really liked the characters, especially Kaylee and Nash.
I hadn't heard of bean sidhes before so I was pleased to see that the mythology behind them was explained in the story.
This was a fantastic start to the series and I can't wait to read the next book! ( )
  26kathryn | Jun 16, 2013 |
Oh Nash ( )
  JustAnotherYABlog | Jun 11, 2013 |
My Soul To Take is a wonderful start to Rachel Vincent’s YA paranormal “Soul Screamers” series. In it we are introduced to 17-year-old Kaylee Cavanaugh, who is subject to “panic attacks” that turn out to be more than they seem. With the assistance of one of the hottest guys in school, Nash Hudson, Kaylee is about to learn more about herself than she ever expected.

This series has one of the strongest character rosters I have ever come across; I love every character (even Sophie, Kaylee’s “mean girl” cousin). Each one is well-developed and feels like someone you could really meet in your daily life. Kaylee is the girl-next-door – with a little supernatural ability. She has a great sense of self-worth (even when questioning her sanity), which was refreshing when I first read this book. Her best friend, Emma, is one of the hottest girls in school and the truest friend anyone could ask for. I love Emma’s character; she is definitely a party girl and likes to play the field, but she is there when Kaylee needs her and backs her up no matter what. Nash Hudson is the handsome football player who meets Kaylee and turns out to know a little bit more about her abilities than he initially lets on. His interest in Kaylee is apparent, and he is very supportive as she learns more about her screaming ability. We also have cousin Sophie who is the bane of Kaylee’s existence – the sophomore who will go to whatever lengths necessary to hold onto her popularity and place in the school hierarchy. It is truly incredible how much character development Vincent is able to fit into 279 pages. And we haven’t even talked about Kaylee’s aunt, uncle and father!

The story is equally strong. Pacing is brisk and there are no superfluous scenes – every thing has a place, including the plentiful humor. When Kaylee and Nash start questioning the unusual deaths of beautiful teenage girls in the area, Nash introduces Kaylee to a young grim reaper named Tod, who has a shift at the local hospital making sure that death occurs right on schedule. After some initial resistance, Tod actively starts assisting them with their investigation – giving them insight into how the entire business of death is handled (it turns out to be quite a bureaucracy) and helping them discover that the deaths are definitely NOT natural. The finale was something I didn’t see coming – Kaylee learns who is behind it all, who Tod REALLY is, and loses someone close to her – and yet it fits perfectly.

Without a doubt, this is one of the most entertaining series in the YA paranormal genre and one I absolutely love. I cannot tell you how many times I have read these books over the past year and yet each time I enjoy them just as much as the first time. My Soul To Take is a strong start in a great series. ( )
  eomalley | May 26, 2013 |
oh, i like this! ( )
  emily.s | May 6, 2013 |
WOW, this was a totally awesome book! I loved how Kaylee dealt with her new self, and how she grew and took charge of herself and her situation.

Nash is great - I really hope that they WILL be able to have a long and happy life, and that Kaylee's dad will be able to accept all that will come his way as well.

I really didn't appreciate Sophie, though, totally spoiled girl, with little emphaty for others. Val scared me - but at the same time, she incarnated the kind of woman that there actually are plenty of in the real world, not just in the soulscreamer world! Way to go in order to try to stay forever young.

Poor Tod! I feel bad for him, but I have a feeling he will be around in the next books to wreak some havoc, both on Kaylee and on Nash.

And I could totally see Kaylee's dad and Harmony hooking up in the future :D ( )
  Lexxie | Apr 23, 2013 |
I was impressed with the flow and suspense. I Laughed, I cried, and I didn't put it down until it was done! Now on to #2! :)


http://beerensbaby.blogspot.com/2012/08/my-soul-to-take-by-rachel-vincent.html

( )
  Mickey_Beerens | Apr 22, 2013 |
I was impressed with the flow and suspense. I Laughed, I cried, and I didn't put it down until it was done! Now on to #2! :)


http://beerensbaby.blogspot.com/2012/08/my-soul-to-take-by-rachel-vincent.html

( )
  Mickey_Beerens | Apr 22, 2013 |
Story = 3.5 Writing = 2.5

This book was so-so. The writing was poor, somehow the narrator was all-knowing. I mean how does she know what everyones thinking??? I didn't know she was a telepath...
Also, I predicted (almost) everything, and that's never fun. But the story was okay.... The romance was entertaining. But the main character is annoying. ( )
  Ritastradling | Apr 15, 2013 |
The characters were a bit flat and the story could have been paced better. And I didn't need to know everytime the main couple touched each other. They started to sound like leeches after awhile. Yes, teens can be that way. Do I need to read it over, over, over...no. That does not make you a character. Just annoying. ( )
  akmargie | Apr 4, 2013 |
This book is the first book in the series Soul Screamers by Rachel Vincent. I immensely enjoyed this book a lot. I was hooked from the start. I really loved many of the characters but I do not know how I feel towards Nash. I don't find I like him. I really like Kaylee's Uncle and her dad. I find them really interesting characters who have a really deep personality. I absolutely despise Kaylee's aunt and her cousin *Sophie*. And I am not sure how I feel about Emma.

The interesting thing about this book was the concept of Bean- sidhes and death. How if one person is supposed to die but is saved someone else must die in exchange which then means that that person who lived is living on borrowed time. At first I thought I would hate this book because I am not a fan of books that involve either Angels, or half humans or robots as characters. Vampires are alright but anything else no. But I found I liked this book because she still looked Human and blended in with others. She just had like special abilities and although she looked human was not.

I also liked all of the surprises. Kaylee being a Bean- sidhe, Emma having supposed to die (well not really but still in a way they saved her and someone else Julie died in exchange). The end where Sophie practically died and was saved and then where Aunt Val died.

The one thing which annoyed me about this book was the length and the depth. To me it looked long because it looked thick when I borrowed it and there were a lot of words on each page. But literally it was not that long. Things happened to quickly and too fast that many things the reader could predict.
I practically predicted that Emma would die and then Kaylee and Nash would save her. I predicted it before it happened. And I also predicted the whole borrow time thing. I realised after a while before it was revealed in the book that Kaylee must have died when she was younger and that her mother and father must have saved her only for her mother to die.
Also other than that I felt the book was not in depth even though it WAS REALLY GOOD.
Things happened too fast.
EXAMPLE:
girl dies at club
Another girl dies at the cinema
(Nash and Kaylee technically become a couple)
Meredith Cole dies
She finds out she is a bean- sidhe
They visit the reaper
Save Emma only for Julie to die
dad comes home, Sophie dies they bring her back only for Aunt Val to die. You found out who the reaper that was poaching souls was.
Then you had the end bit with the conclusion etc.

The end.

For me I just felt everything was bunched up and happened to quickly. There wasn't a good time frame for this book in my opinion.

Though, I recommend all of you to read this book because it is amazing, brilliant and I really liked it. I only gave it 4/5 because of the last point I made.


( )
  potterwholockian | Apr 2, 2013 |
Ugh...I hate to do this.

Despite the high ratings, I just couldn't get into this book. I found it very slow paced and uneventful overall. The idea of a banshee character was unique but not exciting enough to keep me reading.

I gave it a good try....read the first 100 pages...but I just couldn't go any further. ( )
  Shawna77 | Mar 31, 2013 |
Fantastic paranormal teen read on a subject not often explored - banshees! ( )
  LaneLiterati | Mar 12, 2013 |
4.5 Stars. I loved these characters from the very beginning; Kaylee, Emma and Nash are all very real and I wanted to know more about them. However, I did wish there had been a little more of Emma considering she was Kaylee's best friend, and I did feel like Kaylee's relationship with Nash came about a little too easily. However, they had known each other for some time, even though not well, before the novel started. I also wish we had been told a little more about why Nash likes Kaylee. He falls for her rather quickly but they don't have a lot in common, at least other than one big thing.

Kaylee has had a huge secret kept from her, her entire life and at sixteen she's forced to face it before her father or aunt and uncle were really prepared to talk to her about it. Kaylee is a Banshee and she knows when someone around her is about to die, then she lets out a terrible scream once they pass which can suspend their soul for a short time. It's a frightening ability but one that Kaylee is able to get a handle on, until she realizes that there's someone out there that's taking people before their time and Kaylee can't stand to let girls die for no reason.

This starts out with action and there's something going on throughout the entire book. It was an exciting read and there were surprises up through the very end. But, I didn't completely believe that Kaylee's aunt would make the choices she did at the end of the novel, it just didn't feel like that ending had been set up as well as it could have been. The plot overall is exciting and different and I truly enjoyed this book. I just wished a few parts had been fleshed out a little more. Overall I enjoyed this read and will continue on with the next book in this series.

For more reviews by Lauryn April go to http://laurynapril.blogspot.com ( )
  LaurynApril | Dec 29, 2012 |
Showing 1-25 of 105 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
9 avail.
259 wanted
6 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.86)
0.5
1 4
1.5 2
2 11
2.5 8
3 64
3.5 17
4 118
4.5 14
5 74

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,484,728 books! | Top bar: Always visible