HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Killing Floor: A Jack Reacher Novel…
Loading...

Killing Floor: A Jack Reacher Novel (Thornike Press Large Print Famous… (original 1997; edition 2010)

by Lee Child

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,153None1,205 (3.84)200
sbenne3's review
Good read for a thriller. I wanted to read the Jack Reacher books and decided to start at the beginnig. I am putting the second book on my list now !! ( )
  sbenne3 | May 6, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (134)  Dutch (2)  All languages (136)
Showing 1-25 of 134 (next | show all)
Violent book good story. Had read before but Harold got discs for Xmas for me so listened again. First jack reacher ( )
  afarrington | Mar 15, 2014 |
After reading chronologically, the first Jack Reacher book, I started with Killing Floor, the first Lee Child novel, written with Jack Reacher as the protagonist, a book which won the Anthony Award for Best First Novel when it got released in 1997.

Set in a small town in America, this was a fast paced thriller, with its not-so-small plots and conspiracies. There is a lot of action, some goriness, and a whole lot of entertainment. The book doesn't strive to be real and hence avoids from becoming ridiculous - you know what you are reading, and why you are reading it. One of the takeaways from thrillers is that with the research the author puts in, or supposed to have put it, one gets to know a whole lot of interesting tid-bits, which otherwise may not have come in one's way - this one for instance gave a crash (if lacking in details) course on counterfeiting operations.

I see no harm in continuing with the series. ( )
  PiyushC | Feb 16, 2014 |
I enjoyed it well enough, but not enough to rush out and buy the next one. It also took me an improbable amount of time to get through. Good but by no means great. ( )
  greppers | Jan 25, 2014 |
This is my second book of the series...I decided to read them in order.

Overall it was a decent read. The plot had enough twists to make it interesting but there is one aspect of the writing I did not really like. It is the fight scenes....You know that no matter how big the opponent, how skilled a fighter the opponent is, how many bad guys there are in the fight...Reacher is going to win and Reacher never captures anyone...he blows them a way in a straight on fight, an ambush or trick...the fight is anti-climatic... Reacher never loses unless he wants to. It kind of gets to be boring after a while.

Other than that it was a decent thriller/mystery ( )
  Lynxear | Jan 20, 2014 |
I enjoyed this one and will probably read another in the series. Similar in some ways to Jack Sandford (for level of violence) and Michael Connelly (for the mystery). I liked the creepiness of the town where the story takes place but I was slightly disappointed with the major plot. I thought that could have been a bit more, well, mysterious. But that's just a minor gripe. ( )
  Myckyee | Jan 18, 2014 |
A fast moving plot that kept me engrossed. Jack Reacher is one tough dude. Expect gore & not a lot of subtlety. Complete escapism but great for a winter afternoon. ( )
  sianpr | Jan 17, 2014 |
Books like this make me ask the question: Don't criminals like to read too? Sure, all of these artfully hideous murders and clever crimes seem entertaining now, but aren't actual criminals going to try these things when they know super-perceptive tough-guy Jack Reacher won't be there to stop them? I hope the police have time to catch up on all sixteen books in this series just in case.

Anyway, if you like action/crime stories starring stoic badasses who will shoot you in the back of the head if you piss them off, you'll probably enjoy this series. That's not entirely my kind of thing, but I was surprisingly engrossed with the story, especially as the mysteries started to build up. The overall plot is pretty standard, but it's fast-paced and twisty with a real feeling of danger, and you'll learn a lot about the particular type of crime that's hidden at the core of this small town.

There are times when Jack is a little too good at guessing what people will do, or makes an uncharacteristically thoughtless decision that only makes sense when you realize it results in a more interesting scenario for him to asskick his way out of. But nitpicking this book feels like a waste of time -- it's a junk food action story, and overall I liked it more than I expected to. Sometime when I'm in the right kind of mood, I could definitely go for another book in this series.
( )
  thatpirategirl | Jan 16, 2014 |
I really enjoyed this first book in the Jack Reacher series. I liked the crisp prose and the laconic narrator. I also enjoyed trying to puzzle out the mystery with Reacher.

Reacher gets off a bus because he is near the town of Margrave Georgia. As a Blues fan, he wants to track down the famed guitarist Blind Blake. He seems to remember that his brother told him that Blake had died there. But things aren't all good in picture perfect Margrave. Reacher is in town for just a few hours before he is arrested for murder.

As a former military policeman, Reacher knows murder investigations and he also knows that his alibi is solid. He figures things will be straightened out quickly and he'll be able to move on. But a frame up leads to him getting more deeply involved. His involvement deepens even more when he learns that is was his brother who was one of the murder victims. They weren't close; Reacher hadn't seen him for years. But despite this childhood behaviors that said you protect your brother surface and Reacher decides that someone will have to pay for killing his brother.

The story has lots of violence. Between the villains torture murders and Reacher's casual murder of any villain he finds, the pages drip with blood. Reacher is an interesting character. He is rootless and likes it. He is detached from everyone and likes that too. When he pairs up with one of the cops, I could see a relationship that was doomed to failure. But his desire to protect Roscoe gave him additional incentive to solve the problems and find and kill all villains. By the way, who calls their love interest by their last name?

I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more of the Jack Reacher series. One of the advantages of coming to a series late is that I don't have to wait for the next book to be available. I think I have 16 more in the series to read. ( )
  kmartin802 | Jan 10, 2014 |
Although this is the first book in The Jack Reacher series, it is the third Jack Reacher book I have read. I enjoyed the action and the pace of my first two ventures into the series so I decided I would go back to the beginning and start reading them all.

Killing Floor introduces us to Jack Reacher, a man who has spent his whole life in the military and has now been discharged. He is enjoying the freedom of being able to go anywhere he wants whenever he likes. He is living like a hobo. He has no fixed address and carries no luggage. Carries only cash and leaves no trail of where he has been. Jack enjoys music, so when he hears from his brother that an old musician named Blind Blake used to play in a town called Margrave where he was eventually murdered, Jack decides Margrave seems as good a place as any to stop next. Then a dead body turns up, and who seems the most likely suspect in this small town - the blow in that just arrived on the last bus. Jack needs to get out of this one, he knows he is innocent and needs to make them realise it.

Lots of action (and violence) in this book, as I would expect. A good read. ( )
  Roro8 | Jan 1, 2014 |
When I first started reading this book, I did not like the writing style at all. It did grow on me and I found that it really helped keep a fast pace throughout the book. I enjoyed this as a good suspense / thriller / action book. I do plan to read more in the series, especially since most people think it doesn't really get good until about book 4 and I liked book 1. ( )
  Barb_H | Dec 10, 2013 |
Killing Floor by Lee Child

Author: Lee Child

Published 1997

Pages: 407

Genre: Fiction/thriller

My Copy: Paperback

Why: recommended by Nancy Pearl, been on my TBR for a very long time.

Rating: ★ ★ ★

The debut novel of the Jack Reacher series introduces us to Jack Reacher, an ex military cop, who is walking the U.S. without any ties and happens to stop in Margrave, Georgia where he is arrested for a brutal murder that has been discovered out at the Kliner warehouses. Jack is here because his brother had mentioned that the musician, Blind Blake, had stopped in this town. This book is filled with violence. I learned about different guns, bullets and weapons and the kind of damage they do. Margrave as far as towns go is a bit unusual. Everything is beautiful. Businesses appear to be doing quite well even though there really isn’t any business going on. Something is going on and people are dying violently. The Kliner Foundation is taking care of things in Margrave.

This book has been on my TBR list for quite awhile, since 2005, when I was gifted Book Lust Journal with an introduction by Nancy Pearl. The Journal contains The Pearl 100, a list of Great Reads. The Killing Floor by Lee Child’s was listed as a Summer Read, nothing much to overtax the brain but at the same time entertaining.

I would agree that this book did not overtax the brain and it was entertaining but I also had no trouble at all figuring out the bad guys. I wasn’t impressed with Jack Reacher as a character. I saw one person refer to him as lawless and that is an apt description. He falls in bed very easy with the female even though he has just found out his brother was brutally murdered. This is a long series, my husband loves these books, but I don’t like series and this is where Jack Reacher starts and stops for me. Still, I am happy that I read it. ( )
  Kristelh | Nov 16, 2013 |
Killing Floor is a well plotted story, with good pace and a great main character, although still a little unbelievable. I am willing to see how Reacher develops in future books. The writing is, I think, too filmic and there is a lot of shrugging in the narrative, too much. I was going to give it 2*, but the ending was so satisfactory that it earned itself another. ( )
  femme_letale | Oct 6, 2013 |
In The Killing Floor, Jack Reacher, the itinerant ex-homicide investigator for the military, becomes too much of a vigilante for my taste. There is also a series a coincidences that stretch credulity. The beginning will definitely hold your interest, however.

Minding his own business while having breakfast, Reacher is arrested in a small town in Georgia and accused of a particularly vicious murder. Jack was arrested because he had been seen walking down the road near the industrial site where the body had been discovered. Jack had been on a cross-country bus and had just arbitrarily asked the driver to let him off at some random intersection so he could walk fouteen miles to some town to learn more about Blind Blake, a black jazz singer. After establishing his alibi, he learns that the dead man is his brother. Jack had not seen his brother, a treasury agent who had single-handedly eliminated counterfeiting from the United States, for many years. Anyway, turns out the town is being run by the Kleiner family. They have figured out a way to manufacture almost perfect $100 bills.

Reacher is a good character, but his sudden brilliant insights and instant appeal to women, make this title just too unreal. Good fast airplane read. ( )
  ecw0647 | Sep 30, 2013 |
EDITORIAL REVIEW:

Ex-MP Jack Reacher goes into action to find his brother's killers, after a series of brutal crimes terrorizes tiny Margrave, Georgia, only to uncover the dark and deadly conspiracy concealed behind the town's peaceful facade. A first novel. 50,000 first printing. $50,000 ad/promo. BOMC Feat Alt.
  Hans.Michel | Sep 13, 2013 |
The Jack Reacher novels are one of my favorite series. I read The Killing Floor first, and immediately sought out the rest in the series.

Jack Reacher is an interesting character and the plots never fail to hold my interest. ( )
  slrfmriley | Aug 27, 2013 |
Very good read. ( )
  stacy_chambers | Aug 22, 2013 |
Killing Floor is the first novel in the Jack Reacher series by author Lee Child. Jack Reacher has had enough of Army life and is six months mustered out travelling the US a country he has never seen. Wandering into a small town in Georgia he's immediately arrested for murder. Sent to jail overnight he's put into general population instead of holding, where he's supposed to be and someone tries to kill him. Once he's finally released he learns that the dead guy was his brother and sets out to investigate leading him to look into a powerful local family called the Kilner's and a whole lot of trouble.

The plot may seem a bit far fetched. The idea that two members of the same family just happen to be in the same area a few days apart is a bit of a stretch of the imagination.Read the full review here ( )
  thecrimescene | Aug 17, 2013 |
Reacher drifts into town because years ago he heard about a man who died there, curiousity drives him there. After he left the army he has drifted, living without much, buying what he needs from the cash he carries. Shortly after arriving he's arrested as hes the only stranger in town and there's been a murder. The town looks perfect but there's a lot under the surface, Reacher has to try to scratch that surface and find out what's going on before he can prove himself innocent and keep himself and the people he's come to care about alive.

Not a bad read but nothing spectacular, Reacher is almost too perfectg and is a bit inconsistent in his investigation and his leaps of knowledge. Not bad but not standout for me. ( )
  wyvernfriend | Aug 6, 2013 |
Excellent book. I would recommend this to anyone who likes Robert Crais's Joe Pike books. ( )
  mrkleve | Aug 1, 2013 |
WOW! I mean - WOW! This book won the award for best first novel, and I can see why. This is the story of Jack Reacher, former military police investigator who has recently been honorably discharged from the Army. He is now wandering the U.S. via bus or walking and exploring little out of the way places. He's walked several miles to Margrave, Georgia to check out an old jazz artist he's heard about, and finds himself accused of murder. That's just the first couple pages of the book and it's a wild ride from there . . . .

I've read 4 other Jack Reacher books, and I've enjoyed every one of them. But THIS one really blew me away. Another high point in this book is the author's Foreword. I confess, I usually don't read those insights, but in this one, he explains all the thought he put in to developing his character and story, BEFORE he wrote any of it. How did he select the name of his main character and all the other people in the book; how does this man think; why does he act the way he does; what is his thought process; what is his history; what is his training; etc.. Fascinating stuff! ( )
  blush48 | Jul 24, 2013 |
The Killing Floor is a densely packed and tightly wound thriller that begins with a case of mistaken identity and winds up with all the requisite explosions and hypertechnics that have characterized such a stylish and unpredictable thriller in the past. The hero is a tough and enigmatic loner. ( )
  theballisflat | Jul 23, 2013 |
While not a great piece of literature by any stretch of the imagination, it was suspenseful. I think Tarzan might be a better writer (me man. her pretty. bang bang), but darn it if I didn't finish it.

That said, I don't quite understand the media-franchise-inducing magic here. There is little-to-no character development (I think that can be summed up when one character is referred to repeatedly as "Harvard Guy" - oh, that explains everything) and the plot movement depends on Jack's uncanny ability to be able to figure everything out. ( )
  tulikangaroo | Jul 8, 2013 |
3.5 stars

Jack Reacher is a retired military police officer . As he wanders into a small town in Georgia one morning, he appears to be in the wrong place at the wrong time, as he is arrested for the murder of a stranger.

It was good, but I really didn't like Jack Reacher as a character, and ****SPOILERS**** didn't understand why everyone just let him help the police and kept him, a civilian, informed of everything to do with the case. I just didn't get it, and really didn't see how a random stranger in town – one who was initially arrested for the crime – would be trusted with that kind of information.****END SPOILERS**** I didn't think that was even a little bit realistic. Still, the story was good, but I'm not sure I'll be reading any more Jack Reacher. ( )
  LibraryCin | Jun 9, 2013 |
This was the first Jack Reacher novel I read and I was an instant fan. He's got just the right amount of hero and flawed in his personality. And I love the detailed descriptions of kicking butt. ( )
  bcrowl399 | May 15, 2013 |
Nobody expects much to happen in the forgotten little town of Margrave, Georgia. Certainly it didn’t seem dangerous to drifter Jack Reacher who is just touring around America trying to find a little piece. Margrave has secrets, though. An unidentified man is murdered on a country road. A bank executive disappears. The police chief and his wife are butchered in their home. Suddenly, Jack Reacher finds himself the perfect suspect. And with the revelation of who one of the victims is, it has become personal. But Jack has a secret too. A former Army military police officer, he has hunted the toughest men on earth. Now, with the help of the few people in town who believe him, Jack Reacher will need all of his skills to get to the bottom of what has laid siege to Margrave and maybe clear his name in the process.

“Evaluate. Long experience had taught me to evaluate and assess. When the unexpected gets dumped on you, don’t waste time. Don’t figure out how or why it happened. Don’t recriminate. Don’t figure out whose fault it is. Don’t work out how to avoid the same mistake next time. All of that you do later. If you survive.”

Killing Floor is the very first installment of Lee Child’s now long-running series featuring former Army military police officer Jack Reacher. The swashbuckling, finger-breaking, MP-turned-vagrant-turned-vigilante, Reacher is a little more nuanced and interesting than many of the typical hero-with-a-heart-of-gold-and-a-swift-kick-in-the-face types. But ultimately Killing Floor is all about figuring out who are the good guys and who are the bad guys and seeing what Reacher intends to do about it. It is no spoiler that it will involve a lot of violence, chases and double-crosses.

The first two-thirds of Killing Floor really had me hooked into the story. Child’s writing moves the story along nicely and he does a nice job of not only developing his hero, but also the many characters surrounding him. In particular, Harvard educated detective Finley and the police officer love interest Roscoe were particularly well done. However, the villains were a bit one-dimensional and there were lot of coincidences that occurred to get Jack to where he ended up.

The last third was a bit cliché and the final action scenes became a little farfetched. I expect a bit of an over-the-top finish in these kinds of thrillers. Killing Floor just hovered at the edge of a bit too over-the-top for my tastes. However, that is more a matter of taste. Still, it was a solid introduction to a character that has carried the Lee Child franchise for 16+ years now and shows little sign of slowing down. It was a fun read filled with action and I was never bored. I’m looking forward to reading more of the series to see how Reacher’s character develops over time. Killing Floor is a worthy first installment for anyone looking for a wiz-bang action series.

“Evaluate. Long experience had taught me to evaluate and assess. When the unexpected gets dumped on you, don’t waste time. Don’t figure out how or why it happened. Don’t recriminate. Don’t figure out whose fault it is. Don’t work out how to avoid the same mistake next time. All of that you do later. If you survive.”

Killing Floor is the very first installment of Lee Child’s now long-running series featuring former Army military police officer Jack Reacher. The swashbuckling, finger-breaking, MP-turned-vagrant-turned-vigilante, Reacher is a little more nuanced and interesting than many of the typical hero-with-a-heart-of-gold-and-a-swift-kick-in-the-face types. But ultimately Killing Floor is all about figuring out who are the good guys and who are the bad guys and seeing what Reacher intends to do about it. It is no spoiler that it will involve a lot of violence, chases and double-crosses.

The first two-thirds of Killing Floor really had me hooked into the story. Child’s writing moves the story along nicely and he does a nice job of not only developing his hero, but also the many characters surrounding him. In particular, Harvard educated detective Finley and the police officer love interest Roscoe were particularly well done. However, the villains were a bit one-dimensional and there were lot of coincidences that occurred to get Jack to where he ended up.

The last third was a bit cliché and the final action scenes became a little farfetched. I expect a bit of an over-the-top finish in these kinds of thrillers. Killing Floor just hovered at the edge of a bit too over-the-top for my tastes. However, that is more a matter of taste. Still, it was a solid introduction to a character that has carried the Lee Child franchise for 16+ years now and shows little sign of slowing down. It was a fun read filled with action and I was never bored. I’m looking forward to reading more of the series to see how Reacher’s character develops over time. Killing Floor is a worthy first installment for anyone looking for a wiz-bang action series. ( )
  csayban | Apr 15, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 134 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

Lee Child is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
53 avail.
241 wanted
5 pay25 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.84)
0.5 4
1 10
1.5 7
2 49
2.5 20
3 263
3.5 100
4 489
4.5 46
5 273

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 89,486,464 books! | Top bar: Always visible