HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Killing Floor: A Jack Reacher Novel…
Loading...

Killing Floor: A Jack Reacher Novel (Thornike Press Large Print Famous… (original 1997; edition 2010)

by Lee Child

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,955172925 (3.83)240
Good read for a thriller. I wanted to read the Jack Reacher books and decided to start at the beginnig. I am putting the second book on my list now !! ( )
  sbenne3 | May 6, 2012 |
English (169)  Dutch (2)  All languages (171)
Showing 1-25 of 169 (next | show all)
I haven't read this series in order, and with only 4 or so left to go, I finally read number 1. Because I have already read so many, I expected it to be just another Jack Reacher. I was wrong, this was really the best, at least for me. It certainly explains the endurance of the series when it started out like this! I listened to the audio version, and there was a really cool technique that I don't recall encountering before - the phone conversations actually sounded as though they were coming across a phone line. It was neat and I wish it was done more often. The other thing that I appreciated is that there was less of what I consider to be gratuitous violence than there is as the series goes on. I'm all for getting the bad guy, but in later entries he seems to make those decisions awfully quickly in some cases. Not about to stop me from continuing though - Jack is good entertainment. Now if I can just get the picture of Tom Cruise out of my mind..... ( )
  MaureenCean | Feb 2, 2016 |
This is a reread of a book.
The first book in the Jack Reacher series, introducing the character of an ex-army, former military policeman, who finds himself set free to explore the States after, literally, an entire lifetime in the army.
Reacher is accused, unjustly, of having killed someone. As a vagrant, he's apparently an easy target. They picked the wrong man.
A fast-moving thriller. ( )
  quiBee | Jan 21, 2016 |
The Killing Floor is my first Jack Reacher novel and my second book for the British Book Challenge in 2016. My husband has read all of the Reacher novels and enjoyed them so I thought, I’ll give it a whirl. I always liked Robert Ludlum and I enjoy Peter Robinson so….the writing style of Lee Child is a mix of the two.

After this first book I know I will continue reading the series. The plot has just enough suspense, gun play and detective work and observations to capture my interest. The Killing Floor, so named after the brutal way a team of bad guys go after their victims is….gruesome. It doesn’t go into serious detail about the killings so I was good with that. It’s the police procedural part that intrigues me. What took some getting used to were the short choppy sentences such as:

I picked up my mug. The coffee was cold. I looked at the waitress and nodded toward my cup.

The entire book isn’t made up of these choppy sentences but there are many in there. They set the scene then the storyline evolves at a good enough rate to keep me reading. Now, after the rich detail in Tana French’s Dublin detective squad mysteries, this may seem low brow. But honestly, if you like a mystery and a bit of action, Lee Child gets captures all of it with his Jack Reacher novels.

Movie vs. Book

When the first Jack Reacher movie came out on DVD we watched it. My husband was not pleased by Tom Cruise playing the part of Reacher. I had not read the books yet so had no point of reference. Allow me to share the differences: Cruise is dark haired and 5’9” and sullen in the movie. Lee Child describes Reacher as a massive 6’6”, broad shouldered and fair haired. So now I know what caused the frown when the movie starred Tom Cruise. Chris Helmsworth would have worked. Big guy with broad chest, blonde……that works.

This is book 2 in my British Book Challenge. ( )
  SquirrelHead | Jan 19, 2016 |
This is the first of a long line of Jack Reacher novels. Reacher is a man's man and a killing machine. I was reminded very much of James Patterson's Alex Cross while reading this.

This book was almost too long. It was interesting, intense and engaging, but I think the editor could have taken out what would amount to a few chapters of description and detail. It just was not needed, in my opinion, even though this is the "set-up" book for the series. Much of the description was repetitive and didn't not add to my view of the characters or my feelings for them.

There is a movie being made of the Jack Reacher character, starring Tom Cruise. Casting Cruise as Reacher is abhorrent. I can only assume that his fee was very low for him to make the cut. I could see Chris Hemsworth (he may be too young, though), Jason Statham or Dwight (The Rock) Johnson. Tom Cruise? No way.

Despite the page count on this one, I will read more and recommend it. ( )
  CarmenMilligan | Jan 18, 2016 |
The first in the Jack Reacher series of books.

Jack is an ex army policeman living the hobo life travelling round America as the fancy takes him. Unfortunately for him he is the only stranger in the town of Margrave the night a murder takes place which leads to his arrest.

Is it a case of mistaken identity or something far more sinister.

With the way he singlehandedly kills almost the entire population of the town it amazes me that Jack didn't end up back in the prison.

The book also has in my opinion a really tacky tag line "Jack Reacher. Men want to be him. Women want to be with him." puhlease wheres my bucket.

The story was certainly actioned packed and it was entertaining, however I am not sure that justifies all the rave reviews the series has.
( )
  BookWormM | Jan 15, 2016 |
So Jack reacher the Ex MP with attitude ventures to a town in search of an old musician Blind Blake, but what he finds in the small town in Georgia is more than he expected ( )
  JWarrenBenton | Jan 4, 2016 |
So Jack reacher the Ex MP with attitude ventures to a town in search of an old musician Blind Blake, but what he finds in the small town in Georgia is more than he expected ( )
  JWarrenBenton | Jan 4, 2016 |
Preposterous.

I’m not going to change anyone’s minds with this review. Those of you who lap at the water from this hole will come back again and again and again, no matter the toxicity levels. And I don’t think there are many who are just curious about Child’s popular hero – you’re either in already, or you don’t care. There may have been a few, like me, who enjoyed putting the brain on hold for a couple of hours for the recent film adaptation and wanted to see what the books were like – but I don’t suspect that was a very large crowd.

Abandon all intelligence, reason, and common sense, all ye who enter.

Let’s get this straight, I like a good thriller. I can even suspend some disbelief – I wouldn’t have Cussler or Koontz or F. Paul Wilson on the shelf. But at least those guys don’t try to hoodwink me into thinking that they are going to play it straight. Every time Jack Reacher talks through his murderous choices and diabolical plans for the bad guys, Child has him making it seem like there’s logic and reason to it all that, that it all jives with the real world.

Look in the card catalog under “Thrillers for Dummies.”

Look, it was readable pulp, though I wish I’d picked up one of my Spillane’s instead. It past a snowy day inside. And I’m cracking wise at this guy because he’s smurking all the way to the bank.

So, how’d it get three bones? This edition had an introduction from the author, looking back on how he started writing and how he put together this first in the series. There was some fairly thoughtful stuff there, about noodling out what you want to write about before you start writing. I just wish Child had either done better research, or thrown out the pretense that there would be anything but wild fantasy.

Bottom Line: Are you kidding me?

3 bones!!!!! ( )
  blackdogbooks | Dec 27, 2015 |
Reading this first installment of the Jack Reacher series, it's easy to understand how the character reached the popularity it has, including one major motion picture with at least one other on the way. Reacher is a completely accessible character, and Child manages to incorporate many of the traditional endearing characteristics of action/sleuth literary heroes into a background that is more than believable. An army brat and career military man turned unemployed transient, Reacher is both a product of a life dedicated to loyalty and service, yet an outsider and an underdog with a feeling of societal detachment that has motivated him to exist outside of the system. Like most popular vigilante characters, he is a passive observer who is only forced into action when dragged into a situation on a personal level. Again, nothing new as far as behavior and motivation, but Child's Reacher never becomes anything more than human, as his bursts of super-soldier heroics and Holmes-worthy deductions are tempered with humility, doubt, and the inner turmoil of a man seeking an identity beyond the life he's known.

Child also succeeds in keeping what has the makings of a grandiose plot feel small and manageable. The crimes taking place in the small town that Reacher stumbles into are big enough to have global ramifications, but it never descends into a 'Our Hero Saves the World' cliche, and the masterminds that he eventually faces off against are real life criminals that he doesn't feel the need to elevate to Bond villain status. Everything about Jack Reacher and his first novel is grounded in a reality that most people can at least comprehend, if not fully understand.

Not that reality doesn't take a back seat as some point. If there is any real flaw to Killing Floor, it is that is relies a little too much on extremely coincidental events to move the plot along. This isn't unexpected, mind you - the reader needs to be willing to suspend disbelief to a certain extent to allow for the occasional stroke of dumb luck or random chance. However, there are two glaringly unreasonable coincidences that bookend the novel. First there's the one REALLY BIG ONE at the beginning that seals Reacher's involvement, and having the main character say "what a coincidence" to himself once or twice isn't enough to make the audience swallow it as unquestioningly. Then, just before the climax, another coincidence is revealed that is not only completely unnecessary to the story, but is connected to the other bizarre coincidence that started things off in the first place, as if to remind any reader who might have enjoyed the rest of the book enough to momentarily forget how unlikely the event that started it all out really was. If this was your typical over the top action/adventure novel, perhaps the strain of credibility wouldn't be so jarring. But for a book that succeeds in keeping everything else low key and believable to an extent, they're almost inexcusable shortcuts that weaken the overall product.

The wild coincidences don't weaken it too much, however, and when taking the book as a whole they remain minor blemishes that are easily forgivable in such an enjoyable launch title. ( )
  smichaelwilson | Dec 27, 2015 |
Disappointingly predictable. Of course the mental image of little Tom Cruise in role of Jack Reacher didn't help. ( )
  Qatarjj | Dec 21, 2015 |
THE KILLING FLOOR, by Lee Child, is the first mystery featuring Jack Reacher. Jack is a thirty-something loner and drifter who finds himself arrested in a sleepy town in Georgia for a murder he didn’t commit.
Jack soon provides an alibi, but something shocks him into helping the locals solve the murder. More bodies pile up and along the way Jack falls for a woman working at the police station. Soon the whole town seems to be involved in some kind of conspiracy.
There are lots of killings (some pretty grisly) and the action never stops. Jack knows how to kill quickly and efficiently, and uses his knowledge on more than one occasion.
Although I caught a couple of repetitions in the text (information said twice exactly the same way), overall this is a page-turner, and a good introduction to Jack Reacher. I will definitely read the next in the series.
THE KILLING FLOOR is great for people who like thriller-type mysteries.
~Stephanie ( )
  BooksOn23rd | Nov 25, 2015 |
Adrenalico, mai un attimo di noia. ( )
  Angela.Me | Nov 9, 2015 |
It started well; really well in fact. Within a couple of chapters I understood how a whole franchise could be built on this one book. After a while, though, it kind of lost my enthusiasm.

I don't know if it's that I've read a few other Reacher books, so I knew kind of what to expect, or if I just kept reading it it with a writer's eye. I kept thinking "if I wrote this, I'd make this or that or the other thing happen." Then, of course, I was disappointed both when they did and when they didn't happen.

All in all, a fun ride. I do like the Reacher series, but I always feel like there's some missed potential here. Reacher could be an iconic thriller character but he never quite gets there. ( )
  darushawehm | Oct 24, 2015 |
Read a third of the way in. Not bad, but really not my thing. ( )
  lyrrael | Oct 18, 2015 |
No slippery, complex writing here. Not for Jack Reacher. Lee Child’s blunt language and short sentences make for a much parodied style. But it works as a perfect first person narrative, at the same time building Reacher’s character and a fictional world seen entirely from his perspective. There’s just enough military kid, military police back-story to make our hero’s loner status and ultra competence believable, even if his skills stop only just short of the superhuman. I’d almost given up on thrillers, but thoroughly enjoyed this tightly written and satisfying book. Seems my problem is the disappointing sugar rush/crash of psychological thrillers. So in future I’ll give the latest summer ‘must read’ a miss, and seek out the rest of the Jack Reacher series instead. ( )
  Bernadette877 | Sep 6, 2015 |
COMECEI A LER O LIVRO POIS ESTAVA CURIOSO EM PERCEBER QUE ESCOLHA TINHA FEITO O TOM CRUISE PARA REPRESENTAR O PAPEL DE JACK REACHER.

APESAR DE NÃO SER ALTO COMO O JACK, PERCEBO O QUE AGRADOU O TOM CRUISE NESTE PERSONAGEM. EX-MILITAR, SEM OBRIGAÇÕES NEM DESTINO, MAS COM UMA NOÇÃO ALGO CURIOSA DO QUE É CORRECTO E DO QUE É ERRADO. NEM EXCESSIVAMENTE EGOÍSTA OU ALTRUÍSTA. BRUTALMENTE VIOLENTO QUANDO SE INTROMETEM NO SEU TERRITÓRIO.
ESTE PRIMEIRO LIVRO É UM THRILLER ALTAMENTE VICIANTE E ESTIMULANTE. DÁ VONTADE DE COMEÇAR IMEDIATAMENTE A LER O 2º LIVRO DO JACK REACHER ( )
  bruc79 | Jul 31, 2015 |
Great revenge thriller. Written simple. Like buttery popcorn. Or fluffy cake. Short incomplete sentences. Like this. Or this. Ultimately forgettable, but a ton of fun. ( )
  heradas | May 31, 2015 |
Very exciting thriller. Plot and pacing well done and characters are great.

Highly recommend ( )
  dham340 | May 10, 2015 |
Entertaining and an easy read...at times almost too much so. Jack Reacher is an interesting character, yet sometimes his direct, deliberate narrating style can be tiresome. Nevertheless, Killing Floor is a strong start to the Reacher series, and contains strong plot development in this crime mystery. ( )
  bdtrump | May 9, 2015 |
jack reacher's debut..
lee childs books are soo addicting that once u start reading it u jst cant rest until u finish it off.
a total rollr coaster ride with twists and turns on cropping up frequntly.

after a long time i have found a good action hero in Jack Reacher character. ( )
  abhidd1687 | Mar 26, 2015 |
The first Lee Child book I've read and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the writing. I expected something of Grisham/Patterson quality but in fact Child is up there with the likes of Jeffrey Deaver and Michael Crichton. It's in the style of Sam Spade detective but very well written and highly recommended. ( )
  PaddySheridan | Mar 8, 2015 |
This book started out kind of interesting, then got fairly predictable and boring. I only started reading this series because of the movie "Jack Reacher" which is based on one of the books in this series. Needless to say, the movie was much more interesting, which is a crime. The book should always be better than the movie. Now, this particular book isn't the one the movie was based on, but it sucked so hard that there's just no motivation for me to look up the actual book the movie was based on.

So, fuck Jack Reacher. Fuck him in his dirty asshole. ( )
  gecizzle | Mar 5, 2015 |
Jack Reacher is an American, but I noticed him using a few Brit expressions, such as "Perspex" for Lucite, "park up" for park, "there's a killer running ABOUT outside" (the author is a Brit).

This is a page-turner, though I don't think I want to read right through the series (this is my third in the space of 4 weeks). The formulaic aspects are becoming apparent. But I will probably read another on my next vacation. ( )
  TulsaTV | Jan 10, 2015 |
The idea for the book was good but at one point it became a little bit boring. It was enjoyable. Will still read his other books. ( )
  dom76 | Jan 7, 2015 |
Very intense! Jack Reacher saves many but in the end leaves the girl behind. ( )
  redheadish | Dec 22, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 169 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

Lee Child is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
53 avail.
206 wanted
5 pay29 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.83)
0.5 4
1 16
1.5 7
2 64
2.5 24
3 336
3.5 112
4 605
4.5 52
5 339

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,120,843 books! | Top bar: Always visible