HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Killing Floor: A Jack Reacher Novel…
Loading...

Killing Floor: A Jack Reacher Novel (Thornike Press Large Print Famous… (original 1997; edition 2010)

by Lee Child

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,5361551,059 (3.83)225
Good read for a thriller. I wanted to read the Jack Reacher books and decided to start at the beginnig. I am putting the second book on my list now !! ( )
  sbenne3 | May 6, 2012 |
English (152)  Dutch (2)  All languages (154)
Showing 1-25 of 152 (next | show all)
jack reacher's debut..
lee childs books are soo addicting that once u start reading it u jst cant rest until u finish it off.
a total rollr coaster ride with twists and turns on cropping up frequntly.

after a long time i have found a good action hero in Jack Reacher character. ( )
  abhidd1687 | Mar 26, 2015 |
The first Lee Child book I've read and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the writing. I expected something of Grisham/Patterson quality but in fact Child is up there with the likes of Jeffrey Deaver and Michael Crichton. It's in the style of Sam Spade detective but very well written and highly recommended. ( )
  PaddySheridan | Mar 8, 2015 |
This book started out kind of interesting, then got fairly predictable and boring. I only started reading this series because of the movie "Jack Reacher" which is based on one of the books in this series. Needless to say, the movie was much more interesting, which is a crime. The book should always be better than the movie. Now, this particular book isn't the one the movie was based on, but it sucked so hard that there's just no motivation for me to look up the actual book the movie was based on.

So, fuck Jack Reacher. Fuck him in his dirty asshole. ( )
  gecizzle | Mar 5, 2015 |
Jack Reacher is an American, but I noticed him using a few Brit expressions, such as "Perspex" for Lucite, "park up" for park, "there's a killer running ABOUT outside" (the author is a Brit).

This is a page-turner, though I don't think I want to read right through the series (this is my third in the space of 4 weeks). The formulaic aspects are becoming apparent. But I will probably read another on my next vacation. ( )
  TulsaTV | Jan 10, 2015 |
The idea for the book was good but at one point it became a little bit boring. It was enjoyable. Will still read his other books. ( )
  dom76 | Jan 7, 2015 |
Very intense! Jack Reacher saves many but in the end leaves the girl behind. ( )
  redheadish | Dec 22, 2014 |
Firstly, I'm more of a fantasy or sci-fi man myself, so this wasn't a book that I would usually read (or listen to in this case). Crime thrillers don’t particularly capture my attention but with Jack Reacher by Lee Child I thought I’d try something different. Jack is an ex-military cop who drifts from town to town, gets involved in mischief, kills bad guys, gets the girl, acts first then thinks later, etc. He’s what Americans would call a “bad- ass”. I’m not going to provide a summary of the story, the blurb on the jacket does a great job at that, suffice to say that it reads like something out of a 1980s action movie.

As I listened to the audiobook I noticed that the narrator frequently paused. When checking out the text in the book itself I realised that this was due lots of remarkably short, sharp and punchy sentences (possibly to try to build up the suspense and tension?) and its all written in the first person. I can image that it would be a somewhat irritating novel to read because of this.

The characters themselves were very stereotypical: the lead was a tough male and not a particularly complex character: ex-military with black and white attitudes when it came to situations. Perhaps Reacher is developed more in further books in the series? At no point did you worry that he would be killed off despite the various threats to his life.

I felt somewhat sorry for the “strong” female character in the book: Roscoe. Although she is Reacher’s girlfriend she seems to be constantly the victim, requiring his protection and when she does come up with some theories on why the events are happening in the way they are, she turn out to be wrong. I guess my point is why try to promote her as this “strong” person when she’s clearly just another character?

Anyway, Reacher’s logical analysis of situations, interspersed with extreme violence, is what draws you into this book. The plotting is well placed leaving the reader wondering how Reacher will survive in the circumstances he finds himself in, but you know he always will … somehow.

Of course the plot is unbelievable and improbable but the book certainly was clever, entertaining and very well controlled when it came to letting the story slowly unfold. This is entertaining fiction and while there are lots of convenient coincidences they all add to the enjoyment. Child also clearly put some effort into researching impressive facts concerning how money flows in a country to what sort of damage a specific weapon or bullet will do.

Overall I enjoyed this book much more than I was expecting to, and I think others will enjoy it too. This isn’t a book for younger readers as some of the violence is graphic making it probably one of the best examples of man-lit (is that a real word?) around. I’m happy enough to give some more of the books in the series a read based on what’s on offer here.

“Evaluate. Long experience had taught me to evaluate and assess. When the unexpected gets dumped on you, don’t waste time. Don’t figure out how or why it happened. Don’t recriminate. Don’t figure out whose fault it is. Don’t work out how to avoid the same mistake next time. All of that you do later. If you survive.”

― Lee Child, Killing Floor ( )
  Rob.Thompson | Nov 22, 2014 |
A great crime thriller. I'm definitely adding Jack Reacher #2 to my "to-read" list. ( )
  dougcornelius | Nov 6, 2014 |
First in the Jack Reacher series. Greyhound bus - Blind Blake - arrested murder - jail - brother - police chief murder - counterfeiting. ( )
  boppisces | Nov 1, 2014 |
Terrific intense novel. Love Jack Reacher. He's the ultimate tough guy. He's a bit far-fetched in that he was too good at everything to be believable, but as an escape, it was fantastic. ( )
  AliceAnna | Oct 21, 2014 |
After reading the latest in this series, I had to read the first. It's a fast-paced action story with a likeable main character who fixes everything by the end of the story. ( )
  piersanti | Sep 28, 2014 |
Killing Floor had all the plot points that normally make me devour a book as quick as I can, but for some reason, I had trouble getting into this one. Plenty of action and decent suspenseful plot but the characters did not grab my interest. I will have to read a few more of the Reacher novels to see if this is my overall imnpression of the series or just this edition.

3.5 Stars ( )
  ConalO | Sep 21, 2014 |
This is the first Lee Child I have read and the first in the Jack Reacher series. I found it an exciting read which kept me wanting to turn the next page.Reacher walks into a mid-western town and becomes embroiled in a conspiracy involving the whole town. Reacher is one of those characters who is the opposite to many of the 'thinkers' inhabiting thriller fiction today.He is rather an exponent of the shoot 'em.slug 'em and stab 'em school.
All in all this is a roller-coaster ride of a story which if read in the manner in which it was (no doubt) written,is an excellent read. ( )
  devenish | Sep 8, 2014 |
Pretty good story, but many phrases are used too many times. "Shrugged" is a major one. I kept rolling my eyes because it was used so frequently. Hopefully in subsequent books Mr. Child will refrain from this practice. ( )
  selinalynn69 | Aug 19, 2014 |
I read this as a paperback & it didn't wow me. I hadn't planned on reading any more in this series, but several of my friends really like the series, so I thought I'd give it another shot. Maybe I'd like it better as an audio book or now.

I didn't. Probably liked it less. Child's writing is repetitive. Often he seemed to be trying to make the point that much more exciting, but it just bored me. He writes like his readers are idiots & can't keep a point in mind for a few paragraphs. He also spends a lot of time describing the obvious & minutiae, but skips inconvenient details like Reacher's hygiene.

Reacher is too much in charge too often, & the constant build of him over other characters just got old. When he figured out how the counterfeiting was being done & told Finnley is one example. It's also an example of treating his readers like idiots. There were half a dozen obvious clues pointing to this revelation. I guess the women were impressed by his manly smell because he wandered around in the heat for days without a change of clothes or a shower & they still seemed to like him. There were a lot of other examples & they steadily eroded my appreciation of his character.

Child did the same thing with the shotguns making them into some sort of magical killing machines. A ten gauge shotgun is fearsome, but their killing cone is a direct ratio between their choke & load. Ask any decent goose or duck hunter, but I certainly wouldn't have feared for the women unless the guy was going to shoot directly at them.

Several plot holes were just too glaring, especially at the end. The amount of money paying off the town businesses, the supposed secrecy, & all was just too much. It's such a big secret that only business owners know after 5 years, but Reacher finds out after talking to a guy twice? He also said there must be $100K in the old guy's closet when a bit of math would put it at $250K or so. We need to believe Reacher has the estimates down in other places.

The mountain of money was silly. The bills weren't transported in by dump truck. They'd have been in boxes, should have been stored in boxes & then transferred into other boxes. To save time & effort, I would have ordered boxes just a hair bigger & not bothered unboxing the money at all since it was just being transferred.

What was the sudden rush to transport the money & why was the Coast Guard thing such a big shock? They were supposedly stockpiling money for just such an event, but leave it loose in a mountain that anyone who enters the building can see. So they figured it would be a few months away & have killed everyone off, but still haven't gotten it boxed up when their self-imposed deadline for shipping is one day away. They couldn't figure out any other way to transport it after the Coast Guard clamped down? After an entire year? Everyone is so shocked they were so brilliant in the scheme, but they couldn't plant money inside equipment or something? Please.

Reacher's surprise at the circus at the end was way overdone. I expected Child to & believe the story would have been much better served by killing Roscoe off at the end.


There were some good points in the book. Some of the scenes were well done & the story was a good one overall. I liked the way the odd, main coincidence was worked in. I have the 2d audio book in this series. I think I'll try to listen to it. I've heard the series gets better. It has to. ( )
1 vote jimmaclachlan | Aug 18, 2014 |
My first Jack Reacher read - loved it and it put me on a mission to read them all ( )
  gerhardw | Jul 9, 2014 |
The Killing Floor is a compelling, fast-paced mystery with a tough-as-nails hero and heart-pounding action. Some parts are unbelievable, especially since the book is a bit dated, but it still hangs together pretty well. I loved watching Reacher kicking ass and taking names. Overall, this is a great addition to the thriller genre. I look forward to reading more from Lee Child. ( )
  les121 | Jun 1, 2014 |
Read a third of the way in. Not bad, but really not my thing. ( )
  lyrrael | May 18, 2014 |
This is an excitng book and is the first novel by Child. It features Jack Reacher, who is tall and powerful He by chance stops at a town in Georgia, where coincidence has him accused of killing his brother. He is taken to jail where he brutally takes care of killer types in the prison. He never is in much doubt as to how to proceed to overcome his powerful enemies. All his plans work out, and he does a lot of fornicating as he proceeds to blow away those who would do him wrong. It is pleasant that evil is so thwarted and that nothing very often goes wrong. But when one reflects on the events they are seen to be mostly incedible. But that is not bothersome when one reads along in the fast-paced story. There is no subtlety in the prose and anyone looking for intricacy or uncertainty in the story will not find it. ( )
1 vote Schmerguls | May 1, 2014 |
Violent book good story. Had read before but Harold got discs for Xmas for me so listened again. First jack reacher ( )
  afarrington | Mar 15, 2014 |
After reading chronologically, the first Jack Reacher book, I started with Killing Floor, the first Lee Child novel, written with Jack Reacher as the protagonist, a book which won the Anthony Award for Best First Novel when it got released in 1997.

Set in a small town in America, this was a fast paced thriller, with its not-so-small plots and conspiracies. There is a lot of action, some goriness, and a whole lot of entertainment. The book doesn't strive to be real and hence avoids from becoming ridiculous - you know what you are reading, and why you are reading it. One of the takeaways from thrillers is that with the research the author puts in, or supposed to have put it, one gets to know a whole lot of interesting tid-bits, which otherwise may not have come in one's way - this one for instance gave a crash (if lacking in details) course on counterfeiting operations.

I see no harm in continuing with the series. ( )
  PiyushC | Feb 16, 2014 |
I enjoyed it well enough, but not enough to rush out and buy the next one. It also took me an improbable amount of time to get through. Good but by no means great. ( )
  greppers | Jan 25, 2014 |
This is my second book of the series...I decided to read them in order.

Overall it was a decent read. The plot had enough twists to make it interesting but there is one aspect of the writing I did not really like. It is the fight scenes....You know that no matter how big the opponent, how skilled a fighter the opponent is, how many bad guys there are in the fight...Reacher is going to win and Reacher never captures anyone...he blows them a way in a straight on fight, an ambush or trick...the fight is anti-climatic... Reacher never loses unless he wants to. It kind of gets to be boring after a while.

Other than that it was a decent thriller/mystery ( )
  Lynxear | Jan 20, 2014 |
I enjoyed this one and will probably read another in the series. Similar in some ways to Jack Sandford (for level of violence) and Michael Connelly (for the mystery). I liked the creepiness of the town where the story takes place but I was slightly disappointed with the major plot. I thought that could have been a bit more, well, mysterious. But that's just a minor gripe. ( )
  Myckyee | Jan 18, 2014 |
A fast moving plot that kept me engrossed. Jack Reacher is one tough dude. Expect gore & not a lot of subtlety. Complete escapism but great for a winter afternoon. ( )
  sianpr | Jan 17, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 152 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

Lee Child is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
53 avail.
241 wanted
5 pay29 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.83)
0.5 4
1 12
1.5 7
2 55
2.5 23
3 301
3.5 105
4 541
4.5 51
5 302

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 96,170,006 books! | Top bar: Always visible