HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Amelia Earhart: The Legend of the Lost…
Loading...

Amelia Earhart: The Legend of the Lost Aviator (edition 2008)

by Shelley Tanaka, David Craig (Illustrator)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1464181,994 (4.31)None
RebeccaMichelet's review
Amelia Earhart was first woman to fly across the Atlantic Ocean. She also flew across the Atlantic a second time, alone, was the first woman to fly from Hawaii to California, and then attempted to fly around the world at the equator. The last trip around the world was one she never came home from. This book contains pictures from her childhood, and life as a pilot. It also contains an epilogue describing the rumors of what may have happened to Amelia Earhart. ( )
  RebeccaMichelet | Apr 28, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 1-25 of 41 (next | show all)
I really appreciated the amount of awesome illustrations in this book. I think that information books, for young children, are always more interesting when accompanied by illustrations. I think that Amelia Earhart's story is one that always captures the attention of children because of the mysterious quality behind her disappearance. I think that the book may have captured me more if it had put a little more emphasis on this aspect, however, I did enjoy learning about her as a person along with all of her successes. She would be an excellent role model for young girls and I believe that this book would be incredibly useful for any child who wanted to learn about Amelia Earhart or was writing a report on her life. ( )
  L_Cochran | Mar 16, 2014 |
This is a biography of Amelia Earhart, the first woman to fly over the Atlantic Ocean. This book details her love of flying and the many flights she flew in her lifetime up until her disappearance.
  kbesaw | Mar 15, 2014 |
Amelia Earhart was perhaps the first historical figure I was ever interested in, and I think this is because of the way her life ended.. or didn't. I loved mysteries as a child, and it drove me crazy to be introduced to one that didn't have an answer. Of course, at the time I didn't realize she was such a fantastic role model as well, especially for a young girl. I think this particular biography does an exceptional job of outlining her passions and achievements. I also learned about new things that I didn't know, or didn't remember. For example, the biggest thing I missed was that I had no idea that she wasn't alone on the plane she disappeared in. This book was particularly text heavy though compared to some of the other books for youth I've been reviewing, so it is more likely to appeal to a rather passionate student.
  biarias | Feb 27, 2014 |
This is a biography of Amelia Earhart and the adventures she experienced in her life. The book tells about her many piloting trips throughout her career until she disappeared. Her disappearance continues to be a mystery, but this biography explains the popularity of the woman aviator while she was alive. She proved that women could fly as well as men. The book includes real life pictures as well as nicely done illustrations. I learned a lot about Amelia Earhart and I think that students will enjoy learning about a great and brave woman in history. ( )
  cindyavgi | Dec 17, 2013 |
Summary: This is about the first woman to ever cross the atlantic ocean by plane. It talks about her different major flights throughout her career and how she was able to find her passion for flying in the first place.
Review: I thought this book was really interesting, and I think it would be fun to use in the classroom as an opening for a more detailed lesson about women in history.
  hkent32 | Jun 8, 2013 |
At first I was surprised to see such a dense amount of text in a children's book. However, I found that the text did a really good job of thoroughly telling the story of Amelia's many flights throughout her piloting career. Although, I did think that they could have paid more attention to her disappearance and the different theories behind what happened to her (which I personally think is the most fascinating part about Amelia Earhart's story), as opposed to giving a play by play of every major flight she ever flew. Overall, still a good book. ( )
  conlonk | Apr 25, 2013 |
Read for Informational book assignment.
  marissakb | Jun 13, 2012 |
This is a biography about Amelia Earhart. It starts in her childhood and tells about how she came to find her passion for flying. It was a very entertaining book, and it was interesting to learn how Earhart came to be who she was.
  briannawg | Jun 11, 2012 |
Amelia Earhart was first woman to fly across the Atlantic Ocean. She also flew across the Atlantic a second time, alone, was the first woman to fly from Hawaii to California, and then attempted to fly around the world at the equator. The last trip around the world was one she never came home from. This book contains pictures from her childhood, and life as a pilot. It also contains an epilogue describing the rumors of what may have happened to Amelia Earhart. ( )
  RebeccaMichelet | Apr 28, 2012 |
summary: this is a biography of Amelia Earhart and the adventures she experienced in her life.
  mhinderlie | Apr 20, 2012 |
Amelia Earhart's disappearance continues to be a mystery, but this biography explains the popularity of the woman aviator while she was alive. Her singular drive to assert that women could compete successfully with men on the ground and in the air makes her a role model for young women today.
  vadnama | Mar 18, 2012 |
A wonderfully prepared picture book on the life of Amelia Earhart. I enjoyed reading about her life and the illustrations were well done throughout. I appreciated the epilogue at the end of the book that discusses the various theories on her disappearance.
  gallenor | Feb 26, 2012 |
Great book for a child just learning about Amelia.
  colorred | Dec 5, 2011 |
An inspiring book for anyone who wants to follow their dreams, no matter what the obstacles
  e.a.leonard | Dec 5, 2011 |
This is a biography picture book for older students. It tells the life from when Amelia Earhart was 11 years old and saw a plane at the fair to her last flight where she went missing.
  edmundskr | Dec 3, 2011 |
A great book about Amelia Earhart's journeys. There is a lot of text throughout this book, but it is split up nicely with real life pictures as well as nicely done illustrations. This book is split up into miniture chapters, which could be a great way to split up the book.
  samantha.roth | Nov 9, 2011 |
This book was very interesting about a great aviator Amelia Earhart. The book follows the story about her life beginning when she was a child to when she because the first female to travel in an airplane. Tragically when she attempted to be the first woman to fly around the world her plane disappeared . I also enjoyed seeing the real photos that were taken at that time as well as the side stories displayed on some of the pages. This book would be great for older students maybe using this book to research about aviation. Good for grades fifth and up. ( )
  juju1220 | May 26, 2011 |
This information book tells the story of Amelia Earheart, beginning with how she became passionate about airplanes and flying when she was eleven years old to the day she was lost forever. The book is filled with actual photographs from her life as well as illustrations to depict the story as it is told. This book offers a great deal of information about Amelia's life, including quotes from her. This is an inspiring story for all, especially woman of all ages. It reminds us that the sky truly is the limit when it comes to dreaming and that we should not let others stop us from pursuing our dreams. I enjoyed reading this book and learned a great deal about Amelia Earhart. This would be an excellent book for a historical person report. The index provides a quick reference to various details in the story. ( )
  LisaBohman | Apr 19, 2011 |
This book is very informative about the life of Amelia Earhart and the legacy she left behind. It goes through every major chapter in this brave ladies life leading up to the disappearence. Along with describing the details of her character the book explains the time period in which she lived to give use some perspective on the situation.
  bananajames29 | Mar 13, 2011 |
There is a lot of information crammed into this book. It is a great comprehensive biography that is filled with actual photos and illustrations. This book is also very readable for students and is a great example of a non-fiction book. A strength in this book is that it is broken up into sections, which makes finding specific information much easier. There is also an index available.
  sharmon05 | Mar 13, 2011 |
Summary- This book provides the life story of Amelia Earhart from her early childhood days until her last flying adventure that led to her death.

Strength- This book is a wealth of information. The pictures, text, subtitles and appendix provide an incredible amount of information on her life.

Use in the Classroom- Write a letter to Amelia, asking her questions about what it was like to be one of the first women to fly. ( )
  eputney87 | Feb 25, 2011 |
Grades 3-6. Biography of the famous aviator, a picture book for older children. The story begins when Amelia is 11 and continues through college, when she was a nurse aide during WWI. By the 1920 she was flying and setting records. Wondereful pictures and a great tribute to this pioneer
  VirginiaWrenn | Dec 17, 2010 |
Intermediate or Middle
Genre: Biography- This was a biography of Amelia Earhart and her life. It went through her life from when she was a child until she went missing.
This book was extremely factual and I liked how they got original photos of her. They did a great job researching her life. ( )
  Arianna21 | Nov 22, 2010 |
This is a great book on Amelia Earhart. It tells of all the different things that she did during her lifetime. I enjoyed this book. There was a lot of information about her that was new to me. I had no idea how successful she really was. She was one of the bravest women I've ever read about. The pictures were wonderful! This book actually made me want to research more about her. I wanted to know more about the things that were found on the island that could have possibly belonged to her. I also wanted to know HOW they lost some of the things they found. Overall, this book is wonderful for developing student interests. ( )
  JulieMagen | Sep 24, 2010 |
This is an amazing read. I recommended it for anyone interested in a good history lesson on Amelia Earhart, feminism, or this time period. The information in the text is presented in a clear and concise manner that young readers will understand. Students of all ages will enjoy hearing about the adventures of Amelia Earhart. The illustrations are also something to marvel about. Each does a fantastic job of capturing the spirit of the text. ( )
  Carolina8629 | Sep 21, 2010 |
Showing 1-25 of 41 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
5 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.31)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5 3
4 14
4.5 3
5 13

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,694,587 books! | Top bar: Always visible