HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

In the Midnight Hour by Michelle Spring
Loading...

In the Midnight Hour (2001)

by Michelle Spring

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
44None262,368 (3.63)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

No reviews
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Pat and Lynelle with love. And my editor, Yvette Goulden.
First words
On the southern side of the Wash, where the North Sea worries away at the exposed coast, there is a shoreline that has been carved into a perfect crescent. The eastern half of the crescent is overhung by a ridge of heathland that stretches many miles toward Sheringham. Towering cliffs loom like castle walls above the beach below. For hundreds of years, these stalwart cliffs have been locked in battle with the waves. In spite of their best efforts, the North Sea buffets and wheedles its way steadily inland.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Amazon.com Review (ISBN 0345437470, Mass Market Paperback)

In this heavily atmospheric thriller by talented writer Michelle Spring, the disappearance of the 4-year-old son of polar explorer Jack Cable is still unsolved after more than a decade. Then a teenage street musician attracts the attention of Cable's wife, Olivia. Certain that the boy is their son, the Cables enlist the services of private investigator Laura Principal. Laura's brief is to discover whether Liam is really the son whose memory is still very much alive within his family, and while her efforts to authenticate Olivia's hunch are not particularly engrossing, her concern for the Cables is deep and heartfelt enough to involve the reader in her quest.

Higher praise belongs to Spring for her gifts of description. Here she shows off her well-honed talent for narrative, character development, and skill in recreating the brooding melancholy of England in midwinter. Fans of Frances Fyfield and Barbara Vine will appreciate Spring's intelligence, craft, and psychological acuity, all on view in this compulsively readable new novel. --Jane Adams

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:15:32 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

Twenty years ago, a child vanished without trace. Now on a quiet street in Cambridge, the mother discovers a young man whom she hopes is her missing son. If he is, where has he been all these years? And what is his connection with the violence that begins with his arrival and ends with murder?… (more)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.63)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 2
3.5 1
4 2
4.5 1
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 125,532,361 books! | Top bar: Always visible